Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

How many times do we drink if someone says there's "no easy games" in the Six Nations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

We really need an Irish one of these.

Drink when:

Hook makes some comment about Heaslips extraordinary durability, which he has only recently noticed.
    Tommy Boooooooowwwwwweeee
    'Italian Job'
    Hook references something from the 1950s
    'Which French side will turn up'
    It's an odd numbered year so we have a chance
    O gara esque

Hartley or Lawes commits an atrocity
    Kearney passes the ball or completes a tackle
    POM starts a bit of a row when we're losing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

durkadurka wrote: »
    Drink when:

Hook makes some comment about Heaslips extraordinary durability, which he has only recently noticed.
    Tommy Boooooooowwwwwweeee
    'Italian Job'
    Hook references something from the 1950s
    'Which French side will turn up'
    It's an odd numbered year so we have a chance
    O gara esque

Hartley or Lawes commits an atrocity
    Kearney passes the ball or completes a tackle
    POM starts a bit of a row when we're losing

Better line the stomach so... :D

Nugent overpronounces

parrrrriiiissssseee
    dusssssatoir

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Went out to the car at 9.30 and the windscreen was frozen, I live 250m from the sea too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Neck your drink whenever Brent Pope laughs awkwardly at something Hook says.

We'll be ****ed before kickoff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Narcissus

Where would be a good place in Dublin to watch the match on Saturday that won't be too busy?

Narcissus wrote: »
    Where would be a good place in Dublin to watch the match on Saturday that won't be too busy?

Birchalls in Ranelagh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Hook starts the coverage on Saturday by saying this is the worst Irish team he has ever seen...

...everyone in the studio tries to hide their smirks when it's played back to him after Ireland's grand slam victory over Scotland.

(let me dream at least...)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,815 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I never watch RTE coverage anyway. It's all about the forced banality of BBC.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

I only watch RTE's commentary if Tommy Bowe's on the pitch...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Add to that drinking list if McGurk lets anyone finish a sentence. McGurk himself doesn't count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭thirteen.

s_33_461__popey.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

thirteen. wrote: »
    s_33_461__popey.jpg

Add in "Championship minutes" and "rugby is, at its heart, a simple game"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

"Pinpoint, laser-like accuracy"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

"Has gotten through an amount of work"

See that Sky will have exclusive rights to the Open Championship from 2017. Sad to see such a great event gone off FTA, would raise concerns for the 6N. Will miss my annual fix of Peter Alliss too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭b.gud

"The 6 nations is all about momentum"

• Subscribers Posts: 43,259 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

"oh, case of the commentators curse there"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

"war of attrition" is a tremenjus fav.

So I just realised that my cousin's wedding (in England) is on at the same time as the Scotland game. Any tech heads here know is it possible to stream to a phone, and will it cost more than the trip as I'll be roaming? I'm assuming there won't be wifi in the church!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Zzippy wrote: »
    So I just realised that my cousin's wedding (in England) is on at the same time as the Scotland game. Any tech heads here know is it possible to stream to a phone, and will it cost more than the trip as I'll be roaming? I'm assuming there won't be wifi in the church!

If you're that worried about it, pick up an English pay as you go Sim for the day, 20 quid will get you 4g and a clip around the ear from the bride

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,815 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

You can just use iPlayer on the phone.

Try to get the loan of a phone off an English resident maybe?

Get a local to broadcast wifi and use the rte or bbc player. Hola app if location issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Yeah the 4g/3g roaming will kill you. Who are you with?

TV Catchup is the app that allows you to watch live Terrestrial tv (only when you're in the UK). (ios, android)

If you're with Three, you get the Three at home service I believe? (I know I have it the other way, when I go back to Ireland I use my tariff as normal, zero additional charges).

If you're not with Three, try get your roaming sorted before you come across, otherwise try convince a local to give you a wifi hotspot from their own data.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Don't watch it live as you'll get your arse kicked, unless you can find it miraculously on a pub tv somewhere.

Thanks lads, was planning on BBC iplayer if I can get wifi - getting one of the English folk to broadcast it is a great idea. I'm with Vodafone ak, have a data package here but I'm sure it's no use when roaming... I'd like to see the game but not if it's going to cost more than a weekend in Edinburgh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

One of the last weddings I was at was on the day Ireland played South Africa. A couple of tables brought iPads along and had the game on RTE player throughout the meal.

Tread carefully and discreetly, Zzippy. It went down like a lead balloon.

Buer wrote: »
    One of the last weddings I was at was on the day Ireland played South Africa. A couple of tables brought iPads along and had the game on RTE player throughout the meal.

Tread carefully and discreetly, Zzippy. It went down like a lead balloon.

When I was setting the date for our wedding the first thing I checked was that there was no important match on that day... hopefully the church bit won't take long and we can get to a nearby pub, especially if Ireland are going for a championship or slam!