Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jeremy Clarkson suspended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,576 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

For someone who has no time for the little englander routine, you seem rather bothered by a show you don't even have an interest in. It appealing to the "lowest common denominater" and all.

You have a rather disturbing obsession with nullifying the term political correctness as myth I notice. Do you do that with all terms and words you don't like or agree with ?

"vermin", "not at all", "pc doesn't exist". EOTR's own thesaurus.
    its not about "terms i don't like" as there are none. there are however, buzz terms that are only used by certain types to throw into their little rants, usually because they are upset that they can't spout their nonsense unchallenged any more. funnily enough some of these same people like clarkson because he apparently sticks it to the man, whereas the rest of us see him as a pathetic idiot

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

So Clarkson's going down? :(
    I can only hope Hammond and May stick to their guns and all three take the franchise down with them.

Jeremy Clarkson said earlier on his twitter that he finds out the story next week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

I watched Top Gear once in my life and thought it was good despite me having ziltch interest in cars. The show was visually slick and can see why people like it.

That review does not change the fact the JC is one of those unashamed bullish non-pc oh fcuk-off i'll say what I like types who bullies others and feeds of the percentage of similarly inclined fans who bolster and encourage him to be the moron that he is, some of whom are contributing on this thread.

I know if hes sacked he'll survive no problem however I REALLY hope it happens if only it serves to as a knock back to his over confident bullish attitude and to piss off his adoring fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,456 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Sky have already said they would not touch him with a barge pole.

Simple fact he is a gigantic liability for a private company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,566 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Sky have already said they would not touch him with a barge pole.

Simple fact he is a gigantic liability for a private company.

He's also whatever it is that the opposite of a liability is, depending on who might consider him.

I guess prospect would be the word... if it wasn't the case that absolutely everyone already knows what to expect from him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Jon Stark

I've never been a fan of Clarkson. The unfortunate thing is that regardless of what the BBC decide to do this guy is always going to have the platform to be as unpleasant as he can be.

No-one is irreplaceable on TV anyway, if the BBC put proper resources into finding a suitable candidate they'll find someone else just as obnoxious and as antagonising as Clarkson, just without the potential lawsuit.

The problem starts if May and Hammond are refusing to continue without him which is pretty poor form on their part. Clarkson is in an absolutely indefensible position so this will make them look very bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Jon Stark wrote: »
    The problem starts if May and Hammond are refusing to continue without him which is pretty poor form on their part. Clarkson is in an absolutely indefensible position so this will make them look very bad.

No it won't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

May and Hammond are free agents, if they don't think a revised TG format will work they are perfectly right not to get involved. Neither needs to really, esp May who is now established as his own TV presence on programmes like Man Lab which is very enjoyable I have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Does anyone else think it hypocritical of the BBC to cancel / postpone the last three episodes of the current series but keep showing repeats of old episodes on BBC3?

They hadn't finished filming the last 3 shows, so can't show them, as they can't finish that filming, its not a case of them deciding not to show completed episodes.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Oh really? For sticking with a friend, even if it hits their wallet? It's called loyalty. If they do refuse to continue, which it appears they are, they go well up in my estimation. Sheesh I'd not be too reliant on someone who thought that poor form.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

its not about "terms i don't like" as there are none. there are however, buzz terms that are only used by certain types to throw into their little rants, usually because they are upset that they can't spout their nonsense unchallenged any more. funnily enough some of these same people like clarkson because he apparently sticks it to the man, whereas the rest of us see him as a pathetic idiot

Yeah buzz terms to throw into their little rants like "pc is a myth", "pc doesn't exist", "end of" and "its the truth" (Citation needed).

What unchallenged nonsense exactly ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

People must have very thin skins if they get offended by anything Clarkson has to say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Jon Stark

Wibbs wrote: »
    Oh really? For sticking with a friend, even if it hits their wallet? It's called loyalty. If they do refuse to continue, which it appears they are, they go well up in my estimation. Sheesh I'd not be too reliant on someone who thought that poor form.

I think it's poor form because they'd be basically saying either Clarkson gets a free pass bar a nothing suspension or they walk. It doesn't say a whole lot for how they view the producer. They can show their friendship for Clarkson without showing utter disdain towards his victim.

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Mint Aero is a perfect example of what I'm highlighting above. You'll note he has exactly 0 posts in the motoring forum which is 5 less than he has in Fashion and Appearance. If people are any bit familiar with the motoring forum they'll notice names like 'Jimgoose', 'Wibbs' and 'dr.fuzzenstein' who are actual car enthusiasts who probably do appreciate the real stars of TG which are the vehicles, locations and production values.

Mmmm yes, interesting :rolleyes: You might also note I've 241 posts in Television to yours 7....So one might say I know more about the tele box and you should perhaps take your leave of this thread now? :).

Also, lets dissect "who are actual car enthusiasts who probably do appreciate the real stars of TG which are the vehicles, locations and production values"

Posting in the motoring forum doesn't give anyone more appreciation of locations and production than me. So perhaps you should try thinking before you type in future. Having said that, I'm a designer, and that's why I watch the vehicles. I can't see any reason why I'd need to post in the motoring forums on boards.ie to justify why I watch Top Gear.

Again, as you can see from the above. Karl Stein is displaying the classic black & white blinkered perspective that's common of the anti-Clarkson, anit-entertainment Top Gear, pro Pc brigade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Yes. Collective action. Not too many workers do that these days.

Not that I necessarily support Clarkson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Surely that would only be commended if Clarkson was mistreated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Could not see Hammond or May behaving like a violent racist bully towards production staff in any circumstance never mind over a feckin steak and the sad thing is this producer lad is just worried about being able to secure work in the future according to the papers.

The violent bully was glad to have the same producers hide him under the bed in Argentina when he provoked them,didnt see his bravery there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,788 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

May and Hammond are free agents, if they don't think a revised TG format will work they are perfectly right not to get involved. Neither needs to really, esp May who is now established as his own TV presence on programmes like Man Lab which is very enjoyable I have to say.
    I was just discussing the same with a friend last night. Top gear needs those 3 guys more than they need top gear. They all have active careers and enough celebrity status to keep them employed for the next decade or so.
    Mint Aero wrote: »
    Mmmm yes, interesting :rolleyes: You might also note I've 241 posts in Television to yours 7....So one might say I know more about the tele box and you should perhaps take your leave of this thread now? :).
    Neither of ye even seem to realise there is a top gear forum. I have at least two posts in there, which means I have more authority on this specific issue that either of ye. :pac:

ScumLord wrote: »
    Neither of ye even seem to realise there is a top gear forum. I have at least two posts in there, which means I have more authority on this specific issue that either of ye. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,429 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

You will find no collective action support if a worker assaulted a co-worker. You are trying to make out that Clarkson is the victim here :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Don't know how about you, but I don't personally blindly display loyalty to anyone. I have things I consider wrong, and that trumps loyalty.

How bizarre to expect complete loyalty from people no matter how badly you behave. :confused: Or to admire people who are blindly loyal. I've ended friendships with people over an actions of theirs I consider indefensible. If they think less of me for that, then meh. It's a defense mechanism on their part so that they don't actually have to examine their behaviour.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

They can show their friendship for Clarkson without showing utter disdain towards his victim.
    Bit overwrought no? It was a damned stupid scuffle that broke out between an overtired and overpaid eejit with one of his producers. Well out of order? Hell yes. He needs to be profusely apologising to said producer(if he hasn't already), copping the hell on, shaking hands and moving on and doing so publicly. Neither were hospitalised or anything of that nature, so it's a bit early to be trumping victimhood, unless some eejit wants to call PTSD or somesuch guff….

Then again these days among too many of the bed wetter brigade everyone seems to achieve First World Victimhood for the flimsiest of reasons. In any event neither you nor me have any clue what the sort of interaction or relationship the other two have or haven't with the producer guy. For all we know they've been in contact with the chap and have offered support and all is well behind the scenes, but feel that some of the trendies high up in the Beeb are over revving the appalled and shocked engine because they dislike Clarkson.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Don't know how about you, but I don't personally blindly display loyalty to anyone. I have things I consider wrong, and that trumps loyalty.
    Neither do I, but I'd hardly consider a stupid scuffle between two men to be one of those wrongs where I'd hang a mate out to dry. I'd call him a blithering idiot and suggest he cops the hell on and apologises, but no way would I leave him to the baying mob of overly sensitives over something that is pretty bloody minor in the grand scheme of things.

We don't know the full facts yet, but if it is as so described, it's indicative of quite a lot.

Entitlement, petulance, the idea the people should know their "place"; basically traits many people find risible. Maybe not May and Hammond though, whatever floats your boat, I guess. But if they had come forward and said they didn't condone his actions, they shouldn't be considered disloyal because, as said, the incident as reported is telling of a person's true nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,576 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Mmmm yes, interesting You might also note I've 241 posts in Television to yours 7....So one might say I know more about the tele box and you should perhaps take your leave of this thread now? .

Also, lets dissect "who are actual car enthusiasts who probably do appreciate the real stars of TG which are the vehicles, locations and production values"

Posting in the motoring forum doesn't give anyone more appreciation of locations and production than me. So perhaps you should try thinking before you type in future. Having said that, I'm a designer, and that's why I watch the vehicles. I can't see any reason why I'd need to post in the motoring forums on boards.ie to justify why I watch Top Gear.

Again, as you can see from the above. Karl Stein is displaying the classic black & white blinkered perspective that's common of the anti-Clarkson, anit-entertainment Top Gear, pro Pc brigade.
    we all know why you watch it and its nothing to do with design or vehicles. another mention of the personal computer brigade, well we know now for definite that Karl Stein has you down to a t

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

... It was a damned stupid scuffle that broke out between an overtired and overpaid eejit with one of his producers...
    Neither do I, but I'd hardly consider a stupid scuffle between two men to be one of those wrongs where I'd hang a mate out to dry....
    Why are you describing it as a scuffle between Clarkson and Tymon? The near-universal tenor of the reports is that Clarkson verbally abused Tymon and struck him. I have seen no report that suggested that Tymon was anything other than the victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,566 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

He needs to be profusely apologising to said producer(if he hasn't already), copping the hell on, shaking hands and moving on and doing so publicly.

And instead he's publicly calling BBC execs 'fcuking bastards'

I don't know why people are still defending him. He could have laid low until things were sorted out but is opting to further fan the flames instead.

But shur that's just harmless banter too I suppose

we all know why you watch it and its nothing to do with design or vehicles. another mention of the personal computer brigade, well we know now for definite that Karl Stein has you down to a t

"personal computer brigade" :rolleyes: it's a phrase that's in common use so if you haven't informed yourself of what it means by now then I suggest you educate yourself lest you wish for us to view you as seriously ill informed? or are you too busy defending tax evasion from a certain "culture" in our society in other threads? :rolleyes:

Why are you describing it as a scuffle between Clarkson and Tymon? The near-universal tenor of the reports is that Clarkson verbally abused Tymon and struck him. I have seen no report that suggested that Tymon was anything other than the victim.

The old adage don't believe everything you read is seriously lost on you.

People have constantly acknowledged throughout the thread that what we know is just what has been reported.