Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Out of curiosity, does anyone know how much do MK3 towbars go for and is there much interest in them? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Met with GavMan earlier during the SqueakyClean car show, sound man and his ST is class! Nice to see a well specced Irish one too and Red as well!

With regards the show, lots of slammed VAG but a few class cars, a Chaser, Slammed Volvo 240 I think it was, a few tidy MX-5's and S-Chassis. All looking spotless of course!
    Ya good to meet yA Foxhole and your E39 lovely car. Some nice cars at show alright. Plenty noise bout! Thinking I saw Muppetcheck by mayfield church on way home too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Met with GavMan earlier during the SqueakyClean car show, sound man and his ST is class! Nice to see a well specced Irish one too and Red as well!

With regards the show, lots of slammed VAG but a few class cars, a Chaser, Slammed Volvo 240 I think it was, a few tidy MX-5's and S-Chassis. All looking spotless of course!

I drove through and saw a red ST up there alright which caught my eye. I was on my way into tesco and didn't have time to stop for a look around.
    Seemed to be a decent crowd there though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

GvidoR wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, does anyone know how much do MK3 towbars go for and is there much interest in them? :P

Get one out of a scrappy. A tow strap would suit that yoke too.

So would yellow headlights and some rust! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Wasn't expecting bog-fires in early March :eek:

Sky around here was completely orange last night, had a look at a few places then came out to check the damage today, not too bad at all compared to previous fires.

IMG_5239.jpg
    IMG_5241.jpg
    IMG_4308.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I drove through and saw a red ST up there alright which caught my eye. I was on my way into tesco and didn't have time to stop for a look around.
    Seemed to be a decent crowd there though!

If it was on the same level as the show then that was him alright, I was a few cars down from him.

Big Nasty wrote: »

I think he's last looking to offload one. I managed to get €25 for one off an old Nissan Vanette (RIP) I had a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Was flicking through the results of historics at brooklands just there.

Christ, while its a low miler, I never thought it would go for this much.
    http://www.historics.co.uk/buying/auctions/2015-03-07/cars/1997-alfa-romeo-gtv-coupé.aspx?p=

I think he's last looking to offload one. I managed to get €25 for one off an old Nissan Vanette (RIP) I had a while back.

He should keep it!

Does anyone here want this? It came with a power washer about 10 years ago and has been sitting in the shed since. Don't think its ever been used and works fine. Think we've gone through 2 power washers since. Doing a trip to the recycling centre next week and that'll be going with me if no one wants it.

He should keep it!

Definitely. The S60 has a towbar and I've no intentions of removing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Gavman84 wrote: »
    Ya good to meet yA Foxhole and your E39 lovely car. Some nice cars at show alright. Plenty noise bout! Thinking I saw Muppetcheck by mayfield church on way home too...

You did, the ST was looking very well, serious shine off if! The puppy puked in the back of my car on the way to Cork so I had to clean that up instead of heading out for a look. Noticed a few nicer than normal coming from that direction when I was heading to Carrig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Well, it already has a towbar, I was thinking of taking off and selling it to someone who could put it to some use. I don't have a boat, trailer or anything like that.

Might rust it a bit though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

You did, the ST was looking very well, serious shine off if! The puppy puked in the back of my car on the way to Cork so I had to clean that up instead of heading out for a look. Noticed a few nicer than normal coming from that direction when I was heading to Carrig.

The cars that paid for display were generally of a really high standard, way better than your typical felted VAG or riced Honda!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Was nearly sure it was you haha! Ya lads in d and d did class detail last weekend on it delighted. Young lad got sick in old car before so I know how you feel disaster to clean it!

GvidoR wrote: »
    Well, it already has a towbar, I was thinking of taking off and selling it to someone who could put it to some use. I don't have a boat, trailer or anything like that.

Might rust it a bit though. :)

If you're going rat (and I hope you do) I'd keep the tow bar. Would go well with the look.

You could always buy a scrapped MK3 and convert the back of it in to a trailer. ;)

The cars that paid for display were generally of a really high standard, way better than your typical felted VAG or riced Honda!

There was a white S14 coming against me earlier that made me look twice, one of the very rare (down this way at least) that would make you do so.

11978962696_60b79e84ac_zpshwakzz0x.jpg

Gavman84 wrote: »
    Was nearly sure it was you haha! Ya lads in d and d did class detail last weekend on it delighted. Young lad got sick in old car before so I know how you feel disaster to clean it!

I was empty reaching the whole way through, thank feck for the wet vac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

I was empty reaching the whole way through, thank feck for the wet vac.

Seat or carpet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Roof lining :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

11978962696_60b79e84ac_zpshwakzz0x.jpg

I only realized now that is a trailer, I thought it was a photoshop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭Dartz

So, someone asked me to give them a lift into town to pick up something from a theatre, after a show...
    We arrive, to find the doors locked.
    Stopped on a one-way side-street just off the quays.
    He tries to ring his contact inside. No answer.
    It never occured to him, either before we left, or on the way there, to call aead and see if anyone was there.
    I pootle around Temple Bar for a bit to make a turn around.
    American tourists get angry when asked to move. Or "Hey, Stay Puft! Get off the ****ing road you dope"
    Loop back around and stop outside again to find no answer on the phone.
    Burn more fuel getting home....
    Stopped at got petrol at that cheap Esso on the Quays and gunnelled it, so it wasn't a total loss.
    But ****, it was an annoying waste of time.

Dartz wrote: »
    So, someone asked me to give them a lift into town to pick up something from a theatre, after a show...
    Parked on a one-way side-street just off the quays.
    It never occured to him, either before we left, or on the way there, to call aead and see if anyone was there.
    American tourists get angry when asked to move. Or "Hey, Stay Puft! Get off the ****ing road you dope"
    Arrive and stop outside to find no answer on the phone.
    Stopped at got petrol at that cheap Esso on the Quays and gunnelled it, so it wasn't a total loss.

Ah Dublin, I was there today. Seen a mini road sweeper. Guy was parked up down a back street on the phone, was thinking to myself what a cool job, I wouldn't mind cruising around the streets in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Dartz wrote: »
    Stopped on a one-way side-street just off the quays.
    Loop back around and stop outside again to find no answer on the phone.

Next time hand them a tenner to get a cab and let the pleab on their merry way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭Dartz

Next time hand them a tenner to get a cab and let the pleab on their merry way

**** the cab, get the bus.

vectra wrote: »
    Seat or carpet?

Carpet and a tiny bit of the seat, came up perfectly though. Heater on hot on the passenger side and it's almost dry. Puppy be going in the boot next time...

What type of dog did you get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Lads, I was driving around the city today and noticed that there was a bit of smoke coming from the front tires.
    Had the pads and discs changed yesterday.. Normal? Bedding in?