Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

dgt wrote: »
    Mon dieu monsieur CHP, just reminds me I'm out if a beverage up here! Funny I also saw another boardsie on the way up here too :D

Now would that be an invite for me to do your beer shopping for you? :pac:
    Albeit a very clan-destine one!

Lads just saw this while browsing.
    What a hell of a lot of car for the money!

(not mine, no connection whatsoever)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/honda-legend-3-5i-v6-auto-only-64000/8316586

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Now would that be an invite for me to do your beer shopping for you? :pac:
    Albeit a very clan-destine one!

Ah jaypers yer grand! I'm stopping in Jonesboro on the way home for booze :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,407 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Anyone? [...]

In old cars (especially the ones with carburettor), if it won't start it's either no fuel or no spark - I'd start from here. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Lads just saw this while browsing.
    What a hell of a lot of car for the money!

(not mine, no connection whatsoever)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/honda-legend-3-5i-v6-auto-only-64000/8316586

90% sure a buddy of mine owned that. Very thirsty car. Far worse consumption than the 735 I had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Just when you thought you seen it all. Neighbours battery was flat completely we have a halfords portable jump starter and it almost started the car but not quite as it needed to be charged as it was sitting in the shed. So neighbour says don't worry his friend is on the way with a van and jump leads. Door knocks 5 minutes latter friends van had battery under the floor in the van so they said could I bring my golf and give him a jump I said grand.

Drive up to see said friend going to attempt to connect the two vehicles with a T+E 2.5mm square (a socket cable) ie just touch the copper of each battery with a cable with no clamps and a very undersize piece of cables. I took out my halfords set of 25mm square jump Leads and said we will use these. Obviously all was good from then but just the thoughts that someone was quite will to jump a car that way and not see any consequences is scary.

Thats a darwin award right there

Well I tell you he wasnt putting that cable near my car but if he could have accessed his battery he would have attempted to jump it that way. I would of lent him my cable if I had known his plan but when he said he had jump cables. Some peoples definition of jump cables is very broad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

joujoujou wrote: »
    In old cars (especially the ones with carburettor), if it won't start it's either no fuel or no spark - I'd start from here. :)

All sparks. Dizzy cap is working. Turning over fast.

I'll buy a can of easy start and work from there.

It can only be fuel, air or sparks :)

That leaves me with the carb!

Dopey f*cks. Dopey f*cks everywhere.

Thats 3 separate people asking for bits. I ask is that exactly what you need/ year/engine/ petril or dayyysel? Of course surely.

All wrong cars or engines. Somehow, its my fault... :mad:

Miserable Monday living up to its reputation... Roll on booze time

Dopey f*cks. Dopey f*cks everywhere.

Thats 3 separate people asking for bits. I ask is that exactly what you need/ year/engine/ petril or dayyysel? Of course surely.

All wrong cars or engines. Somehow, its my fault... :mad:

Miserable Monday living up to its reputation... Roll on booze time
    I second that one.
    I hate working christmas week. Dark leaving in the morning, dark leaving work in the evening. Everyone in a p!ss of a mood hurried to get the shopping done or get stuff signed off as complete before "the holiday season" or "the festive weekend" - gotta love american companies, anything possible not to say christmas!

Bah Fcuking Humbug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

I second that one.
    I hate working christmas week. Dark leaving in the morning, dark leaving work in the evening. Everyone in a p!ss of a mood hurried to get the shopping done or get stuff signed off as complete before "the holiday season" or "the festive weekend" - gotta love american companies, anything possible not to say christmas!

Bah Fcuking Humbug.

What I hate about Christmas at work is....
    The overly enthusiastic colleague who won't shut the **** up about Christmas, and how cold their hands are, and how "jaysus, its dark out already and its only 4, sure isn't that mad"

I'm probably guilty of the last one to be fair IMO.
    But sure if I do it it's protection for the rust of the people that work here imo :pac:

Well, at least there was one hell of a stretch of daylight this evening :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I actually can't believe that I don't have this issue with my work. I am getting **** faced tonight at staff party and I am working tomorrow at 6:00. That's going to be interesting to say the least lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Pure face palm moment.
    We were given a free home entertainment system a couple of months ago.
    Tis a bit old and I bought a new LG tv and hadn't thought that it wouldn't be compatible. I just couldn't get the speakers to work with the TV or satelite.
    Anyway, after trying for fecking ages to get the bastard set up and spent over the last couple of days 30 odd quid on optical cables, scarts etc I finally realised........

That I hadn't fookin connected the aux jack to the tv....
    Some gob****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

bear1 wrote: »
    Pure face palm moment.
    We were given a free home entertainment system a couple of months ago.
    Tis a bit old and I bought a new LG tv and hadn't thought that it wouldn't be compatible. I just couldn't get the speakers to work with the TV or satelite.
    Anyway, after trying for fecking ages to get the bastard set up and spent over the last couple of days 30 odd quid on optical cables, scarts etc I finally realised........

That I hadn't fookin connected the aux jack to the tv....
    Some gob****e.

I bet you had an epic /facepalm moment. :D

Had some of those today too... We have a sound bar yoke at work and we use our phones with bluetooth to play music.
    Today it was not working at all... Spent some time checking my phone, sound bar it self, then the electricity socket... Nothing worked. Then just started to look at cabling it self... Someone managed to put mains cable in to aux instead of proper socket.... Someone is genius lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Mycroft H wrote: »
    All sparks. Dizzy cap is working. Turning over fast.

I'll buy a can of easy start and work from there.

It can only be fuel, air or sparks :)

That leaves me with the carb!

I've spent the day wondering why I had starting issues with my BX after changing the spark plugs. I never checked them while swapping over and it turns out the new ones go slightly deeper into the engine. Balls. Serves me right for not checking first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Got my spare rad pressured and flow checked today off a lovely guy in kilcock radiators, All for the lovley sum of 0 moneys :D

Now to just find time to lob it into the car

R.O.R wrote: »
    Still going strong, and it still thinks your D-Max is a touch effeminate

SnowMobile_zps40f12d87.jpg

Needs moar lift though.

Is that your own?

Can I ask, is it pricy to get them lifted? and can a single lift kit only go on one way or are they adaptable (for example, I think there's a thing called coilovers people use on lowering their cars? But they can be adjusted and aren't a 'set' height).

Or what way does it generally work?

I remember doing a quick google about it when I had the Rav4 (although i never really intended to do anything with the Rav, it was more curiousity). And there seemed to be about half a million different ways of achieving the one, fairly straight forward, goal. :confused:

My mum was on it me to clean her car for the last few days you know because you couldn't have a dirty car for Christmas :pac:but it was booked in for a service today in clonmel so I went up with her. They serviced it and too my delight cleaned it so that's me of the hook :) she also got a free winter car set for the car de Icer, scraper all the usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I need to clean mine. It's filthy... hasn't been cleaned in about a month. :(

I think I'll try do it tomorrow morning.

Dord wrote: »
    I need to clean mine. It's filthy... hasn't been cleaned in about a month. :(

I think I'll try do it tomorrow morning.

Mine is durrrtier than Mrs 166 senior, but it's nyyyaaaavan and if I did wash it, it;d be covered in duuuurt an hour later!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Mine is durrrtier than Mrs 166 senior, but it's nyyyaaaavan and if I did wash it, it;d be covered in duuuurt an hour later!

Ah shuuuur a daysuuul neeeds to be duurrty laaad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Lads,

I know it's only the 23rd but i come and go on here for days sometimes.

Just want to say happy Christmas to you all, you're a great bunch on here. Seen a great response to my troubles lately, your help was definitely appreciated :)

I hope i was a help to someone during the year :)

All the best to you and yours,
    YbFocus.

YbFocus wrote: »
    Lads,

I know it's only the 23rd but i come and go on here for days sometimes.

Just want to say happy Christmas to you all, you're a great bunch on here. Seen a great response to my troubles lately, your help was definitely appreciated :)

I hope i was a help to someone during the year :)

All the best to you and yours,
    YbFocus.

Someone spotted the "poster of the year" thread :p
    Have a safe xmas to you too! And to everyone else on here as well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

bear1 wrote: »
    Someone spotted the "poster of the year" thread :p
    Have a safe xmas to you too! And to everyone else on here as well :)

Genuinely never seen it :)
    Thought it wasn't being done this year!

Don't think it is, I just saw someone mentioning it. But if there is then I deserve cause I'm great. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

happy christmas to all here and thanks for all the help and laughs given throughout the year:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

I'm looking forward to the inevitable "Look what Santa brought" thread,
    though its likely to be the usual air fresheners and autoglym rather than crate hemi's and purrari's

Its a bit late for this year but a secret santa pool would be an interesting idea.
    Some car related stuff for random posters for about a tenner.