If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

That's how much I paid this evening for petrol. Also there is a new applegreen in Galway on the Tuam road.

It haz a Burger King too !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I was thinking there was a fair few people there even familys this evening. I was thinking to myself who brings a family to eat out in a applegreen in the evening. Did not know there was a Burger King.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Actually the shop in my local topaz is being renovated at the moment you can still buy fuel and stuff there as they have a temporary container/ building on site. I don't think they are upgrading the pumps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

The new one near riverside has a noodle bar too :eek:

So does the new Apple green in Birdhill!

What a time to be alive

So does the new Apple green in Birdhill!

What a time to be alive

I wish we had a Burger King in kilkenny :pac: still holding the record for the only county in Ireland that doesn't have a tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Bpmull wrote: »
    Actually the shop in my local topaz is being renovated at the moment you can still buy fuel and stuff there as they have a temporary container/ building on site. I don't think they are upgrading the pumps.

So is my local Topaz! Although it did need a bit of a revamp, the one in Cashel is a Ferrari compared to it:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

j0h4o.jpg

I'll need to stop in those two new ones on N5, see if there's anything interesting in them. Doubt there is Burger King though. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

saabs going for its smoke test tomorrow in jomo engineering, i owe shaunievw a thank you for that!

also, the arb has broken off one of its mounts, rattling like a bitch, new mount ordered for 7.00, while im at it im gona polybush that and get the other wishbone thrown in too

Why not just do the arb and be done with it you ask? because the whole subframe has to be dropped, turns out the sump wasnt sealed up properly either and its weeping in places :mad: so I'll find a day to get hold of a lift and attack it myself now that i know what to do

COWBOYS TED!! BLOODY COWBOYS!

Also the more sciroccos I see the more I like them I seen a 2010 one and just thought it was class. Christ though they are not exactly cheap especially secondhand. Is it true that headroom is limited in them. Is there much less headroom in them than the mk5 golf as in my golf with the seat let down as far as it goes my head would only be about an inch away from hitting the roof.

I wish we had a Burger King in kilkenny :pac: still holding the record for the only county in Ireland that doesn't have a tesco.

No tesco? I worked there for 6 months years ago and never noticed. I only recall a superquinn actually....and many pubs.

Got a ticket in Kilkenny for no tax the DAY after it was out while the new disc was sitting at home waiting for me. Still haven't forgiven ye for that, that and the fact ye won't let us win at hurling :pac:

No tesco? I worked there for 6 months years ago and never noticed. I only recall a superquinn actually....and many pubs.

Got a ticket in Kilkenny for no tax the DAY after it was out while the new disc was sitting at home waiting for me. Still haven't forgiven ye for that, that and the fact ye won't let us win at hurling :pac:

They are mad for giving out parking tickets in Kilkenny. My dad got a parking ticket while parked out side a rental house they own in Kilkenny he was in the house for about 5 minutes. He appealed it and all but had to pay it even though residents would be allowed to park but the car had to be registered to the house and all this crap.

Yep now we have 2 dunnes and 2 superquinns and 2 of aldi and lidl.

We gave them a proper humping at the weekend:cool:

(And yes I know ballyhale were playing on Paddy's day)

So is my local Topaz! Although it did need a bit of a revamp, the one in Cashel is a Ferrari compared to it:pac:

So is my local Topaz......beside Tivoli cleaners.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

They went mad putting Tescos in Mayo towns a few years back. One in Claremorris and Ballinrobe and also Westport, could be more in other towns that I don't know. One thing always surprises me is there is none in Tuam, it is a large town by west of Ireland standards and there is only a super value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

pred racer wrote: »

Had to watch the second half yesterday sitting beside two Ballyhale fans cheering ever score they got. It was a long journey home.

Ah well at least we got to the final.

nd wrote: »
    Had to watch the second half yesterday sitting beside two Ballyhale fans cheering ever score they got. It was a long journey home.

Ah well at least we got to the final.

I was supposed to go.
    15 wides :eek: did ye only bring the blind hurlers?

They are mad for giving out parking tickets in Kilkenny. My dad got a parking ticket while parked out side a rental house they own in Kilkenny he was in the house for about 5 minutes. He appealed it and all but had to pay it even though residents would be allowed to park but the car had to be registered to the house and all this crap.

Yep now we have 2 dunnes and 2 superquinns and 2 of aldi and lidl.

I appealed mine with the new tax disc and that was the end of it thankfully. I worked on the Ormonde hotel when it was being done up (07/08ish) with loads of other contractors and the warden used to plague us. In fairness, he was spot on most of the time. The amount of foreman, project managers etc that used to abandon their cars and vans around that area would boil your blood.

I was supposed to go.
    15 wides :eek: did ye only bring the blind hurlers?

I didn't even get to see it :(

Me and another guy in my class who was from kilkenny were watching bits of that match on Sunday and trying to study for exams too in college. It's been a sh!t week I spent all paddy day studying too.

Actually I had a control exam today probably would have been right down your alley :) (if your the right person I'm thinking off) Tuning proportional integral derivative controllers, calculating transfer functions, general controller and control loop theory feed forward / back controllers, cascade multivariable control loops and all that good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Yeah, they'd an off day and you only get one chance. Once Ballyhale pulled out a lead they never looked like catching them, unfortunately.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I hate electrical problems. Usually something simple but often a pain in the hole to get to the bottom of.
    Me and another guy in my class who was from kilkenny were watching bits of that match on Sunday and trying to study for exams too in college. It's been a sh!t week I spent all paddy day studying too.

Actually I had a control exam today probably would have been right down your alley :) (if your the right person I'm thinking off) Tuning proportional integral derivative controllers, calculating transfer functions, general controller and control loop theory feed forward / back controllers, cascade multivariable control loops and all that good stuff.

These 2 things are all in a days work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Might need one of these.
    2hquhkn.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Thanks lads, it's going to be a pain I'd say but the first thing to replace is the battery, current one is very fecked.

A user on BMWHaus bought an e39 with the same problem and a battery from his other e39 sorted it and he's running good since, can only hope it's as easy as that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

So is my local Topaz......beside Tivoli cleaners.....

Small world haha! :pac:

Is it still 24 hour do you know? Drove past the other night at about 11:15pm and the lights seemed to be off in the cabin and no-one around? Ended up heading out to Spar by the golf club, which was surprisingly cheaper.

Thanks lads, it's going to be a pain I'd say but the first thing to replace is the battery, current one is very fecked.

A user on BMWHaus bought an e39 with the same problem and a battery from his other e39 sorted it and he's running good since, can only hope it's as easy as that!

Do they need some kind of special battery and it has to be coded in or is it just the newer models that are like that. But definitely it could be the battery bad batteries can cause the ecu to do very weird things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭Dartz

I'm beginning to think motorcyclists' primary sense is scent, rather than sight.

Now, here me out because this makes more sense than you think. I've noticed an odd trend since I had the cat out, and especially since the MAF went a bit dodgy and I upped the mix of 2-stroke in the fuel....

Motorcyclists seem to be more....interested.... in my car. Isn't of just filtering past, they seem to run parallel for moment, rev their engines off the limiter for a moment, then waiting a second, before riding off. Pondering if this was an attempt to communicate, I imitated with a few hard stomps on the go pedal with the clutch in. Of cours, the rotary engine did it's usual thing... but the response was a surprise.

The motorcyclist nodded. Then rode off.

This has me perplexed? Have I somehow stumbled upon a unique mode of communication?

Or maybe it's just a generic appreciation for anything that goes BRRRAPPP BRAAAAPP and ****s fire.

It's only started to happen since the car began to run rich with a very distinctive 2-stroke smell so I'm guessing there has to be a scent component, as the RX was ignored previously, and most other ones I see are passed by 2-wheelers with the usual disinterest.

Small world haha! :pac:

Is it still 24 hour do you know? Drove past the other night at about 11:15pm and the lights seemed to be off in the cabin and no-one around? Ended up heading out to Spar by the golf club, which was surprisingly cheaper.

I don't think so, I was on my way up there on night, saw the sign off and lights off once I hit the roundabout so just doubled back.

That Spar is across the road from me and I never get petrol there. I did once and I got it into my head that the needle dropped very fast. With that said, I drive a 3 litre twin turbo so it's going to drop fast anyway but the petrol from Topaz lasts longer. Maybe my imagination!

Plus I have a favourite pump in Topaz. I always fill until the handle clicks and pump 2 is the only one in town where the petrol doesn't splash back out when this happens. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Do they need some kind of special battery and it has to be coded in or is it just the newer models that are like that. But definitely it could be the battery bad batteries can cause the ecu to do very weird things.

Not really, it's just a battery should never go below 12.5 or something at idle, mine was at 5.8 or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I'd say that'll solve it then FN, battery issues cause mayhem with all new cars.