Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you Part 27

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

jimgoose wrote: »
    Yes, I encountered it on a 3l Jag that was starting to pound its clutch into submission after 130,000 miles. Get an actual mechanic to have a look at it, but I suspect the release-bearing. Budget for a clutch-kit as well while it's split - it'll make a new car of it.

Cheers for that jimmy. I might be getting rid of it soon dependig on some other irons in the works I have. So I may just leave and get any potential buyer to take a look at the bearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Meghan Trainor. Her nose. The stupid way she moves and makes silly faces trying to be sexy. And the Silly clothes she wears that just don't flatter her at all.

She just makes me think of an obnoxious sorority girl who thinks she's a lot better looking than she actually is. Her voice is awful too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Meghan Trainor. Her nose. The stupid way she moves and makes silly faces trying to be sexy. And the Silly clothes she wears that just don't flatter her at all.

She's a big heffer who is trying to get the message across that it's ok to be overweight, while simultaneously deriding "skinny bitches". I hate her and her stupid song!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

She's a big heffer who is trying to get the message across that it's ok to be overweight, while simultaneously deriding "skinny bitches". I hate her and her stupid song!

I'd hardly call her a heifer; she doesn't look fat to me.
    But I do agree that she went about it the wrong way; singing about sticking up for big girls while at the same time lambasting skinny girls.
    She'll be a one-hit wonder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

Harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭danrua01

That's a bit harsh alright, doesn't look like a "big heffer" to me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Vel wrote: »
    I still feel like vomiting after witnessing the antics of a couple on the Luas yesterday evening...

Something needs to be done about that Luas thing, it seems to be just atrocity after atrocity! :pac:

On the subject of heifers, the latest travesty to force me to place my parchments carefully one-side and peer irately over my bifocals at the electrical tellybox device is this "Danger! Amanda At Work!" business. Are we that starved for televisual material and/or "entertainment" that we have to de-mothball this wobbly relic of pre-crash fashionable dumbness to watch her make an even bigger eejit of herself than ever hitherto? Now don't get me wrong, I think Amanda is a fine cut of a gal, and quite nice in her bonnet-ornament bimbette sort of way, but is there any train-wreck some people won't stay out of in their desperate clawing for relevance?? :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I've signed up for one of those 'To Hell & Back' torture events. What have I done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

On the subject of heifers, the latest travesty to force me to place my parchments carefully one-side and peer irately over my bifocals at the electrical tellybox device is this "Danger! Amanda At Work!" business. Are we that starved for televisual material and/or "entertainment" that we have to de-mothball this wobbly relic of pre-crash fashionable dumbness to watch her make an even bigger eejit of herself than ever hitherto? Now don't get me wrong, I think Amanda is a fine cut of a gal, and quite nice in her bonnet-ornament bimbette sort of way, but is there any train-wreck some people won't stay out of in their desperate clawing for relevance?? :pac:

Who is the Amanda of which you speak?

Not that bleedin Bruncker one, is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Gwan The Boom_Bap !!!

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Who is the Amanda of which you speak?

Not that bleedin Bruncker one, is it?

That's her, yes.

MsBubbles wrote: »
    Gwan The Boom_Bap !!!

I hope I dont get my runners dirty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

That's her, yes.

Ah Jim, normally I would slapped you with a gauntlet and offered you a choice of weapons, to duel ( not drool) over the fair maiden, but in this instance, you can have her:D. An awful annoyance of a yoke, famous for being an underage Miss Ireland if my memory serves me correctly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Boy racers and their noisy cars. I don't get the whole noisy exhaust fad. It seems to be a mostly male thing, which as far as I can tell is saying 'hey look, I've got a noisy second hand Toyota/Mitsubishi'. I must be missing whatever it is that's impressive about having a noisy second hand car, but yet there seems to be no end of feeble minded simpletons who want such cars.

Ah Jim, normally I would slapped you with a gauntlet and offered you a choice of weapons, to duel ( nor drool) over the fair maiden, but in this instance, you can have her:D. An awful annoyance of a yoke, famous for being an underage Miss Ireland if my memory serves me correctly?

I shall not duel over the suet-headed simpleton, she is stretching my benign tolerance tighter than the skin of her engorged arse-cheeks, and 'tis not long for the world!

Pumpkinseeds it's to make up for the lack of length in a certain appendage, It's also a mating call from the young males knowns Chungfellas to the young females of this tribe known as Chungwans

It's more the plumage of the Chungfellit. The actual mating-call is along the lines of "Daycint! Give 'er shoe an' make 'er Boo, laaaaad!!" :pac:

jimgoose I thought the exhaust noise along with said plummage was to was alert the Chungwans that Chungfellas were in the vicinity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Katie Hopkins needs to be put to sleep with fire

jimgoose I thought the exhaust noise along with said plummage was to was alert the Chungwans that Chungfellas were in the vicinity.

Theoretically, a loud exhaust would indicate the presence of an expensive aftermarket high-performance stainless-steel exhaust system accompanied by sophisticated modifications to the intake, carburetor jetting or fuel-injection maps, as well as possibly expensive work such as aftermarket cams and so forth. Thus is the owner of the vehicle able to announce to anyone who gives a scuttery fcuk that his <ahem> equipment is more powerful than that of the others. However, what you usually have is a Chungfellit in a shítbox of some kind with a porter-barrel tailpipe that merely makes noise and if anything causes the engine to run too lean and eventually burn exhaust valves, thus announcing that not only is his <ahem> equipment not very powerful, but it will eventually and inevitably break down! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

Boy racers and their noisy cars. I don't get the whole noisy exhaust fad. It seems to be a mostly male thing, which as far as I can tell is saying 'hey look, I've got a noisy second hand Toyota/Mitsubishi'. I must be missing whatever it is that's impressive about having a noisy second hand car, but yet there seems to be no end of feeble minded simpletons who want such cars.

Yes, yes a thousand times yes! And I can't stand the cars that make a weird "WOO" noise when they speed up. What is that?!

Rosie Rant wrote: »
    Yes, yes a thousand times yes! And I can't stand the cars that make a weird "WOO" noise when they speed up. What is that?!

Variable-vane turbocharger wastegate sound when you come off the throttle. Engineers tune that sound out of them via the exhaust system, tuned back in with aftermarket open pipes by shaven-headed diesel VW Passat/Bora owners because they think it's cool. Related to the "Phssss" sound of a fake turbocharger blowoff valve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Urgh :mad: Boy racers nearly orphaned me. I hate them all. Nothing says "I've a small penis" quite like a noisy exhaust :(

Boys got swag
    Men got class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Unnecessary pluralisation of words. Foods. Foodstuffs. Plural verbiosis I believe? Maddening.
    Also generally unnnecessary words: Cutbacks - why not cuts?
    Weather conditions - why not weather?
    I feel a seething, burning resentment inside for anyone who uses these unnecessary words :(

I never really noticed this whole thing tbh, but yeah, now that I have noticed it, it'll probably annoy me :D
    fussyonion wrote: »
    I'd hardly call her a heifer; she doesn't look fat to me.
    But I do agree that she went about it the wrong way; singing about sticking up for big girls while at the same time lambasting skinny girls.
    She'll be a one-hit wonder.

Skinny Shaming is very in right now
    Boys got swag
    Men got class

I feel like this message would be best presented as an image on Facebook which in reality is just weirdly formatted text on a coloured background with a border.

TA People who quote massive wall-of-text posts when really just the start and finish would have done seeing as the original post is just above it

My partners father, in is 70's, was due to go in for Operation at 8 in the morning.
    Just got a call from the hospital, informing him Op, has been cancelled as there are 30 patients on trollies in the hopsital, and Operations have been cancelled till further notice.
    No indication of when Op may be rescheduled. :mad:

Leo , pull your damn finger out,hire some decent Managers.

FFS

D. An awful annoyance of a yoke, famous for being an underage Miss Ireland

Under age, and under James Nesbitt

( though not necessarily at same time )

Cormac... wrote: »
    I never really noticed this whole thing tbh, but yeah, now that I have noticed it, it'll probably annoy me :D

Skinny Shaming is very in right now

I feel like this message would be best presented as an image on Facebook which in reality is just weirdly formatted text on a coloured background with a border.

TA People who quote massive wall-of-text posts when really just the start and finish would have done seeing as the original post is just above it
    And you'd be correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

And you'd be correct

I Googled it, it's already a thing