Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jeremy Clarkson suspended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

I think I'll give it a miss. HIGNFY is one of the jaded, forced and heavily-scripted shows on television. It will have Merton make a few quips at a Clarkson pretending (and failing) to be apologetic and circumspect about the whole thing. Quips that were agreed upon before hand between the BBC legal team and Clarkson's PR person. Steak might make an appearance. Cheap laughs will be had.

Clarkson, Merton and the little bald fellow with his small book of semi-humourous wry observations will then head back stage for a bit of jocular banter.

Spare me. I'd rather watch a Top Gear outtakes show to be honest. Which isn't saying much. Equally as forced and scripted. Moronic television.

War and Peace would be outrageously moronic to a gentleman of your far superior intellect, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,555 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

War and Peace would be outrageously moronic to a gentleman of your far superior intellect, in fairness.

Lad doesn't want to drawn in to the mullet headded imbecilic adoration of a middle aged warhorse, who has outgrown his time, shot his bolt, and finally been called out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Jezza has a fantastic sense of humour unlike that oaf who got him sacked over a bit of banter after a few pints
    Who would that"oaf" be?...
    Clarkson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Jezza has a fantastic sense of humour unlike that oaf who got him sacked over a bit of banter after a few pints
    Try harder.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Muppet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,569 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Jezza presenting "Have I got news for you" in two weeks time

Nah.. you'll have to wait a while longer for the return of your hero and idol

He's chickened out of appearing on it. Probably knows that Hislop and Merton would have absolutely destroyed him :D

http://www.theguardian.com/media/2015/apr/09/jeremy-clarkson-pulls-out-of-have-i-got-news-for-you-appearance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,744 ✭✭✭✭kylith

He's chickened out of appearing on it. Probably knows that Hislop and Merton would have absolutely destroyed him :D

http://www.theguardian.com/media/2015/apr/09/jeremy-clarkson-pulls-out-of-have-i-got-news-for-you-appearance

Coward. At least Deaton showed up and took his lumps like a man.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

kylith wrote: »

He did didn't he.
    Fair play to him.
    I expect Hislop and Merton to rip the piss out of him regardless, remember what they did to Roy Hattersly on the site when he pulled out, they replaced him with a tub of lard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

It is not typical of him at all. I would imagine that he is in contract negotiations with other broadcasters and doesn't want to put himself out there right now. Once he has got himself a new deal (and he'll be back in a high profile role soon enough, whether the haters like it or not) I'm guessing he'll do it

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,384 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I actually think he may have been a bit more considerate than that. There was a lot of media focus on whether or not BBC will keep him on. Doesn't sit too right from a PR perspective to be back on the BBC as a guest host so soon afterwards.

Have I got News For You, do expect him to be a guest host later in the year apparently. Right now is just a case of "Too soon."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    He did didn't he.
    Fair play to him.
    I expect Hislop and Merton to rip the piss out of him regardless, remember what they did to Roy Hattersly on the site when he pulled out, they replaced him with a tub of lard.

We can guess what Clarkson will be replaced with...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

We can guess what Clarkson will be replaced with...
    Sue Perkins?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

It unsurprising really. On TG, he presents the show with a couple of adoring yes men. Well one adoring yes man and one inoffensive chap. HIGNFY would be very different. I know he has presented HIGNFY before but he wouldn't have slagged to extent he would have been had he done the show this time.

(and he'll be back in a high profile role soon enough, whether the haters like it or not)

Can't believe you actually wrote 'haters'. Oh noes, not the haterzzzz.

Scarleh for ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    It unsurprising really. On TG, he presents the show with a couple of adoring yes men. Well one adoring yes man and one inoffensive chap. HIGNFY would be very different. I know he has presented HIGNFY before but he wouldn't have slagged to extent he would have been had he done the show this time.

That's true. And Clarkson has neither the wit nor guile to deal with Merton and Hislop. He'd be left looking like a complete fool.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    That's true. And Clarkson has neither the wit nor guile to deal with Merton and Hislop. He'd be left looking like a complete fool.

Yep, they're both sharp chaps. Like genuinely witty and incisive, not witty like people think Jeremy Clarkson is. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,257 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

AnonoBoy wrote: »

But he's 6-4 and has two fists!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

It's great to see Clarkson has some hush hush stuff in the pipe work ;)

No harm throwing the morons off the trail with "have I got news for you" :rolleyes: they'll lap up anything they read. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Bench Press

Jezza really running rings around the begrudgers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Mint Aero wrote: »
    It's great to see Clarkson has some hush hush stuff in the pipe work ;)

No harm throwing the morons off the trail with "have I got news for you" :rolleyes: they'll lap up anything they read. :rolleyes:
    Jezza really running rings around the begrudgers

Yup, that's exactly what it is. Oh Bench Press and Mint Aero, when will we ever learn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Try not jizz all over each other lads.

Is there some victory to be had because JC won't be appearing on HIGNFY solely to have the piss ripped out of him ? and there you were giving out about fanboys ...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Halloween Jack

Try not jizz all over each other lads.

Is there some victory to be had because JC won't be appearing on HIGNFY solely to have the piss ripped out of him ? and there you were giving out about fanboys ...:rolleyes:

It's staggering this booze addled phoney has people so in thrall....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

It's staggering this booze addled phoney has people so in thrall....

Every group has it's fanatics.

Yes, I have to say that the rabid pro and anti Clarkson camp have produced some absolute belters in this discussion, each trying to outdo each other with the sort of absolute drivel you wouldn't find in Kindergarten. I love perusing AH, one wonders how so many people quite obviously suffering from emotional problems and some who are just stark raving mad are allowed unsupervised access to the internet. I would serve internment orders on a few "specials" here, but I fear with some of them that has already happened.

Well, that very clearly shows that Clarkson is aware of how much he falls short in the smarts department. Punches a guy and calls him names because his dinner wasn't on the table, then avoids showing up where he knows the bigger boys will pull him up on it.

My opinion of Clarkson has veered from complete indifference to contempt over the last few weeks. It's astounding that anyone defends him or wants him back.

As Samuel Johnson said -
    The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good

And Clarkson has shown his measure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

Candie wrote: »
    Well, that very clearly shows that Clarkson is aware of how much he falls short in the smarts department. Punches a guy and calls him names because his dinner wasn't on the table, then avoids showing up where he knows the bigger boys will pull him up on it.

My opinion of Clarkson has veered from complete indifference to contempt over the last few weeks. It's astounding that anyone defends him or wants him back.

As Samuel Johnson said -

I just find the guy, and the shows he puts together, entertaining. Don't really care whether he got in some scuffle. I'll watch his show on whatever channel it appears on in the future. Doesn't mean I think the sun shines out of his arse. It's just entertainment

I find it incredible that some people get so wound up about him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭nathan99

I just find the guy, and the shows he puts together, entertaining. Don't really care whether he got in some scuffle. I'll watch his show on whatever channel it appears on in the future. Doesn't mean I think the sun shines out of his arse. It's just entertainment

I find it incredible that some people get so wound up about him

I completely agree, I think lots of people get so wound up in current affairs when they could probably be doing something somewhat beneficial to their own lives.

I agree that he's an entertaining guy and makes good TV.
    But.
    People have grown increasingly accustomed to the safety of working within a system of rules, we sit in seminars and educational meetings telling us of the importance of mutual respect and operating as a team.
    And then they see a star, paid a lot of money from the public purse, behaving like a prima donna, treating a member of staff like a lacky, like a slave and someone who can be treated like a skivvy, and abused verbally before being punched.
    These things happened to the producer not because he did something despicable or so heinous that Clarkson had no choice, but rather because he couldn't facilitate a hot meal due to the party arriving late as they hung on near the filming, drinking.
    And that's why the bulk of people I've spoken to have considered that treatment wrong and consider his axing from the show appropriate.
    Not due to his off colour remarks about people of other races, religions or gender.
    They have been too infrequent to be anything other than a daft idiosyncrasy, something that the rest of us wouldn't do but have seen too often amongst friends, relatives and co workers, and forgiven them grudgingly, because their presence in the world entertains us.
    So it is with Clarkson.

He'll be back.
    He'll be back on the BBC.
    No doubt.

But what he did and how the matter has been dealt with will serve as an example for others, it will prevent a repeat of this in another workplace.
    You can't behave like that, not in a hotel, an office, film set or a building site.
    If you do, you should be at least reprimanded, typically fired and maybe prosecuted.
    End of.

Well said Cider, but I don't think anyone would have thought it is OK to abuse and punch people because of Clarkson. You'd have to have something wrong with your head to think that, let alone take it up on the basis that Clarkson did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Candie wrote: »

Which would matter, if he was an elected official or somebody in charge of something important. But he's not. He's an entertainer thus many people, myself included, don't care what he's like personally.

Him hitting a producer or not hitting a producer wouldn't stop me from liking his show in the same way that Michael Jackson being accused of all sorts didn't stop me from enjoying his music. Issues like that just aren't relevant.