Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Looking like those Hankooks are coming in at €180 a corner, fitted, tracked, balanced. They're €140 off of Oponeo anyway so I think I'll go ahead with these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Not sure if people use these guys but I think it's where I'll be doing my shopping in future.

http://www.carparts-pros.com/

Where are they based do you know? Like are they American or European. getting caught for customs is all I'm wondering.

European, based in Germany AFAIK so no silly taxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Looking like those Hankooks are coming in at €180 a corner, fitted, tracked, balanced. They're €140 off of Oponeo anyway so I think I'll go ahead with these.

Gonna go for the €180 ones? Much for GoodYears and stuff?

4 tyres ain't gonna be cheap!

166man wrote: »
    Gonna go for the €180 ones? Much for GoodYears and stuff?

4 tyres ain't gonna be cheap!

Only needs 1 rear at the moment but doing the two as that makes the most sense.

I didn't price Goodyears but P-Zero Rosso's were coming to around €240 a corner, probably around the same for F1's. The Ventus gets good reviews from other E39 owners and mine already has the one on the rear :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Only needs 1 rear at the moment but doing the two as that makes the most sense.

I didn't price Goodyears but P-Zero Rosso's were coming to around €240 a corner, probably around the same for F1's. The Ventus gets good reviews from other E39 owners and mine already has the one on the rear :pac:

Was scratching me head wondering what tyres these must be... then I remembered: Staggered rears

Pro-tip: 225/40/18 fit on BMW staggered rears too :pac:

OSI wrote: »
    Turn off the TC, accelerate hard. Whatever direction the car starts spinning in, pick the tyre on that corner :pac:

Only thing left to do before I replace the rears now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Can anybody here recommend someone in Cork or Kilkenny City that would do some painting for me? Need to have an entire front bumper primed and painted and also a scratch the length of my driver side door done. Wouldn't be looking for the whole door panel to be painted, just enough to fill and hide the scratch as best as possible. I know you usually pay for what you get with painting but I don't want to drop an absolute fortune on it either!

Was scratching me head wondering what tyres these must be... then I remembered: Staggered rears

Pro-tip: 225/40/18 fit on BMW staggered rears too :pac:

18's probably wouldn't fit too well on 17's now :pac:

Dorgasm,our family use Kenny Brothers on the Tramore Rd. Good price and fast turnaround too. I'm sure others can recommend some more though!

Ah ye ne'er know! :pac:

Forgot e39's had 17's :D

Well I had a fun Sat night doing doughnuts in the local towns are parks. My first rear wheel drive car. Turn off traction control and turn hard and dump the clutch like a motherfúcker. At first I just wanted to test with traction control on and see if I turn hard going about 30/40 miles per hour would the back end kick out and it didn't, then turned off traction control and done the same and started doing doughnuts, quite fun.

Dorgasm,our family use Kenny Brothers on the Tramore Rd. Good price and fast turnaround too. I'm sure others can recommend some more though!

Cheers, I'd be up around there a bit, I'll give them a shout. Different lad has my bumper now, said he'd do it as a favour but he can't find the time. Pretty gutted since I thought I'd have it sorted now. I hate the horrible cracked yoke hanging off it at the moment!

As a matter of interest, do your front and rear tyres have a different profile?

Ah ye ne'er know! :pac:

Forgot e39's had 17's :D

Yeah, 18's were an option on UK ones but I don't think they were here, a very rare one if they were. Looking at the price of M-Pars makes me cry.
    dorgasm wrote: »
    Cheers, I'd be up around there a bit, I'll give them a shout. Different lad has my bumper now, said he'd do it as a favour but he can't find the time. Pretty gutted since I thought I'd have it sorted now. I hate the horrible cracked yoke hanging off it at the moment!

As a matter of interest, do your front and rear tyres have a different profile?

They do indeed, staggered set. 235/45 front and 255/40 on the rears.

Ah yeah, got a warning on oponeo that mine were different too, was wondering if it's a thing with most BMWs. Fellas at the garage tried to sell me a set of Triangles for €90 fitted but I think I'll wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I had so much fun on Saturday night playing Gardai. Myself and one of the lads were in the mondeo, downloaded an app, which was a blue flashing light, just like the garda car. Lure some of the friends out of town onto quiet roads, creep up behind them and both of us put the flashing blue lights up to our front windscreen. Everyone was sh1tting it and pulled over. Never had so much fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Want to mind yourself you don't get caught doing that man. Hope none of your buddies took video of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Big Nasty wrote:
    Want to mind yourself you don't get caught doing that man. Hope none of your buddies took video of it?

Oh I know well, was out in the back boreens. They know well the craic with videos and where they could pop up, and potentially damage ones career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

So first day on the job, went rather well!

The shopping list begins :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Well I had a fun Sat night doing doughnuts in the local towns are parks. My first rear wheel drive car. Turn off traction control and turn hard and dump the clutch like a motherfúcker. At first I just wanted to test with traction control on and see if I turn hard going about 30/40 miles per hour would the back end kick out and it didn't, then turned off traction control and done the same and started doing doughnuts, quite fun.

All in the interest of safely lol has to be done!
    What car have you now?

dorgasm wrote: »
    Ah yeah, got a warning on oponeo that mine were different too, was wondering if it's a thing with most BMWs. Fellas at the garage tried to sell me a set of Triangles for €90 fitted but I think I'll wait!

I had the same thing! They smarten up some bit when you ask for a precise make and model though!

davycc wrote: »
    All in the interest of safely lol has to be done!
    What car have you now?

BMW 520i. It doesn't have a lsd. Does not do rings as good as a AE86, they seem to do them very easy or so the videos make it look, never actually drove one so I do not know. Also can't say it is good for the clutch as I have to repeatedly dump the clutch to get the back end to swing around better.

What's a clutch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Something I have noticed over the last few months are (some)VW golf drivers seem to drive like utter idiots, on the Motor way it might be (some)Audi and BMWs but off the motorway it is definitely the Golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

What's a clutch?

Peasants have them dude. :pac:

Ladies and non ladies, here's a question for you, what oil does an rx8 actually take? Some say 5w30, 5w20 and some say 5w40, I know mm had one so he might know but whats the general consensus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Ladies and non ladies, here's a question for you, what oil does an rx8 actually take? Some say 5w30, 5w20 and some say 5w40, I know mm had one so he might know but whats the general consensus?

WD40

but sometimes you need too get a new spin cycle when changing the oil in one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

That was some crash on the M1 heading south outside dundalk earlier, 3 cars involved, an E60 milled a lamp post out of it... Anyone else see it?

MM will probably be along shortly to tell you, I think he still owns the oil tanker he needed for his :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

A great choice for some refined skidding.
    Had a e34 520i manual myself and even with only 150 bhp it was a great learning curve for some wet roundabout ass out fun.

MM will probably be along shortly to tell you, I think he still owns the oil tanker he needed for his :pac:

Hahaha i thought that as much, had a look on an rx8 forum and the amount of oils people were saying was shocking