Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jeremy Clarkson suspended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Mint Aero wrote: »
    The old adage don't believe everything you read is seriously lost on you.
    I don't believe everything I read. That's why I am questioning Wibbs, because he seems to have read stuff that I didn't see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I don't believe everything I read. That's why I am questioning Wibbs, because he seems to have read stuff that I didn't see.

That report re what happened was reported in mirror and repeated in many other publications, as a result I take it with a grain or several of salt. The truth is we know there was an argument, but not much else. I'll hold on to me pitchfork until the report comes out.

(and I can't stand Clarkson, just so ye know).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Entitlement, petulance, the idea the people should know their "place" basically traits many people find risible.

I've been watching Clarkson present TV shows for well over twenty years now and he has never shown signs of the above traits to me. In fact, the exact opposite of them. Whenever someone challenges his views, he goes to jelly. The chap is harmless. Sure he says some things which rub people up the wrong way, but so what. People are entitled to reply any way they see fit, even slamming pies in his face.

My guess on all this (I may as well have one, everyone else is) would be that because Clarkson is very easy going, Oisin probably poked fun at the fact that he wasn't getting a steak meal and had to eat cold cuts. It's almost like a joke you would see in the show. I mean, wasn't there one episode where they were camping and had no food and Clarkson told them to wait there and came back 15 minutes later with a cow strapped to the bonnet of the car?

In any case, I would say that Oisin making a joke of the fact that there was no steak caused Clarkson to lash out and maybe grab him and say something stupid. Hardly surprising that people that work in each other's pockets, on tight deadlines, would occasionally push each other's buttons. Read any autobiography of a band that went on a world tour and it's pretty evident that such happenings are quite commonplace when under extreme pressure, if anything.

Seems to me that certain people in positions of power at the BBC just don't particularly like Clarkson and used this episode to vent their feelings. Should have been kept in house and dealt with that way.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Why are you describing it as a scuffle between Clarkson and Tymon? The near-universal tenor of the reports is that Clarkson verbally abused Tymon and struck him. I have seen no report that suggested that Tymon was anything other than the victim.
    Ok would it help if I described as a one sided scuffle? Clarkson was being a spoiled twat, well old enough to know and act more appropriately and appears to be someone "going off the rails" as the DM would write it.

Fine, you'll get no argument from me on that score, but beyond that it's a storm in a bloody teacup. Why he couldn't have copped on and dropped his diva handbag on the spot and genuinely apologised to the chap and move the hell on and avoid what followed is beyond me. Actually, that's the point when his friends, May and Hammond and his very close mate the shows overall producer should have stepped in and called him to book. May's "I was blind drunk at the time" was either a feeble joke for the benefit of the press or a helluva cop out. One I wouldn't expect from him TBH. It appears Clarkson himself filed the initial report on the incident a few hours later, so he realised it was a step to far, but too little too late.

As for his drunken rantings at the charity gig. He's feeling like a cornered animal and has been for a while. Much of the mutterings of a few of the higher ups at the BBC have been squarely focused on him for a good while now. That's his (natural if immature) response to it.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

... In any case, I would say that Oisin making a joke of the fact that there was no steak caused Clarkson to lash out and maybe grab him and say something stupid....
    You're making stuff up. There is a creative writing forum for that kind of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I've been watching Clarkson present TV shows for well over twenty years now and he has never shown signs of the above traits to me.

I was talking about the reported recent incident.

As for the rest of your post, throughout this thread people have been admonished for just reacting to what was reported and judging Clarkson for it. But going by your post, you are also accepting what happened and not only that but maybe a lot of assumptions based on what was reported. Like said, creative writing might be for you.

As for people high up in the BBC wanting Clarkson out. If that's true, perhaps there's a good reason for that, considering the show is valuable to the Beeb? There must be a good reason to want to cut loose a cash cow, surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

we all know why you watch it and its nothing to do with design or vehicles. another mention of the personal computer brigade, well we know now for definite that Karl Stein has you down to a t

We. We. We. Stop pretending that you're speaking for the opinions of anyone else but yourself. Now Karl Stein is receiving the sycophantic treatment. Good grief. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,426 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Wibbs wrote: »
    Ok would it help if I described as a one sided scuffle? Clarkson was being a spoiled twat, well old enough to know and act more appropriately and appears to be someone "going off the rails" as the DM would write it.

Fine, you'll get no argument from me on that score, but beyond that it's a storm in a bloody teacup. Why he couldn't have copped on and dropped his diva handbag on the spot and genuinely apologised to the chap and move the hell on and avoid what followed is beyond me. Actually, that's the point when his friends, May and Hammond and his very close mate the shows overall producer should have stepped in and called him to book. May's "I was blind drunk at the time" was either a feeble joke for the benefit of the press or a helluva cop out. One I wouldn't expect from him TBH. It appears Clarkson himself filed the initial report on the incident a few hours later, so he realised it was a step to far, but too little too late.

As for his drunken rantings at the charity gig. He's feeling like a cornered animal and has been for a while. Much of the mutterings of a few of the higher ups at the BBC have been squarely focused on him for a good while now. That's his (natural if immature) response to it.

12235.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭reprise

We. We. We. Stop pretending that you're speaking for the opinions of anyone else but yourself. Now Karl Stein is receiving the sycophantic treatment. Good grief. :rolleyes:

A great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

You're making stuff up. There is a creative writing forum for that kind of thing.

Might be best to put your reading glasses on old boy:
    My guess on all this (I may as well have one, everyone else is) ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Sufa

The level of emotion this topic has evoked really does say a lot about how much of an international resonance Top Gear has, and most of that is down to Clarkson.

I personally would be very sad to see the programme cancelled. It has been back to its best this series for me. But it would only be the BBC who lose out in the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,574 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

"personal computer brigade" it's a phrase that's in common use so if you haven't informed yourself of what it means by now then I suggest you educate yourself lest you wish for us to view you as seriously ill informed? or are you too busy defending tax evasion from a certain "culture" in our society in other threads?

accusations based on bringing up things from other threads and making up things from it. yeah, safe to say you have nothing worth saying or reading.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

I've been watching Clarkson present TV shows for well over twenty years now and he has never shown signs of the above traits to me. In fact, the exact opposite of them. Whenever someone challenges his views, he goes to jelly. The chap is harmless. Sure he says some things which rub people up the wrong way, but so what. People are entitled to reply any way they see fit, even slamming pies in his face.

My guess on all this (I may as well have one, everyone else is) would be that because Clarkson is very easy going, Oisin probably poked fun at the fact that he wasn't getting a steak meal and had to eat cold cuts. It's almost like a joke you would see in the show. I mean, wasn't there one episode where they were camping and had no food and Clarkson told them to wait there and came back 15 minutes later with a cow strapped to the bonnet of the car?

In any case, I would say that Oisin making a joke of the fact that there was no steak caused Clarkson to lash out and maybe grab him and say something stupid. Hardly surprising that people that work in each other's pockets, on tight deadlines, would occasionally push each other's buttons. Read any autobiography of a band that went on a world tour and it's pretty evident that such happenings are quite commonplace when under extreme pressure, if anything.

Seems to me that certain people in positions of power at the BBC just don't particularly like Clarkson and used this episode to vent their feelings. Should have been kept in house and dealt with that way.
    or, maybe one gets so many chances to rein in their behaviour before action gets taken? he has been warned a number of times. he has been given chance after chance, and he continues. so, should he be sacked, then thats his fault. tough ****

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

and for the record, i'd bet you wouldn't pay a cent in tax if you could get away with it,

I can't take ya seriously. You'd condemn Clarkson over acting an eejit while pissed yet you think tax evasion is grand? and no I wouldn't it's completely illegal. I'm a law abiding citizen.

I can't take ya seriously. You'd condemn Clarkson over acting an eejit while pissed

i couldn't care a less. acting the eejit? awwww. when he has been given chance after chance to rein in his behaviour and continues including insulting his employer then its not surprising he is in the potential position of being given the boot. as for the rest of your post, baseless made up nonsense

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

12235.jpg
    Maybe in your confusion you missed the part where I said I think Clarkson is going off the rails, immature in his responses and acted like a diva and a spoiled twat? Maybe I better start reducing my syllable count in the future, though the above does seem pretty clear to me.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

I can't take ya seriously.
    On nigh every subject, I would advise for the sake of your blood pressure to apply that thinking throughout.

as for the rest of your post, baseless made up nonsense
    No, I think you'll find tax evasion is in fact illegal and not made up nonsense.

yeah. as i said, you have no argument and nothing to say

i couldn't care a less. acting the eejit? awwww. when he has been given chance after chance to rein in his behaviour and continues including insulting his employer then its not surprising he is in the potential position of being given the boot. as for the rest of your post, baseless made up nonsense

You're your own worst enemy. I'm not going to quote it again, but you blatantly defended the culture of tax evasion based on hypothetical whataboutery in that thread.

no i didn't

I do, Clarkson is great.

Top Gear is great.

May is Great.

Hammond is on the show too.

Boys will be boys. If the accusations are true. Make him attend anger management, alcoholics anonymous and pay a fine.

Then we can all get back to the greatest show on Earth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭reprise

Nonsense. Not at all. Rabel rabel.

no i didn't

And for the second fcuking time.
    all things not unique to the traveling community. but you don't really care about that. i'd bet you would probably not pay a cent if you thought you could get away with it. those who rant about travelers not paying tax would be the first not to pay themselves if they could get away with it

You make this too easy.

reprise wrote: »
    Nonsense. Not at all. Rabel rabel.

PC doesn't exist. Vermin. Rabel Rouser. It's the truth. You mean the mythical PC which doesn't exist ? nonsense. no it's not. end of. can't be done. doesn't work.

Have I missed any others ? :D

And for the second fcuking time.

You make this too easy.
    no, thats not defending. thats stating how certain types of people really think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Sky have already said they would not touch him with a barge pole.

Simple fact he is a gigantic liability for a private company.

They also sacked two pretty popular presenters, Gray and Keyes, for bullying and sexism toward colleagues, remember.

Be interesting, not to say a bad publicity sh1t storm, to then go and publicly row behind somebody like Clarkson.

It absolutely is defending. And making wild assumptions in an attempt to do so.
    its not defending, its stating how certain types think, which is the truth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭IsaacWunder

anncoates wrote: »
    They also sacked two pretty popular presenters, Gray and Keyes, for bullying and sexism toward colleagues, remember.

Be interesting, not to say a bad publicity sh1t storm, to then go and publicly row behind somebody like Clarkson.

Gray and Keys got sacked because he didn't enjoy popular support and came across as nasty, sexist, middle aged men (mainly because they are nasty, sexist, middle aged men).

Clarkson, on the other hand, is a loveable rogue. He's seen as something of a manchild and a harmless idiot or buffoon. He's obviously not an idiot, and he's not harmless, instead it's an act. And the public lap it up. Boris Johnson, who has the same schtick as Clarkson, will probably be prime minister for the same reasons.

He's obviously not an idiot, and he's not harmless, instead it's an act. And the public lap it up. Boris Johnson, who has the same schtick as Clarkson, will probably be prime minister for the same reasons.

you say that like its a bad thing :confused:

Bertie was the same except instead of acting like an idiot, he overdid the I'm a cunning c*nt but yet was loved by all up until sh*t got sour. Why? because clearly Irish love when their leaders are the big man, and anyone who's a normal character like bono or clarkson is just a c*nt. :confused::confused: bizarre.