Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Customs?

Yep, it's coming from China, I knew I'd be caught for it but it's actually less than I thought. Still comes in at less than €400 all in.

Also fitted two sensors today, will do the bumper ones Wednesday along with the ground errors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

That's one expensive head unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Behind a Black 08 Maserati on Irish plates(may have been a gran Turismo)
    very nice, lost it at the turn at vincents hospital due to traffic lights. Cool sound.

GvidoR wrote: »
    That's one expensive head unit.

It's cheap for a factory look kit for it though, Dynamics go up to something like €800, Andrive are around €600.

I suppose. Compared to my €59 head unit it seems expensive though. :o

It's probably not much better either :pac:

Is it worth the price then? :P

No idea, I'll hopefully find out tomorrow :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Behind a Black 08 Maserati on Irish plates(may have been a gran Turismo)
    very nice, lost it at the turn at vincents hospital due to traffic lights. Cool sound.

Arah would you not have put the foot down like :cool::pac:

I was behind a beautiful white Ford F350 the other day in Longford. Beasht of a yoke, think she was a Super Duty, she had the double cab and flared wheel arches with the Dually rear axle.
    Nearly creamed meself - It's a wonder I didnt crash trying to get a closer look at her like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Arah would you not have put the foot down like :cool::pac:

I was behind a beautiful white Ford F350 the other day in Longford. Beasht of a yoke, think she was a Super Duty, she had the double cab and flared wheel arches with the Dually rear axle.
    Nearly creamed meself - It's a wonder I didnt crash trying to get a closer look at her like!

I didnt lose it per say, it had a chance to pass the traffic coming the other way I didnt, I am sure I will see it again as I am always around D4.

Got another call, I owe 160, this is a bit of a dose tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Got another call, I owe 160, this is a bit of a dose tbh.

:(

:(

Thats half the feckin value of the thing, that's scandalous.

Wasn't it supposed to be like 21% or something?

OSI wrote: »
    They'll add processing fees and import duties for the giggles to.

This. Apparently what she originally told me was just VAT. Sad face.

Does the ad here seem okay to ye guys? Anything obvious I'm overlooking?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/06-peugeot-407-sx-tax-nct-leather/8444278

I reckon with all I've done with it, it's due some hassle-free motoring for a while (so I'm not overly pushed if no one wants to buy it as I think I'm in the clear for a while yet, anyway). That said, if someone comes to look at it, at least I can sell it guilt-free knowing that there's no real issues with it.

As for me, much as it'll kill me - I don't really need a car at the moment. So I think I'll hold off and do a bit of walking in the meantime (until the need arises to actually have a car).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Don't give the free advice, get a nicer background and get rid of the clutter on the windscreen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

It's a well presented ad but cut out half the text. People aren't interested in your life story, just get the points across without any waffle. Try using bullet points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Take a picture of the engine too, maybe its just me but i like to see the engine too

I'm contemplating a set of these for the birthday, 19" hirsch alloys, because why not

You can get them in silver too

200vjsy.jpg

They'll look better in black.

We've had this argument before remember :pac: I'm not really pushed colour wise, i just like the style of them

Don't give the free advice, get a nicer background and get rid of the clutter on the windscreen.

By 'free advice' are you referring to the sentence about the heater fix being expensive? (it's not really meant as 'free advice', more meant in a 'another reason to by my car' kinda tone..).

Maybe it does come across as a bit dick-ish though?

Big Nasty wrote: »
    It's a well presented ad but cut out half the text. People aren't interested in your life story, just get the points across without any waffle. Try using bullet points.

Every paragraph is directly related to the car itself, though... :confused::(

Would most agree with that? (that it's too long-winded). I personally prefer longer descriptions for this kinda stuff, so not sure if I'd feel good cutting it down too much. Unless the general consensus is that it's unnecessarily long (in which case I'll happily acknowledge I'm wrong).

Re: photos. I won't be near it til tomorrow with the camera as it's dark out now. Never thought to photograph the engine bay. Will give that a whirl tomorrow, too.

Cheers for the feedback guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

@kkv

The ads is fairly good. But as said just say something like heater flaps, lcd screen, battery and glow plugs recently replaced no need for the advice or how its a common problem. Maybe it just me but although the car is very clean looking them pictures do absolutely nothing for it if I was looking for one and seen it Id keep flicking old Tarmac and concrete walls litter around the car. You just need to find a decent background and take some nice pictures which given your profession I'm sure will be easy enough for you.

If it has a spare key you could mention that too.
    Best of luck with the sale.

Seen that, it's fecked, i have my sources ;)
    Certainly is fecked
    50 grand and no test drives allowed? Something seriously up!

Here you go mr wallet inspector, take my money!

Certainly is fecked

Ah well! someone somewhere will buy it, as i once heard someone say "a fool and his money are soon parting" :rolleyes:

Certainly is fecked

50k car on Rota's of all wheels as well, might as well be Wolfrace :pac:

Ah well! someone somewhere will buy it, as i once heard someone say "a fool and his money are soon parting" :rolleyes:
    Normally I am that fool. So i know it all too well.
    50k car on Rota's of all wheels as well, might as well be Wolfrace :pac:

I dont understand why it is a 50k car, I've never seen skylines (even the GTR ones) go for anything near that. Is it just the mods?