Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭Nolars

Id love to know what Herrera done, any good guesses yet?

Id say he said Chinese food was rotten or something :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

McNair Smalling Evans Rojo
    .................Blind...................
    .....Fellaini..........Di Maria
    .................Mata...............
    ........RVP............Rooney......

Would love to see the above out of that group of players but it will be either 352 or this monstrosity no doubt

..........Blind.........
    .....Mata Rooney.......
    ........Fellaini......
    ...RVP......Di Maria...

Jesus christ there is just too much wrong

I reckon 4 at the back, with NcNair and Rojo at full.

Herrera must have pissed on a bed of gladioli or something.

Strong line-up, should win this no problem, hopefully that F.A. Cup giant-killing fairydust has been used up in the City and Chelsea results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

B88SMg7IIAMLUr-.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

jayo26 wrote: »
    What's your anger over the team tonight??

No Falcao, no Herrera. 4 centre backs in defence. If Di Maria is up front you can add that in there too...

NUTZZ wrote: »
    B88SMg7IIAMLUr-.jpg

Now that i like :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

To be fair to Herrera. I can't see him getting in that midfield. Fellaini deserves to be there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

To be fair to Herrera. I can't see him getting in that midfield. Fellaini deserves to be there

Said nobody ever.

Hnoestly though, you actually have a point. If you'd said that last June when we were all drooling over grainy youtube compilation clips of Herrera, you would have been laughed out of it but Fellaini on a number of occassions this season has been a game-changer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

adox wrote: »
    It does feel like some are falling over themselves here to criticise Van Gaal.

Lets all praise the mighty philosophy! Even though we have been totally cack all season.
    I worry about the future under van Gaal, formation and tactics have just been so uninspiring. Every time I see the lineup before a game it makes me angry for one reason or another. Usually multiple reasons.

Its incredibly similar to last season. Abject performances, players out of favour, baffling team selections, uncertainty about even making top 4, this season has been rubbish.

But hey, if you say that you get jumped upon. Such is the soccer forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

RVP over Falcao again. Load of balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I guess the one thing that Herrera struggles to do us really impose himself in a game.

Blind was very good at the weekend, and Fellaini has also been good recently

I assume Jones, Val and Falcao have been rested rather than dropped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭KombuchaMshroom

Every time I see a van gaal line up this comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Its incredibly similar to last season. Abject performances, players out of favour, baffling team selections, uncertainty about even making top 4, this season has been rubbish.

But hey, if you say that you get jumped upon. Such is the soccer forum.

It's not a case of jumping all over someone for voicing an opinion, it's that the minute the team is announced and Falcao or Herrera aren't in it then all you get is people saying 'he doesn't know what he's doing' or something to that degree. We have Mata coming in for Falcao, and Fellaini coming in for Herrera. It's not exactly bringing in Kilbane for Rivaldo and Niall Quinn for Ronaldinho in the gap in quality. People need to chill.

The moneys men against moneys men? Fcuk off Jake Humphrey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

If MUTV is correct I can't complain, spot on

Maybe could have rested Rooney and given RVP and Falcao a chance to gain form

I guess the one thing that Herrera struggles to do us really impose himself in a game.

Blind was very good at the weekend, and Fellaini has also been good recently

I assume Jones, Val and Falcao have been rested rather than dropped

Your not alone. I also don't get the fuss with him so far. He hasn't been as good as the protests at him being left out would have you believe.

Nice and tidy but average overall for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

It's not a case of jumping all over someone for voicing an opinion, it's that the minute the team is announced and Falcao or Herrera aren't in it then all you get is people saying 'he doesn't know what he's doing' or something to that degree. We have Mata coming in for Falcao, and Fellaini coming in for Herrera. It's not exactly bringing in Kilbane for Rivaldo and Niall Quinn for Ronaldinho in the gap in quality. People need to chill.

Totally agree with ya. The team named should easily be beating Cambridge tonight no need to play falcao 3 times in the week if he is not needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

one thing i hate about van gaal, every single team he names, you are left guessing what sort of formation he is playing or why some players are starting over others, so frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,057 ✭✭✭✭adox

Lets all praise the mighty philosophy! Even though we have been totally cack all season

Why does it have to be one or the other? That's not what I'm saying at all.

People were already criticising him for playing three at the back tonight when it now looks like a back four.

My point stands.

bangkok wrote: »
    one thing i hate about van gaal, every single team he names, you are left guessing what sort of formation he is playing or why some players are starting over others, so frustrating.

That is true. I wish for once he would stick to the same line up and formation

kick off is delayed till 8:05

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,057 ✭✭✭✭adox

kick off is delayed till 8:05

Jaysus, twelve and a half hours til kick off. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Cambridge lads pretty relaxed anyway doing interviews on side of pitch having the craic sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Your not alone. I also don't get the fuss with him so far. He hasn't been as good as the protests at him being left out would have you believe.

Nice and tidy but average overall for me.

Yeah, nice and tidy describes him well, but doesn't control things like Blind or Carrick can

LVG has said the FA Cup is top priority this season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

No Herrera again, will be gone in the summer it looks like. If he can't get a start tonight something is wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

No Herrera again, will be gone in the summer it looks like. If he can't get a start tonight something is wrong

I think that's too much of a cop out.

He is up against Fellaini, di Maria, blind, carrick. Fellaini has been our most effective.

Also he has Rooney, who is better at defending. It's the only reason I can think. Captain and better at defending and attack, obviously.

And mata to a certain extent.

If he wants to start he will have to do what we don't see, impress in training.

His performances are hyped up. He has only come on in the last 20 minutes against tired players. When he has started he hasn't been better than any of the others.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I love Herrera. I do.

But the problem seems to be the "big names" are keeping him out of the team; Rooney and DiMaria aren't going to sit on the bench, even though Rooney should be there. And LVG seems to like one defensive and one creative type pairing, so it's always going to be one of Blind/Carrick/Fel and one of DiMaria/Rooney/Herrera. So Herrera is losing out.

He's struggling to get in cause of the names ahead of him :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Januzaj and Shaw have knocks after the weekend and that's why they're rested.

People on about Herrera: what was the biggest danger from Cambridge in the first tie? Set pieces. If Herrera plays we have 4 defenders that are decent in the air, Blind and the two strikers. Then we'd have three guys who you just couldn't have marking guys when defending set pieces. Considering Rooney or RVP normally do the front post role and don't mark then you're down another marker.

There's also the fact that Fellaini was playing well this season when before he got injured. You'd swear a) it's a Champions League final and b) that Herrera is twice the player that Fellaini is. We don't see these guys train every day - LVG does. But anyways.

Edit: Gowl beat me to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Somewhere out there, you just know Larry Bateman is delighted to see Luke Chadwick back at Old Trafford.