Etiquette on public transport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Barna77 wrote: »
    Trying to get off the DaRT and a wall of people are waiting on the platform like hungry hyenas on a prey, blocking the doors. I usually carry my gym bag and a few times I've been pushed backwards as it got trapped by some asshole that wouldn't wait for people to get off the train first. Now I just push my way and I couldn't give two fúcks what they think.
    Pensioners are the worst offenders. They'd walk at 0.05 m/h, but they run at
    Was this you?

https://twitter.com/ElSatanico/status/567372151670726658

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Carmel is a bitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Zebra3 wrote: »
    One thing about not offering seats to pregnant women is its getting more difficult to tell who is pregnant and who is fat/obese.
    Pregnant women can get a "Baby on Board" badge from TfL here - makes things a lot easier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭ronjo

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    You said it was taken up by a woman and a suitcase, hence my confusion.

Ah jaysus it was pretty obvious what she meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Pregnant women can get a "Baby on Board" badge from TfL here - makes things a lot easier!

Those signs are great, whenever I'm going to crash into someone if I see one of those signs I know not to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

When I walk down the aisle of the bus, I try not to whack anyone as I walk past, some people full on bash into people as they charge up the aisle of a full bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭liz lemoncello

Well I think it goes without saying if there's enough seats so as you don't have to sit next to someone, happy days....

How about this scenario: I get on a crowded train, then, well before it reaches the end of the line, (which happens to be my stop), it is half empty but there is someone right beside me. I usually sit there, surrounded by 20 free seats as I always feel bad if I move, in case the person next to me takes it personally. On the other hand, if they don't move, I'm ticked off. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

In some poverty/war torn striken country the complaints might be:

Lads hijacking the bus with AKs and completely redirectiing the bus's route.
    People bringing their goat on the bus which then procedes to **** everywhere and they fail to clean it up... a constant smell of goat ****.
    Goats attacking you, because goats are assholes.
    Lads coming on board with bongos who are absolutely ****e, making a racket.
    Bus fares fluctating on a day by day basis because the country is a banana republic.
    Beggars screaming at you for money/ beggars sleeping on you, and having to climb over them while they drool.
    No seats available because chickens in cages have taken up half of them while the owners have the other half.
    People washing themselves right beside you.
    Palm readers trying to predict your future for a small amount of money.
    Goat/Chicekn **** on seats.
    Children playing jenga on you while your asleep.
    Mosquitos/ other perilous insects biting you.
    A herd of rhinos attacking the bus, because going through the jungle is on our route.

Or if you were in Austrailia, snakes on the floor brushing against you.

See, people having bags beside them is nothing compared to the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

The worst people are the ones who won't get up and move for the old person/pregnant lady/person on crutches.

Get up ta fúck!

That happened to me 7 months pregnant stood for 20 minutes I looked ahead didnt look for pity not on person offered me a seat plus I nearly fell, id give my seat up for anyone who needed it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

hollster2 wrote: »
    That happened to me 7 months pregnant stood for 20 minutes I looked ahead didnt look for pity not on person offered me a seat plus I nearly fell, id give my seat up for anyone who needed it!
    Same happened to my wife on the LUAS when she almost at her due date. Nobody got up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

It was awful and worse near your due date, and getting off people pushed past me no giving two flutes if I was or not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Was on Dublin Bus about two weeks ago, and some Polish bird thought it was grand ranting in to her phone for about half an hour to somebody.

Ffs.

A short phone call, text somebody, or wait til you get off the bus.

Nobody wants to listen to people endlessly on the phone regardless of what language they are speaking.

As long as people aren't talking loudly, I don't really care how long anyone spends on the phone on public transport. A normal to quietish talking voice would be no different to people chatting to each other on the bus/train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

hollster2 wrote: »

I've given my seat up to dozens of pregnant women over the years (lived in Walkinstown for years and they would regularly get on at the Cork St stop) and most were gracious and thankful. Some would of course just say 'no thanks', smile and say they are getting off soon but appreciated the offer but there were also some the odd woman that seemed to take offense at being offer a seat. Not just from myself, but have seen other passengers get rudely dismissed after they offered their seat to a heavily pregnant woman.

Maybe those women were just fat :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I've gotten dozens of women pregnant on the bus. Is this what we're talking about ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ArseBurger

Those signs are great, whenever I'm going to crash into someone if I see one of those signs I know not to

The signs are meant to be there to alert the emergency services in the case of an accident that there may be a baby around. Babies can easily get hidden under seats or get catapulted out of a vehicle into surrounding areas. If there are no other survivors to identify that there may be a baby it's a useful signal.

Still, doesn't mean people can use it as an excuse for being an asshole on the road. Or for attempting to garnish superiority for their ability to breed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

ArseBurger wrote: »
    The signs are meant to be there to alert the emergency services in the case of an accident that there may be a baby around. Babies can easily get hidden under seats or get catapulted out of a vehicle into surrounding areas. If there are no other survivors to identify that there may be a baby it's a useful signal.

Still, doesn't mean people can use it as an excuse for being an asshole on the road. Or for attempting to garnish superiority for their ability to breed.

I think I read somewhere that that's bull. I thought they were designed to let people know you're a complete tosser?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

That's absolute bull****. It's purely a hallmark thing. Otherwise it would be an offence to have it up when the child was not in the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

The way it should work is the seat sign should be lit at every stop saying X place to Y place, so you know how long you can sit in the seat for.

Why does it even need to display a persons name ?

You can go with the safer option of just the booking number on display afaik.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

What annoys me about the prebook seats is that often Irish Rail don't turn on the names til it's too late example
    I'm travelling Dublin to Sligo Fri evening 5.05 train, bound to be jammers. I have not prebooked so get there early
    I get there at 4:30, take a seat where there are no names lit
    5:00 the train is full, the names lights up. Some one gets on and says I am in their seat

what should i do?

bear in mind the Ts&Cs

***Please take your seat 20 minutes in advance of departure***
    http://www.irishrail.ie/legal/terms-of-use

not sure how this works when people have booked seats and get on after the start of the journey

That's completely legitimate as far as I can see. From 5 onward that person has booked it. It's rightfully their seat. If you had pre-booked that very same seat before them, then they wouldn't have the option to acquire it when they too were booking a seat. They'd have to reserve another.

No they aren't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The signs are meant to be there to alert the emergency services in the case of an accident that there may be a baby around. Babies can easily get hidden under seats or get catapulted out of a vehicle into surrounding areas. If there are no other survivors to identify that there may be a baby it's a useful signal...

GAAAAAAHHHHH!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

That's completely legitimate as far as I can see. From 5 onward that person has booked it. It's rightfully their seat. If you had pre-booked that very same seat before them, then they wouldn't have the option to acquire it when they too were booking a seat. They'd have to reserve another.

Whole thread about it here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057376347

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

The way it should work is the seat sign should be lit at every stop saying X place to Y place, so you know how long you can sit in the seat for.

Yeah, on First Great Western over the UK, they have little slips placed on the backs of the seats that tell you between which stations the seats are booked for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Yeah, on First Great Western over the UK, they have little slips placed on the backs of the seats that tell you between which stations the seats are booked for.

They used to do that here years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Same thing on East Coast. Was on a Newcastle - London train before where they had rammed everyone with a reservation into two packed carriages, leaving the other eight little more than half full!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Grayson wrote: »
    I once sat behind an old man who kept shouting random crap. He obviously had issues. It sounded like tourettes on full blast. About two stops from the end I notice that there's a puddle forming under his seat.
    yep the poor old fecker peed himself. And he kept shouting and ranting all the way through.

Dad always liked to do that, means he gets the seat all to himself the crafty bugger !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

On the luas this evening, this ignorant bitch with a massive suitcase and a child got on. For a change the luas wasn't heaving. She stood right inside the door. Didn't move down to let anyone else on and then parked her suitcase across the exit. The child stood between her and the case and wouldn't move out of the way when people were trying to get off.

As I was getting off I told her she was very ignorant blocking the exit like that and she just stood staring, didn't even move it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

No one gets up for elderly or pregnant women over here. Its depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭MarkY91

No one gets up for elderly or pregnant women over here. Its depressing.

I see it happening on a regular basis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

I had pretty vivid fantasies of killing the woman behind me having a loud phone conversation on the bus early this morning.