Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

pred racer wrote: »
    I got my rugby ball shaped wheel straightened today, no more driving a 3 legged donkey :D

As i used to say once i got off my wonky 19's

"No more FBI chopper following me everywhere"

:p

Last night I discovered that the Garda drug squad here in Limerick have an old L reg Citroen Dispatch. To say its seen better days is an understatement. They had to jump start it with a Connect! So that makes 3 unusual vehicles I've discovered the Gardai use since the start of the year.

rocky wrote: »
    You still have 1 year NCB, the difference between 1 and 2 years can be around 10-20% of the premium...

Yeah I thought so :(

I'd be tempted to ring them and say I never cancelled the policy at all, and invent a 'friend' that did it on my behalf thinking he was doing me a favour or something like that.

Think I screwed myself quite a bit. (in fairness, you'd think the chap on the phone, when I was cancelling, would have pointed out some of this stuff). :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Dia1988 wrote: »
    You may only be joking, but seemingly there's such a thing as a 500hp Matiz.

http://youtu.be/sypE-g52h5k

No way is that 500hp. It is all noise. he is going no where quick after revving engine.

Interslice wrote: »
    My primera(p11 estate) seats fold down exactly as in the second pic with the back seats just slightly raised. Some cars I've had the back bench tilts forward and you get a flat floor but you loose length then. Just ask at the test drive maybe. Thinking of buying a 2002 v40 myself that I was offered.I know it's history from new. Really solid car, Don't know if i'll get the cash together in time though.

I've no idea how I didn't see this reply :eek:

I actually found it when I was googling further about the seats-down cargo space.

Cheers for that! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I've no idea how I didn't see this reply :eek:

I actually found it when I was googling further about the seats-down cargo space.

Cheers for that! :)

Can i interest you in a green saab? :pac: Just needs an alternator and a bypass valve!

I'm afraid not.. 'hassle-free' is what im looking for :P

Does anyone know anything of this seller? His oldest ad is 13 days? Seems a bit odd.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/find/all/for-sale/Ireland/?filters%5BuserId%5D=696364

Anyway, I don't care, as i know its the same as buying privately regardless (get the car checked out by an indy, etc.) but does anyone know a location? I've googled and can't find anything as the name is too vague.

Searching his number just brings up an old ad for a camper van with no address on it either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Motorsense waterford/ fassnidge are dodgy out are they? Thinking of enquiring into the 02 celica they have for sale and getting rid of my corslowla.

Im suprised the corolla hasn't sold. Looks very clean and there is no shortage of fanbois that like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

CianRyan wrote: »
    Recently single aye?
    Got a thing for MX5s?

You had mx5, I had mx5. Boards.ie is down with it too, so feck it! What are you doing on valentines day! :D

By the way lads, still no Ideas on boards.ie meet? I havent seen your ugly faces in ages!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Aaaaand holidays are over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

All good things must come to an end.... although I haven't had a proper holiday in years. So it goes. Any decent ideas on where to go.

Anyway.

30 Litres of petrol
    300ml of 2-stroke.
    300ml of dipetane (Lets see what it does, hmm?)

After 30km up the M50 and back, not much that I've noticed. Doesn't feel down or up on power. Still pulled well in 4th gear.

But this one is a peculiar animal, even amongst RX8's. It doesn't like the cold, but starts hot (5, 10, 15 minutes sitting) without a flinch. Leave it sitting for two hours to cool down and it kicks off the starter a few times before catching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Last night I discovered that the Garda drug squad here in Limerick have an old L reg Citroen Dispatch. To say its seen better days is an understatement. They had to jump start it with a Connect! So that makes 3 unusual vehicles I've discovered the Gardai use since the start of the year.

Navan had a 98 TN punto 60 for ages... Now that would catch you out, not even county plates!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

dgt wrote: »
    Navan had a 98 TN punto 60 for ages... Now that would catch you out, not even county plates!!!

It might catch you out, but it wouldn't catch much ;)

Snaky Tipp baxtards ;)

pred racer wrote: »
    It might catch you out, but it wouldn't catch much ;)

Snaky Tipp baxtards ;)

Comin up heyor, stealin our garda..... :p

Sure them yokes they have here now for sure wouldn't catch much either..... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

You had mx5, I had mx5. Boards.ie is down with it too, so feck it! What are you doing on valentines day! :D

By the way lads, still no Ideas on boards.ie meet? I havent seen your ugly faces in ages!

I enquired about starting a thread but I was met with silence :(
    Sobanek wrote: »
    Aaaaand holidays are over.

Ah fvck....you're back :rolleyes:

1ff871a6f8083107eae02002743abf0e12c8778790b03cae4c2613d5bf34ae1d.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Ah fvck....you're back :rolleyes:

Well, I did replied!

If others being a *****, we can do a joined Subaru and BMW meet! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

No I meant that I contacted a mod to start a thread to make it official but silence...i kill you etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

c4 passed its scrutiny, another year or so of legal motoring for d'mother! :)

My aul hack has sense it seems, got home this evening, got out the big bar to go bate the sh1te out of the starter, said i'd tip the key beforehand and away she went, it must have spotted the bar :pac:

*edit*

Surprised the c4 passed actually, considering i tracked it and focused the headlights myself, the latter against the wall of the test centre :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I'm not saying MM wants a meet, but I think he wants a MEET thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Mmmm steak :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Well usually its just the Dublin lads(and toasted pickle) that show up for these meet ups and we all feel like idiots for traveling all the way to Midway when we could of had the meeting closer to home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

I'd be interested in a meet anyway, probably try ride shotgun with someone though, mine's not really for showing off..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

For me anyway if I can't make it it's due to not being given enough warning, if it's planned 3/4 weeks in advance I'll happily make the trip.

Bare in mind that it is a 4 or so hour round trip to those from Cork/Galway or the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

I
    Its a tie between you and davycc. Ye'll have to fight for me I'm afraid

How am I only joint third?
    Myself and pickles will have to have a drag race or something butch to win you over!

And regarding the meet for everyone interested.. I'm back home in Meath and have sh1t loads of free time now finally :-)

Don't mind travelling a few miles through.
    Sally Gap gets mentioned a lot but I haven't driven it in years, might be fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Again I'm also down for a meet wherever it's called :)
    I'm free of my previous lady so i don't get the "fecking cars, why can't we do something on a Sunday" crap :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Cheensbo wrote: »
    I'd be interested in a meet anyway, probably try ride shotgun with someone though, mine's not really for showing off..

Don't worry bout that! Literally any car is welcome, it's more about having a chat really than looking at the cars anyway :)

I would be up for a meet too. Missed the last one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Bpmull wrote: »
    Im suprised the corolla hasn't sold. Looks very clean and there is no shortage of fanbois that like them.

I was a bit optomistic price wise given my mileage i think.

i can't really sell it privately now anyway as i've been ****ed off back to waterford. The car is never off the road and it's impossible to keep anyway presentable, so it'd be much easier to drive it to a small time dealer and trade it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I was a bit optomistic price wise given my mileage i think.

i can't really sell it privately now anyway as i've been ****ed off back to waterford. The car is never off the road and it's impossible to keep anyway presentable, so it'd be much easier to drive it to a small time dealer and trade it in.

If your using it a lot it would be a right pain to sell it and then be without a car while looking for a new one alright. Trading is probably the easiest option so.

For me anyway if I can't make it it's due to not being given enough warning, if it's planned 3/4 weeks in advance I'll happily make the trip.

Bare in mind that it is a 4 or so hour round trip to those from Cork/Galway or the like.

Excuses already!!!!