Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

People imo must remember Davy style management is similar louganne, in very confrontial and back himself in to a corner and comes our fighting
    Davy ti be fair grew up culture that suited he's drive
    Daly has different style but Davy should not imo be faulted all time he style when similar style louganne won clare two all Ireland and Davy won all Ireland also
    Imo history tells us clsre having siege mentality us against world suits them as daly speech that upset many clare would not be whipped boys munster any longer in 95
    Imo confrontial management styles won clare last tree all Ireland so works them where soft approach suits others

Davy has relished world against him
    If players back Davy this imo could hugely benft them as trade mark clare possession game is work rate and hooking and blocking and that requires huge work ethic never say die attuide and furious hunger that is relentless

If players back Davy they will see it as world against them and they have a cause to drive that hunger
    If clare get hunger back imo fuel to drive them on as they have awesome hurlers
    archieknox wrote: »
    That's exactly my take on it aswell. It was definitely handled very badly and we know thinktoomuch has stated about the cork lads going on strike but those strikes definitely left a sour taste on both sides of their arguments that are probably still simmering underneath the surface there. Could Clare afford that to happen? Absolutely not. Look its a small enough catchment area when some of these lads from opposing counties are playing Fitzgibbon together so talk/rumours will get out so for O Halloran to make the accusation about the high profile player not being dealt with in the same way, he obviously must have evidence to back his claim up. Obviously it has been handled poorly and because of this people are intrigued as to what really happened.

He's confrontational for sure, and so was Loughnane but at the same time, I don't remember any players leaving the panel under him?

It's hard to know obviously but I know people who would argue that Clare possibly should have won more in the 90s... I suppose it's hard to know for sure. Similarly people would argue Davy should be doing a lot better with the current team. Not winning a game for almost an entire 12 months isn't good and when things like that happen you'd wonder how much of an impact the likes of Kinnerk had, or the U-21 management- Moloney & O'Connor.

He has some credit in the bank still from the All-Ireland win but realistically, he has to deliver this year. Not necessarily win an All-Ireland, just eradicate the memories of last year. It'll be an interesting season. They do need to adapt the gameplan again though, I feel he's slid back into the style that they had pre-Mi Wadi, so to speak because he did change things up a little bit for that qualifier run and it worked. The momentum brought them through to the final and they had the talent when they got there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

I think Davys sucess with LIT is overatrd and is more a p.r spin imo

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Davy's style was always to live by the sword and die by the sword and do his own thing, he did this as a player and continued it as a manager. He's happy out taking credit for winning the All Ireland, for bottles of miwadi, for curing drug taking, for standing up to bullying. To me, the facts are that in 2013 Clare had a lot of luck with the draw and the players dictated the change in style.

The onus on the Clare management should be to get the under 21s to transition from under 21s to seniors, this is not just the change in being a senior player on the pitch but off the pitch also, stuff like being seen out in town 2 days before a match would be ok for under 21s, not for seniors, playing football as well as hurling would be ok at under 21, maybe not possible at senior.

To me, Davy is not the type of personality to bring these players across to senior level, his management style of his way or the high way isn't suitable for the current requirements, this might have been ok for the first year when players were still playing under 21 and delighted to be on the senior panel, now you have a bunch of lads with All Ireland medals in their back pocket who think they know it all.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

By the way, did anyone else think that article on the front of the champion where the chairman of the county board said he didn't know anything about the trouble that was brewing or that he would have gotten involved if he knew anything or offered to help if he did. I'm not saying that the Chairman needs to know everything, but surely 2 players leaving the panel is something he should know about from an accountancy point of view at least, I would question what the County Board Liaison Officer is doing in his role. If players leaving the panel isn't enough, then surely he should have known about something that was requested to be brought up in a Clare GAA meeting (letter), if not that surely the Irish Times requested feedback for the article before it was published, surely he should have known about this, if not that surely he was aware of the rumours that were going around the county about the issue.

Said artictle here

daly speech that upset many clare would not be whipped boys munster any longer in 95

The whipping boys speech was after the 97 Munster Final and was in relation to a number of articles in the press at the time

sasta le wrote: »

Not meaning to be smart or anything, but what success? 1 recent Fitzgibbon final appearance for all the investments that were made can't be regarded as success, couple that with the video that circulated from the dressing room a few years back I'd say he hasn't had any success with LIT.

By the way, I would put the 2005 & 07 success down to Cyril Farrell as much as Davy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

Sorry that's my point.Its always a line spun sucess at Colleges level
    Davy came in a good time with Clare,what did he do underage for Clare?

Sorry that's my point.Its always a line spun sucess at Colleges level
    Davy came in a good time with Clare,what did he do underage for Clare?

In fairness to the guy he used to be always available to take a session with teams or to present medals or anything like that, I'd imagine once you get to be an intercounty manager you just don't have time to take over a team. The guy mustn't have any spare time between LIT and Clare, he's been with LIT for 10 years and has been coaching inter-county teams since 2008, I think he had a few club teams as well down through the years, he only finished playing around 08 as well I think (counting all that hassle with Tony Considine)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

But he brought the managerial masterstroke of lads coming through the bushes to the game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Tommy Kelly

LMK wrote: »
    Its a bit of craic for the time of year, bottom line is Davy is a polarizing character, ergo his teams have to win, that brings pressure so it can't be nice for him or his family, as an outsider I admire how much Davy has grafted to make the most of the talent he was given.
    When he's gone he'll be missed, if he was to get a bit of leeway in terms of not actually holding him to stand by everything that he says I'd say he'd right a few mistakes but his personality seems to be such that he won't retract if he's backed into a corner.
    GAA journos are squeezing him now as well, in any case if Limerick don't this year I hope Clare win the A.I.

Agree and I wouldn't mind seeing Clare win the AI this year too but that's if Galway don't win it, now. If neither win it we'll take Davy off Clares hands, no bother. Only up the road too, handy enough for him. There's a bit of straightening out to be done in this neck of the woods and there's be no better man to do that than Davy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭fabsoul

Agree and I wouldn't mind seeing Clare win the AI this year too but that's if Galway don't win it, now. If neither win it we'll take Davy off Clares hands, no bother. Only up the road too, handy enough for him. There's a bit of straightening out to be done in this neck of the woods and there's be no better man to do that than Davy.

oh please god take the clown,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xK9dk6H9XWw

The weird thing is I think he would make a brilliant job of the Galway job, the guy has a wealth of experience and has a proven track record with both Clare and Waterford, I think he'd be great to galvanise a county together and get players to give everything for him.

Clare I think need an elder manager, almost teacher like, to bring the players along, ideally someone who has a number of All Ireland's already so they have someone to look up to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Clareman wrote: »
    The weird thing is I think he would make a brilliant job of the Galway job, the guy has a wealth of experience and has a proven track record with both Clare and Waterford, I think he'd be great to galvanise a county together and get players to give everything for him.

Clare I think need an elder manager, almost teacher like, to bring the players along, ideally someone who has a number of All Ireland's already so they have someone to look up to.

It would be very hard to detract from the job he's done with Clare on a records point of view, compared to where they were before he took over albeit last year was a shambles but you could maybe forgive that given it was a major shock they won in 2013 anyway and maybe they are still just a bit young yet.

But there is two very different perspectives on how he fared with Waterford, and while again some will argue in his favour and even say he was entitled to improve given it was his first inter county job, the Munster final shellacking which came in his 4th and final year was largely his fault. Defeat was probably inevitable, but the manner of it falls on his shoulders and I do myself find it hard to give anybody capable of doing such a botch job as he did before and during that match a clean slate for fear he would achieve the same thing once more.

I think he did as well as anyone could have done with Waterford, this isn't the Waterford thread, but he got an aging team to an All Ireland and won a few Munsters while leaving a base behind (albeit with a massive debt).

I honestly do believe that any experienced manager could have won the All Ireland in 2013, once the players dictated how they were going to play it was just a case of letting them off, there was a lot of luck involved with draws and timings in 2013, but no-one can ever take All Ireland number 4 off us :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

I think he did as well as anyone could have done with Waterford, this isn't the Waterford thread, but he got an aging team to an All Ireland and won a few Munsters while leaving a base behind (albeit with a massive debt).

I honestly do believe that any experienced manager could have won the All Ireland in 2013, once the players dictated how they were going to play it was just a case of letting them off, there was a lot of luck involved with draws and timings in 2013, but no-one can ever take All Ireland number 4 off us :D

Point taken about it not being the Waterford thread, or the merit of Davys ability thread either, but 1 Munster in which the best team came back and destroyed us in August and even worse so the following year as mentioned. Cork actually started Cathal Naughton, Michael Cussen and Aisake o Hailpin the second day. If we'd have lost that we might as well have burned all the hurleys in Waterford, we also struggled over a Clare side hammered by Dublin who were subsequently beaten by Antrim. Lot of holes in that achievement.

Anyway...yeah I suppose, but luck or no luck an all-ireland is an all-ireland. Wouldn't be privy to what was going on in Clare, and I know Kinnerk was getting a lot of credit in the lead up to the final and that too but he has an all-ireland to his name that I thought they would struggle to win for a few years and possibly not succeed with him in charge. Still though, I guess you're only as good as your last game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

When is the Clare team named for the match against Kilkenny on Sunday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭letowski

Rasputin11 wrote: »
    When is the Clare team named for the match against Kilkenny on Sunday?

Usually between 10-11pm the night before.
    It's done so opposing managers don't have time to counteract Davy's top secret highly sophisticated masterplan. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

letowski wrote: »
    Usually between 10-11pm the night before.
    It's done so opposing managers don't have time to counteract Davy's top secret highly sophisticated masterplan. :)

Ya sure..don't we have seven different game plans, I think six of them involve playing a sweeper though and handing the puck outs to the opposition :rolleyes: I'd say Tuohy, Flannagan/Browne, Dillon, D Mac, Cleary, Ryan, Donnelan, Kelly, Galvin, Ryan, Conlon, Cunningham, Mcgrath, O Donnell, Reidy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Phillip Lannigan of the Irish Daily Mail is saying on Twitter that Colm Galvin is Boston bound in the Summer.

He'd be some loss to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Galvin is going to be a big loss alright but he is dead right to head away for the summer. Needs to live his life away from hurling 24/7 and now is the time to do it. He will have another 10 years in the county Jersey when he comes back.

Tough test tomorrow, expect a backlash from kilkenny at some stage with the way they have been performing.

At this stage we could have a game between those playing for Clare and those who choose not to/were kicked off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

At this stage we could have a game between those playing for Clare and those who choose not to/were kicked off

The Banner versus the Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭mjp

See attached team named for tomorrow's must win clash against weakened kilkenny team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭letowski

mjp wrote: »
    See attached team named for tomorrow's must win clash against weakened kilkenny team

I like that team, we have alot more starters than KK so hopefully we can get the win. Should be a good test for the lads.

It's worrying though, with Galvin going to be abroad for the summer. He is not only one of our best players, but plays a vital linkman role in this team. It's getting really concerning now with the amount of players we are going to have not available for Limerick in May. Galvin along with Podge are crucial players in this Clare system in terms of their industry and ability to create chances for others. Realistically I think we are at a stage now if we are to lose another key player or two our hopes of beating LK are going to fall hard. A team can't really perform to their best if their key players aren't there.

But for now it's Kilkenny tomorrow and we badly need to start getting sharp and into form.

Does Jack Browne ever not get booked?

2 points all after 5 minutes for anyone not watching

1-4 to 0-3 to Clare now, Shane O'Donnell goal.

This is just going to be a shoot out I think, very little defending going on here, 1-6 to 1-4 in favour of Clare.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Entertaining enough game, looks likely they'll be going at it again next weekend regardless as Dublin leading Galway 0-21 to 2-12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

marco_polo wrote: »
    Entertaining enough game, looks likely they'll be going at it again next weekend regardless as Dublin leading Galway 0-21 to 2-12.

feck it anyways, but I suppose last time we were in a relegation play off it didn't do us any harm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Forgive me for asking, but did it matter today if Kelly took his point at the end? Were the 2 bottom teams going to play-off anyway, with the loser to go down?