Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Live Manhunt! Escaped Prisoner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dog of Tears

You sad f *ck..

A Prison Officer is in a very serious condition after being stabbed, a scumbag like this is on the loose and liable to harm anyone else that stands in his way and that's what you come up with???

Same mindset obviously.

I think you'd be more comfortable in a different forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

I think you'd be more comfortable in a different forum.

A regular visitor here and quite comfortable thank you.
    Some things are unnecessary though and over the top even here.
    Anyone with a small bit of common sense should see that.

Will his comment be as funny if that Officer dies tonight???

Last I heard he's in an extremely serious condition so it's not entirely implausible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

RTE wrote:
    Brockwell made his escape from the hospital on a motorcycle.
    A regular visitor here and quite comfortable thank you.
    twowheelsonly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭RecordStraight

You sad f *ck..

A Prison Officer is in a very serious condition after being stabbed, a scumbag like this is on the loose and liable to harm anyone else that stands in his way and that's what you come up with???
    You'll find most of his posts are like that. You know how, when you were 13, you contradicted everything your parents said?

Like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Will his comment be as funny if that Officer dies tonight???

Last I heard he's in an extremely serious condition so it's not entirely implausible.

He's stable. I work in prison and we were briefed just before going home this evening. He's going to be ok.

Omackeral wrote: »
    He's stable. I work in prison and we were briefed just before going home this evening. He's going to be ok.

Good to hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

Where did he get the knife out of? Not the type of thing that can be craftily concealed up your hole.

Given to him or planked somewhere by his accomplice on the bike I presume.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

fedor.2. wrote: »
    I'm surprised you haven't offered this criminal a room in your house, to hide in, yet.

My, fedor, you are a wit, aren't you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Jeju

This one is easy... set up a false betting shop with female workers and just wait for him to rob it; then simply arrest him and return him to the hospital to continue his treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Jeju wrote: »
    This one is easy... set up a false betting shop with female workers and just wait for him to rob it; then simply arrest him and return him to the hospital to continue his treatment.

...or figure out which ferry / plane he's leaving on. Wave him byebye and ring the UK lads to pick him up. Let David Cameron pick up the tab for his continued incarceration. We're all Eurobeans and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭tom_k

I'd prefer an outcome like the one at Lusk Post Office in 2005.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/force-used-by-armed-garda-in-foiled-post-office-robbery-proportionate-26783677.html

In all seriousness though, I hope the prison officers have a full recovery from their injuries and that these lowlifes are caught soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Did he get the bike through the bike to work scheme?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,718 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

What will Prime Time do if he's recaptured before 9.35pm? :confused:

Is there something they know that they're not telling us?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

What kind of moronic country are we living in :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

FalconGirl wrote: »

One in which Prison Officers are confused with Gardaí.

This is clearly political prison officering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

It would be mad if this dude was inspired to escape in this way by Love Hate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

laugh wrote: »

I remember in the Love/Hate thread people insisting it would never happen and that prisoners are never transported like that, they were of the belief that Gardai do all that stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭DI Dwyer

He wouldn't have got away from Murphy!! :P:P

3 nursing staff in outpatients were sent home suffering from trauma after the incident.
    Outpatient clinic had to be cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

FalconGirl wrote: »

You're right. This sort of thing has never ever happened in any other country in the world ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DavidRamsay99

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

If I was sent to prison, id like to think id somehow find a way to escape.

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DavidRamsay99

If I was sent to prison, id like to think id somehow find a way to escape.

Keep shaking that bush! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

well, is he still at large??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭hairycakes

Where were the protesters when we needed them? He wouldn't have been able to get out if they were there!
    In all seriousness though, I hope the prison officer recovers. Awful thing to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

fryup wrote: »
    well, is he still at large??

Give him a while, you don't lose too much weight in less than 24 hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

questions should be asked about how inept prison officers seem to be..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

by all accounts....

he's built like a brick sh!thouse and he comes from glasgow.. give him a wide berth i say

• Registered Users Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

hes over 50... and probably gets tired just thinking of running!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭lakesider

He wil be fine if he stays away from anything water related, cos thats the only place the gardeee will be!

chrysagon wrote: »

Questions need to be asked about why prison officers are not issued stab vests like the Gardai are. They patrol landings with only the shirts on their backs. Contrary to popular belief, thet don't carry batons or pepper spray on duty in prisons. Why?

In this instance, this lunatic stabbed two officers. What were they to do? It's the fault of the powers that be rather than the ineptitude of the prison officers. Why was this dangerous inmate not an armed escort. A complete review is needed on how hospital escorts are dealt with IMO. Sitting among the general public in A and E unarmed is asking for trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Well, not with that attitude...where's your derring-do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Why give him any treatment ?
    He has cost the state hundreds of thousands and probably mroe over the coming days.

Why should the health service waste money on him.
    Offer the treatment to someone deserving of it.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

It was obviously planned, knive was most likely hidden in the bathroom and a motorbike waiting outside for him.

BBC image of Derek Brockwell.
    _81069631_derekbrockwell.jpg

RTE Website...
    He was escorted there by three prison officers for treatment for diabetes.
    It is understood his escape was planned.
    (....)
    Gardaí are attempting to find out if a knife used in the attack had been planted in one of the toilet cubicles.
    Brockwell, who had been serving a seven-year sentence for robbery and possession of firearms, was driven away on a motorbike by an accomplice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,101 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Pardon my ignorance folks but.....

this scumbag was serving a life sentence in UK when he absconded. How much time had he left to serve ? And I'm assuming that he buggered off to our great country and got banged up in Portlaoise for 6-7yrs. Why wasn't he deported back across the pond immediately following apprehension ?

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭AdamB

Could Derek be Stabby McStabberson's long lost father?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

dodzy wrote: »
    Pardon my ignorance folks but.....

this scumbag was serving a life sentence in UK when he absconded. How much time had he left to serve ? And I'm assuming that he buggered off to our great country and got banged up in Portlaoise for 6-7yrs. Why wasn't he deported back across the pond immediately following apprehension ?

cause he committed crimes here and that took precedence over extradition I think

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Riskymove wrote: »
    cause he committed crimes here and that took precedence over extradition I think

If imagine the plan is (or at least was) send him back to finish off his UK sentence once his Irish one is finished.

He'll probably get an extra stretch here now for what he's done, assuming they catch him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Could they not tag the criminal for the duration of time they are outside the prison walls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Could they not tag the criminal for the duration of time they are outside the prison walls?
    They tried playing tag but the prisoners wouldn't get into the spirit of it. Everytime they were "it" they just ran away while the guards were hiding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,279 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

jmayo wrote: »
    Why give him any treatment ?

because he is entitled to it. and thats what a civilized society does. a civilized society where rabel rabel backward opinion has no place.
    He has cost the state hundreds of thousands and probably mroe over the coming days.

get over it. all are entitled to health care. the fact he escaped is the fault of the powers that be.
    Why should the health service waste money on him.

because its their job to treat all, therefore not wasting money
    Offer the treatment to someone deserving of it.

can't be done thankfully. there is no such thing as those more deserving of treatment. all are deserving of treatment regardless. his treatment can't be offered to someone else as it will be tailored to whats required for his situation.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

because he is entitled to it. and thats what a civilized society does. a civilized society where rabel rabel backward opinion has no place.

get over it. all are entitled to health care. the fact he escaped is the fault of the powers that be.

because its their job to treat all, therefore not wasting money

can't be done thankfully. there is no such thing as those more deserving of treatment. all are deserving of treatment regardless. his treatment can't be offered to someone else as it will be tailored to whats required for his situation.

I see school is out for the day.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭Field east

Judging from what the media is saying , the whole episode is gone beyond comphrension. We have extremely short memories. The case of the prisoner returning from a court case absconded from a prison van around Inchicore when the officers stopped for chips comes to mind.
    The things that this prisoner was capable of was well known to the prison staff. He therefor should have been given no information re time and going where , apart for repayment andŵ have been adequately restrained at all times - even when in the toilet. Eg. Secure a chain around each leg and keep them taunt at all times - they coming from under the door. So that when he alights from the toilet each guard is the length of the chain - say two metres- away from him- and he cannot touch either. Handcuffs are then put on by ordering prisoner to lie on stomach with hands behind back and proceed to fix cuffs on. Provide a clean mat for the lie down.

Where is the ball and chain gone to. - to the museum

Is there not a gizmo that secures both legs together - allows the prisoner to walk but not to run. - imagine trying to straddle a bike. Gone to the museum again!

Was the prisoner not searched before he left the prison.

How did he know what hospital he was going to and at what time and how did he convey this to the biker. Are prisoners allowed mobile phones in prison .And is it not enough for him to be given a few minutes notice that he is going to hospital and that it is not necessary to say which hospital?

Did the prison van in which he came in not have a toilet?

If it's a no 1 give him one of those specially designed pee jars and get him a quiet corner - less opportunity for an implement to be left for him.

Are all areas that a prisoner occupies- and especially areas where he is out of sight , such has toilets- searched beforehand for knives dyes , pepper spray , baseball bats, guns, bombs and the like.

All bulls should be treated as dangerous all of the time - even though most of
    them are quiet. So the careful farmer will always have an appropriate weapon in his hand such as a stick or a fork and pay his full attention to the bull at all times when he is close by such as in a shed or even in a field. It may be from the corner of his eye but he knows where the bull is and is constantly monitoring him. Farmer is even more careful during the mating season - that's for cows now. In a field where there is a bull the farmer will keep as far away as possible and will have an escape route spotted at all times. Eg gate , under an electric fence , climb a ditch, etc . Another security device used with bulls is the attachment of a yard long rigid pole to the bulls nose ring. The bull can then be lead in total security. This paragraph could be examined to see if something in it could have application in protecting anyone escorting prisoners

I hope that ' the cutting back in resources' outcry is not proffered as to why this break happened. Handcuffs , chains, locks, leg cuffs , poles would cost very little and may already be in the prison stores. Some of this stuff may be ex stock in the US.
    Some posters may be on about the lack of dignity , individuals rights re some of the above. But dignity was not on his agenda when terrorising people during his escapades. We also have to do whatever is necessary to protect staff as a priority

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

Field east wrote: »
    Judging from what the media is saying , the whole episode is gone beyond comphrension. We have extremely short memories. The case of the prisoner returning from a court case absconded from a prison van around Inchicore when the officers stopped for chips comes to mind.
    The things that this prisoner was capable of was well known to the prison staff. He therefor should have been given no information re time and going where , apart for repayment andŵ have been adequately restrained at all times - even when in the toilet. Eg. Secure a chain around each leg and keep them taunt at all times - they coming from under the door. So that when he alights from the toilet each guard is the length of the chain - say two metres- away from him- and he cannot touch either. Handcuffs are then put on by ordering prisoner to lie on stomach with hands behind back and proceed to fix cuffs on. Provide a clean mat for the lie down.

Is there not a gizmo that secures both legs together - allows the prisoner to walk but not to run. - imagine trying to straddle a bike. Gone to the museum again!

How did he know what hospital he was going to and at what time and how did he convey this to the biker. Are prisoners allowed mobile phones in prison .And is it not enough for him to be given a few minutes notice that he is going to hospital and that it is not necessary to say which hospital?

If it's a no 1 give him one of those specially designed pee jars and get him a quiet corner - less opportunity for an implement to be left for him.

Are all areas that a prisoner occupies- and especially areas where he is out of sight , such has toilets- searched beforehand for knives dyes , pepper spray , baseball bats, guns, bombs and the like.

them are quiet. So the careful farmer will always have an appropriate weapon in his hand such as a stick or a fork and pay his full attention to the bull at all times when he is close by such as in a shed or even in a field. It may be from the corner of his eye but he knows where the bull is and is constantly monitoring him. Farmer is even more careful during the mating season - that's for cows now. In a field where there is a bull the farmer will keep as far away as possible and will have an escape route spotted at all times. Eg gate , under an electric fence , climb a ditch, etc . Another security device used with bulls is the attachment of a yard long rigid pole to the bulls nose ring. The bull can then be lead in total security. This paragraph could be examined to see if something in it could have application in protecting anyone escorting prisoners

I hope that ' the cutting back in resources' outcry is not proffered as to why this break happened. Handcuffs , chains, locks, leg cuffs , poles would cost very little and may already be in the prison stores. Some of this stuff may be ex stock in the US.
    Some posters may be on about the lack of dignity , individuals rights re some of the above. But dignity was not on his agenda when terrorising people during his escapades. We also have to do whatever is necessary to protect staff as a priority

You could also amputate a leg and store it and re attach it later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,279 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Field east wrote: »

all of that nonsense died out years ago due to cost. they weren't cost effective. a prisoner is usually fully secure when being transported. there will be an investigation where we will get the actual facts.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

crusier wrote: »
    You could also amputate a leg and store it and re attach it later!

Richard Kimble knows a lad with a fake arm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭dubdamo

chrysagon wrote: »

Perhaps you should make your way to the prison nearest to you and ask some of the staff as they enter/leave the prison. If you are close to portlaoise you could always make your way there and ask the colleagues of the two stabbed officers about how inept they are. Or you could just stick to making stupid comments on boards, I think you will do the latter.

Just to address some of field east's points.

Prisoners are not allowed to be handcuffed behind their backs. The Gardai are allowed to do it but Prison Officers are not. That's a directive from management.

We're not allowed to shackle their feet like in the U.S.

Prison vans do not have toilet facilities.

All prisoners are searched leaving and entering prison. My guess is he got something from an outside agent.

Any toilets, exam rooms in hospitals etc should be searched prior to a prisoner using them. That's not to say something could be missed though. False panels in a ceiling could be an example there. I'd always check the cistern on an escort.

In practise, a prisoner should not know his hospital dates but rather a rough time frame, ie 'We will see you in April, John'. Should be similar with courts etc but then there is Solicitor/Client confidentiality so the brief could tell the prisoner in privacy.
    Originally posted by Field East

All bulls should be treated as dangerous even though most of them are usually quiet.

I agree 100% with you.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

He's just been found in Belfast according to RTE!

News alert on my phone - doesn't appear to be on the site yet

Edit:

Link: www.rte.ie/news/2015/0218/681015-derek-brockwell-search/