Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭John Cherry

Deegan is losing control of this match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

This ref is shocking, giving Dublin nothing.

dive again - watching Hazard too much.

What a goal by McCaffrey. Absolute rocket. 2-09 0-10.

Quality goal. Very easy.

donegal getting dirty now.

mcfadden is a disgrace.

Donegal trying to get Dublin down to there level. Great to see Kilkenny back :) Bye bye Murphy,should have gone earlier.

*Black card for Murphy.

Let that be a lesson kids, cheating and diving will get you nowhere.

Great win against a experienced and full strength Donegal team.

Great experience and quality shown by the young lads who had there backs up against the wall being a man down. John Small will have some shiner in the morning. Well deserved MOTM for him.

Dublin 2-10 Donegal 0-11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭seanhynes

Horrific Donegal team as soon as Dublin went to 14 they were kicking balls for the sake of it in very basic positions and total filth to watch with all that fouling,dubs played better with a man less and superior fitness showed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

A very disappointing standard of refereeing. He really was poor.

Donegal very cynical opposition and just confirmed that last weeks form is how they intend to continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,806 ✭✭✭emmetlego

A neutral at the game, and I thought Deegan was brutal, so that backs ye up! He used to be a half daysunt ref, not any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

That ref was absolutely shocking. No control snd didnt have a clue what he was doing over some decisions.

Fair play to the 3 donegal lads who braved the hill btw mad feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

a good result overall. silly second yellow by mcmanamon. Murphy deserved to go, he was giving and taking it off the ball and late tackles the whole game, he's a fine player and didn't make a meal of anything unlike some. for all the talk about it being the same team that started against Cork, I was delighted when I saw the bench. the bench was poor enough in the Cork game but it had match winners last night.
    the ref was something alright. watched the game again when I got back. Both teams kicked a lot of wides, Costello kicked at least three short.
    There was plenty of bite in the game, delighted with the result and I thought the back line played well against a very good opposition. I was happy with the extra men dropping back by Dublin, it's important to have that in the bag, there has been too much exposure of the fullback line recently.

its interesting as much as Dublin need to get better at playing the blanket defence, Donegal need to deal with coming up against their own style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Things I learned last night :

Donegal & Dublin don't like one another .. ok it's an open secret that one :D - and I've also heard it from someone who knows

Cormac Costello can't kick points under pressure

I don't know any longer what a fair tackle is

Maurice Deegan is on a par with Marty Duffy

John Small will play championship football for Dublin this year

I don't like Donegals style of play but they're great value for money when they come to town - they'll get you out of yer seat on a cold day in February. The 5 point defeat was a little harsh as they caused us the same problems with their movement and fast breaks as they did last year - the greater numbers we kept in defence halted their charge. They are quite 1 dimensional tho if the pace is taken out of the attack. The big bump into Murphy didn't work as they'd very little in the way of supporting players around the breaking ball.

I was delighted to see the 2 Davy Byrnes get a run as I'd hoped previously they would, and both imo acquitted themselves very well. A year in the shadows of the Dublin set up has served (Olafs) Byrne well. He's bulked up from the lad I met at the Dublin Development trials - tho he must've thought he was on candid camera getting on the field and being tasked with looking after Murphy. Another lad that seems to have met the challenge being asked of him is Jack Mc, he too seems to have gone up a jersey size and is offering a lot more in the physicality stakes - his goal was genius and offers a strong possibility of operating further up the field.

Jack Mc's goal forced Donegal out of their defensive shell and I felt at that stage Dublin were picking them off at ease - Donegal panicked like us last year and their shooting was woeful when they were playing catch up. The BIL says to me on the way out, new manager but same old Donegal - yeah says I but it's effective why would they change ? There's not a team in Ireland that can go toe to toe with Dublin in an open game with the possible exception of Mayo. Monaghan & Tyrone will offer more of the same and the greater exposure we have to this style of play the more they'll learn how to counter it. Ta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

DoctaDee wrote: »
    There's not a team in Ireland that can go toe to toe with Dublin in an open game with the possible exception of Mayo. Monaghan & Tyrone will offer more of the same and the greater exposure we have to this style of play the more they'll learn how to counter it. Ta

Mayo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Mayo?
    Yes in a game of open attacking football only Mayo have consistently matched Dublin in league and championship since 2011.
    On only one occasion has there been a big margin between the teams and that was a rescheduled league game in Castlebar in 2013.
    2010 Dublin in league opened up a big lead in Croke Park in league which was reeled in with some goals by Mayo.
    Generally they're close games with Dublin overall having had the upper hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Yes in a game of open attacking football only Mayo have consistently matched Dublin in league and championship since 2011.
    On only one occasion has there been a big margin between the teams and that was a rescheduled league game in Castlebar in 2013.
    2010 Dublin in league opened up a big lead in Croke Park in league which was reeled in with some goals by Mayo.
    Generally they're close games with Dublin overall having had the upper hand.

I don't rate Mayo particularly highly.

They don't currently have the scoring prowess or the forwards to take Dublin on like lets say Kerry did in 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Maurice Deegan is on a par with Marty Duffy

Couldn't have put it better myself, Duffy must have giving Deegan some schooling over the winter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭bc dub

Anyone else still not got their season ticket? Their consistency with messing mine up on a yearly basis has to be commended.

I still have mine. I think the thing to do is to just leave it alone. adding friends etc is a mess
    you are lucky to have one .

tbh I think it was that replay in 2013 that turned things around for Mayo. I missed it, I was at the foggy called off first game. But Mayo changed a lot after that. Horan was good for them, they developed a tenacity I hadn't noticed in them before.
    The Donegal vs Mayo championship game in 2013 was something else. I understand Donegal were not at their best , that happens, but I don't think there was a team in the country at that time that would have been better prepared for Donegal.
    I thought they deserved an all Ireland last year, but that's football.

tame enough finish for Vincents today. Connolly was quiet in the second half. Good defending by Corofin later on in the match, I thought they were well worth the win. Vincents didn't, or were not let, get going.

Connolly and Mossy were both heavily marked, and both poor by their standards, but that usually means the other players step up for Vincents, but that didn't happen today. Could have been a lot worse for the Dubs if Corofin hadn't squandered every ball into their forwards for the majority of the 2nd half. Disappointed with Gavin Burke, the Diamond lads and Fennell, not much to add to the current Dublin panel yad think

Now before I begin this mini rant, I am a complete neutral, a Northern man, have sons playing in a Dublin club (not StV) but the refereeing decision not to award a penalty for the blatant pick up in the square by the Corofin defender, was a huge turning point. That and the massive block to prevent a certain goal deep into the 2nd half. Credit to Corofin, well worth their win, played some lovely football too a lot of the time.

Beware the Ulster men next though! :-)

Shocking decision by the ref not to award a penalty for that incident. I wouldn't mind but he had a straight view of it. Scandalous.

Vincents were poor by their standards though.

Slattsy wrote: »
    Shocking decision by the ref not to award a penalty for that incident. I wouldn't mind but he had a straight view of it. Scandalous.

Vincents were poor by their standards though.

I agree. And because he had such a good view of it, maybe it appeared to have hopped slightly into his hands? I'm playing devils advocate here mind you, as I believe if I was ref, I'd have awarded it from the view I had

A three point swing there as you'd fancy Mossy to stick it away.

If and buts and maybes.

Would like to see Corofin go and win it now. Played great and zero bolloxology from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Just checking does anyone know the story for ticket prices for the Tipp match tomorrow. I'm a student and going with my 12 y/o brother. It says juveniles are free and concession is a tenner. Just wondering does anyone know the cut off age for juvenile and does concession include students? Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭letowski

Juveniles are U16's, but 17 or 18 year olds shouldn't have much issue getting in. All students get a concession, sometimes a student card is required.