Paddy Barnes- MBE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Ferriter

biko wrote: »
    If he's willing to accept it then fair play to him.

Accept what? What we have now? A genuine feeling of peace? That most profound of human emotions. To raise a family in a town where I don't worry about dropping my kids off to school? Where I can even allow myself to be proud about being from Ulster? Where I can marry a girl from Galway and not have to feel bad about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Is he the blind black traveler lad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Ferriter wrote: »
    The man is Irish at the end of the day.

Yep.
    He's also British.

Nah, that's utter bullshit. Barnes has never claimed he's British nor fought for Britain or lived there afaia. If the guy was forced to choose to fight for Ireland or Britain he most certainly wouldn't choose Britain. Here you go in case you missed it the first time.
    "I am a proud Irish sportsman, a proud sportsman from Belfast and I take great pride in representing everyone in Ireland, north and south, in whatever way I can.

Paddy Barnes

No mention at all of Britain. More of an all Ireland man I reckon.
    He boxed in a club that would have shot him 30 years ago.

Isn't he lucky that the club he boxed for didn't murder him for being a taig.

Get out 'new' guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Ferriter

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Yep.

Nah, that's utter bullshit. Barnes has never claimed he's British nor fought for Britain. If the guy was forced to choose to fight for Ireland or Britain he'd most certainly wouldn't choose Britain. Here you go in case you missed it the first time.

No mention at all of Britain. More of an all Ireland man I reckon.

Isn't he lucky that the club he boxed for didn't murder him for being a taig.

Get out.

He boxed for a club that really started to dwell more about talent than where they came from. Still happening up here. Losing them to the UFC stuff these days. Have a pint. It's all about the ego. They want to feel special to their heritage

God wouldn't it be awful if the sultan of Galgamesh offered you a silicon Dkimbalasga and when you said "thanks very much" a bunch of people commented on it and said you were **** because because. Sure who doesn't like a Dkimbalasga? If someone offered me a snickers ice cream I'd be only delighted. 'Tis only polite to accept I would have thought?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 423 ✭✭The Bould Rabbit

strobe wrote: »
    Is he the blind black traveler lad?
    God wouldn't it be awful if the sultan of Galgamesh offered you a silicon Dkimbalasga and when you said "thanks very much" a bunch of people commented on I and said you were shot because because. Sure who doesn't like a Dkimbalasga? If someone offered me a snickers ice cream I'd be only delighted. 'Tis only polite to accept I would have thought?

Go to bed Strobe. You're pissed.

Tomorrow is another long night.

Go to bed Strobe. You're pissed.

Tomorrow is another long night.

Read it closelier.

Edit: For the love of Christ, how is this a thing?

Ferriter wrote: »
    He boxed for a club that really started to dwell more about talent than where they came from. Still happening up here. Losing them to the UFC stuff these days. Have a pint. It's all about the ego. They want to feel special to their heritage

You know I'm really flattered that you took the time to register as a 'new' 'contributor' and address me by the first name of my moniker.

I feel sorry for you.

Read it closelier.

I did. You're dead right too. You can stay up for another hour so. And I want a Snickers bar now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I don't see the issue with a man taking a ceremonial award from the Head of State in the country he was born.

Then I'd suggest you read a history book. You don't have to agree with a position to understand where it's coming from.
    This is progression. The outrage is as a result of ego.

Oh bollocks. You and your type would be falling over yourselves to tell us what outdated sh!te this is if it were Ireland giving out such ceremonial titles bequeathing membership of a now dead empire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Kind of in a bind really if he refused the award it would bring a **** storm down on him, meaningless title either way, Barry McGuigan has one too.

If he refused, nobody would ever have to know unless he chose to make it public himself. The British Government don't publish lists of those who turn down such awards. Nor do they ever comment about those who go public about doing so.

As for the title being meaningless, you could say that about quite a lot of awards.

The tabloid papers alway get wind of anyone that refuses these types of awards, the fleg brigade would jump on something like this too seeing as he is from Belfast.

Re-tweeted by Paddy Barnes it appears.
    Michael Conlan ✔ @mickconlan11
    Congrats @paddyb_ireland that good at boxing another country wanna give you an award!!! Lol #fairplay #mbe #sirpat
    Retweeted by Paddy Barnes

twitter.com/paddyb_ireland

The tabloid papers alway get wind of anyone that refuses these types of awards, the fleg brigade would jump on something like this too seeing as he is from Belfast.

When was the last time any newspaper led with a story about someone refusing a gong?

There are more pages or articles in any paper than the headline...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

MBE

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (MBE)

What a ridiculous title.

Isn't it a bit mad how progress involves accepting a medieval award?

And madder still that the people on whose behalf it's being awarded have no discernible talents or achievements. Their achievements amount to having been born into privilege and opulence yet they are tasked with handing out awards to people who are genuinely talented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

MBE

What a ridiculous title.

Agreed. It should be 'Bodacious'. Not 'Most Excellent'.

Or 'Rad'. Rad would be bodacious. And most excellent.

Dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Isn't the MBE the lowest class of award, you know the token award for cleaning ladies and dustmen in the community sort of stuff.

I'd send it back with a note, knighthood or shove it up yer hole!

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Isn't the MBE the lowest class of award, you know the token award for cleaning ladies and dustmen in the community sort of stuff.

I'd send it back with a note, knighthood or shove it up yer hole!

Arise, Sir Jimoslimos!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Member of the most excellent order of the British empire (MBE)

Lol. These feckers are still stuck in the dark ages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Member of the most excellent order of the British empire (MBE)

Lol. These feckers are still stuck in the dark ages.

Yes, much better to do it the Irish way.

I don't see the issue with a man taking a ceremonial award from the Head of State in the country he was born. I'm sure Andrew Trimble will do the same next year as a result of Ireland getting to the final of the WRC. Both will have represented Ireland.

This is progression. The outrage is as a result of ego.

Its not progression,its all pretentious nonsense.these ceremonies are belittling imo.i would love to be in a position someday to be invited to an award of one of these medals....just so i could have the opportunity to tell them to stick their award where the sun dont shine!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

So he gets a gaudy looking medal, a day out in the big city and presumably some kind of a fancy meal. And people are twisting their undergarments because of this why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

P_1 wrote: »
    So he gets a gaudy looking medal, a day out in the big city and presumably some kind of a fancy meal. And people are twisting their undergarments because of this why?

Because 800 years, apparently.

P_1 wrote: »

You are obviously missing the point of what this whole ceremony represents
    Its not just about a day out and a medal.its about royalty keeping the mere mortals aware that they are still around and giving the recipient a pat on the head and telling him he is a good little boy,metaphorical description,but i,m just making a point.i detest royalty and all the trappings that come with it, and before anyone accuses me of being anti british,that is not the case.i detest ALL royalty all over the globe.imo it has no place in a modern world,its disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

You are obviously missing the point of what this whole ceremony represents
    Its not just about a day out and a medal.its about royalty keeping the mere mortals aware that they are still around and giving the recipient a pat on the head and telling him he is a good little boy,metaphorical description,but i,m just making a point.i detest royalty and all the trappings that come with it, and before anyone accuses me of being anti british,that is not the case.i detest ALL royalty all over the globe.imo it has no place in a modern world,its disgusting.

Royalty in principle sucks ass alright.

However, if a nation chooses to observe one & chooses it as a mechanism of honouring its best, who are you to sh*t all over that?

Nations will chose their own ways, you don't have to like it..... so don't worry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

He won Commwealth Gold medal for NI. He is entitled to be honoured. Fair play to him.