Paddy Barnes- MBE

Royalty in principle sucks ass alright.

However, if a nation chooses to observe one & chooses it as a mechanism of honouring its best, who are you to sh*t all over that?

Nations will chose their own ways, you don't have to like it..... so don't worry.

Of course if a nation decides to keep royalty that is their business,i never said otherwise.what i said is that its my opinion that it is a disgusting practice.the people who pander to these people wont care one way or another what i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Why people give so many ****s bewilders me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Disgusting little bastard IMO.. Unforgivable in my books.

Enjoy your Pimms with 'Sir' Bob Geldof ya little tosser.

On the other hand, its funny to see the knuckle draggers have a hernia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Rory McIlroy got one in 2011, it is given in recognition for achievement in sport which Paddy Barnes damn well deserves, it's not a call to arms or conscription into the British Army, if you look up many UK sports stars CBE,MBE,OBE etc will appear after their names but has anyone every heard Rory McIlroy MBE when they hear his name on tv, probably not, I don't remember hearing it said ever myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Axel Lamp

Fair Play to him, as he is a citizen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland he is entitled to it. Never mind that GFA bullshoite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 beat root

I'm a big fan of Paddy Barnes, but surprised he accepted an mbe (medal of the most excellent British empire). Needless to say, the British empire was built on the subjugation of people's all over the world, something that Paddy is obviously aware off. Any allusions to Empire are a relic of unglorious British history. Not wanting to be associated with it seems a principled stance as opposed to overt republicanism. I'm with Seams Heaney on this one "be advised my passport's green. None of ours ever raised a glass to toast the queen "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

However, if a nation chooses to observe [royalty] & chooses [royalty] as a mechanism of honouring its best, who are you to sh*t all over that?

Amusing to see 'royalty' and 'choose' in the same sentence.

Royalty, by its very nature, is antithetical to citizens choosing anything.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 423 ✭✭The Bould Rabbit

Karl Stein wrote: »

Really ?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Australian_republic_referendum,_1999

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,086 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Mick Conlan (his fellow Belfast Boxer) started the banter off himself almost immediately the little fecker :) - two great Irish lads!

https://twitter.com/mickconlan11/status/550069338682953728

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Such as?

It's after the fact.

The starting point, which is considered normal, is to have a royal as head of state. It's not a vote on whether to endow a particular bloodline with such privileges because that would be considered absurd.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Dublin Red Devil

He shouldn't have accepted it. For me he is no longer Irish. The British can have him, He's an average fighter at best, Not a hope of beating anyone relevent at flyweight, he'll never be a champion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

If the Brits didn't want a royal family as head of state, they would have made that choice at some point over the last several centuries.

Ditto goes for the Japanese, Swedes, Spaniards, Dutch, Belgians, Danes.... etc.

If may not be your cup of tea, but don't think there isn't endorsement amongst the peoples of these countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Kalyke

beat root wrote: »
    I'm a big fan of Paddy Barnes, but surprised he accepted an mbe (medal of the most excellent British empire). Needless to say, the British empire was built on the subjugation of people's all over the world, something that Paddy is obviously aware off. Any allusions to Empire are a relic of unglorious British history. Not wanting to be associated with it seems a principled stance as opposed to overt republicanism. I'm with Seams Heaney on this one "be advised my passport's green. None of ours ever raised a glass to toast the queen "

Ironic that he ACTUALLY did...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭h2005

He shouldn't have accepted it. For me he is no longer Irish. The British can have him, He's an average fighter at best, Not a hope of beating anyone relevent at flyweight, he'll never be a champion.

He's Irish. Current Commonwealth Champion too. So wrong on both counts. How do you win World Championships and medal in multiple Olympics without beating anyone relevant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

beat root wrote: »

Ah, yes good old "Seams" Heaney, a great man for th'oul green passports, knew his father, "Hems", a right ballo)(, preferred the pink passports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

My reaction thus:

Note to the don't care don't post nazis: replay the clip for my reaction to your post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Is that Red Devil as in Manchester United?

h2005 wrote: »
    He's Irish. Current Commonwealth Champion too. So wrong on both counts. How do you win World Championships and medal in multiple Olympics without beating anyone relevant?

Why didn't he box for Britain at the Olympics then if he's a member of the British empire? Those Olympic medals for a foreign country (Ireland) are now tainted, He never won anything at world championship level,

He will never win anything at professional level

Would't last 5 sec in the ring with Roman Gonzalez

Why didn't he box for Britain at the Olympics then if he's a member of the British empire? Those Olympic medals for a foreign country (Ireland) are now tainted, He never won anything at world championship level,

He will never win anything at professional level

Would't last 5 sec in the ring with Roman Gonzalez

Ffs at least Google what he's won before you come on here spouting utter bollocks.

Ireland has plenty of fighters to support.

Katie Taylor - Best female boxer in the world. Andy Lee - World Middleweight champion

More Irish should get behind JJ Nevin. His prospects are good at Junior lightweight. If he keeps improving he could be in the mix for world titles in the near future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Katie Taylor - Best female boxer in the world. Andy Lee - World Middleweight champion

More Irish should get behind JJ Nevin. His prospects are good at Junior lightweight. If he keeps improving he could be in the mix for world titles in the near future

Why do you support an English soccer team? Seems bizarre given your clearly strong anti-british sentiments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

I have found it invaluable advice in life to keep behind trained boxers. Being in front of them is unpleasant.

If the Brits didn't want a royal family as head of state, they would have made that choice at some point over the last several centuries.

I don't think they'd have had a choice in the matter in centuries passed just as they don't now in Saudi Arabia. It is true our species has progressed to a point in history where we can choose to disregard people, with no discernible talents or achievements, who inherit head-of-state status by bloodline.
    If may not be your cup of tea, but don't think there isn't endorsement amongst the peoples of these countries.

Thankfully it's largely ceremonial and these people don't have the power they once wielded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Why do you support an English soccer team? Seems bizarre given your clearly strong anti-british sentiments.

Define English soccer team?? Most of the ones in the Premiership are owned by sheiks, Americans, and Russians. Have multicultural squads and see European glory as bigger than English.

A team whose home ground is in England. Are you seriously saying that Man United aren't an English club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭onlyme!

"Thats not my flag" but i'll take a medal if its going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,192 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It was his choice to accept it, doesn't make him any less Irish and it was a bit low someone on the thread to call him British when he clearly doesn't see himself as a Brit.

Same as it was a personal decision by James McClean not to wear a poppy, but the West Brits were very quick to jump all over him about it.

h2005 wrote: »
    A team whose home ground is in England. Are you seriously saying that Man United aren't an English club?

Although based in England they're very much an international brand/team these days. How many people from Manchester actually play for MU?