Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Just BMW tings :pac:

20150210_213556_zpsivt8xx4u.jpg

What am I looking at? High MPG?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,311 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Bpmull wrote: »
    They look like the centre caps that my mk5 has granted different alloys if so the centre caps are 10 euro from a vw dealer each. As I've had to replace two. So they are not too expensive and the car certainly looks better with all four. Other than that looks like a clean mk4 nice colour too :)

That's mighty fine information there. I may get the 4, as the remaining ones have scratches on them and what not.

beertons wrote: »
    That's mighty fine information there. I may get the 4.

Where will you do that? I wouldnt mind some centre caps and screw covers, myself (assuming they're cheap and cheerful. Not gonna pay over the odds for them! :P )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

What am I looking at? High MPG?

Traction light and yellow Handbrake light, which shouldn't be on :p

99% sure this is caused by my faulty Brake light switch which I have just been too lazy to fit :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Where will you do that? I wouldnt mind some centre caps and screw covers, myself (assuming they're cheap and cheerful. Not gonna pay over the odds for them! :P )

For the focus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

99% sure this is caused by my faulty Brake light switch which I have just been too lazy to fit :pac:

I think a faulty brake light switch can cause the handbrake light to come on anyway on most cars. Not sure on the traction control light but maybe it does come on I would have thought abs would be the more likely one to come on though as that normally shuts down if there is any fault with the braking system at all.

TC is usually linked to the ABS in these cars but sometimes they work independently, will throw in the new one in the next few days when I'm doing the intake boot.

For the focus?

Yeah, two of the wheels (or one.. i think two, though) have centre caps, and screw covers. The other wheels all have missing caps and centre covers. Looks a bit crappy, but I can live with it. But if it costs feck all to get them then i wouldnt say no.

Just not sure where you'd get them. Halfords I presume? Must check mick's..

Yeah, two of the wheels (or one.. i think two, though) have centre caps, and screw covers. The other wheels all have missing caps and centre covers. Looks a bit crappy, but I can live with it. But if it costs feck all to get them then i wouldnt say no.

Just not sure where you'd get them. Halfords I presume? Must check mick's..

If they are ford alloys then you get the replacement centre caps in a ford main dealer (possibly online either) you definitely won't get them in halfords or micksgarage as they don't sell OE parts.

Oh I don't care what kinda caps they are. Surely its a one size fits all affair? :confused:

I don't care if there's a silly aftermarket name on them or theyre plain or whatever the case may be. I don't really need 'ford' written on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Not only is this awesome, but the new mustang sounds class!

Love the indicators too.

Oh I don't care what kinda caps they are. Surely its a one size fits all affair? :confused:

I don't care if there's a silly aftermarket name on them or theyre plain or whatever the case may be. I don't really need 'ford' written on them.

If you're in no rush, eBay is your friend!

I had them same alloys on my focus when I got it, well 3 of them, the 4th was a completely different alloy. Still have them thrown in the shed, they're not in good condition now, but I'll check to see if any have centre caps, and if they do you can have them. Don't hold me to it, but it's 50/50 if they have them.

Ah ok sorry I thought you wanted exact replacements. You may be able to get exact ones online of a scrap mk1 on eBay etc. just check your diameter as its not a one size fits all in that case a golf might have a different diameter to a focus mk1 which may be different too a focus mk2. Maybe halfords/ micksgarage would have generic plain black ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

What is the four green LED's.

Just BMW tings :pac:

The joys of having a BMW eh? :D I've the same warning lights showing for the last.... 5 months or so :pac: TBH it's more fun to drive with no TC :D

I'm betting mine is one of the ABS / wheel speed sensors that's faulty. Particularly because the lights go out when it's below zero Celcius.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

A service indicator thing i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

The focus I just bought could do with an oil change. As could the brothers Megane. I was gonna DIY the two of them.

I did my Toyota Rav4 with only the help of ye guys. Would changing the oil + oil filter on the Focus/Megane be the same as on the Rav4? I know the engines look different, but I presume an oil filter is always at the bottom facing downwards and the 'screw' to release the old oil is always relatively easy to find, too?

Or am i getting in over my head? I thought the Rav4 (1.8 petrol) oil change was very, very easy to do, and looking at Micksgarage, I can get 5litres of oil (5w30 for Focus, 5w40 for Megane) and 2 filters for ~€80. Which seems pretty fair.

Megane takes a 8mm square bit up the bung. Lube it up with 5w40 rn700/710 oil.

Yep, service indicator, which I will not be following as it's far too long, I'll be servicing it every 6K miles.
    The joys of having a BMW eh? :D I've the same warning lights showing for the last.... 5 months or so :pac: TBH it's more fun to drive with no TC :D

I'm betting mine is one of the ABS / wheel speed sensors that's faulty. Particularly because the lights go out when it's below zero Celcius.

Mine must be to do with the BLS as it's coming up as Brake/Gas Interference on INPA, the car before these lights come on or during will deactivate the Cruise and sometimes cause the car to brake itself, hopefully the switch will solve it!

BMWs break themselves all the time ;):D Must be an auto thing!

Hmm... INPA, now that sounds like a plan.

BMWs break themselves all the time ;):D Must be an auto thing!

Hmm... INPA, now that sounds like a plan.

Well worth it, one of the lads on BMWHaus does it for all the Cork lads, some man!

I had them same alloys on my focus when I got it, well 3 of them, the 4th was a completely different alloy. Still have them thrown in the shed, they're not in good condition now, but I'll check to see if any have centre caps, and if they do you can have them. Don't hold me to it, but it's 50/50 if they have them.

Did that not drive you mad? (having an odd wheel)? My OCD would kill me! :(

But honestly, don't worry about it. I'd be as happy with generic silver ones or such. It won't be the end of the world if there's a few Ford logos missing (don't get me wrong, it'd be nice to have them, but I won't lose sleep over them).

I really do appreciate the offer though :)

Well worth it, one of the lads on BMWHaus does it for all the Cork lads, some man!

Rebel? Sound lad. Shame I'm not near cark! :pac:

I think this is the kinda stuff I need? (except i may opt for generic versions). Im broke at the moment anyway, so it'll be a few days before I do anything. Just ordered my stuff off Micks Garage.

Centre cap:

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/1x-genuine-Ford-alloy-wheel-center-cap-59mm-H95SX1137CA-/111573419161?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item19fa4b4499

Nut covers:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/17mm-CHROME-ALLOY-CAR-WHEEL-NUT-BOLT-COVERS-CAPS-UNIVERSAL-FOR-ANY-CAR-NEW-/191079674682?pt=UK_Cars_Parts_Vehicles_Wheels_tyres_Trim_Nuts_ET&hash=item2c7d3c733a

Would those be along the right lines?

Rebel? Sound lad. Shame I'm not near cark! :pac:

One and only! Serious collection of cars too and has added a new beast to it!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,311 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Going to try halfords first, then micksgarage/sheehy's.

Did that not drive you mad? (having an odd wheel)? My OCD would kill me! 

Oh stop, driving it home was a pain, tracking was miles off, two completely different profile tyres. The original was not long damaged I was told. Had my new alloys bought within a week, and all the wheels were changed before I even got it taxed or insured.

Interslice wrote: »
    Megane takes a 8mm square bit up the bung. Lube it up with 5w40 rn700/710 oil.

I actually decided against touching the Megane.

I took a look under it and it has a skid plate or sump guard or whatever you want to call it, and it looks like it'd be a pain in the hole to get it off without the use of a proper ramp. So I'll leave it for a mechanic to do.

I have a fair few of those rubber mats you see around the place. They're like jigsaw pieces and about an inch thick. I plan to drive the front of the Focus up onto a few of these to raise it up enough to get under it.

It worked with the Rav4, but the engine in the Rav was probably a bit higher up than the Ford, so seen as I'm not using and "proper" equipment, I think I've my work cut out for me.

... Still.. it'll be an adventure. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Saw this E39 on another forum. Made me like them a bit more. :P

2qxb0k6.jpg

GvidoR wrote: »
    Saw this E39 on another forum. Made me like them a bit more. :P

Ah c'mon. I know BMW drivers are supposed to be assholes and all, but seriously? Fitting an actual barge pole to the bonnet? :rolleyes:

:P