Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Off to the u21 hurling final now. Hopefully a good game and the wind doesn't ruin the game.
    Hon the townies :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭archieknox

I am not going to get in to a big toing and froing about this but i take grave exception to the statement highlighted above.

It gives the impression that Davy O`Halloran is some kind of ludicrous troublemaker stirring things because he was caught messing.
    I don`t know halloran personally but i do know the clare hurling seen as well as anybody and whatever else o`halloran is that is not a fair description of him. No one who has dealt with him would make that criticism.
    He has always been dedicated and given his best, he was man of the match in clares first game at under 21 in 2012 but lost his place after the munster final and there wasn`t a peep out of him about it after.

Himself and nicky o`connell were described in a local paper in county clare as having `turned their back on clare hurling`. That story came from a journalist of very long standing in county clare who ihas also been a county board official for years and years.
    make of that what you will. It was only after this attempt by somebody or other to have the last word that davy o`halloran told his side of the story to the media.
    his character was impugned in a very grave way in that article and he is to be commended for having the courage to defend himself.

I will also say with out fear of contradiction that there were other individuals that took drink, admitted it and were not punished. The entire county of clare is aware of the identity of one individual. In fact the only people in the county who seemd to be blissfully unaware of this fact when they nailed the two o`connells and o`halloran to the cross were the clare county management.

as regards the statement which came out which was wholly unnessecary it served no purpose other than to make a mockery of the entire Clare set up.
    There were claims about players telling untruths in it and about innacuracies.
    well i am certain that they were out when they shouldnt have been
    i believe the three of them began their punishment
    i believe that another player told one of them that he committed the same offence and i believe the management knew about it.
    The two players who had no game time of any real significance decided to through their hat at the bizarre punishment dished out but tots decided to continue because he felt he had a chance of playing and has been vindicated in that when he was brought on as a sub against kilkenny.
    I believe that they wrote a letter to the squad which was torn up in front of some people by an individual.
    I believe also that the players were informed by text or some other form of media that there was a statement being released and that they had one hour to object if they felt strongly enough to do so.
    I feel it demeaned the lot of them that none of them did object but i also understand fully why they did not.
    Can you imagine the scenario that would have unfolded for clare when it became clear that this was attempted and the squad was divided and some of them refused to support the manager.

Finally this nonsense about an anti davy Bias that is about the place.

Davy Fitzgerald was the goalkeeper on the first truly great clare team. he was an iconic individual as part of that group that inspired everything that has come after.
    He took LIT to two fitzgibbon cup victorys containing lots of clare players and in 2013 he brought Clare to win an all Ireland Title with a team of young players that the county is absolutely crazy about yet in less than twelve months he managed to turn the vast majority of Clare supporters against him from former players to club players to familys of players to ordinary supporters in the street who wouldnt see a hurley other than on the television.
    Nobody did that only the man himself. He has engaged in some of the most bizarre carry on in the last twelve months that has ever been seen in the gaa. It is truly depressing as a passionate Clare hurling supporter to think that the recent nonsense appears to indicate that not a single lesson has been learned from the debacle of 2014 when we gave the weakest defence of an all ireland title since the back door was introduced.
    of the squad that went to croke park in 2013 there are now as far as i can see 10 players no longer in the squad.
    two of those were retirements Patrick kelly is gone to kerry but markham mcinerney the two collins galvin o`connell and o`halloran have all left
    Think about that for a second.
    all of those players have all ireland medals and were in a squad of really young players that had won a senior title but when they weighed up sticking it out against going they decided to leave for their own reasons.
    Kilkenny have lads of 24 and 25 making their team after 5 and 6 years in the squad because they are prepared to stick it out that long.
    Clare will not have that because the regime is too controlling and also because the management select from a very limited pool of players in the league.
    We have established players playing every single game, we are told its because we have to compete in 1 A yet in two of three seasons we could have put out the camogie team and ended up playing the relegation match anyway.
    lads have become frustrated
    now on a final note of optimism.
    These are very good players.
    There have been one or two indications that a relaxation has come
    the manager has not behaved poorly on the sideline to date.
    If this indicates that lessons have been learned then we have a chance.

Very informative,very honest account in your opinion. I am not by any means trying to resurrect the debacle but through my work I have spoken to genuine Clare supporters and they could reiterate what you are saying. I feel sad for O Halloran and O Connell as it looks like they've been hung out to dry.

Off to the u21 hurling final now. Hopefully a good game and the wind doesn't ruin the game.
    Hon the townies :)

Disappointing result. Kilmaley by far the better team. Much better hurlers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,479 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

shocking scoreline in the end 3-17 to 2-05 , i actually taught eire og were going to win comfortably today , espicaly with the inside forward line they have , kilmaley along with lissyceasy have a huge pick they now are almost partner clubs and have dominated minor level in the last few years in both codes ,not sure how many from lissycasey on that team today but they do make up a percentage of players in all codes for them , also alot of lads from the miltown malbay area try out for them as well underage , so in truth kilmaley have a huge area to pick from taking in there neighbors aswell , eire og has developed a descent record in terms of football under age (and senior ) i honestly taught that this group of players would would change that in terms of under achiveing in hurling , i will be very interested as to see how they perform over the summer in the championship expected more form them especially the second half performance sounds like it was very bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭letowski

Surprised to hear about the margin of the win alright. Infairness to Kilmaley though they have had a good few Clare minors and u21s in the last 3/4 years. They have won the most titles in that age group up along too.

How did Aidan Kennedy play? Im looking forward in seeing him play for the Clare minors this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

letowski wrote: »
    Surprised to hear about the margin of the win alright. Infairness to Kilmaley though they have bad a good few Clare minors and u21s in the last 3/4 years. They have won the most titles in that age group up along too.

How did Aidan Kennedy play? Im looking forward in seeing him play for the Clare minors this year.

Aidan Kennedy is the next Shane O'Donnell.. that's how well he played. Outstanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭caddy16

shocking scoreline in the end 3-17 to 2-05 , i actually taught eire og were going to win comfortably today , espicaly with the inside forward line they have , kilmaley along with lissyceasy have a huge pick they now are almost partner clubs and have dominated minor level in the last few years in both codes ,not sure how many from lissycasey on that team today but they do make up a percentage of players in all codes for them , also alot of lads from the miltown malbay area try out for them as well underage , so in truth kilmaley have a huge area to pick from taking in there neighbors aswell , eire og has developed a descent record in terms of football under age (and senior ) i honestly taught that this group of players would would change that in terms of under achiveing in hurling , i will be very interested as to see how they perform over the summer in the championship expected more form them especially the second half performance sounds like it was very bad

With the greatest respect your not clued into the club scene if you thought that , Kilmaley came through the far harder side of the draw. Also kilmaley and lisseycasey have arrangement for years again a town team with huge pick.

caddy16 wrote: »
    With the greatest respect your not clued into the club scene if you thought that , Kilmaley came through the far harder side of the draw. Also kilmaley and lisseycasey have arrangement for years again a town team with huge pick.

ah now come on the size of kilmaley is huge on its own , yes i know kilmaley and lissycasey are pretty much all the one going back to the mid to late 90's and as i said before places like kilmihil cooreeclare and miltown have been providing players to kilmaley for a while , and in truth while they might have came through the harder draw eire og did have the more inter county players plus a large number of last years senior b wining team were still under 21 this year

and for what its worth both teams have the same number of participating teams up along and at adult level from junior b junior a inter and senior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Well done to Tulla for picking up the U-21B title.

ah now come on the size of kilmaley is huge on its own , yes i know kilmaley and lissycasey are pretty much all the one going back to the mid to late 90's and as i said before places like kilmihil cooreeclare and miltown have been providing players to kilmaley for a while , and in truth while they might have came through the harder draw eire og did have the more inter county players plus a large number of last years senior b wining team were still under 21 this year

and for what its worth both teams have the same number of participating teams up along and at adult level from junior b junior a inter and senior

Kilmaley has a population of around 1800, Big parish but sparsely populated once you go past Kilmaley. No more than Ballyea, Inagh etc. the isolated players do make up some numbers but those guys are hurling since they were 8 or 9.
    Eire Og have a big population but never seem to harness it. I wonder should they be getting time to hold sessions in Cusack park at the centre of the town?
    I see Cathal Malone has left Ennisytmon to join Sixmilebridge also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭caddy16

There's are so many things wrong with what you have stated I wouldn't know where to start!

caddy16 wrote: »
    There's are so many things wrong with what you have stated I wouldn't know where to start!

so kilmaley dont pick up isolated players from west clare ?

eire og had a fairly young team out last year in senior b, i was under the impression an number of them were under age for this grade this year ?

from what i can see the two clubs have a pretty similar number of under age teams out up along through the ranks along and a similar number of teams at junior level?

did'nt the likes of colin lynch and martin daly among others from lisscaesy play hurling for the likes of eire og before joining up with kilmaley ,

i am open to correction on all this , i am not from either place but i am not sure how far fetched it is either though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭letowski

Vanolder wrote: »
    Clare are massive favourites - Limerick are not going well at all- I'd fear a 2006 type beating tbh.

Ah gosh, you're joking right? We have had just got another player leaving the panel over the weekend, in Stephen O'Halloran. Were far from a good place either going into the match. I know Limerick are off another poor league, but ye have been the most consistent performing side in Munster for the last 3 years and will be putting out a very seasoned and battle hardened team.

It's a really strange situation going into the game, very hard game to call but the unavailability of Bulger, Galvin and Podge is going to hurt Clare. We will still have a good side though.

not overly optimistic about our chances against limerick , last year they had a fairly bad league ,bad loss to galway all that stuff with the county board and donal o'grady and yet they beat tipp well in thurles , plus our record in thurles and iin munster in general isnt too great either , and as you say throw in all our problems of late and the number of players unavailable to me seems to be more in limericks favor at the moment despite what ever is happening down there at the moment

Figerty wrote: »
    Aidan Kennedy is the next Shane O'Donnell.. that's how well he played. Outstanding.

Was that the number 13? If it was he was outstanding yesterday.
    Never really expected eire og to win yesterday to be honest. It was a good achievement in getting to the final in fairness even if we were on the easier side of the draw. I certainly expected a better performance. Skill levels were quite poor and maybe the occasion got to them a little.
    Hopefully it's further signs the club is heading in the right direction again.

so kilmaley dont pick up isolated players from west clare ?

eire og had a fairly young team out last year in senior b, i was under the impression an number of them were under age for this grade this year ?

from what i can see the two clubs have a pretty similar number of under age teams out up along through the ranks along and a similar number of teams at junior level?

did'nt the likes of colin lynch and martin daly among others from lisscaesy play hurling for the likes of eire og before joining up with kilmaley ,

i am open to correction on all this , i am not from either place but i am not sure how far fetched it is either though

Nothing far fetched about it. It's an open fact that is gone through each year. What is lost in the mix is that practically all those lads start their hurling at 8,9 years of age and work up from there to be good enough to make A teams. The pay off for Clare is that Conor Cleary is good enough to make the Clare panel as a result of talent and hard work.

Was that the number 13? If it was he was outstanding yesterday.
    Never really expected eire og to win yesterday to be honest. It was a good achievement in getting to the final in fairness even if we were on the easier side of the draw. I certainly expected a better performance. Skill levels were quite poor and maybe the occasion got to them a little.
    Hopefully it's further signs the club is heading in the right direction again.

Ya. He's a dinger of a hurler. The guys marking him were good, it's just that he is a great talent in the making and yesterday Kilmaley were on top and able to feed him. I'd give the corner backs at lot of credit for their performance.

Eire Og lacked the townie cockyness that you would usually expect from them. The best of the Eire Og lads will dust themselves down and get on with it; the ones that fade away will be legends in their own minds.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I think the isolated player ruling was thrown out last year, before that Kilmaley had the pick of west Clare as they were the nearest parish, wasn't an issue for years until a few good players came along like Conor Cleary.

Clareman wrote: »
    I think the isolated player ruling was thrown out last year, before that Kilmaley had the pick of west Clare as they were the nearest parish, wasn't an issue for years until a few good players came along like Conor Cleary.

I think the whole debate was moot as Croke park could never approve the whole newly cobbled arrangement in Clare; it had more holes than a net in a goals. A lot of lads got a chance to go on a rant but that was all it was.
    Cratloe had Isolated players in football from all over the place so you had a west clare rule for hurling but no equivalent for football. The rulebook of the GAA applies and all Isolated players go through a process nothing has changed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

Do cratloe bring alot of players for the football team?

sasta le wrote: »
    Do cratloe bring alot of players for the football team?

Not too many to be fair, Brendan Bugler from Whitegate is one.. One from Clooney,,
    Non of their big players are from outside as far as I know.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

John Galvin too did I hear?

sasta le wrote: »
    John Galvin too did I hear?

Ya, but he may be living in the parish. Not isolated that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Nicky O'Connell back? More twists than the wild Atlantic way! :)

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/hurling/2015/0414/693949-report-oconnell-returns-to-clare-squad/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Nicky O'Connell back? More twists than the wild Atlantic way! :)

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/hurling/2015/0414/693949-report-oconnell-returns-to-clare-squad/

Fair play to nicky and brother
    They knew they were wrong and they apologies
    They have no problem with Davy if they returned. Further confirmation things were not as bad as meant out to be under Davy
    Imo a real band of brothers undrr Davy
    As I said from day one too much anti Davy done this done that but no one else backed the allegations
    David halloran seems only one problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Gael85

Figerty wrote: »
    Not too many to be fair, Brendan Bugler from Whitegate is one.. One from Clooney,,
    Non of their big players are from outside as far as I know.

Fergal Lynch and Cillian Duggan from Clooney Quinn play as isolated players along with Bugler. John Galvin is living in Cratloe. Doonbeg have hurlers Shane O'Brien and Ronan Goode from Newmarket as isolated players too.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Fair play to nicky and brother
    They knew they were wrong and they apologies
    They have no problem with Davy if they returned. Further confirmation things were not as bad as meant out to be under Davy
    Imo a real band of brothers undrr Davy
    As I said from day one too much anti Davy done this done that but no one else backed the allegations
    David halloran seems only one problem
    What exactly were they wrong about?

Having to apologise to the panel aswell, why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Keano wrote: »
    What exactly were they wrong about?

Having to apologise to the panel aswell, why?

But sure why did they apologies so?!?
    Players have spoken they bar one have rejoined
    There were obviously code discipline for panel that was broken no others have problems with
    Time reflection they decided they were wrong
    They hsve rejoined so it imo shows Davy and management were right in rest panel and colm galvin all backed Davy by panel statement and galvin speaking glowing of Davy and now this
    What more evidence do you need
    On the other side it seems just one had a problem

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I have no idea why he did. Should have said he'll come back and let sleeping dogs lie. To have to apologise for standing up for what you believe in and there are others in the room who broke the rules and were given slaps on the wrist and you have to say sorry to them! No way.

But sure why did they apologies so?!?
    Players have spoken they bar one have rejoined
    There were obviously code discipline for panel that was broken no others have problems with
    Time reflection they decided they were wrong
    They hsve rejoined so it imo shows Davy and management were right in rest panel and colm galvin all backed Davy by panel statement and galvin speaking glowing of Davy and now this
    What more evidence do you need
    On the other side it seems just one had a problem

Ah come on now. You need to stop believing the hype about Davy. I think the situation with Tot's and Nicky is much more complex than either you know or will admit.