Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Russian Dash Cams with NASCAR Spotter

Rather amusing and I remember playing this game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,380 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Amazing the stuff dashcams are catching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

shocking stuff, there was no need to be in the overtaking lane for that long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

BMJD wrote: »
    shocking stuff, there was no need to be in the overtaking lane for that long
    IF he was in the other lane he'd be dead!

Lesson learnt: stay in the overtaking lane no matter what! :eek:

Props to the pilot for putting it down into a river!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Very odd indeed, clearly stalled in the last few seconds, by the looks on only one wing initially.

Here's hoping they find some more survivors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

Dont think this has been posted. Im sure I will be corrected.

Brown trousers moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭BobbyPropane

Feckin Russians, mad bunch

Pedestrians have right of way at junctions.

Although its a bit suicidal not even looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,750 ✭✭✭✭josip

Pedestrians have right of way at junctions.

Although its a bit suicidal not even looking.

I think the first pedestrian could have claimed that right of way since she was already crossing before I started my turn.
    Not sure about the second pedestrian (with the headphones) though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

For feck's sake Josip :rolleyes:

Jesus what have I done?

josip wrote: »
    Jesus what have I done?

Two women legally crossing the street?!!

Slow week? :)

Jesus. wrote: »
    Two women legally crossing the street?!!

Slow week? :)

Yep, forgive me for I know not what I was doing.
    (Shamed into deleting it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭martomcg

Here is 3 videos I put together yesterday. Footage spans last week.

First is a clip highlighting why a motorbike is the only way to commute through Dublin City:

Second is a collection of clips of cyclists doing things they shouldnt:

Third is one particularly reckless cyclist:

I hope these go down better than my Postman Pat video... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,180 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

martomcg wrote: »
    First is a clip highlighting why a motorbike is the only way to commute through Dublin City

Not to get on your case, but is it not dangerous & illegal to do this? (I'm no saint in this dept. as I drove a scooter for 3 years, and did exactly what you do, but your relying heavily on other car/truck drivers not being idiots) I actually got pulled by a Garda on East Wall Road once for overtaking on the outside to get to the top of the line of traffic.
    Do you get much hassle from the Guards if they see you doing this? (In fairness though when I did it, it was 15-17 years ago, when the Guards still gave a shïtë)

Not to get on your case, but is it not dangerous & illegal to do this? (I'm no saint in this dept. as I drove a scooter for 3 years, and did exactly what you do, but your relying heavily on other car/truck drivers not being idiots) I actually got pulled by a Garda on East Wall Road once for overtaking on the outside to get to the top of the line of traffic.
    Do you get much hassle from the Guards if they see you doing this? (In fairness though when I did it, it was 15-17 years ago, when the Guards still gave a shïtë)

2 years of doing it in Dublin and have never been pulled. Have passed several Garda cars jumping to the top of lines of traffic.

I know what your saying about other people being idiots (and they are), so i take it really handy and keep an eye out for people moving out suddenly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Falcon L

First clip. Accident looking for somewhere to happen. It only takes a pedestrian to run between two cars in the line and... I was called to court for the same thing many years ago. The guard called it careless driving, the judge agreed. :o

Second and third clips. Cyclists are never in the wrong. If you post these clips in the cycling forum you would be torn apart by the usual suspects. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Third is one particularly reckless cyclist:
    Give him some credit - he is wearing a hi-vis jacket, so all that hard work by the Gardai and RSA over the past few years has been successful, right?
    Falcon L wrote: »
    Second and third clips. Cyclists are never in the wrong. If you post these clips in the cycling forum you would be torn apart by the usual suspects. :p
    Utter nonsense.

I rode in Dublin for years. Cops turn a blind eye. Filtering is a fairly gray area as the traffic is stationary.

Garda coppers do it.

As for clips on cyclists. Im sure over his week of filming he caught lots of bad riding and driving. Why the emphasis on cyclists? Bad cyclists at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,801 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

I rode in Dublin for years. Cops turn a blind eye. Filtering is a fairly gray area as the traffic is stationary.

Garda coppers do it.

As for clips on cyclists. Im sure over his week of filming he caught lots of bad riding and driving. Why the emphasis on cyclists? Bad cyclists at that.

So it's ok for cyclists to sail through red lights without a care?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

If you ask me sneaking up the inside of an articulated lorry and crossing a trucks blind spot over hatching on a corner which me may need to take wider than a car is just as reckless as some of those cyclists, not excusing the cyclists either though, and the comment that this would be torn apart in the cycling forum is as RainyDay says, nonsense, most would agree over there, I see no clips of any cars running red lights from his weekly commute either, I'd highly doubt that he doesn't come across that regularly.

rizzodun wrote: »
    If you ask me sneaking up the inside of an articulated lorry and crossing a trucks blind spot over hatching on a corner which me may need to take wider than a car is just as reckless as some of those cyclists, not excusing the cyclists either though, and the comment that this would be torn apart in the cycling forum is as RainyDay says, nonsense, most would agree over there, I see no clips of any cars running red lights from his weekly commute either, I'd highly doubt that he doesn't come across that regularly.

I have loads of footage of cars running red lights, these will be part of the next few clips I put up.

And as for saying I'm reckless crossing the trucks blind spot - it was stopped in traffic and not going anywhere, it wasn't magically gonna jump 2 foot closer to the kerb and hit me.

All the spots I filtered or overtook I've been doing for 2 years so I'm well aware of the dangers, which is why they're all done at low speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

Mate of mine sent me a snapchat last week of 3 cyclists breaking the red lights at Nutgrove, all of which got stopped by the garda. :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,299 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Patww79 wrote: »

And as for saying I'm reckless crossing the trucks blind spot - it was stopped in traffic and not going anywhere, it wasn't magically gonna jump 2 foot closer to the kerb and hit me.

All the spots I filtered or overtook I've been doing for 2 years so I'm well aware of the dangers, which is why they're all done at low speed.

:D:D

I have top say your clip just remind me of why I dislike motorbikers so much. You're in, you're out, you're shaking it all about and your speed is relative too, what's low speed to you might not be for a car in traffic wondering where did you just appear from.

Would you do any of the stuff in your clip during a driving test for example?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

CatFromHue wrote: »
    :D:D

I have top say your clip just remind me of why I dislike motorbikers so much. You're in, you're out, you're shaking it all about and your speed is relative too, what's low speed to you might not be for a car in traffic wondering where did you just appear from.

Would you do any of the stuff in your clip during a driving test for example?

He appeared from nowhere. Isn't that what people say after they knock motorcyclists over?

Car drivers have 3 mirrors. We can almost see better behind us than in front. Just as you asked whether he would do the same in a driving test, your car driving test required you to check your mirrors regularly. Of course you still do that.

Don't you?

2 years of doing it in Dublin and have never been pulled. Have passed several Garda cars jumping to the top of lines of traffic.
    I know what your saying about other people being idiots (and they are), so i take it really handy and keep an eye out for people moving out suddenly.

Martomcg, no offence mate but you post a clip of a cyclist doing something yet the clip of your own driving is definitely more dangerous than what the cyclist did (and the postman!). I'm not saying what you did is wrong per se, what I'm saying is drivers in general have an uncanny knack of seeing fault in everyone else except themselves. This Board is packed full of such sentiment.

(Nice sound from your bike btw :))

Jesus. wrote: »
    Martomcg, no offence mate but you post a clip of a cyclist doing something yet the clip of your own driving is definitely more dangerous than what the cyclist did (and the postman!). I'm not saying what you did is wrong per se, what I'm saying is drivers in general have an uncanny knack of seeing fault in everyone else except themselves. This Board is packed full of such sentiment.

(Nice sound from your bike btw :))

The clips of the cyclists are of them breaking the law. Nothing I've done in my clip is illegal.

The degree to how dangerous I'm driving can be disputed all day! I'm fully confident that at the speed I'm going I can react (and have done) to pedestrians/drivers/cyclists doing something unexpected without checking their surroundings with mirrors or simply turning their head.

And its the yoshi exhaust that gives it a nice hum! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭georgefalls

The clips of the cyclists are of them breaking the law. Nothing I've done in my clip is illegal.

The degree to how dangerous I'm driving can be disputed all day! I'm fully confident that at the speed I'm going I can react (and have done) to pedestrians/drivers/cyclists doing something unexpected without checking their surroundings with mirrors or simply turning their head.

And its the yoshi exhaust that gives it a nice hum! ;)

Are motorbikes allowed to drive in bus lanes then..?
    Not being funny, but I don't know the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,016 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Are motorbikes allowed to drive in bus lanes then..?
    Not being funny, but I don't know the answer.

No, by rule of the law they are not. Buses, Taxis and cyclists are allowed.
    Im a motorcyclist and have used bus lanes. Garda tend to turn a blind eye providing you are not obviously speeding or driving carelessly.