Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭Boots234

Clareman wrote: »
    Disappointing that the footballers lost by double scores today, they might be able to stay up if results go their way even if they lose against Fermanagh.

It looks like they could be staying up if they lose against Fermanagh as long as Limerick and Louth don't draw

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Hidalgo wrote: »
    What happened this weekend won't guarantee anything come May.
    No it doesn't but today was the first time in a long time that we played well and fought hard. Limerick, on the other hand were terrible yesterday. We've got every right to be optimistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,479 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

hurling

legendry performance by tony kelly today shane o'donnell not far behind him , great to see us play so will with an injured connor mcgragh , and couple of lads like john conlon and colm galvin maybe carring knocks but not 100%

jack browne showed us what he can do when he keeps his dicipline , david mac had a huge game again at full back and in fairness to most of the subs that came on all did well ,

dont get the tatics today , we hade a gale force wind behind us in the first half and kept handpassing the ball out of defence , in the seccond half we went long against it which made no sence for example when pat kelly got caught out at the end he pumped the ruselting puck out 70 yards down the field
    we need to start getting a bit more consistent in our play

we were poor for most of the league and probably deserve to go down , but we need to take a look at what derrick mcgragh did with waterford this year where he had his side out playing challenge games against kilkenny , tipperary cork and ourselves on a regular basis which probably showed him more about where they were then any oppisition in 1b

the issue with 1b that i have is te limericks offalys wexfords are not putting out full strenght teams either so there is a drop in standerds hopfully we dont stay there too long and hopfully use the 1/4 finals stages onwards next year to our advantage for the cham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,479 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

football

a very tired and lackluster performance , without cathal macinerny david tubridy and ciarian russell we struggled to find scores , although we had plenty of the ball it has to be said our desicion making at times let us down , we took on a lot of goal chances in the first half when taping the ball over the bar from close range was the senceable option
    in the seccond half we switched gary brennan into full forward got ourselves back into the game when podge won a penilty which pat burke converted albeit very nearly saved , the limerick keeper went on to make two crucial point blank saves which could have turned the game in our favor , instead limerick had the legs to close out the game and as our fitness levels droped they went on a scoring spree in the last 20 minuets outscoreing us 1-05 to 0-01

the reasons for the tiardness is compleatly understandable , we have basically used the same starting line up in nearly every game in the league we never really chopped and changed things enough and now we are paying for it , our game plan consists of short passing and lots of running .

credit has too be giving to gorden kelly who lined out despite a family bervment last week, he along with martin mcmahon kevin hartnet and dean ryan were our best players (our starting full back line)

we are now in a relagation battle if we match sligo's result we stay up , the relagation works as follows

1 if two teams are level it will be decided on head to head between the teams result in the league

2 if more then two teams are level it will be decided by scoreing average

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭letowski

hurling

legendry performance by tony kelly today shane o'donnell not far behind him , great to see us play so will with an injured connor mcgragh , and couple of lads like john conlon and colm galvin maybe carring knocks but not 100%

jack browne showed us what he can do when he keeps his dicipline , david mac had a huge game again at full back and in fairness to most of the subs that came on all did well ,

dont get the tatics today , we hade a gale force wind behind us in the first half and kept handpassing the ball out of defence , in the seccond half we went long against it which made no sence for example when pat kelly got caught out at the end he pumped the ruselting puck out 70 yards down the field
    we need to start getting a bit more consistent in our play

we were poor for most of the league and probably deserve to go down , but we need to take a look at what derrick mcgragh did with waterford this year where he had his side out playing challenge games against kilkenny , tipperary cork and ourselves on a regular basis which probably showed him more about where they were then any oppisition in 1b

the issue with 1b that i have is te limericks offalys wexfords are not putting out full strenght teams either so there is a drop in standerds hopfully we dont stay there too long and hopfully use the 1/4 finals stages onwards next year to our advantage for the cham

Agree 100pc on the tactics it was so frustrating, as you said, we did the exact opposite managers would do with and against the wind. I thought O'Donovan kinda summed it up. He beat JJ Farrell to practically every ball today but still caused 3 points from trying to short pass it out.
    If there is to be one big potential positive today, it could be that we finally found a way of getting a quality supply in SOD, something Davy has failed on too many occasions. His link up play with Kelly was superb, it's a pity McGrath or even Podge weren't there too. Kelly is class, especially as he was probably in bed all week sick. Good of the KK supporters to give him an ovation when his body eventually gave in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭LMK

Great game today, Clare unlucky KK efficient as usual.
    Patrick O'Connor played the sweeper role very effectively, he's a smart hurler, McInerney is a serious player, O'Donnell was great, honest and classy, Reidy was good, Kelly is a freak, if Clare can keep Galvin from going stateside it could be another interesting year,but..........the free taking needs to improve a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

That hand pass for the last Kilkenny point is still bothering me

What a sickening way to lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭billo.d86

Great game yesterday, manful stuff at times as they would say! Tony Kelly is a phenomenon, O'Donnell looking back to his best ran rings around Paul Murphy, and almost had his nose knocked to the other side of his face. Dave Mc was made of steel again. O'Connor was mopping up loads of ball. Colin Ryan but in a good shift without being outstanding did a lot of hard work. Conlon and Galvin looked off the pace, Conlon more so than Galvin. Conlon had no affect on the game really.
    But without a doubt poor Domhnall O'Donovan was found out, or was it just a bad day, every mistake he made lead to a score for Kilkenny?
    You have to admire Kilkenny we put it up to the and forced then to shoot form further back, as the normally filter it back to midfield and fire it ok, but the were shooting from half back line or mad angles. But when we made mistakes in the back and we made a lot they struck immediately and pushed us.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Davy going again about us only having won 4 All Ireland's and we forget that in Clare. Then says plenty of counties have won U21 All Ireland's and not gone on to won a senior. We know this Davy but we also have one of the best teams this county ever produced and a Kilkenny side who walked over teams for years rebuilding again. We should be competing to win titles while we have this current bunch and I for one would be very disappointed if we didn't win another one in the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭The_Banker

Will any of the players be able to go for a drink now or attend a sisters 21st between now and the Limerick game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭irish coldplayer

The_Banker wrote: »
    Will any of the players be able to go for a drink now or attend a sisters 21st between now and the Limerick game?

Only if they submitted a socialising request form (2 copies by registered post) and an email before xmas detailing the date, time, occasion, reason they should be allowed go and soft drinks they want to consume, plus calorie details of any finger food to be served. :p
    they also have to send the management a snap chat after showing they are at home when they say they're supposed to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

Any information on the leg injury received by Tony Kelly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,562 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Tony Kelly was absolutely class yesterday. If he didn't get injured in those last few minutes, I think ye might have won.

Shane O'Donnell had a fantastic game as well. Before yesterday I never rated him too highly as he never seemed to contribute too much in terms of work rate, even when considering his ability to score goals. But he completely dominated Paul Murphy yesterday. Some great ball was played into him in loads of space. He was either able to score himself then or pass off a nice ball to a team mate for a score. Very impressed with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Tony Kelly was absolutely class yesterday. If he didn't get injured in those last few minutes, I think ye might have won.

Shane O'Donnell had a fantastic game as well. Before yesterday I never rated him too highly as he never seemed to contribute too much in terms of work rate, even when considering his ability to score goals. But he completely dominated Paul Murphy yesterday. Some great ball was played into him in loads of space. He was either able to score himself then or pass off a nice ball to a team mate for a score. Very impressed with him.

O donnell played very well against a Dublin too and won almost every ball played into him both high and low. Seems to really have upped his game which is great to see, very unselfish with the ball too. I have been really impressed with Reidy too over the last few games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭archieknox

Kelly is pure class he's a joy to watch. I have watched him since he played against Waterford in a minor Munster final id say around 2010 and he has been a sensation since. Saw him in the flesh again this year for UL against ucc in the Fitzgibbon cup and what a performance he put in again that day. Not taking from Shane O Donnell for one moment but Paul Murphy isn't the answer at fullback for kilkenny. I think they will struggle in that position all year and the likes of yourselves or Tipp will definitely exploit that come championship.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I know I've never been his biggest fan, even when he was playing I questioned some of his decision making and some of the mistakes that he made in games, I also have a massive problem with his father being the County Board Secetary and other family members being heavily involved also, but his recent interview where he seems to go on the offence against the supports is a bit much.

http://www.the42.ie/clare-relegation-davy-fitzgerald-2020908-Mar2015/
    We’ve four All-Irelands won in 130 years, they forget that in Clare so they do.
    "They" forget it, so he's not a Clare person now. Whatever about 4 in 130, we've won 3 in the past 20, that's more than Tipperary, Galway, Limerick, Offaly, Wexford, Waterford and Dublin and the same amount as Cork in the same time period. We also remember the fact that we won the All Ireland 18 months ago.
    There have been a number of teams that have won Under 21’s and never gone on to win senior so they haven’t.
    What have other counties to do with it? We have won a Senior and Under 21, we aren't looking to win a first All Ireland, we are looking to regain our title, actually we are looking to win a championship match.
    people might have questioned the lads
    I would consider myself fairly well engrained in Clare GAA circles, I haven't heard of anyone questioning the "lads"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,234 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I think the main questions the clare public have been asking of 'the lads' have been along the lines 'how can we help you guys get a proper management team in place so you can fulfill your potential'

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Akrasia wrote: »
    I think the main questions the clare public have been asking of 'the lads' have been along the lines 'how can we help you guys get a proper management team in place so you can fulfill your potential'

I think the overriding statement is "that management are going to destroy "the lads""

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 213 ✭✭rambojon

Clareman wrote: »
    I think the overriding statement is "that management are going to destroy "the lads""

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

Lads, what way will your midfield line out come summer now that Galvin is gone? He's a big spoke in the way Davy wants them playing.... Limerick look way off but on their day James Ryan and Paul Brown are a match for any pairing - going to be tough to fill this problem position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/clares-colm-galvin-pursuing-his-american-dream-321813.html
    I posted two weeks ago I felt clare scenario was being blown out propionate by some and there was no real evidence bar circumstancesal to say what halloran said was true and imo he's failure to make further statements to back it up, the non backing up of he's allegations of bullying so to speak by other players, louganne and daly and o Connor of this world not saying anything against Davy and galvin speaking highly Davy and moral in the camp would seem suggest Davy halloran who is fine player deemed to be the only one with any major problems in the clare camp

I'm not one for moral victories I despise them truth be told but the one team in Ireland, the only team you can gauge league game form, in a sense they don't want to loose at all is the greatest manager all time and greatest team all time Is cody KK and twice back to back in knowlan park, clare went toe to toe with KK never flinched huge sign teams are united and still believe in Davy and imo absolutely correct to go sweeper possession game v them as this orthodox style man to man won't beat kilkenny as their kings of it

Most league games this year for clare bar the cork game they got around plus twenty on the score board and around eighteen or close to it in each of the last two KK games from play to imo suggest while full back is a problem in clare, scoring is not and against limerick I have no doubt clare with a double sweeper will win as once they get possession they will score

I always judge standards of KK the standard bearers, and Davy record since he became the manager v KK is played four games, won one, lost three all by a point and two of those in knowlan park so while they have bit do beat KK and two losses yes are set back if play KK considering clare beat KK under twenty one two final should negate that to a degree imo I don't think clare will fear limerick at all at all and imo only teams I think beat KK championship are clare now

I can't see tipp beating KK, as KK have the superior mentality over them in too many big games and cork would have a chance but it is seriously diminished by Joyce injury and cahalane injury problems at full back

To go up to KK and show intent and hunger twice back to back weeks to a KK team that normally don't loose at home imo is a huge huge positive.
    clare I have no doubt have some issues but certainly not as bad as some make out to be imo and once clare sort them will be a serious serious all Ireland contenders

Davy record is proven in the game , got waterford to the all Ireland final,he Reinvented an old team who if had got a few years earlier imo would won all the Ireland , done well with lit, won senior all Ireland with clare
    There's no other better man you could say In a better option to manage them now , daly could do good job but if you compare both Fitz record imo is better

Of course daly is nice and upsets no one but to be fair just cause Davy irated people now is imo no reason to ignore he's a superb coach, very tactical astutely minded

Daly said it in the irish examiner at the start of the year before it all blew off that people were waiting for their time to jump on Davy and want him out if he had league defeats.

I Don't doubt that league division two hurling is a huge setback next year, however it won't affect them this year in the significant difference is those two games v kilkenny showed how good clare can be.

Limerick won't test clare like kilkenny at all at all
    Davy term should be reviewed at the end of the year like all managers but at the moment he fully deserves to finish he's term

He get profiled as a total dictator , I doubt this very much.
    Kinnerk got on with him fine as coach. Over he's record as coach, very few ex players spoke against him.
    People's who jump on he's training methods forget he was the man with the organisation of the miwadi and biscuits in he's own house to clear the air meeting before and also said this week he would allow the lads have a break from a few days training

He does give tough love, but he totally backed the players this week after defeats and said he was proud of them, I think to be fair he always backed he's team,he just understandable he knew clare imo h had a rotten culture of so long in poor standards he demands and expects high standard as he wants clare be the best they can be.
    Hes demands of players are nothing he to be fair didn't demand himself of a player

He's hardly the enemy within being made out to be in some circles by clare imo
    He's a winner at the end of the day. He is Not everyones cup of tea but if I had a choice him or tj Ryan as manager my county for the game in may, I'd choose Davy every single time as while tj will go with the flow, won't upset anyone, won't question anything from the board etc when push comes to shove, that lack of ruthless conviction comes through in he's management where Davy bold, residential me against the rest helps he's team
    Crucially one huge difference is Davy will as the 2013 finals showed will change style of play when needed as he played the orthodox style and sweeper when he had to
    Imo I rate Davy as a superb coach, tactical wise very very good.
    Galvin said Davy was totally supportive to him and they will still be in touch during the summer
    This talk Davy will destroy the team imo is from fans in none majority players said this
    Sunday was as close league game get to championship intensity and I saw no signs clare were playing as a team that manager lost the dressing room
    If so KK would have ruthlessly demolished them
    Last year similar stories about mcguiness and article Dublin paper mcguiness style training suffocation team more or less yet it wasn't the case at all, in players believed in him
    Like Davy, mcguiness imo deserves benft doubt then in he had won the all Ireland with like Davy, had huge input building that success
    If a manager has proven himself all Ireland most of the time deserves backing
    Clare didn't just win the all Ireland by scraping to it, demolished limerick and over two games dominated cork and fully deserved the win
    And while a lot had parts to play Davy was the manager that over saw this

If what halloran said was true I be against it totally but judging by galvin support Davy, statements panel, no other voices back halloran and the likes of louganne still backing Davy and daly imo Davy is innocent until proven guilty and team seem to back him totally on the last week events on off the field
    I for one would no way rule out clare at all at all

Vanolder wrote: »
    Lads, what way will your midfield line out come summer now that Galvin is gone? He's a big spoke in the way Davy wants them playing.... Limerick look way off but on their day James Ryan and Paul Brown are a match for any pairing - going to be tough to fill this problem position.

Is it fair to say that if management had known from the start of the year that Galvin wasn't available for the championship, they would have used the league to try other options ?

Yes as you say we did go toe-to-toe with Kilkenny, but ultimately we were relegated and only beat Dublin.

We also went toe-to-toe with Cork and Wexford in last year's championship, but we didn't win a match.

And note that in the first Kilkenny league game they had a depleted team and had nothing to play for.

Yes as you say we did go toe-to-toe with Kilkenny, but ultimately we were relegated and only beat Dublin.

We also went toe-to-toe with Cork and Wexford in last year's championship, but we didn't win a match.

And note that in the first Kilkenny league game they had a depleted team and had nothing to play for.
    Valid points and I agree relegated is not good but crucially last two games showed huge improvement in clare lessons were being learned
    In relation KK fielding poor team ist day, no logic in as they proved ist game in cork so called weak teams no team KK dna programed be walked over

And last week was full strength KK team more or less
    Galvin interview today really showed clearly beyond doubt he great relationship Davy hugely awe him like what I told many clare lads are also and again until evidence back up halloran claims come out Davy deserves innocent until proven guilty
    Beating Dublin a Dublin team clearly up for the win was good result
    Compare to limerick yes while not getting complete performance but in tougher division in six games ye played five game ye played ye still got level performance above limerick produced against teams lower division

Limerick is game definer for clare but I believe they will win and also give a performance that day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Mehapoy

Valid points and I agree relegated is not good but crucially last two games showed huge improvement in clare lessons were being learned
    In relation KK fielding poor team ist day, no logic in as they proved ist game in cork so called weak teams no team KK dna programed be walked over

And last week was full strength KK team more or less
    Galvin interview today really showed clearly beyond doubt he great relationship Davy hugely awe him like what I told many clare lads are also and again until evidence back up halloran claims come out Davy deserves innocent until proven guilty
    Beating Dublin a Dublin team clearly up for the win was good result
    Compare to limerick yes while not getting complete performance but in tougher division in six games ye played five game ye played ye still got level performance above limerick produced against teams lower division

Limerick is game definer for clare but I believe they will win and also give a performance that day

Seriously what do you expect colm galvin to say? He's hardly going to lop in a verbal granade and ignite it all again and then go off for the summer, no matter what his state of mind he's going to say all the right things in an interview, I'd look at his actions rather than his words to be honest...

Mehapoy wrote: »
    Seriously what do you expect colm galvin to say? He's hardly going to lop in a verbal granade and ignite it all again and then go off for the summer, no matter what his state of mind he's going to say all the right things in an interview, I'd look at his actions rather than his words to be honest...

But sure with this view in essence why was so completely complementary Davy. Could said leaving for usa etc etc but didn't actually as I'm sure you will find by reading it, said Davy will be communicated him during summer, he said Davy was hugely supportive and be fair said wanted go in last few years but stayed and Davy knew for time consider it and he these thoughts before whole scenario sparked off

Take what you choose make it, but he praised Davy no end, if he'd problem said he leaving etc etc why praise manager

Majority panel back Davy, galvin no problem yet still people say ah what else going say
    With level support against Davy even father on board if half panel walked Davy dire trouble so players unlike cork strikes start where Gerald mac was seen as hero by many and rightly so always had huge case fight
    If problems that bad players would walked simple as and Davy be under no option but to go even father chairman as support against Davy is huge
    Players back Davy
    No one yet has shown anyone bar halloran problems within
    Collins left over dualism and had be fair go with football over father
    Davy was right in giving them ultimatum as cork and rochestown cratole proved sooner later dualism catches up with teams
    Galvin said loved preparations for games imo nothing wrong training then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

But sure with this view in essence why was so completely complementary Davy. Could said leaving for usa etc etc but didn't actually as I'm sure you will find by reading it, said Davy will be communicated him during summer, he said Davy was hugely supportive and be fair said wanted go in last few years but stayed and Davy knew for time consider it and he these thoughts before whole scenario sparked off

Take what you choose make it, but he praised Davy no end, if he'd problem said he leaving etc etc why praise manager

Majority panel back Davy, galvin no problem yet still people say ah what else going say
    With level support against Davy even father on board if half panel walked Davy dire trouble so players unlike cork strikes start where Gerald mac was seen as hero by many and rightly so always had huge case fight
    If problems that bad players would walked simple as and Davy be under no option but to go even father chairman as support against Davy is huge
    Players back Davy
    No one yet has shown anyone bar halloran problems within
    Collins left over dualism and had be fair go with football over father
    Davy was right in giving them ultimatum as cork and rochestown cratole proved sooner later dualism catches up with teams
    Galvin said loved preparations for games imo nothing wrong training then

Did it cross your mind the real reason Galvin is going to the states? Club issues along with County issues.
    The treatment of O'Halloran was putrid management. It's not the first time this has happened.
    How many players have made the choice to balance playing for Clare above the manager?
    The reality is there is better man management and tactical management available to Clare that Davy.

Figerty wrote: »
    Did it cross your mind the real reason Galvin is going to the states? Club issues along with County issues.
    The treatment of O'Halloran was putrid management. It's not the first time this has happened.
    How many players have made the choice to balance playing for Clare above the manager?
    The reality is there is better man management and tactical management available to Clare that Davy.
    Fair enough you say is true but where is the evidence??

No one else has went against Davy
    Galvin said paper always wanted go abroad, he's father coaching he's club he said so what the issue last year and hinted return club under stack when returns

No issues imo
    I'm going by galvin interview
    There is nothing in it support be fair anything against Davy
    Until there is then imo no problem with Davy
    Did the panel did they not sign statement saying all was fine
    No one else complained
    Who is better manager than Davy in clare??
    One player said there was poor treatment
    Why did not nick o connell back him up in interview
    Halloran only lad that spoke so as tomas mulchay said at time if true more would speak out but if not you'd wonder
    No one yet has spoken out as players be fair is my point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Fair enough you say is true but where is the evidence??

No one else has went against Davy
    Galvin said paper always wanted go abroad, he's father coaching he's club he said so what the issue last year and hinted return club under stack when returns

No issues imo
    I'm going by galvin interview
    There is nothing in it support be fair anything against Davy
    Until there is then imo no problem with Davy
    Did the panel did they not sign statement saying all was fine
    No one else complained
    Who is better manager than Davy in clare??
    One player said there was poor treatment
    Why did not nick o connell back him up in interview
    Halloran only lad that spoke so as tomas mulchay said at time if true more would speak out but if not you'd wonder
    No one yet has spoken out as players be fair is my point

Talk to the Clonlara lads.. this is not a court. you wont get it in writing.
    The Galvin interview pushes all the correct political buttons..but doesn't tell all the story. Read between the unwritten lines about the management changes in Clonlara.
    The fact that Davy had issue a letter/statement to justify his actions undermines him. Brian Cody has dealt with similar problems but you never hear about it.
    There are U21 management teams that are consistently better over a long period. They Played better intelligent passionate hurling and manage players better. Do some research on how they brought some players around quietly who were in trouble. I'm not going to say it here who and how.

Your point about the players is well made; I agree with you on that. But You don't know who has or hasn't complained.
    The dressing room is where the players still in the fold they make their statements. The Mi-wadi meeting is the example of this..note the change in style of play afterwards. The abandonment of the management tactics in the games that followed and the U21 methods were followed after the debacle against Cork.
    I think the players are playing for Clare not Davy. There is a tolerance of Davy from what I hear, but that tide can quickly turn. We may win the All-Ireland this year or we might not win a game. Time will tell.
    I want the best for Clare as do all Clare people. I don't think we are getting the best.

Figerty wrote: »
    Talk to the Clonlara lads.. this is not a court. you wont get it in writing.
    The Galvin interview pushes all the correct political buttons..but doesn't tell all the story. Read between the unwritten lines about the management changes in Clonlara.
    The fact that Davy had issue a letter/statement to justify his actions undermines him. Brian Cody has dealt with similar problems but you never hear about it.
    There are U21 management teams that are consistently better over a long period. They Played better intelligent passionate hurling and manage players better. Do some research on how they brought some players around quietly who were in trouble. I'm not going to say it here who and how.

Your point about the players is well made; I agree with you on that. But You don't know who has or hasn't complained.
    The dressing room is where the players still in the fold they make their statements. The Mi-wadi meeting is the example of this..note the change in style of play afterwards. The abandonment of the management tactics in the games that followed and the U21 methods were followed after the debacle against Cork.
    I think the players are playing for Clare not Davy. There is a tolerance of Davy from what I hear, but that tide can quickly turn. We may win the All-Ireland this year or we might not win a game. Time will tell.
    I want the best for Clare as do all Clare people. I don't think we are getting the best.
    Seriously reading between the lines is presuming to assume with no logic or fact and when some one adds that to this debate I really doubt the merits of their argument
    Yes at times you can read from what's said or not but here was not political in galvin gave an opinion but only problem is he praised Davy and no one wants accept this but put a spin on it
    He could said I'm leaving that's that
    He spoke of admiration for training in the past, faith in the team, he thanked Davy for he's support , in fairness this is no court law as you say but if it was a jury would hardly say this is credible evidence, all your argument is with respect heresy in you know this and that , fair enough you do but you can't expect fans condemned Davy with out proven facts
    Any one I know in clare yes be fair Davy has he detractors as he does him self no favours but I'm not hearing any real issues players against him
    This talk about talk clonlara etc get real story neither here nor there
    Galvin has done nothing imo to say not be believed and he said would travelling before but for exams but now over sees he's chance and spoke fondly return club and county so be fair lads deserves be believed
    Absolutely agree regards Davy could said nothing with no statement and louganne even said should dome cody and ignored it, that's only thing Davy done wrong
    But on the other side Davy felt growing tide against him so felt get players behind him and I see why as he's profile is always to face a challenge, never holds he voice so if said nothing now then he's critsom say ah he's gone quiet now so he's guilty
    He could not win either way imo

Cody got fierce critsom for carter affair such there was widespread fans calling KK radio to voice their disgust and that was mentioned in the book the revolution years by Denis Walsh
    Cody kept quiet and said nothing and got away with that stance as always cody way shut mouth catches no flies

As for players dictated the changes after the miwadi and biscuits imo that's incorrect
    Davy played the sweeper and possession game with lit and Waterford and was a fan of it
    He changed the dynamic of the training in lads prior week before cork munster were burned up and flat and he didn't listen to them but crucially he learned after munster and like all good management he learned from mistakes
    You say there's better managers, name them??
    Limerick won countless under twenty one three rwo, cork in football, Galway in under age hurling but couldn't win senior so say clare had talent won anyway is imo incorrect
    Just watch limerick young golden talent struggle under current set up
    Davy was the brave man started Shane o donnell v Cork
    But I suppose some will now try say Davy deserves no credit he picked himself
    At end of the day bottom line is Davy no angel yes but what he's accused of in current training is yet just heresy in no one has backed up halloran yet
    That's the bottom line
    Believe me I see enough cork teams lost faith managers down the line that gave up on field, clare at no stage last year did, yes beaten but fought til the end
    The hunger was gone and were tired imo and yes Davy has responsibility that however two games v KK showed lot real promise be fair and if players playing for themselves rather manager doubt they would been that competitive not once but twice
    You say now players tolerate him but don't like him
    At end day it's not personality contest imo it's about winning and they don't have ever like him once they play for him
    They did play for him
    Did many irish like gatland, know but played for him in the lions and they won