Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jeremy Clarkson suspended

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,384 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Would Top Gear be successful with Chris Evans? Would any TG fans on here watch it?

As long as it's not TGI Friday, but with cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,251 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Any new presenter will fail purely because they're completely out of ideas, anything they try to do with a new presenter will just be slated for being the same old crap if its in any way top Gear-ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

I'd be out of steam after 20 seconds. I'd have said what I needed to after 10. I can't wrap my head around it myself. I wouldn't be able to stand for 20 minutes, I'd have to get a chair :D

And then punch somebody around for 30 seconds. All that coffee, smoking and drinking has made Clarkson fitter than a prize fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

As long as it's not TGI Friday, but with cars.

Or Don't Forget Your Toothbrush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Would Top Gear be successful with Chris Evans? Would any TG fans on here watch it?

I can only hope it crashes and burns if Clarkson is gone. I watched it as much for the "window shopping" of nice cars as I did for the absolute f*ckery between the three lads. There's no way it'd be the same without him. Or the other two, I respect them for sticking to their guns, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Chris Evans can fcuk right off.

Eutow wrote: »
    And then punch somebody around for 30 seconds. All that coffee, smoking and drinking has made Clarkson fitter than a prize fighter.

That too, I'd throw one, chance throwing another and be dead of coronary before it landed :D

iDave wrote: »
    Chris Evans can fcuk right off.

Stephen Fry has also been touted as a possible replacement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I can only hope it crashes and burns if Clarkson is gone. I watched it as much for the "window shopping" of nice cars as I did for the absolute f*ckery between the three lads. There's no way it'd be the same without him. Or the other two, I respect them for sticking to their guns, too.

I suppose a couple of half-educated mouths almighty like Russell Brand and Janet "Yoof!" Street-Porter could join that Evans yoke, just to put the tin hat on it altogether. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Eutow wrote: »
    I would want to know what the fcuk you would be saying to somebody for 20 minutes and why anybody would just stand there in a public place and just take that abuse. That's not even including the 30 seconds of punching and pushing that went on.

I've been there. Worked for a factory owned by germans cnuts, they just wanted to run the place into the ground, make as much money as possible at the expense of everyone else, sack half the workforce and replace them with eastern Europeans at half the wage and in the end just upped and left, burning everyone. (Thank god I got out before that, those bastards never even paid anyone redundancy). I was shouted at like a dog in that place on more than one occasion and I only wish the senior German boss had tried to punch me, because I would have delighted in "defending" myself and sending him to hospital.
    But as these things go, sometimes you just stand there and take it, violent phantasies aside. We all would like to think "I would have punched the cnut" but it doesn't always happen that way.

Stephen Fry has also been touted as a possible replacement.

I enjoy him, but the novelty would wear off. Himself and May would leave the hamster quite outbrained too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I enjoy him, but the novelty would wear off. Himself and May would leave the hamster quite outbrained too..

If some people think a lot of the equipment featured on TG is a bit expensive and impractical, wait until Mr. Fry and Mr. May get properly into it about old Bentleys. "Mmm, beautiful wood-grain..." :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

I wish they would just get on with it now......dragging on a bit. I think he is a prat anyway and would be glad to see him sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I've been there. Worked for a factory owned by germans cnuts, they just wanted to run the place into the ground, make as much money as possible at the expense of everyone else, sack half the workforce and replace them with eastern Europeans at half the wage and in the end just upped and left, burning everyone. (Thank god I got out before that, those bastards never even paid anyone redundancy). I was shouted at like a dog in that place on more than one occasion and I only wish the senior German boss had tried to punch me, because I would have delighted in "defending" myself and sending him to hospital.
    But as these things go, sometimes you just stand there and take it, violent phantasies aside. We all would like to think "I would have punched the cnut" but it doesn't always happen that way.

Maybe they were of similar opinion to clarkson, the guy you have defended, and thought you were a bunch of "lazy Irish cnuts".

As I said to you before, as someone who has had to suffer ignorant as*holes as bosses, I can't for the life of me understand how you would ever then support clarkson.

From reading between the lines, clarkson is going off the rails, has gotten delusions of how powerful he is, only started trying to mend bridges with Tymon days later when it looked like the crew were going to spill the beans and then he got his side in first with the BBC before it blew up.
    The other presenters or the rest of the crew don't exactly come out smelling of roses either.
    Supposedly the rest of the crew had legged it to bed ?
    Surely someone could have stepped in to difuse the situation rather than let it run.
    Where was executive producer, where were may and hammond ?
    Are or were they all afraid of clarkson?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

jmayo wrote: »
    Maybe they were of similar opinion to clarkson, the guy you have defended, and thought you were a bunch of "lazy Irish cnuts".

As I said to you before, as someone who has had to suffer ignorant as*holes as bosses, I can't for the life of me understand how you would ever then support clarkson.

From reading between the lines, clarkson is going off the rails, has gotten delusions of how powerful he is, only started trying to mend bridges with Tymon days later when it looked like the crew were going to spill the beans and then he got his side in first with the BBC before it blew up.
    The other presenters or the rest of the crew don't exactly come out smelling of roses either.
    Surely someone could have stepped in to difuse the situation rather than let it run.

I would work for Clarkson any day compared to that job. From what we know it's not normally like this working for the big guy, otherwise we would have heard about other punching incidents.
    My job was utter horror on a daily basis in a wreck of a building with puddles of water on the floor, heating that didn't work, dirty, noisy and abusive.
    Yes, I would work for Top Gear any day.

edit:
    But I now found a very good job with a fabulous crowd and I am very happy there (if HR is reading this :))

I've been there. Worked for a factory owned by germans cnuts, they just wanted to run the place into the ground

Typical bloody Germans. No wonder they lost the war. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

jmayo wrote: »

Cmon.that lazy Irish cnut was to lazy to hit Jezza back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Stephen Fry replacing him ?

Does he know much about cars ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

30 second physical assault,that was one long drawn out punch!

the_monkey wrote: »

Not sure plus he's gay and that wouldn't go down well with a lot of Top Gear viewers.

tipptom wrote: »
    30 second physical assault,that was one long drawn out punch!

Well I presume that includes the scuffle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭BrookieD

Not sure plus he's gay and that wouldn't go down well with a lot of Top Gear viewers.
    Most ridiculous statement i have heard on this thread..... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Does Clarkson? Apart from the nonsense (british is best) attitude he forces on his viewers... and if a car cant go 200 mile an hour it has to be crap. Oh yeah, and then there is the 80% of filler every episode has where they just blow up sh*t, because that makes me want to buy a car...

BrookieD wrote: »
    Most ridiculous statement i have heard on this thread..... :rolleyes:

Heh, you should go back much further. There's been some real clangers dropped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Alan Carr to be the new presenter I am hearing.
    Beat off Robin Van Persie for the job.

logik wrote: »
    Does Clarkson? Apart from the nonsense (british is best) attitude he forces on his viewers... and if a car cant go 200 mile an hour it has to be crap. Oh yeah, and then there is the 80% of filler every episode has where they just blow up sh*t, because that makes me want to buy a car...

Over a hundred pages and you lot still think it's a show, trying to sell you cars. I genuinely don't know how to make ye understand that it's not. How many episodes do you watch exactly? It's not all Bugatti Veyrons. Cars on the level of, say, the Impreza WRX, the Clio Sport et Al are beyond numerous on the show. As are low level cars like the mondeo and its ilk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

mikom wrote: »
    Alan Carr to be the new presenter I am hearing.
    Beat off Robin Van Persie for the job.
    oh please god make that happen

the streets would be thronged with angry saddos in brown leather jackets and boot cut jeans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,804 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Top Gayer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭AlanG

It's already a scripted entertainment show, the cars are just props - any entertainer could present it if they are good at entertaining.