Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Etiquette on public transport

• 17-02-2015 8:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

If this is in the wrong place apologies and please move!

I can't be the only person who regularly finds herself wanting to tear her hair out at the way people behave when using trains(or buses or Luas as the case may be)

Just this morning I had to nearly push my way onto the train because people insist on cramming around the door when there's plenty of space down the aisles. Then they shoot filthies at anyone who asks them to move down.

I've missed trains many times because people refuse to move.

Then when getting off again the woman behind me kept pushing against me trying to get past.... not going work sorry! The same happens when you walk from one platform to another. Then you nearly get thrown onto the tracks as people board the train.

What's the hurry....even if the train sitting there leaves there'll be another in five or ten minutes. And if you are late well that's you problem. It's no cause to act like you own the station!

Sorry slight rant there but people's inability or unwilling to use public transport with a bit of decorum and decency really grates on me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 yumyum10

That's why I don't shower,. Smell keeps the people away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Grays Sports Almanac

Thou shalt not sit opposite or beside me when the bus/train is practically empty.

It's just weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

Yep, buses are also like this!! When you're trying to get of people insist on trying to push on then throw filthy looks when I need to get off the bus. It just causes delays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Get yourself an old SS Sturmbannführer uniform, complete with cap and monocle, and wear that out-and-about. Works wonders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

yumyum10 wrote: »
    That's why I don't shower,. Smell keeps the people away.

Farting also works - or at least it punishes people for standing too close!

On a more serious note - you only have to look at the thread about IE reservations in the Commuting forum to realise that there is a significant proportion of the public transport travelling population who don't do things like 'etiquette' and 'manners' - they know what they are 'entitled' to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

People who put their feet on seats on the DART really annoy me.

Also, lately, more and more people are playing their music through their crappy speakers on their phone. WTF is all that about and how do they think that is normal behaviour is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Think of it as the Serengeti...survival of the fittest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Oh god, where to start.
    - food on public transport. Nobody wants to see you milling into fried chicken like a wild animal. Crunching your way through a bag of crisps. Slurping your drink. Licking your fingers.
    - aul ones who sit on the outside seat and have their bags on the inside. They usually try avoid eye contact too, and the train absolutely heaving with people.
    - aul ones on the platform who waddle past you with their elbows out, determined to get on the train before you.
    - people having really long private conversations quite loudly.
    - people listening to music too loud.
    - people who are surprised to find out they have to pay for their bus fare and stand for ages picking out coins holding up everyone else behind them.
    - those tiny spaces for your legs on some of the Seats on the bus, wtf? I wear 26inch leg jeans, I have little legs, and I'm really uncomfortable. Can you imagine how taller people feel? Wedged into a seat like that.
    - when people try talk to you
    - when I have to sit near a kid
    - getting groped and spat at on the luas
    - junkies on the luas
    - smellies on the luas
    - aggressive people pushing into me when the luas is clearly full
    - fat aul ones who take up two seats
    - kids whining for seats
    - people with buggies during rush hour
    - people asking for change on the luas. Change starts within yourself!!! Junkie bastardjaws.

I would elaborate but I've to go wash my hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

I always go to the people that have their bag on the seat beside them and sit down even if there are other free seats. It's just a f u right back at the person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I always go to the people that have their bag on the seat beside them and sit down even if there are other free seats. It's just a f u right back at the person.

This!

I also make a point of going to the men who insist on doing the splits in their seats. I get that there is a reason men sit like they do but no man can be so well endowed that he can't tidy himself up when some-one needs a seat!

Other peeves include people who dump their bits and pieces in the aisle and those who sit sideways on their seats blocking both the seats and the aisle. Also those who allow themselves to swing and wobble into or fall on top of you with every move the train makes....it's not that hard to hold yourself still!

Also, and I know I'm small and you need to hold onto something, but I think I may hit the next person whose armpit I end up standing under. Can you not stand just behind or in front of me ?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

kneemos wrote: »
    Think of it as the Serengeti...survival of the fittest.

Public Transport section is the Wildebeest crossing the river..The Crocodiles are rolling past in their cars.The Lions are looking down from their Helicopters. All the Hyenas are in their vans..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

wear 26inch leg jeans, I have little legs, and I'm really uncomfortable. Can you imagine how taller people feel? Wedged into a seat like that.

33 inch leg here.

Pretty much everything other than my car is a disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,503 ✭✭✭Sinister Kid

Eating cheese & onion crisps & breathing heavily in your face...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

This!

I also make a point of going to the men who insist on doing the splits in their seats. I get that there is a reason men sit like they do but no man can be so well endowed that he can't tidy himself up when some-one needs a seat!

So you look around and search for the person who's sitting comfortably and then decide to make them uncomfortable.

Klassy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

So you'd have no problem with men sticking their hand down their pants and doing a reverse 'Silence of the Lambs' with their junk so you can have an extra few inches of space?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I think that makes you more of a tool. How do you know they won't move it when it gets busier? Its hardly in the way if there's other seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,503 ✭✭✭Sinister Kid

I think that makes you more of a tool. How do you know they won't move it when it gets busier? Its hardly in the way if there's other seats.

Exactly, I would always move my bags if it gets busy & the seat is needed. I actually find it very creepy if there is loads of available seats & somebody comes & sits directly beside me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Dear teenagers,

If sombody says, 'excuse me', that roughly translates into human as; 'please can you move so that I can get by to get off the bus'.
    NOT:
    'Could you stare at me blankly and unmoving until I'm forced to press my way through a crush of gormless idiots, cluttering up isle because they don't want to sit with the plebs, and feeling for all the world like some kind of paedo, frottage fetishist from the Tokyo underground'...

Oh, and don't you dare shoot me a filthy if I 'accidentally' step on your bags that have formed an assault course for me to traverse as I fight my way to the front, just because I might as well be invisible to you, doesn't mean I can pass through you like a frigging ghost or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

The worst people are the ones who won't get up and move for the old person/pregnant lady/person on crutches.

Get up ta fúck!

Grayson wrote: »
    So you look around and search for the person who's sitting comfortably and then decide to make them uncomfortable.

Klassy.

I don't go out of my way to do it obviously....but if I am looking for a seat when the train is busy and see a man taking over the seat beside him by doing the splits then yes I'll go for that seat....in the same way as I would go for a woman whose bag is taking up a seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Ranting and Raving forum, please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Whenever I have a bag with me I put it at the floor by my feet even if I was the only person on the train/bus. Propping your bag on a seat beside you just screams "I'm an inconsiderate pr1ck" regardless if you actually are on are not. Just common sense etiquette imo unless it's a suitcase with a million euro cash in it.

It's also a passive intimidation tactic so no one will sit beside you regardless of your later intentions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

^^ Worse is when someone else tries to jump in on those seats.

I've actually had to stop people when I stand up from a seat to point out the heavily pregnant lady behind them.
    For some reason it's usually women who do it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Exactly, I would always move my bags if it gets busy & the seat is needed. I actually find it very creepy if there is loads of available seats & somebody comes & sits directly beside me.

The fact that some people get a sense of satisfaction from it is really pathetic. I don't even do it, but the day that I brag about sitting beside someone so they have to move their bag, is the day you can put me out of my misery and smother me in my sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

People who sit on the outside when the window seat is free annoy me so much. I normally get on the train 20 mins early in the evening so get to see the train filling up.

People with laptops- sit on outside, plug the laptop in at the window across the other seat
    Students- sit on aisle/window with bags on seats. No move is made no matter how full the train gets until asked and then there's a huff over the inconvenience
    "I am keeping the seat for my friend" heads- eh feck off no reserving
    One lad got on one evening as the tran was filling up, dropped his bag beside me and feckd off to the toilet before i could protest. The next 10 minutes were spent saying "sorry some lad just dropped that there, sit there if you want". He tried to do it again the following week and got short shrift.

Ireland is a nation of selfish hoors who don't give a crap about anyone other than themselves. It's time to get ignorant with the ones that do it, it makes me feel better, though I may get arrested by the train robocops one of these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Lots of passive aggressive behaviour on public transport judging by this thread.

I don't think some people know the proper definition of etiquette, it's supposed to convey good manners and breeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

What is this publiqué transporté one specks ov? :confused:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Being in a queue of a load of people getting on the bus. There is a change/leap queue and a card queue. Someone elbows on and stands, motionless in the card queue on the bus until they het a break in the change queue to pay, blocking everyone in the card queue getting on and holding everyone in the coin queue up. Trivial but the self-centered lack of consideration kills me. I don't know how they don't feel the burning shame of holding everyone up.

Music on bus/dart/luas/train. I don't want to hear your ****ty tinny crappy music. Again the sheer lack of consideration kills me. How can they think everyone wants to listen to their music? :mad:

Guys with legs spread out. You're not that big. Close them in and let people sit down beside you ffs.

People not getting up for elderly/pregnant/infirm/crutches etc. People. Again I don't know how they can sit there and watch them wobble about. Grrr.
    I'm gonna stop now before I get angry!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Have none of you access to the ranting and raving forum?

Considering there's plenty of overhead storage and compartments at the end of each carriage for luggage and bags, if someone wants the seat next to them for the bags they can also pay the 26.15 fare that I had to pay when boarding the train. I have no problem asking people to move their **** and they can look offended all they like, if they've one ticket, they have one seat.

Public Transport section is the Wildebeest crossing the river..The Crocodiles are rolling past in their cars.The Lions are looking down from their Helicopters. All the Hyenas are in their vans..:D

I thought cyclists were the hyenas? Or maybe they're the gazelles.........
    The worst people are the ones who won't get up and move for the old person/pregnant lady/person on crutches.

Get up ta fúck!

I do remember once on the DART getting up to offer a pregnant lady a seat and getting a mouthful of abuse for my trouble! I had to be 'rescued' by an old dear who, very politely, explained to the pregnant lady the value of courtesy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I don't like when people don't acknowledge the bus driver when they get on the bus.

I don't go out of my way to do it obviously....but if I am looking for a seat when the train is busy and see a man taking over the seat beside him by doing the splits then yes I'll go for that seat....in the same way as I would go for a woman whose bag is taking up a seat.

What you said is that you make a point of it. If you were just taking the only available seat you wouldn't be making a point of it. making a point of it implies that you will target those people over anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dog of Tears

Nope.

The people who put bags beside them on seats do it in a territorial way to try to define their ownership of the entire seat.

These people will rarely move their bags without being expressly asked to and are invariable **** of the highest order.

Surprised it hasn't been mentioned thus far, but train etiquette is just super simple stuff.......

http://knowyourmeme.com/memes/queensland-rail-etiquette-posters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Oh god, where to start.
    - food on public transport. Nobody wants to see you milling into fried chicken like a wild animal. Crunching your way through a bag of crisps. Slurping your drink. Licking your fingers.
    - aul ones who sit on the outside seat and have their bags on the inside. They usually try avoid eye contact too, and the train absolutely heaving with people.
    - aul ones on the platform who waddle past you with their elbows out, determined to get on the train before you.
    - people having really long private conversations quite loudly.
    - people listening to music too loud.
    - people who are surprised to find out they have to pay for their bus fare and stand for ages picking out coins holding up everyone else behind them.
    - those tiny spaces for your legs on some of the Seats on the bus, wtf? I wear 26inch leg jeans, I have little legs, and I'm really uncomfortable. Can you imagine how taller people feel? Wedged into a seat like that.
    - when people try talk to you
    - when I have to sit near a kid
    - getting groped and spat at on the luas
    - junkies on the luas
    - smellies on the luas
    - aggressive people pushing into me when the luas is clearly full
    - fat aul ones who take up two seats
    - kids whining for seats
    - people with buggies during rush hour
    - people asking for change on the luas. Change starts within yourself!!! Junkie bastardjaws.

I would elaborate but I've to go wash my hair

Agree with all of these except the food one. Sometimes you get a chance to eat while waiting for the bus but other times the bus comes quickly and I amnt going to let my food go cold while I sit on the bus.

poisonated wrote: »
    Agree with all of these except the food one. Sometimes you get a chance to eat while waiting for the bus but other times the bus comes quickly and I amnt going to let my food go cold while I sit on the bus.

Well I was sitting on the train last night. Two aul ones, a party bucket of supermacs chicken between them and I was absolutely heaving, grease all over their faces, mowing into it, bones on the table. Oh Jesus.

How about getting the next bus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Your not allowed food or drink....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Trying to get off the DaRT and a wall of people are waiting on the platform like hungry hyenas on a prey, blocking the doors. I usually carry my gym bag and a few times I've been pushed backwards as it got trapped by some asshole that wouldn't wait for people to get off the train first. Now I just push my way and I couldn't give two fúcks what they think.
    Pensioners are the worst offenders. They'd walk at 0.05 m/h, but they run at speed of light when getting on a train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

gadetra wrote: »
    Being in a queue of a load of people getting on the bus. There is a change/leap queue and a card queue. Someone elbows on and stands, motionless in the card queue on the bus until they het a break in the change queue to pay, blocking everyone in the card queue getting on and holding everyone in the coin queue up. Trivial but the self-centered lack of consideration kills me. I don't know how they don't feel the burning shame of holding everyone up.

this is even more true of OAPs.
    they will regularly block the queue on the right, waving their bus pass from afar at the driver, who is too busy dealing with people paying with cash or shorter leap journeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Oh, I do hate guys who sit like they have two soccer balls between their legs! Ratchet those knees together a few degrees there, Jimmy, 15 minutes won't castrate you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Barna77 wrote: »
    Trying to get off the DaRT and a wall of people are waiting on the platform like hungry hyenas on a prey, blocking the doors. I usually carry my gym bag and a few times I've been pushed backwards as it got trapped by some asshole that wouldn't wait for people to get off the train first. Now I just push my way and I couldn't give two fúcks what they think.
    Pensioners are the worst offenders. They'd walk at 0.05 m/h, but they run at speed of light when getting on a train.

I find a call of ''scuse me, coming through' and judicious use of the elbows a great help.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,392 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Two things that annoy me on Public Transport,

1. People that think they can skip the queues while boarding a train/bus/Luas. Oh don't mind me I was only standing here for the last 10 minutes, you just got here, by all means cut ahead of me and jump on before giving anyone a chance to even get off the train/bus/luas.

2. Spanish teenagers over to learn english, they flock onto Public transport in groups of 50 at a time, stand directly beside an exit and proceed to make the most amount of noise that even the guy sitting next to you with the loudest earphones in the world can't block out.

What you said is that you make a point of it. If you were just taking the only available seat you wouldn't be making a point of it. making a point of it implies that you will target those people over anyone else.

I phrased it wrong, apologies if I have offended you in some way.

I should have qualified it by saying when it's busy I do it.

Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Fat people who stand blocking the single doors at the ends of a tube carriage.

People with huge quantities of luggage on rush hour trains

People with large numbers of children on rush hour trains

People who eat smelly food on rush hour trains

People who read broadsheet newspapers on rush hour trains, bonus points if it's something pretentious

People who move hell and high water to try and get a seat, then only go one or two stops

People who won't get up from the outside seat on a bus when you're trying to get off with multiple large shopping bags

People who need to rummage through their bag/pockets for their Oyster/debit card/ticket at the ticket gates when there's a huge queue behind them
    kylith wrote: »
    I find a call of ''scuse me, coming through' and judicious use of the elbows a great help.

Getting off the train like you're Paul O'Connell breaking tackles helps too :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Long distance train/luas commuter here

1. Shut up! Or At least use that indoor voice you learned at primary school
    2. Have your money/ticket ready
    3. Don't block the aisle use the storage spaces provided
    4.take your crap off seats
    5. You don't own ALL The table
    6. Don't have massive full blown conversations on the train
    7. Don't block the gangway with your feet by sitting incorrectly
    8. Get up in time to exit the train, but as they decide to leave the station

I phrased it wrong, apologies if I have offended you in some way.

I should have qualified it by saying when it's busy I do it.

Sorry.

It's ok. I phrase stuff incorrectly all the time.

It's very easy to confuse "I do not make a point of going up to" with "I make a point of going up to"

It's ok. I phrase stuff incorrectly all the time.

It's very easy to confuse "I do not make a point of going up to" with "I make a point of going up to"

If your balls are so big that you can't keep your legs together, pay for an extra seat and stretch to your hearts content

efb wrote: »
    Long distance train/luas commuter here

1. Shut up! Or At least use that indoor voice you learned at primary school
    2. Have your money/ticket ready
    3. Don't block the aisle use the storage spaces provided
    4.take your crap off seats
    5. You don't own ALL The table
    6. Don't have massive full blown conversations on the train
    7. Don't block the gangway with your feet by sitting incorrectly
    8. Get up in time to exit the train, but as they decide to leave the station

I was heading to cork for a wedding during the summer. A load of drunk lads from limerick got on at limerick junction. They were heading to Cork for a stag. They took up the far end of the carriage I was in. There were probably 10-15 others in the carriage. They were just screaming and roaring at each other whilst drinking cans. A couple of complaints were made and the female ticket inspector asked them to be quite. They just shouted back at her. Eventually she went to everyone else in the carriage and said she'd help them move their bags/luggage if they wanted to move to another carriage.

Up to that point I'd actually been having a nice journey.