Worst alcoholic drinks you've ever tasted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

I generally claim that I could drink piss out of a wellie so long as it gets me drunk but then I tried Grappa. Foul stuff. It tastes and smells how I imagine surgical alcohol to.

We have a winner. I can see the point of most other drinks but Grappa.... I don't get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

Archers peach schnapps - vile, sickly sweet, syrupy filth

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Beefy78 wrote: »
    We have a winner. I can see the point of most other drinks but Grappa.... I don't get it.

Yup, most drinks can be redeemed in a cocktail, tequila for example is foul but I could whip you up a Long Island Iced Tea which drinks sooooo smooth but will knock you on your arse. Grappa however cannot even be mixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,991 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Raki

Basically it's the Turkish version of ouzo.

Nasty, nasty stuff

*shudders*

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Is it still out there? Do the young folk still do shots of it when trying to bed each other?

I had red aftershock a few weeks ago so thats definitely still on the go.
    Eutow wrote: »
    Lagers such as Tennents, Corona, Harp and an old one called Dorfmeister were terrible, even worse than Bud, Coors Light and Molson Canadian.

I would very much disagree with that all three are far better than bud, coors, carlsberg, Heineken etc. Bavaria is the king though, by far my favorite beer (aside from Guinnness and smithwicks on draft).

Green Chartuse. Calling it paint stripper would be insulting to paint stripper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,964 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

danslevent wrote: »
    Sambuca turns my stomach. It is like liquid liqourice...vomit

Especially at the end of the night, after a rake of beers, when some feckin ejit decides it'll be a great idea to "get them in".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭nelly17

I dont mind it so much but cant stomach Taquila at all at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Pernod. Aniseed. Shiiiiver

guppy wrote: »
    Unicum, a Hungarian herby aperitif. By God that stuff is vile.

Seen the bottles in Budapest, but never tasted it.

Nothing with the word "cum" in it is going near my mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Have a vague recollection of drinking guinness and coke mixed with vodka. Not a taste sensation

Remember someone pouring fairly low quality whiskey into a bottle of coke which we then drank on a bus into town, it tasted a bit like puke

Hungarian Palinka is fairly lively on the palette too.

has to be said, in all three instances it didn't stop me drinking the stuff

blackwhite wrote: »
    Raki

Basically it's the Turkish version of ouzo.

Nasty, nasty stuff

*shudders*

Rakomelo is deadly though

Harviestoun's Schiehallion Lager.

Awful. Just awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Rantan

Beefy78 wrote: »

however...there is good grappa and bad grappa,,,,most is vile but when on hols once in Italy I drank some pretty tasty grappas that tasted nothing like the p*ss I had here

aftershock tastes like afterbirth to me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭robman60

I had Palinka in Budapest last week. Tasted like a shot of concentrated vinegar, horrible stuff.

Tony EH wrote: »
    Seen the bottles in Budapest, but never tasted it.

Nothing with the word "cum" in it is going near my mouth.

Oh jaysus, thats some concotion. The cross on the bottle should be a giveaway, mixture of cough medicine and bovril

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Sorghum beer, sour nasty concoction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Was obliged to consume a fair amount of Maota'i at a Chinese banquet a few years ago. I'm not over it yet.
    I think the Space Shuttle flew on a watered down version of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

It's funny actually, you see beers locally that only the fellas sitting around the bus station would have a blast off and then you see it in the US/Canada/Asia is some fancy beer shop :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭IamNotNumber

Bottle of Absinthe bought in Soho ,...vile stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭bpmurray

Bambi wrote: »
    Oh jaysus, thats some concotion. The cross on the bottle should be a giveaway, mixture of cough medicine and bovril

I think Unicum's quite nice although it's a poor man's Gammel Dansk. And the wife likes Becherovka, although it's a bit heavy on the cinnamon for my taste buds. And don't forget that other nectar (not) of Budapest - Palinka, in all its flavours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Egg nog
    Southern Comfort
    Pernod

All 3 are disgusting.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Most spirits are fcuking disgusting. I don't understand them at all. They just serve as a narcotic imho. People certainly don't drink them for the delicious taste. OK, maybe brandy or a smooth whiskey assaults the senses so when you sniff the glass you get that kind of Christmassy deja-vu kick and it makes you happy, but other liquors are just foul. Tequila, Gin, Rum.....no wonder you have to mix them. Don't get me wrong, I will sometimes have a mixed drink if I'm at a wedding and am too full from the grub to drink a beer. So then I might nurse a vodka and tonic for half an hour until the meal settles and I must admit I love spicy bloody marys, but that's where my relationship with spirits ends. I was give a shot of warm raki after a barbecue in Greece one time. Necked the shot. Luckily I was close to the toilet because no sooner had this poison gone down than I started to feel my body gearing up to throw it in reverse. Ran to the toilets as it was coming up and projectile spewed right at the sink and mirror.

Nope, it's beer for me and a cold dry white wine with pizza and that's it. Shots can fcuk off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

I actually like Sambuca - most painless shot there is.

Awful ones would be

Tequila straight but the salt and lemon make it fine.
    Grappa - downed a shot it on hols in the lovely Positano and nearly fell off my stool in shock.
    Fernet Branca - tastes like it belongs on a shelf in a chemistry lab.
    Cheap red wine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

The cheap red wine that they sell for €15 after hours in some shops in town. About 20% chalky sediment. Get a bottle of that post-club and you can write off the next day.

Also while I appreciate that its an acquired taste I think Riga Black Balsam is fairly knacker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

A bad batch of poteen, it nearly killed a few of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Tia Maria. Totally vile.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Campari is fairly offensive too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

Cider and all spirits. Undrinkable stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

Eutow wrote: »
    Tequila is horrible stuff. Lagers such as Tennents, Corona, Harp and an old one called Dorfmeister were terrible, even worse than Bud, Coors Light and Molson Canadian.

jesus, now theres a blast from the past. you could get 10 or 12 cans for a £5 as far as I remember. white can with a dodgy green and yellow label. the first two you'd have you'd be trying to talk yourself into being palatable, by the time you've the fifth your still sober and feel like you've drank 4 litres of diet seven up. pure vile grade A piss.