Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jeremy Clarkson suspended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,230 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Hammond can't stay. would not be right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You know folks, just because Oisin Tymon is Irish, it doesn't make him an angel. Like I(..............)him with.

When you write that version of it into a book, make sure its stocked in the fantasy section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,434 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Bambi wrote: »
    Black arm bands on brown leather jackets all across the UK now. Ray bans worn at half mast

Stonewash jeans pulled up higher to show the white socks in solidarity.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Must have been a hard decision by the Beeb, but they had no real choice and they were dead right. Now the details have emerged. A pampered "star" having an eppo over lack of catering by stamping their feet for a few minutes is one thing, but acting like a thundering oaf and diva for that sustained length of time and then punching one of the crew and splitting his lip and apparently continuing this sustained verbal abuse after that. And this was someone he knew and had worked with for years with no incident. Not even close to acceptable. Raised voices and some shoving? Cop on, shake hands, move on, but this went way beyond that.

Was surprised and disappointed with May's latest response TBH. He seems to be treating it like an incident like the aforementioned raised voices and shoving but it wasn't. Worse, he was there and would have heard and seen Clarkson throw his toys out of the pram and split the lip of a fellow crew member who he also knew, so he has had time to reflect. Then again he and the shortarse are now out of that job and the steady stream of cash from it, never mind the magazine and live show cash cow, so the element of shock is in play. No excuse mind you. While I've really enjoyed May's solo work, IMH no way would he have gotten the green light for any of them without the TG association, ditto for Hammond(though I'd reckon of the three he's possibly the most TV friendly).

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

iDave wrote: »
    Not to the taste of the masses but I'd like to see more Martin Brundle on TV

Definitely. Always liked him. Not sure whether he'd appeal to a broad enough audience as you say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Why do you think he has a superiority complex?

Because he thinks it's OK to publicly berate people, assault them and then tell them their fired because he spent too much time in a pub to order a steak when he gets back to a hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,568 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

You know folks, just because Oisin Tymon is Irish, it doesn't make him an angel. Like I said before, we don't know what was said. Maybe he lost sight of the line between the banter on the show and doing his job. I can't see Clarkson just losing the head because the hotel wouldn't serve a hot meal. There is no way he would tell a producer that they were going to lose their jobs because a hotel is refusing to serve steak when they have done all they could to deal with the problem. What I could see though is, Clarkson losing the head and saying what he did if after working all day and then it was laughed at that he wasn't getting a hot meal by the very person employed to ensure that he does.

Wtf are you on about.. seriously?

Did you even read the outline of the report into what happened?

My god.. keep on deluding yourself if it makes you feel better about your hero getting the sack :rolleyes:

And lol at James May describing it as a tragedy. Another fcuking moron. He should look up the definition of the word. What happened to that plane in the Alps yesterday is a tragedy... not a guy getting fired for assaulting someone in an alcoholic rage.

Desperate media spinning from the Clarkson camp this week suggests that all the talk about him having no problems walking straight onto another channel might have been a little short-sighted.

Sources at Sky say despite his closeness to the Murdoch empire (column in the Sun; friend of Rebekah Brooks) they'd have some problems offering him a deal. Legal problems. For if Andy Gray and Richard Keys lost their jobs after ostensibly bullying junior colleagues – with "unacceptable and offensive behaviour" – how could they welcome Jezza and not risk Keys' and Gray's legal bods revisiting their case?

Seems like it's not just the BBC who are anxiously awaiting the results of its investigation...

From the, despite the name, reputable website Popbitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭dixiefly

tipptom wrote: »
    Would loved to have asked James May when he was doorstepped if he seriously thought that being racially abused and violently assaulted was just a small little incident and was he implying that it should have been covered up?
    This idiot should have been sacked for this behaviour and if this incident had happened to me I would insist to the BBC that he is sacked not just let of with just not having his contract renewed.
    This implies that they are not taking what he has done seriously and any other employee in the BBC who is racist and violent towards a colleague can use Clarksons case to insist that they are let go, not sacked.

When I lived in England if you came across an Irishman getting racially abused or assaulted from someone you stepped in to help him regardless of whether you knew him or not,listening to idiotic "Irishmen" here, not only would they stand back and let the violent racist cowardly bully carry on but they would tell him afterwards that Jeremy just "tells it like it is" and he was only being Jeremy and maybe he might invite them to go with them for a pint.
    Nauseating.

I agree, he should have been sacked retrospectively from the date of the incident. And I wonder would james May be so blase if it was him or a member of his family at the receiving end of Clarkson's abuse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

You know folks, just because Oisin Tymon is Irish, it doesn't make him an angel. Like I said before, we don't know what was said.

Yes we do. "It was not disputed by Jeremy Clarkson or any witness that Oisin Tymon was the victim of an unprovoked physical and verbal attack. It is also clear to me that Oisin Tymon is an important creative member of the Top Gear team who is well-valued and respected. He has suffered significant personal distress as a result of this incident, through no fault of his own."

http://www.theguardian.com/media/2015/mar/25/jeremy-clarkson-fracas-report-full-text-bbc-macquarrie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Thank god he's gone. No room for racists living in the last century at the BBC. I applaud their decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭folamh

The Viper to present Top Gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

the fact that this is headline news over alps plane crash. unreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Julian Cleary career comeback as top gear presenter, you heard it here first *taps nose*

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

You know folks, just because Oisin Tymon is Irish, it doesn't make him an angel. Like I said before, we don't know what was said. Maybe he lost sight of the line between the banter on the show and doing his job. I can't see Clarkson just losing the head because the hotel wouldn't serve a hot meal. There is no way he would tell a producer that they were going to lose their jobs because a hotel is refusing to serve steak when they have done all they could to deal with the problem. What I could see though is, Clarkson losing the head and saying what he did if after working all day and then it was laughed at that he wasn't getting a hot meal by the very person employed to ensure that he does.
    Ah c'mon. That's a real stretch. There is a long list of diva's in media who have gone off on one over sweet fanny adams. You very rarely hear of crew doing the same. "You'll never work again!!" is a twist of the "you know who I am" mentality among your divas.

Half an hour of verbal abuse culminating in a split lip, followed by more abuse, all of which was witnessed and heard throughout the hotel is more than "losing the head" and I don't care if the guy is from Ireland or Balubaland. Feck all to do with it. You'll note he didn't thump Clarkson back. I wonder did he pick on this guy because he knew the guy for years and knew he wouldn't? Would he have picked on one of the bigger lads on the crew who might have responded in kind? I very much doubt it. It's not even clear if he was even the guy in charge of the end of day catering.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Wtf are you on about.. seriously?

Did you even read the outline of the report into what happened?

My god.. keep on deluding yourself if it makes you feel better about your hero getting the sack :rolleyes:

I read it, yes and he's far from "my hero". I happen to take people as I find them, not how organizations with axes to grind, present them to me and if you believe that Jeremy Clarkson just upped and punched one of his producers on the patio of hotel just because they informed him that the hotel was refusing to serve hot meals, then it is you who is deluded, not me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Bring in Rowan Atkinson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I read it, yes and he's far from "my hero". I happen to take people as I find them, not how organizations with axes to grind, present them to me and if you believe that Jeremy Clarkson just upped and punched one of his producers on the patio of hotel just because they informed him that the hotel was refusing to serve hot meals, then it is you who is deluded, not me.

People do stupid stuff all the time, especially when they've been drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    the fact that this is headline news over alps plane crash. unreal

It isn't. Or not in any proper news outlets anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I think they should hire a female presenter, preferably feminist, for a less misogynistic show and remove the boorish, thuggish male fantasy from it.

Given not one of his mates or any of the crew who were there have disputed the incident and what went on it's hardly a delusion. Clarkson himself reported the incident that very day. Hammond has said pretty much nothing and the best May could muster was he was "roaring drunk" at the time so saw nothing. Clearly bullshít. Plus both cast and crew are currently out of a job, the magazine will take a hit and the live shows have all been cancelled. With all that at stake do you not think someone, many someones would have said "storm in a teacup" and what actually happened was..?

Never mind the hand wringers at the BBC, the bean counters would have been keen to find a way to get out of this in any way they could. The corporation stands to lose many tens of millions in revenue with the loss of the show. They've just lost the biggest show in the companies history.

from the start I've been thinking it was the bed wetter types making a storm in a teacup, but that's before the details came out and he more than crossed a line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Bench Press

what a disgrace that Jeremy has been hounded out by the pc brigade, what a drama queen this oisin idiot is, he couldn't be a man and accept a handshake and a apology and forget about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

It isn't. Or not in any proper news outlets anyway.

It's not even featured on some, tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭tmh106

what a disgrace that Jeremy has been hounded out by the pc brigade, what a drama queen this oisin idiot is, he couldn't be a man and accept a handshake and a apology and forget about it

Let's hope some poor sod never has you as a manager/supervisor

tmh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Bench Press

tmh106 wrote: »
    Let's hope some poor sod never has you as a manager/supervisor

tmh
    the show is ruined and a man has lost his job, all over some Irish mucksavage who could not handle a bit of banter

Facking Paddy innit.

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I think they should hire a female presenter, preferably feminist, for a less misogynistic show and remove the boorish, thuggish male fantasy from it.
    *not sure if serious* :D
    Drama queen? Who acted like a diva, flapping his handbag about? Who was verbally and physically abusive for well over half an hour in a very one-sided interaction? Oisin has only released one statement and avoided the press. He's also currently jobless too after working on that show with Clarkson for years. I know who the drama queen is here and it aint Oisin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

ooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

No one knows whether he was offered or accepted an apology because he hasn't been out in the media running his mouth off like a dope.

Do you think if Clarkson had been smacked by Tymon he would have accepted an apology and a forget about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Yes we do. "It was not disputed by Jeremy Clarkson or any witness that Oisin Tymon was the victim of an unprovoked physical and verbal attack. It is also clear to me that Oisin Tymon is an important creative member of the Top Gear team who is well-valued and respected. He has suffered significant personal distress as a result of this incident, through no fault of his own."

http://www.theguardian.com/media/2015/mar/25/jeremy-clarkson-fracas-report-full-text-bbc-macquarrie

What I am saying doesn't contradict that. You think that if what I am saying is true, that the BBC would say: "Well, in fairness, Oisin provoked Jeremy and was at fault as he was laughing at the fact Jeremy was not going to get a hot meal"? Of course they wouldn't, even I still say that him being "struck" was unprovoked and not the fault of Oisin if he acting as I am suggesting is likely. Which is why I am saying he deserves to be disciplined for what he did, not sacked.

Had the boot that Ferguson kicked at Beckam hit him square in the mouth, should he have gone at that time also? Of course not and I also find the use of the word "struck" to be a little ambiguous. If he was punched, then why not say that. Why were the Police not called? Why has he not been arrested since for assault? Nah, not buying it. Not suggesting he wasn't struck, but I just don't think things are as black and white as the BBC are suggesting the incident was. Hopefully statements from either Oisin or Clarkson will shed further light on precisely how things unfolded that night. Not a chance I would base my opinion on a statement released by the organization with the biggest axe to grind in the debacle and who are clearly going to present things and word them in a way which makes it appear as if they had no option but to sack Clarkson. They where waiting for their chance and they got it.