Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Lovely bit of news this morning :P

clean%2Bagain.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

YAAAY!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Whenever either of my parents get that letter they always end up picking up two more within a month or two. I think my dad got two within the first few days of the system coming out and has had between 2 and 6 since my mother has never had anymore than two but normally has two at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Anyone here ever get two or more notices of penalty points on the same day?
    I got my first notice 3 weeks ago for speeding and I'm so cautious about getting caught again..
    I've a neighbour who got caught 3 times by the same camera - 9 points & €240 fine!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I got a tonne of points and fine's for no seat belt. None on my licence now though. Saying that somebody here said it can take a while for the speeding offence points and fine to come through, I was speeding past two of the speed vans 4-5 months ago, hopefully I am in the clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Bpmull wrote: »
    I'm failing to see how this is a 'sport' as it is not a sportline and is a 2.0 sdi :pac:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volkswagen-golf-2-0-litre-sdi-sport-die/8504413

VW are some stingy baxtards, were they really offering an SDI on the Mk 5 Golf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Yes they did, a very good friend of mine had one, 2.0 SDI, 05. I found it not overly slow to a certain speed. Far better than any 1.9 SDI....

That one in the ad though, talk about a misery steering wheel....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Jaysus that's a grim looking motor think I'd rather anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I think BPMull is single handedly ensuring that the Golf TDI takes over from the E46 325 as the boardsie car of the forum.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

dgt wrote: »

Was just about to say the same, it would suit a TATA to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

IIRC they didn't do the mk5 sdi in Ireland, but in the UK

That's a S model. Maybe the owner thinks the S stands for "sport". With only 73bhp, its far from sporty :)

dgt wrote: »
    Yes they did, a very good friend of mine had one, 2.0 SDI, 05. I found it not overly slow to a certain speed. Far better than any 1.9 SDI....

Having been in 2.0sdi caddys a lot during my summer job last year they were actually more powerful than I thought upto about 60mph although you do end up reving them alot to get any sort of performance. Also I hate them 4 spoke steering wheels in the early mk5s
    Gavman84 wrote: »
    Jaysus that's a grim looking motor think I'd rather anything else.

Baseline is grim comfortline upwards is a huge improvement.
    166man wrote: »
    I think BPMull is single handedly ensuring that the Golf TDI takes over from the E46 325 as the boardsie car of the forum.....:D

I wouldn't say that :) . I need more members that own them kind of suprising there is not more people on here that have them.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    IIRC they didn't do the mk5 sdi in Ireland, but in the UK

That's a S model. Maybe the owner thinks the S stands for "sport". With only 73bhp, its far from sporty :)

Looked up the 0-60 times for the craic

1.9 TDI 105bhp 10.9 seconds
    1.4 petrol 80bhp 13.5 seconds
    2.0 SDI 73bhp 16.2 seconds :eek:

vectra wrote: »
    Lovely bit of news this morning :P

clean%2Bagain.jpg

Nice one. I'm due the same notification soon :)

Also, should your points not have been removed last march no?

He may have been off the road or got a endorsement for a year. They stay frozen for the year ban and then re-activate once ban is up. I know I had points and was banned for two years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Stupid me left my licence lapse for almost a year to get the new one so points were extended by that amount :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Don't do that. A catastrophic failure is inevitable if you tax it for the year.

Can't you declare it off the road though and get the tax back?
    Or did I hear that in a dream :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

YbFocus wrote: »
    I have my quarterly tax conning up at the end of the month :(
    Thanks for the reminder!

Me too, 305 euro for 3 months:(

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Don't do that. A catastrophic failure is inevitable if you tax it for the year.

Haha I had exactly the same thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Me too, 305 euro for 3 months

I'm car tax fee until July, when bizarrely both cars are up for renewal. Over 1000 in one swoop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Same man :(

Actually on the topic of road tax is it true that garages have to tax demos when registering them. My dads golf came taxed and I thought it was suprising. I always thought dealers never taxed demos for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Actually on the topic of road tax is it true that garages have to tax demos when registering them. My dads golf came taxed and I thought it was suprising. I always thought dealers never taxed demos for some reason.

Yes, they have to have them all taxed at all times. These days though it's absolute pittances for the tax anyway, only €50-€60 every three months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You have to tax it to get the vrc. Distributor holds the vrc for a few months (although this is easily got around with online changes of ownership...)

I wanted a 325Ci but cannot justify the 305 for 3 months, day light robbery for a 2.5 car. I'm bad enough paying 200 for 3 months. If I had the money I would have bought an evo as I always wanted one and also cheapish tax and good power rating as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

And here's me giving out about paying 108 quid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Seen this on car memes, made me laugh

11024716_834405843281859_3513732820074904141_n.jpg?oh=28bc714b592a20501fb43bb2b146c766&oe=558165E3&__gda__=1434200201_bdd399189d488002ebf24026fbd2b0ee

Done an absolute ball of work today on the 9-5, pictures in the build thread

Seen this on car memes, made me laugh

Just going to wait patiently for Bp to come and defend that :pac:
    Not in a golf etc etc.... (sorry bp, had to :P)

Just going to wait patiently for Bp to come and defend that :pac:
    Not in a golf etc etc.... (sorry bp, had to :P)

Apparently mk4/5's are awful for it i heard

Funny that, I was told the same, but that mk5's are more prominent to it, especially black 3 door vans. Galway registered ones bizzarely tend to frequently show the light....

I probably shouldn't be saying much, I'll jinx me own yoke :P