Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paddy Barnes- MBE

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 423 ✭✭The Bould Rabbit

Fair play to him. Well deserved. But I reckon this is gonna gick up a shítstorm of Poppy Day proportions around here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Fair play to him. The usual lads that are still stuck in the dark ages will give him a tough time I reckon. Especially in Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fair play to him. Well deserved. But I reckon this is gonna gick up a shítstorm of Poppy Day proportions around here.

I don't see why. The Barnes' have been mending bridges in England for decades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭dasdog

In fairness he's a good boxer. Dunno if he could handle professional punches but he's quick but that enshrines everything that's stupid about a merit system because you are mostly from somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Leave Daniel O'Donnell out of it !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Disgusting little bastard IMO.. Unforgivable in my books.

Enjoy your Pimms with 'Sir' Bob Geldof ya little tosser.

And we're off..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Not sure if serious?

Barnes' acceptance of a meaningless ceremonial medal (compared with an Olympic medal) no more makes him British than being born in a stable made Jesus a horse.

Indeed he's taken the time to underscore that he's Irish and doing it in respect of inspiring and uniting people in Ireland regardless of their politics.
    "I am a proud Irish sportsman, a proud sportsman from Belfast and I take great pride in representing everyone in Ireland, north and south, in whatever way I can.

If my achievements in boxing can inspire others and people can be united through sport, then my efforts will have been worthwhile."

independent.ie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

That escalated quickly!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Not sure why, but I literally laughed out loud at that!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

I dont think he was joking, which is why I reported his post.

He was...

I on the other hand, am disappointed in his decision to accept the award. Though I wouldn't go so far as to call him disgusting or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I don't see the issue with a man taking a ceremonial award from the Head of State in the country he was born. I'm sure Andrew Trimble will do the same next year as a result of Ireland getting to the final of the WRC. Both will have represented Ireland.

This is progression. The outrage is as a result of ego.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

In before "the 26 counties".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

I guess the anthem he wanted that time was God Save the Queen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

He should have declined. Contrary to the fore-lock tucking opinions that have become popular in Ireland recently, it is entirely possible to decline such an honour without causing offence in anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

porsche959 wrote: »
    He should have declined. Contrary to the fore-lock tucking opinions that have become popular in Ireland recently, it is entirely possible to decline such an honour without causing offence in anyway.
    Many people have, you get quietly asked months before the list is published.

I'd actually be willing to bet that Bob Geldof never drank Pimms in his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Delighted for him. Time to move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Good for him. Nice honour to receive. People who hurl insults around about this are pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I think he is entitled to decide himself.

He certainly doesnt owe the bitter morons from either side anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Steve_Carella

What British Empire?

I don't see the issue with a man taking a ceremonial award from the Head of State in the country he was born.

For the benefit of the readers of this thread Paddy Barnes is fully entitled to consider the President of Ireland (not President of the ROI) as his head of state. Heck, he's even entitled to run to be the President of Ireland if he so wishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

MBE
    Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (MBE)

What a ridiculous title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭MikeSD

He was...

I on the other hand, am disappointed in his decision to accept the award. Though I wouldn't go so far as to call him disgusting or anything.

I'm sure he's bothered that you're disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

What British Empire?

The sun never sets in Chelmsford

Oh no wait.. those are police helicopters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

Recognition for an Irish man from a country that hated us as mych as we hated them. I think we should be proud of that. Not outraged.

What British Empire?

The one that no longer exists. Its an honourary title. Most people get that though.
    MBE

What a ridiculous title.

That maybe so, but its theirs and they have every right to give it any silly name they want.

Acceptance of the award doesn't mean you have to be on standby to go shooting Boers in the morning if the Queen phones you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Ferriter

Karl Stein wrote: »
    For the benefit of the readers of this thread Paddy Barnes is fully entitled to consider the President of Ireland (not President of the ROI) as his head of state. Heck, he's even entitled to run to be the President of Ireland if he so wishes.

I'm sure most posters are aware that Paddy can accept his MBE and still become the President of Ireland. The man is Irish at the end of the day. He's also British. He represented both codes as a great amateur boxer. To do that he never had to dwell on the ego on his 'nationality', and more on his sport. A fine sport. He boxed in a club that would have shot him 30 years ago.

Karl, we need to drop the ego. Let Paddy have his MBE. Let Rory represent Ireland. This is progress. Acceptance. We can only live in the present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If he's willing to accept it then fair play to him.

Glad for Margaret Aspinall too who gets an award in recognition for the work of the Hillsborough Families in the Justice for the 96 Campaign.

biko wrote: »
    If he's willing to accept it then fair play to him.

Accept what? What we have now? A genuine feeling of peace? That most profound of human emotions. To raise a family in a town where I don't worry about dropping my kids off to school? Where I can even allow myself to be proud about being from Ulster? Where I can marry a girl from Galway and not have to feel bad about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Is he the blind black traveler lad?

Ferriter wrote: »
    The man is Irish at the end of the day.

Yep.
    He's also British.

Nah, that's utter bullshit. Barnes has never claimed he's British nor fought for Britain or lived there afaia. If the guy was forced to choose to fight for Ireland or Britain he most certainly wouldn't choose Britain. Here you go in case you missed it the first time.
    "I am a proud Irish sportsman, a proud sportsman from Belfast and I take great pride in representing everyone in Ireland, north and south, in whatever way I can.

Paddy Barnes

No mention at all of Britain. More of an all Ireland man I reckon.
    He boxed in a club that would have shot him 30 years ago.

Isn't he lucky that the club he boxed for didn't murder him for being a taig.

Get out 'new' guy.

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Yep.

Nah, that's utter bullshit. Barnes has never claimed he's British nor fought for Britain. If the guy was forced to choose to fight for Ireland or Britain he'd most certainly wouldn't choose Britain. Here you go in case you missed it the first time.

No mention at all of Britain. More of an all Ireland man I reckon.

Isn't he lucky that the club he boxed for didn't murder him for being a taig.

Get out.

He boxed for a club that really started to dwell more about talent than where they came from. Still happening up here. Losing them to the UFC stuff these days. Have a pint. It's all about the ego. They want to feel special to their heritage

God wouldn't it be awful if the sultan of Galgamesh offered you a silicon Dkimbalasga and when you said "thanks very much" a bunch of people commented on it and said you were **** because because. Sure who doesn't like a Dkimbalasga? If someone offered me a snickers ice cream I'd be only delighted. 'Tis only polite to accept I would have thought?

strobe wrote: »
    Is he the blind black traveler lad?
    God wouldn't it be awful if the sultan of Galgamesh offered you a silicon Dkimbalasga and when you said "thanks very much" a bunch of people commented on I and said you were shot because because. Sure who doesn't like a Dkimbalasga? If someone offered me a snickers ice cream I'd be only delighted. 'Tis only polite to accept I would have thought?

Go to bed Strobe. You're pissed.

Tomorrow is another long night.

Go to bed Strobe. You're pissed.

Tomorrow is another long night.

Read it closelier.

Edit: For the love of Christ, how is this a thing?

Ferriter wrote: »
    He boxed for a club that really started to dwell more about talent than where they came from. Still happening up here. Losing them to the UFC stuff these days. Have a pint. It's all about the ego. They want to feel special to their heritage

You know I'm really flattered that you took the time to register as a 'new' 'contributor' and address me by the first name of my moniker.

I feel sorry for you.

Read it closelier.

I did. You're dead right too. You can stay up for another hour so. And I want a Snickers bar now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I don't see the issue with a man taking a ceremonial award from the Head of State in the country he was born.

Then I'd suggest you read a history book. You don't have to agree with a position to understand where it's coming from.
    This is progression. The outrage is as a result of ego.

Oh bollocks. You and your type would be falling over yourselves to tell us what outdated sh!te this is if it were Ireland giving out such ceremonial titles bequeathing membership of a now dead empire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Kind of in a bind really if he refused the award it would bring a **** storm down on him, meaningless title either way, Barry McGuigan has one too.

If he refused, nobody would ever have to know unless he chose to make it public himself. The British Government don't publish lists of those who turn down such awards. Nor do they ever comment about those who go public about doing so.

As for the title being meaningless, you could say that about quite a lot of awards.

The tabloid papers alway get wind of anyone that refuses these types of awards, the fleg brigade would jump on something like this too seeing as he is from Belfast.

Re-tweeted by Paddy Barnes it appears.
    Michael Conlan ✔ @mickconlan11
    Congrats @paddyb_ireland that good at boxing another country wanna give you an award!!! Lol #fairplay #mbe #sirpat
    Retweeted by Paddy Barnes

twitter.com/paddyb_ireland

The tabloid papers alway get wind of anyone that refuses these types of awards, the fleg brigade would jump on something like this too seeing as he is from Belfast.

When was the last time any newspaper led with a story about someone refusing a gong?

There are more pages or articles in any paper than the headline...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,575 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

MBE

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (MBE)

What a ridiculous title.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Isn't it a bit mad how progress involves accepting a medieval award?

And madder still that the people on whose behalf it's being awarded have no discernible talents or achievements. Their achievements amount to having been born into privilege and opulence yet they are tasked with handing out awards to people who are genuinely talented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

MBE

What a ridiculous title.

Agreed. It should be 'Bodacious'. Not 'Most Excellent'.

Or 'Rad'. Rad would be bodacious. And most excellent.

Dude.