Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jeremy Clarkson suspended

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

How does it work in tv land?

Is a producer subordinate to a presenter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

How does it work in tv land?

Is a producer subordinate to a presenter?

I think the executive producer is the top dog. Open to correction.

In which case it's Andy Wilman. One of Clarksons best mates and the other guy that came up with the format with Clarkson and eventually sold it to the BBC.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Who replaces Clarkson should be decided by lap time. Who is the fasted in the reasonably priced car right now?
    Or we just get Ashton Kutcher, he's used to filling in for people who've suffered meltdowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Who replaces Clarkson should be decided by lap time. Who is the fasted in the reasonably priced car right now?
    Or we just get Ashton Kutcher, he's used to filling in for people who've suffered meltdowns.

Olly Murs, Vauxhall Astra, 1:44.6. It's not looking good. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

ScumLord wrote: »
    Clarkson draws in customers and I don't think there's enough customers that dislike Clarkson but love car shows to fill that gap.

So let them think of something else. Top Gear is easy ratings even though the quality is no longer there. Maybe time to innovate.

anncoates wrote: »
    I understand all that but the implications are the same: whatever he does or says must be condoned to protect the profitability of the brand.

So far, that's racist comments and alleged assault of subordinates that must be considered as collateral damage order to protect ratings.

So for example, if you read that the director of a large corporation or bank here made racist comments or punched a cleaner, then that's OK as he's probably responsible for more financial turnover than Top Gear right?

Clarkson is "The Talent" so that makes everything aaaalllllright. Apparently. :pac::rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

jimgoose wrote: »
    Olly Murs, Vauxhall Astra, 1:44.6. It's not looking good. :pac:

Jenson Button might become available soon. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

You don't replace Clarkson. Replacing him implies the show would continue as is with someone in his place. Hammond and May would quit before continuing the show without their best mate, in my opinion.

I don't think the 'other' versions of Top Gear are as popular as the UK one (Top Gear USA, Aus etc) and I think that's simply because the UK Top Gear has Clarkson, May and Hammond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't think that's what's happening in this thread. What's happening is people coming in here to attack Clarkson because they don't like him. Most of the anti Clarkson posts have had little to do with the incident, and are mostly about how much people don't like Clarkson for a range of conflicting and unfounded reasons and then going on to call anyone that enjoys top gear a fool.

I don't think anyone has said Clarkson was entitled, or right to hit that guy and for the most part are just saying that Top Gear fans will follow Clarkson to his new show if the BBC let him go.

If people don't like Clarkson or Top Gear that's fine, but labeling everyone that like's top gear as stupid is the problem.

Ehh some of us that are lambasting calrkson, and even more so his supporters for their infantile outlook on this incident, actually aren't enemies of Top Gear or as you and others might try and potray us as lefty liberal vegans.
    Some supporters of clarkson are actually making light of the fact he did verbally and maybe physically abuse one of the guys on the show.
    They claim anyone that makes any bones about it are lily livered and in the pocket of PC and HR.
    Check some of the posts here and elsewhere.

I have been watching Top Gear for decades.
    I remember the old Top Gear and people like Quentin Wilson, Tony Mason, Tiff Needell and Steve Berry with fondness.
    Tony Mason did Rally and motorsport related stories and Steve Berry did motobikes.
    The new Top Gear has only had an occassional motorbike slot (Vietnam trip or race against steam train - both using old bikes) probably down to clarkson's intense dislike for them.

The new Top Gear was fun and a bit of a laugh, but really it has become a parody of itself and the presenters have slowly become more insuferable.
    Years ago I would have made sure I could get to sit down and watch the entire episode on sunday evening, but the last while I channel surf during the episode because it has become the same old stuff with the three of them bleating on.

I have even some of the old clarkson DVDs, I watched his own TV show a couple of times, watched his history program(s), watched his travel series.
    Yes I knew that he might say something a bit derogatory like having a pop at the French, but then he would counter blaance it by syaing maybe the way they slowly eat is a better way of living life and they may be right.

But slowly over time I think he has gotten more up his own hole so to speak.
    And the other two just appear to be the two hangers on of the biggest loudmouth in the payground.
    Now there appears to be gratuitous slagging of some group or other every other episode.
    Maybe it has something to do with how popular he has gotten and how powerful the company he keeps.

I actually rather watch 5th/Fifth Gear because it mixes it up more and is actually closer to the original top gear.
    Oh and it deals better with cars and there are no eejits like clarkson on it.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    So let them think of something else. Top Gear is easy ratings even though the quality is no longer there. Maybe time to innovate.

That's your own opinion and I disagree. It's gooey perfection on a stick.

Mint Aero wrote: »
    That's your own opinion and I disagree.

Of course it's my opinion. Is it really necessary to tack on an 'IMO' at the end of every sentence for people to understand that? :confused:

It's also my opinion that people who think it's as good or better than ever as it ever was have no taste. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

MagicIRL wrote: »
    You don't replace Clarkson. Replacing him implies the show would continue as is with someone in his place. Hammond and May would quit before continuing the show without their best mate, in my opinion.

I don't think the 'other' versions of Top Gear are as popular as the UK one (Top Gear USA, Aus etc) and I think that's simply because the UK Top Gear has Clarkson, May and Hammond.

I'd say that's partly true and there's a good chance the new line up won't do as well but it's aired at a time when people would watch almost anything because there is nothing else to do at that time on a Sunday.

I thought Off the Ball would tank when the three lads left. It's now even more popular than it was with them. It's not inconceivable the same thing could happen here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭onlyme!

Staggering figures coming in from last night as over 4 million people turn off their BBC sets. Absolutely mind boggling numbers as the BBC loses an enormous amount of viewers. It's been an epic disaster of titanic proportions. .

Not really a disaster at all ,
    audience figures are irrelevant as they're not chasing advertising revenue!
    The bbc are a public service broadcaster whuch should cater for all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

The only thing Clarkson has done that I really enjoyed was 'Crash, Bang, Wallop...What a Video.'

Superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Mate I scoured the twitter for any abusive comments. I didn't find one. I don't have as much free time as you to find 3 comments over a 24hr period on twitter :rolleyes: clearly that's a vast minority. Anyone with a mathematical mind can see that. Therefore I'am correct.

you mustn't know how to use a search engine then cos I found those abusive tweets in under 5 seconds. You said you looked at Twitter and could only find messages of support, another poster showed you plenty of examples of abuse towards Oisin but you tried to move the goalposts by saying that they were tweeted two days ago (as if racism and threats to punch Oisin Tymon are irrelevant because of their age) Just to prove you wrong on a second occasion I found more abusive tweets in the last 24 hours and I found them pretty quick. Yet again you try to move the goalposts but its clear for all to see here that he is taking abuse from Clarkson fans.

I've yet to hear you condemn the abusive threats towards Oisin, you seem to prefer to pretend they don't even exist because you couldn't find them and because finding them doesn't suit your agenda on here. Fact of the matter is that they are there for all to see, except for yourself who refuses to see whats in front of your very eyes.

Jenson Button might become available soon. :D

He's already the Stig on Albanian TG. Allegedly. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Muahahaha wrote: »
    I've yet to hear you condemn the abusive threats towards Oisin.

Who am I? Ban Ki-moon?! :confused:

Talk about clutching at straws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭tigger123

The only thing Clarkson has done that I really enjoyed was 'Crash, Bang, Wallop...What a Video.'

Superb.

:D I'm sure Alan Partridge is a huge Top Gear fan!

tigger123 wrote: »
    :D I'm sure Alan Partridge is a huge Top Gear fan!

"Thankfully, that man was plastic. You can stop giggling, or I'll take down your particulars!" :pac::pac::pac:

Steve Coogan is a huge car nut and a semi-regular guest on TG. I believe he and JC are friends, yes.

"Thankfully, that man was plastic. You can stop giggling, or I'll take down your particulars!" :pac::pac::pac:

Steve Coogan is a huge car nut and a semi-regular guest on TG. I believe he and JC are friends, yes.

I'm pretty sure Coogan hates Clarkson and Top Gear.

http://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2011/feb/05/top-gear-offensive-steve-coogan

Steve Coogan. Typical sandal wearing, gluten free, Marxist, liberal. You can't say anything these days!

Alan Partridge would love Top Gear though.

I'm pretty sure Coogan hates Clarkson and Top Gear.

http://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2011/feb/05/top-gear-offensive-steve-coogan

Steve Coogan. Typical sandal wearing, gluten free, Marxist, liberal. You can't say anything these days!

Alan Partridge would love Top Gear though.

Yes, he didn't like the Mexican episode right enough. Interestingly, Paddy Power are giving 3/1 for Coogan to replace JC.

Haha really?! Is he the favorite?

No, Chris Evans is at 1/2, but he's ruled himself Right Out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

He should do it but only if he can present it as his three characters Alan Partridge, Tommy Saxondale and Paul Calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭tigger123

He should do it but only if he can present it as his 3 three characters Alan Partridge, Tommy Saxondale and Paul Calf.

Paul Calf road testing a 1988 Ford Escort, fag in one hand, can in the other.

tigger123 wrote: »
    Paul Calf road testing a 1988 Ford Escort, fag in one hand, can in the other.

Aye, and Partridge powersliding a Range Rover in a muddy field to the tune of "I Get Knocked Down". :pac::pac::pac:

He should do it but only if he can present it as his three characters Alan Partridge, Tommy Saxondale and Paul Calf.

Yes! I'd watch the sh*t out of that.

"Coming up in this episode: Tommy Saxondale gets his eyesight improved by a prostitute, almost befriends a celebrity, kneecaps an annoying hippie, and test-drives a 1989 Bedford Rascal!" :pac:

How long will it take before someone spray paints...

"COCK P1SS CLARKSON"

...on Jezzas Rover Vitesse Fastback?