Paris Roubaix 2015 (contains spoilers)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭Taxuser1

drogdub wrote: »
    After watching Terpstra in Flanders last year I went for him in Roubaix. I will do the same this year. Actually this is what I tweeted to Last year before the race https://twitter.com/drogdub/status/452192508333027329

classic aftertiming !

I backed him in running 50 seconds before he attacked. It was the most obvious move to make at that stage. He was 20/1 .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,935 ✭✭✭letape

My money is on Stybar. In great form this year and proved himself last year on the cobbles. If he doesn't win this year, he definitely will in the future.

I also wouldn't be so dismissive of Brad. I know he hasn't shown form (other than TT win last week), but he did an amazing ride to 9th last year and was responsible for bringing his group back to the 5 out front last year with a few k to go. The good weather should suit him also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

Wiggins doesn't make much logical sense to me given he hasn't ridden too many of the hard one-day races this year & that particularly he was dropped a long, long way before the finish last week. However the extent to which this in the wider world all seems to be largely going unmentioned & by people who know a hell of a lot more than me has me accepting that maybe I'm all wrong & he is in with a real shout. I don't see it as logical though & I also think surely the experience & knowledge of how to win a 1 day race can't be just ignored, with instead all the emphasis on the physiological side of things - which seems to be totally the path to glory Wiggins as tried to take.

I put a little on Lars Boom, pretty randomly, though I think it all looks a fairly wide open race. If Kristoff can put his unexceptional past here behind him though, then surely he's again the main threat to everyone else. Even on that front though seemingly the big reason Wiggins is being considered so highly is his 9th place last year which was praised to the skies. Well Kristoff had a top 10 the year before so . . . !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,716 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

If Wiggins did win on Sunday, then he would be the first rider to have won both a Grand Tour and Paris-Roubaix since Sean Kelly.

Can anyone guess the last rider to win both the Tour de France and Paris-Roubaix? :)

And no Googling! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,525 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

pelevin wrote: »
    Wiggins doesn't make much logical sense to me given he hasn't ridden too many of the hard one-day races this year & that particularly he was dropped a long, long way before the finish last week.
    Unless his total lack of form is part of some sort of Barney Curley-style betting coup, I can't see Wiggins doing anything useful at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭MPFG

If Wiggins did win on Sunday, then he would be the first rider to have won both a Grand Tour and Paris-Roubaix since Sean Kelly.

Can anyone guess the last rider to win both the Tour de France and Paris-Roubaix? :)

And no Googling! ;)

eddy merckx ??...he is the answer to everything in cycling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,135 ✭✭✭✭neris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭JohnBee

As an aside, does anyone know where is showing this online? Extended highlights or live, Im stuck in Canada :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Koobcam

JohnBee wrote: »
    As an aside, does anyone know where is showing this online? Extended highlights or live, Im stuck in Canada :(

Not sure if the Eurosport player works in Canada? Sporza (Belgian TV) show most races, though I think it's geo-restricted.

JohnBee wrote: »

PM me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Hinault.

ford2600 is correct.

Bernard Hinault was the last person to win both Paris-Roubaix and le Tour during their career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

Lumen wrote: »
    Unless his total lack of form is part of some sort of Barney Curley-style betting coup, I can't see Wiggins doing anything useful at all.

Though even on that front his odds of 8/1 or so seem to reflect an idea that he's shown really good form & is a very plausible victor. The normal laws of form & expectation don't seem to apply here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Read an interview with Wiggo today where he mentioned that he would like to finish well - ideally get to the Roubaid velodrome I the company of hIs peers
    It would be his dream to win but he doesn't think it is likely. He said he would try to make it to Carrefour dArbe and see what way the land lies so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭QueensGael

While we're heading down memory lane, here's a cracking Roubaix choon for ye - enjoy ;)

ROK ON wrote: »
    Read an interview with Wiggo today where he mentioned that he would like to finish well - ideally get to the Roubaid velodrome I the company of hIs peers
    It would be his dream to win but he doesn't think it is likely. He said he would try to make it to Carrefour dArbe and see what way the land lies so to speak.

If he qot to the Velodrome with his peers he has a good chance of winning...well as least as any peers ...dependent who these peers are ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Koobcam

Here's one from 1988 for those with a bit more time on their hands: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQsJK81rZ4E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭drogdub

Taxuser1 wrote: »
    classic aftertiming !

I backed him in running 50 seconds before he attacked. It was the most obvious move to make at that stage. He was 20/1 .

What's aftertiming?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

pelevin wrote: »
    Though even on that front his odds of 8/1 or so seem to reflect an idea that he's shown really good form & is a very plausible victor. The normal laws of form & expectation don't seem to apply here.

Odds this close to an event are purely dictated by money laid. A lot of optimistic Brits I'd say.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Saw this over on the Cyclingnews forum.
    The infographic shows where the decisive attacks made by the winner occurred on the course for the last 11 years.

CCOPEzdVIAAEm_D.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

ford2600 is correct.

Bernard Hinault was the last person to win both Paris-Roubaix and le Tour during their career.

He does the on stage send off of the sportif the day before too. Hadn't a clue what he was saying. Something about digging underground dens I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Not sure if it was already mentioned but Matt Brammeier is a starter according to Pro Cycling Stats, but unconfirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

MPFG wrote: »
    Thought he said he never rode PR
    He had vowed never to do it describing it as a race for 'dickheads' (or words to that effect) but later decided to enter it once and win it to silence his critics.

Orica are at it again, with a director's cut multi part build up video. Part 1 is here

Not sure if it was already mentioned but Matt Brammeier is a starter according to Pro Cycling Stats, but unconfirmed.

He definitely is, he said it on Instagram
    Out testing my new @cervelo #R3 - Saw this pile of Pave & just had to stop & take a pic! The thing rides like a dream - Can't wait for Sunday's #ParisRoubaix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,390 ✭✭✭lennymc

just looking at eurosports schedule, and after the Paris Roubaix is the Elite Series Chorley race, where Eddie Dunbar was racing, and where he was the star of the show (according to stickybottle).

Looking at pictures on twitter today, the cobbles look dry as a bone. Dusty one it is then :)