Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jeremy Clarkson suspended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,211 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Of course I am. I like Tog Gear, so I must be some kind of menial worker who likes to go down t' pub after an 'ard days work and down a couple of pints. Then I go home, straight into the shed where I tinker on the lawnmower or the car or something else equally as manly, only pausing to look at the various page threes stuck upon my wall. On t'weekend I go down to the sportsground and cheer on my local team, whom I love more than my wife. ;):rolleyes:
    Yes, that's me down to a t.
    So of course the people who describe me as such must be tofu-eating Guardian readers who are concerned about their CO2 output, who wear suit and tie, listen to classical music, watch BBC 3 and 4, drive a Prius and go to the opera and are most likely working in HR or maybe as advertising executives or perhaps graphic designers and probably have more degrees than I have Led Zeppelin albums. :P

I take it you're doing stereotype parody here. Your complaint was about a poster stereotyping TG fans. So if you're OK with stereotyping then... what's your problem again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Lizard people?

Honestly starting to sound like that's the next step in who's fault it is. That or zionism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

On his bike on BBC News, how ironic, ho ho ho ho. Still trolling us. :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I am I the only person who taught top gear had run its course and was after going past its use by date with about 3 years at least???

Also I taught clarkson was just someone who I just couldn't warm to for some reason....

I was thinking the same.
    Tbh it felt like Pebble Mill at One for blokes.
    I think the whole thing has run out of ideas, it started to become either car porn, daft but fun ways to poke fun at sh1t cars and Clarkson making a fool out of May and Hammond.
    Yes, it was funny but it was getting boring.
    Is rather read Top Gear Magazine tbh, less attempts at comedy and more stuff about cars.

Anyhow, life will grind on without Top Gear, if it dies a death now, it really isn't that important.
    Don't see too many people seeking to reinstate Rolf Harris....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

londonbus wrote: »
    no broadcaster would want to be associated with him.

Not all the shocked grannies in the world dropping their support for "knitting weekly" can compete with the millions of viewers he, May and minime would bring.

No for-profit business in their right mind would balk at the chance of hiring them. Insane business sense not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

I'm still having trouble wrapping my head around the kind of man that can listen to a twenty minute marathon of verbal abuse. That's just not normal.

He was milking it. Everyone exaggerates.

Just as blew everything out of proportion and went to A&E for a swollen lip of all things, its likely that the actual "tirade" only lasted a few minutes, witness or no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

CruelCoin wrote: »
    No for-profit business in their right mind would balk at the chance of hiring them.

Not in their current form - the Clarkson presenting style, as it is, is dead and is not coming back. Big businesses are incredibly sensitive to public opinion and Clarkson is a devise figure - any non-insane business will not want to alienate people profit that find him disagreeable.

In a way the BBC insulated Clarkson from the for-profit TV world which, if they hire Clarkson, will have a contract longer than an 80's Encyclopaedia Britannica ensuring his 'comedy' remains a thing of historic curiosity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,555 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

That's the difference between us. I'm not so far up my own hole as to be incapable of admitting the fact. Funnily enough, neither is Clarkson.

Pity he didn't do sommat about it then.

Fair play to the Beeb for having the cahunas to pull the plug on him.

Refreshing these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Bench Press

an attention seeking git like that turning up at a&e like that with a fat lip really is preposterous, with the strain the NHS is under

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

an attention seeking git like that turning up at a&e like that with a fat lip really is preposterous, with the strain the NHS is under

Did the right thing. Finally someone was able to shut that bully up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,300 ✭✭✭Wompa1

That's the difference between us. I'm not so far up my own hole as to be incapable of admitting the fact. Funnily enough, neither is Clarkson.

Except when he denied the n*gger rhyme before the video actually surfaced and he did a U-Turn.

I didn't think that was all that big of a deal but still, he didn't own it right away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Candie wrote: »
    Dangerously close to blaming the victim for the assault there. He might have been cornered by Clarkson, his being the abused party doesn't make him abnormal.

I can't get my head around the kind of man who'll pick on a subordinate for twenty minutes, followed by an assault, because his dinner wasn't on the table.

You've been a rock of common sense in this thread. Can you imagine the outrage if an Irish television personality had decked a producer? Tubridy hitting a member of staff for not having food ready for him?

The continuous defence of Clarkson's actions is utterly preposterous. How attached can you be to a television show showing middle-aged men dressesd in denim say things like 'phwoar' as they drive a car, to defend this action?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

He is so far up his hole he berates and assaults a lacky for not having his dinner ready for him, though. So much for this working class hero, he's played you lot like a violin. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

I had the 'pleasure' of meeting Clarkson a few years ago. He is a deeply unpleasant man with an inflated sense of self importance.

IMO this has been coming a long time and should be no surprise to anyone. The only surprise is that boy hasn't yet pressed charges for assault...

Clarkson is very wealthy, confident and successful, obviously a lot of people are threatened by this fact, big stars like him have their quirks and it was up to the likes of this oisin lad to manage his requirements, no doubt this oisin lad was getting well paid, and he could not even do his job properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Clarkson is very wealthy, confident and successful, obviously a lot of people are threatened by this fact, big stars like him have their quirks and it was up to the likes of this oisin lad to manage his requirements, no doubt this oisin lad was getting well paid, and he could not even do his job properly

"Quirks"? Do you mean racial abuse and physical assault? If he was referred to the colour of his skin would that be a "quirk"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

So that gives Clarkson the right to cuss him out and assault him, does it? Get real!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

To think people on here are defending this spoilt thug.
    Great news he has been fired, now i cant wait for the producer to sue the bollix off of this jack the lad self important clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I haven't watched an episode of Top Gear in years. Was it still as formulaic and scripted as ever? Couple of middle-aged men getting involved in crazy and seemingly random adventures, all captured on camera from multiple angles of course. Clarkson driving a sports car round a track while chuckling to himself at how it accelerates out of corners. The three stooges sitting around laughing at terrible puns about car launches and transport ministers? The show was about as fresh and edgy as an episode of Songs of Praise. TV made by morons to be watched by an audience comprised of a large percentage of morons.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

CruelCoin wrote: »
    He was milking it. Everyone exaggerates.

Just as blew everything out of proportion and went to A&E for a swollen lip of all things, its likely that the actual "tirade" only lasted a few minutes, witness or no.

I work in an area where there is a constant risk that staff on duty can be assaulted and injured.
    If this occurs it is standard to seek a medical assessment of the injury, especially if there is an obvious injury site and bleeding.
    Otherwise individuals, if they do not seek immediate medical attention may reserve the right to gain same the following day, or when symptoms emerge.
    An incident report must be submitted however detailing the injury and it's cause and the events leading up to that cause.
    Mr Tymon was therefore obliged to seek medical assessment after the blow.
    Clarkson did the honourable thing to report the incident the following day.
    He also attempted to apologise, but I don't think he was attempting to avoid sanction.
    Mr Tymon would have been advised not to have contact with Mr Clarkson by both his union and his employer, pending the outcome of the investigation, mostly for Jeremy's own good, so he couldn't be accused of trying to further intimidate Mr Tymon.
    Both parties remained relatively quiet pending the outcome, again as would have been recommended by their representatives and unions.
    All things considered I think Jeremy conducted himself with dignity during the whole affair, despite the foolish behaviour that got him there.
    It's a pity that he will no longer present Top Gear as, in my opinion, he was always entertaining, in an Alf Garnet way.
    Mr Tymon certainly conducted himself properly throughout the process and really was an innocent victim in this unfortunate episode.
    I would also suggest that this is the first time we have heard reported such abusive behaviour from Clarkson, particularly the verbal stuff, and this is a man whose every inappropriate word is reported, and as such, is as much a victim of alcohol fueled stupidity as any number of men and women who find themselves in court and police stations as a result of behaviour that they had never indulged in before.
    This is probably why I doubt he'll be formally charged with assault at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,555 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Wouldn't be too sure, police involved according to Today BBC4

So that gives Clarkson the right to cuss him out and assault him, does it? Get real!

He doesn't really believe it, he's just saying to get a reaction.
    The days of peasants bending the knee and bowing the head as knights and nobleman rode by are, thankfully, a long time ago.

Wouldn't be too sure, police involved according to Today BBC4

They may be obliged to become involved in any alleged assault.
    An investigation may happen and a file prepared, though it may hinge eventually on whether or not Mr Tymon seeks to press charges, which he is entitled to do it must be said.
    But, personally, I don't think that will be the case, but I might be mistaken.

Haha where are you getting these demographic slices from?! Talk about inaccurate generalising.

Top Gear is not edgy or anti establishment. TOP GEAR IS THE ESTABLISHMENT.

Top Gear is David Cameron, UKIP and stale out of date humour. It's never been cool. It features three tories dressed like everyone's dad making mediocre, cheap jokes.

All this talk of Clarkson being some kind of edgy maverick is embarrassing. He's a hack who got lucky.
    that's hilariously inaccurate, no doubt written by someone on the wrong side of the Irish sea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

He is so far up his hole he berates and assaults a lacky for not having his dinner ready for him, though. So much for this working class hero, he's played you lot like a violin. :D

Absolutely. The Clarkson defending on here is pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

that's hilariously inaccurate, no doubt written by someone on the wrong side of the Irish sea

The floor is yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I've fairly neutral on the whole issue of Top Gear. Only ever watched it in passing while flicking through the channels and, while it's not exactly my cup of tea, I can see what people like about it. As for Clarkson, well he's a bit of a knob alright, but that's exactly what he's designed to be. He's a troll and good at it. I actually quite enjoy him.

However, it doesn't matter who you are, you can't go around verbally and physically abusing other people. If I launched a verbal tirade against a junior colleague, and then finished it off by attacking him, I'd be out on my a*rse before I knew what happened. And rightly so. It's pretty sad that some people here are justifying bullying and aggression just because they happen to like personality. Such people no doubt shout and moan about banking fat cats and corrupt politicians, and yet when it comes to celebrities, they seem determined that there actually should be one rule for them and one rule for us, the little people. It boggles the mind really. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Why am I sharing a planet with people who find it acceptable to punch someone because there is no hot food.

I wonder if, after a night in a club or a pub late and smacking the guy running the chipper van because he had shut up so to go home, anyone would be expecting to be let off with a Boys will be Boys from the authorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

So, Oisin's job is to make sure food is ready, is that right? I have seen this mentioned by a few posters already, and I want to know do they think a production assistants job is to provide food for people, but more importantly was it Oisin's job to provide it.

I would have thought a production assistants job was to actually help produce the program because if Oisin's job was to only provide food, then it sounds like a cr@p job to me, and I would doubt you would be as well paid for it as you claim.

Nowhere official does it say it was his job to do this. For all we know he drew the short straw to only inform Clarkson there was no hot food available.

The poster you responded to called Clarkson a Tory, a hack, and that Top Gear was the establishment. Whatever about the latter, Clarkson is friends with a Tory PM, friends with the former Sun editor, writes for that rag, friends with Murdoch, seems he is part of the establishment.

What is the correct side of the Irish sea?