Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Had the car on a lift this evening, appears there is a substantial oil leek somewhere along the sump/filter. Half the outside of the sump was covered in oil, as was the wishbone and was blown back onto some of the chassis. Tomorrow will be fun!

Had literally the exact same problem with my focus leaking out of the corner of the dump and blowing back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Bpmull wrote: »
    Did anyone see the picture on facebook from one of the vw garages of two new passats being handed over to their two new owners. They were mother and daughter and the two cars were identical same colour, spec, alloys the works only difference was one plate was one digit higher than the other :eek: lovely looking cars but why would they have not at least got a different colour.

Probably the same two wans in McDonald's upthread, trying to scrape the PCP down-payment.

Gonna look at this tomorrow.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/primera-estate-petrol-1-6/8257436?offset=4

Chap selling it seems fairly genuine and online reports are saying that, as a general rule of thumb, all that really goes wrong in these is the timing chain can slip, and the gearbox can give trouble.

He is a 'part time trader' apparently, and he seems a nice bloke. Has a ramp and reckons I can bring my mechanic with me, he'll put it on the ramp and I can do what I want to it. Or if i want he'll ramp it, and he'll show me the underside and let me mooch around myself (but sure I may aswell be surveying the landscape of Mars for all I know about cars).

So just from talking to him in general, he seems a sound enough fellow. I was thinking of not bothering to get it checked by mechanic and just going on my own uninformed opinion, having taken it for a test drive.

Was wondering if anyone knows of any obvious signs of a gearbox on the way out? Crunching and difficulty moving through the gears, I presume?

Wonder would I get much wiggle room on price (im doubtful, but would never pay asking for any car, as a matter of principle.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

You should buy my volvo altogether.

Spent 1500 putting it right after it breaking my heart at first.

Either way im losing a grand on it but once its sold I will be happy I got a sick car 100% again

In a perfect world id have it as a daily focus as a toy but irish tax system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

That car is worth €750 tops. 13 year old primera estate with no tax or test. Mental money at that price, you could do far better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Really not a fan of the looks of those primeras bit of a marmite car I think anyway! Don't think they meant to be as good as older ones either.

Does it have to be estate kkv your kind off narrowing yourself with choices by only looking at estates. Wouldn't be a primera fan myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Those primers are awful sh1te. you would be much better off with the previous generation one. I liked mine anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Will be in Mullingar, Co. Westmeath tomorrow at about 2 pm for the best hurling match in years (Kilmallock(Limerick) v Portaferry (Down))!! Y'all should come !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/primera-estate-petrol-1-6/8257436?offset=4

Chap selling it seems fairly genuine and online reports are saying that, as a general rule of thumb, all that really goes wrong in these is the timing chain can slip, and the gearbox can give trouble.

He is a 'part time trader' apparently, and he seems a nice bloke. Has a ramp and reckons I can bring my mechanic with me, he'll put it on the ramp and I can do what I want to it. Or if i want he'll ramp it, and he'll show me the underside and let me mooch around myself (but sure I may aswell be surveying the landscape of Mars for all I know about cars).

So just from talking to him in general, he seems a sound enough fellow. I was thinking of not bothering to get it checked by mechanic and just going on my own uninformed opinion, having taken it for a test drive.

Was wondering if anyone knows of any obvious signs of a gearbox on the way out? Crunching and difficulty moving through the gears, I presume?

Wonder would I get much wiggle room on price (im doubtful, but would never pay asking for any car, as a matter of principle.)

Well, I know a woman who had onw 2002 and gearbox pooped itself, so she then bought same primera, but 2007... Now it fails nct, because it is burning oil like crazy. Pretty much a scrap now too. My mechanic buddy said that these premeras are rubbish all together.

Went up and down to waterford there and I'm very happy with these new bulbs easily as good nightbreakers if anything Id say they are slightly brighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I would keep looking.

Very expensive and gearbox can be trouble also.

Have a 2002 with 69k miles gear box exploded so second hand 1 went in.

Car bought for 600

That car is worth €750 tops. 13 year old primera estate with no tax or test. Mental money at that price, you could do far better.

There's only 4 of them on DoneDeal, and I believe one of them is for Auction... frown.png I'd never pay full price out of principle, but i doubt he'd knock a lot off. That said, the ad is listed for 60+ days, so.. theyre obviously not a 'hot' seller.

Does it have to be estate kkv your kind off narrowing yourself with choices by only looking at estates. Wouldn't be a primera fan myself.

Yeah, i want to do a fair bit of camping and hiking and such, and be able to sleep in it should such a situation arise (I've ambitions of lots of really badly planned camping trips for this summer! :D ).

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Those primers are awful sh1te. you would be much better off with the previous generation one. I liked mine anyway smile.png

Again.. find one... :P They don't seem to be very commonly on sale..

You should buy my volvo altogether.

Spent 1500 putting it right after it breaking my heart at first.

Either way im losing a grand on it but once its sold I will be happy I got a sick car 100% again

In a perfect world id have it as a daily focus as a toy but irish tax system.

I probably won't go for it as i'd imagine it'd be a monster engined car, topping in excess of 1k in tax, but sure send me a link and I'll have a mooch...? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Sister bought a 02 almera (I advised her to buy an older corolla) and got rid of it about 2 months later as it was a pos and would have cost a fortune to, temporarily put right.

From my research nissans upto 00 were mighty, after 00 were not.

Well if anyone wants to suggest a suitable alternative for around the same budget (or less, of course!) and tax bracket.. I'm all ears.. :)

Only a 2 litre so whats that 710 ?

Wont be putting ad up until nct'd on 12th.

No point messing around :)

What is it you are after in a car exactly ?

That generation of primera esp in that spec/engine size screams i've given up on life :p

i've given up on life :p

I did. And I blame a 407 for it!

I want an estate or MPV that I can sleep in, pretty much, with lots of space. Something I can go across the country in, multiple times, and not worry about anything breaking or going wrong.

The Primera seems to be a well received car and last time i mentioned it on this thread, no one had anything bad to say. I googled it and searched boards and no one really had any negative thoughts on it.

But now that Im arranging to see one, apparently they're a disaster :eek:

I did. And I blame a 407 for it!

I want an estate or MPV that I can sleep in, pretty much, with lots of space. Something I can go across the country in, multiple times, and not worry about anything breaking or going wrong.

The Primera seems to be a well received car and last time i mentioned it on this thread, no one had anything bad to say. I googled it and searched boards and no one really had any negative thoughts on it.

But now that Im arranging to see one, apparently they're a disaster :eek:

Being realistic about it just using the primera you linked as an example if you were to buy that and drive it around the country for the summer it's highly likely that it will breakdown or cause issues simply because it's getting on in years and they are not the most reliable anyway. Not trying to be negative but it's very hard to be able to buy a car for 1-2k euro and then expect it to cause no trouble at all and be bullet proof. Maybe I'm just being pessimistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Well if anyone wants to suggest a suitable alternative for around the same budget (or less, of course!) and tax bracket.. I'm all ears.. :)

Not neccessarly this example - but Avensis????

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2002-toyota-avensis-2-0-d4d-gs-estate-nct-taxed/8622610?offset=8

This may be a bit big size wise - Volvo

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/02-v70-2-0t-7-seater-new-nct-03-16-taxed/8597393?offset=19

And yes I realise they don't fully meet the price and tax criteria - but imo - both are better options then the Primera

Being realistic about it just using the primera you linked as an example it's highly likely that if you were to buy that and drive it around the country for the summer it's highly likely that it will breakdown or cause issues simply because it's getting on in years and they are not the most reliable anyway. Not trying to be negative but it's very hard to be able to buy a car for 1-2k euro and then expect it too cause no trouble at all and be bullet proof. Maybe I'm just being pessimistic.

Well, see I don't care about trivial things.

Electric mirrors break? I'm not fixing it.
    Window wont open? I'm not fixing it.
    Air con/fans are fecked? I'm not fixing it.
    Central locking stops working properly? I'm not fixing it.

If I can get it through the NCT, then i'll fix only the absolute essentials. It'll be an A-B machine. I'm not spending any more on it cos I dont particularly care about it. All my previous cars were my 'hobby' for a while. This will be treated well, cleaned up, etc, but I won't be putting any effort into it.

So long as it doesnt leave me on the roadside, I couldn't care less what happens to it.

A boardsie has offered to give it a look over for me, so I'll have some peace of mind there, that someone more informed and educated than I will be looking at it (but i wont say who he is, incase he doesnt want me to).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Quick question. Does anyone know if the mk3 mondeo came with traction control ? I can see the symbol on the clocks but when I turn the key to start it it doesn't light up like the other lights do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Did an actual proper MPG calculation from my week just gone in driving, 192 miles for 47.40 litres or 10.43 gallons, 18.4 MPG :D

On board read 19 so not too far off at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

So eh leeeeds? Whats the story with this meet or is it happening at all?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

Saw this Irish registration tonight in traffic.

Anyone know what the "CD" on the reg stands for?
    It was on a Nissan Qashquai

338034.jpg

Dia1988 wrote: »
    Saw this Irish registration tonight in traffic.

Anyone know what the "CD" on the reg stands for?
    It was on a Nissan Qashquai

"CD stands for corps diplomatique and is found on embassy vehicles."

Dropping in standards it seems!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

"CD stands for corps diplomatique and is found on embassy vehicles."

Dropping in standards it seems!

Never knew that....you learn something new everyday!

Would have thought an Embassy vehicle would be more prestigious, but if it saves whatever tax payer who is paying for it a few euro/dollar/yen

Dia1988 wrote: »
    Never knew that....you learn something new everyday!

Would have thought an Embassy vehicle would be more prestigious, but if it saves whatever tax payer who is paying for it a few euro/dollar/yen

Yeah sure doing their bit and all that

So eh leeeeds? Whats the story with this meet or is it happening at all?

Make it so pickles make it so

Does this seem like a safer bet than the one im going ot look at?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/nissan-primera-2004-nct-9-15/8146748?offset=11

This is the one i arranged to look at:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/primera-estate-petrol-1-6/8257436?offset=7

The other one is a year newer, has a longer NCT, but looks a bit rougher around the edges. My thinking is to ring the other guy and arrange a rough meet up with him (But tell him the craic - that im looking at the other one first). Then if the boardsie gives the first car the all clear, i can use the cheaper one (with an NCT) to push down the price of the one im looking at?

And if the seller wont reduce the price, then I can just go and look at the other Primera (seen as im already in the general area.. i think..?) and as it's priced lower i can get it for less anyway (assuming it gets a thumbs up)?

Make it so pickles make it so

Nah, been there done that, was actually a pretty good turnout too if i remember!