Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you Part 27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,201 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Having to refer to something that happened in 1900 - 1999 as being twentieth century.
    The mental adjustment required to work out what constituted a 16th century event, (is it 15 something or 17 something?) just does my head in.
    How did this stupid convention gain traction?

It isn't a stupid convention. The years 0 - 99 AD are the First Century, same as the first sixty seconds of a rugby match are the first minute. What else would it be?? :pac:

...he sticks his hand out the window as if to flag us down, and lmii stops. "ah jaysus lmii, how are you? Haven't seen you in ages!"...

Does everyone in town call yer maun "LMII"?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Well i had to say that, can't go posting his real name!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

Lafont Maintenance Intervention Industielles were giving you a lift to the train station???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

TA that I need to Iron some shirts. Why dont I just pay the money to get them washed and ironed at the local dry cleaners? Stupid - thats why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

TA that it is very quiet in this thread today. What's going on - did you all find happiness? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

TA that it is very quiet in this thread today. What's going on - did you all find happiness? :eek:

No, I found Jesus.

I'm in shock after only lately discovering the little village in East Limerick that I'm originally from was twinned with the former Soviet state of Kyrgyzstan a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Should ve now call you comrade Jim?

yeppydeppy wrote: »
    Should ve now call you comrade Jim?

You must think in Russian, major. Now this is a machine!! :cool:

jimgoose wrote: »
    I'm in shock after only lately discovering the little village in East Limerick that I'm originally from was twinned with the former Soviet state of Kyrgyzstan a few years back.

Christ Jim, they must be mortified:D:D

(The Kyrgyzstani's that is)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

I found happiness. It's sunny, I got my Internet back and slept through the night.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    No, I found Jesus.

I am Jesus.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I am Jesus.

I remember you, you used to live in in Nazareth, beside Aldi. your Da was a carpenter and your Ma was a virgin.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭JanaMay

No, I found Jesus.

I found cheeses. And now my fingers are so fat that it's hard to type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

I've been feeling so nauseous for the last couple of days. I just constantly feel like I'm going to throw up but I just end up dry heaving. I wish I could just throw up because I'd probably feel better if I did!

Rosie Rant wrote: »
    I've been feeling so nauseous for the last couple of days. I just constantly feel like I'm going to throw up but I just end up dry heaving. I wish I could just throw up because I'd probably feel better if I did!

Fingers down the throat and no shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

eternal wrote: »
    Fingers down the throat and no shame.

Eh.. No!

I'm going out on Sunday night. I have nothing to wear, except a pair of boots. I love the boots so I'm def wearing the boots, but I don't have anything that looks nice with the boots. Tried on two dresses last night, and a pair of leggings with them -- and I can't decide. It's all I can think about all day.

Christ Jim, they must be mortified:D:D

(The Kyrgyzstani's that is)
    Tell me about it. I don't think they actually know yet! :pac:

I'm going out on Sunday night. I have nothing to wear, except a pair of boots. I love the boots so I'm def wearing the boots, but I don't have anything that looks nice with the boots. Tried on two dresses last night, and a pair of leggings with them -- and I can't decide. It's all I can think about all day.

I see a lot of gals just going for jeans-and-jumper with those high leathery boots these days. How about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

No, I found Jesus.

your turn to hide now

The silvery one definitely.

...There's the boots, and the choices. I don't have any skinny jeans :(....

Humour me - try regular, non-skinny jeans stuffed into the tops of 'em. You might be surprised.

jimgoose wrote: »
    I see a lot of gals just going for jeans-and-jumper with those high leathery boots these days. How about that?

Get a load of Gok Goose there with the fashion advice:D

On Sunday next, I am attending a soiree thrown by a friend. I shall be wearing a three piece pinstripe in navy, white charvet shirt with a bold silk tie. Question is, should I wear a fedora or a bowler?

Wear both!

Get a load of Gok Goose there with the fashion advice:D

On Sunday next, I am attending a soiree thrown by a friend. I shall be wearing a three piece pinstripe in navy, white charvet shirt with a bold silk tie. Question is, should I wear a fedora or a bowler?

Gok Goose sez: Use the Bowler when perambulating from the Bentley to the front-door of the hovel in which these peasants are intending to attempt to entertain you, and once inside switch to the Fedora. The right to be a Proper Hipster Bollix was granted to the Irish Jacobites at Culloden by King Jimmy Stuart.

Wear both!

Are they the same boots yer wan on "The Voice" wears? Hubba hubba.

Kathryn Thomas?? Wouldn't mind her legs

Woodies DIY are doing half-price Ronseal. You're welcome. And remember: if you haven't an arse in your britches, if your down to last year's half-rotten baling-twine with the Duke of Marlboro baytin' down the door looking for his High Tea, don't panic - just say, "Etiquette your fcukan sister!" and consult Gok-Goose, Fashion Person. :cool: