Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Sobanek wrote: »
    Raced a VXR8 today :D

On a closed course of course :p

How did you get on? Was it a red vxr ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

davycc wrote: »
    How did you get on? Was it a red vxr ?

Black! He wasn't trying is my best guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Sobanek wrote: »
    Black! He wasn't trying is my best guess.

Forgot to ask...were you in e38 or e46 ?

E46 I'm assuming, as 750 hopefully would have walked all over the Holden, especially at motorway speeds...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

E46 of course!

davycc wrote: »

E46 I'm assuming, as 750 hopefully would have walked all over the Holden, especially at motorway speeds...?

I'm not a great one for stats etc, but surely in a straight line the Holden is faster? On paper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,247 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Augeo wrote: »
    I'm not a great one for stats etc, but surely in a straight line the Holden is faster? On paper

If you were both doing 120 then decided to make it a race id say the v12 would have enough go left to out-accelerate the holden for a bit

Sure who wants a fast car when you could have something like this instead!

9D6FAEDCF569462B97F6BE0793B43D85-0000333410-0003706969-00378L-A1E9E0627907442991DE4F932072AEBF.jpg

(looks like a radio controlled toy in the main photo!).

I'm definitely buying an SUV or jeep sometime in the future and lifting the bollocks out of it and slapping silly big 4x4 wheels on it. I'd say they're great craic to wobble around in. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,247 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Sure who wants a fast car when you could have something like this instead!

9D6FAEDCF569462B97F6BE0793B43D85-0000333410-0003706969-00378L-A1E9E0627907442991DE4F932072AEBF.jpg

(looks like a radio controlled toy in the main photo!).

I'm definitely buying an SUV or jeep sometime in the future and lifting the bollocks out of it and slapping silly big 4x4 wheels on it. I'd say they're great craic to wobble around in. :D

If you want to go down that route your best off buying an isuzu d-max , its the same as a chevy colorado in the US where theyre lift mad, so kits would be a lot easier to get than some of the other 4x4s around

Well at least they're reliable. This one's still going strong for it's age!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/isuzu-d-max-2-5-litre-diesel/8224928

In all seriousness it'd probably be a few years before I ever do it (it'll probably be my midlife crisis) but it's definitely on the to do list. I'd say they cost an arm and a leg to run though (bigger, wheels, big engine etc. i'd say they're not exactly economical! :o ). But sure that's half the fun, I suppose! :D

I didn't know the m7 was a closed track? :P

The M7. The M FCUKING 7!!!!!! Bane of my life, the Dublin part anyway. Sorry lads but what is with the panic attack that some drivers get around the Naas area leaving Dublin? Testing the brakes? Making sure the right foot is still awake? Was in Dublin over the weekend (again) and knew I had the dreaded 15 mins spin between Newlands cross and Naas on the way home. BRAKE ACCELERATOR BRAKE ACCELERATOR BRAKE ACCELERATOR on a bloody motorway (most of it)! And no, I wasn't driving too fast. /rant :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

The M7. The M FCUKING 7!!!!!! Bane of my life, the Dublin part anyway. Sorry lads but what is with the panic attack that some drivers get around the Naas area leaving Dublin? Testing the brakes? Making sure the right foot is still awake? Was in Dublin over the weekend (again) and knew I had the dreaded 15 mins spin between Newlands cross and Naas on the way home. BRAKE ACCELERATOR BRAKE ACCELERATOR BRAKE ACCELERATOR on a bloody motorway (most of it)! And no, I wasn't driving too fast. /rant :mad:

See the trick is to be an utter cnut to them all, and bully them out of the way and let you get on with actually driving

I hear the high horse brigade coming already but sure! :rolleyes:

What time were ye leaving at? Might have had something to do with it if it was around 4/5 it's everyone getting confused down at the m7/9 change...which is impressive as it's signed for miles before hand

Also I think my car is dying slowly but surely :(

See the trick is to be an utter cnut to them all, and bully them out of the way and let you get on with actually driving

I hear the high horse brigade coming already but sure! :rolleyes:

What time were ye leaving at? Might have had something to do with it if it was around 4/5 it's everyone getting confused down at the m7/9 change...which is impressive as it's signed for miles before hand

Also I think my car is dying slowly but surely :(

Ah I wouldn't be too much of a cnut on the road....most of the time. Although I will admit that I have lost the rag with certain people to the point that I probably should have ended up in court :o Not really proud of those moments.

Left Tallaght around lunch time so was back in West Limerick at about 3:45ish. Cruise control set at 75-80mph the whole way down (after the dreaded Naas part) so did it in good time. No confusion on my part anyway but there was a bucket load of UK and NI cars (from all walks of life) travelling south. All heading home for Christmas I'd assume. We'll blame them anyway :p

Awh no. Any idea what the problem is? I spotted your remap post. I've the same feeling with my car at the moment but my laziness is to blame :(

Ah I wouldn't be too much of a cnut on the road....most of the time. Although I will admit that I have lost the rag with certain people to the point that I probably should have ended up in court :o Not really proud of those moments.

Left Tallaght around lunch time so was back in West Limerick at about 3:45ish. Cruise control set at 75-80mph the whole way down (after the dreaded Naas part) so did it in good time. No confusion on my part anyway but there was a bucket load of UK and NI cars (from all walks of life) travelling south. All heading home for Christmas I'd assume. We'll blame them anyway :p

Awh no. Any idea what the problem is? I spotted your remap post. I've the same feeling with my car at the moment but my laziness is to blame :(

Blame the nordies! :P be grand haha, yeah neither am i but some people would drive you to it now
    Yeah getting it mapped as soon as i don't "need" the car, so a day or two after xmas, i need to send off the ecu and so on, but yeah basically what's happening is, it's loosing coolant, an absolute fcuk tonne of it, every second day I'm getting low coolant warnings, and I've no idea where it's going, couple that with oil leaks all over the shop, the most serious of them being the most expensive to fix, gearbox/subframe out job, I dunno whats gona happen to it in the next few months really :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Seems to magically resolve itself once the waherfard/kilkenny bound people leave the motorway. Hmmm. I'd say the M9 at rush hour is a complete clusterf##k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Seems to magically resolve itself once the waherfard/kilkenny bound people leave the motorway. Hmmm. I'd say the M9 at rush hour is a complete clusterf##k.

I've never been on the m9 and actually seen it very busy. Even going through Dublin at rush hour on Friday once you got of for the m9 things settled down a lot.

Bpmull wrote: »
    I've never been on the m9 and actually seen it very busy. Even going through Dublin at rush hour on Friday once you got of for the m9 things settled down a lot.

Its all down to one lane due to a bitta work going on between j2/3 I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Its all down to one lane due to a bitta work going on between j2/3 I think

Yeah the M9 was always grand traffic wise.
    I find that the m7 after newbridge heading dublin direction, and the m50 to be the two worst roads in the country for idiots dawdling in the "fasht" lane and general atrocious driving :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Righteo, I'll be driving abroad for the first time next year. Gonna be fun, considering itll be in Brazil. Looking at rental cars and they're crazy... Airbags are an optional extra FFS! Not sure what to hire.

Dord wrote: »
    Righteo, I'll be driving abroad for the first time next year. Gonna be fun, considering itll be in Brazil. Looking at rental cars and they're crazy... Airbags are an optional extra FFS! Not sure what to hire.

Brazil eh? Can I suggest this? I'm going to anyways

M1A1-Abrams-USMC-01.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,719 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Still going strong, and it still thinks your D-Max is a touch effeminate

SnowMobile_zps40f12d87.jpg

Needs moar lift though. They are the summer tyres, which are dammed chunky BF Goodrich's, but not as chunky as the full off road winter wheels/tyres, that there's been no requirement for since they got this.

Rear wheel arches in the load bed are more or less flat now :( no idea what they are carrying, but it must be some fairly heavy stuff.

Bpmull wrote: »

Haha all the people heading for cork/tipp/limerick blaming the m9ers and all the m9ers blaming the m8/m7 apes for the shuffling clusterf##k as far as Newbridge. As bad a day as I might be having I'd rather stay on at work than be dealing with go go go brake brake BRAKE! crap.

OSI wrote: »
    Was followed soon after by an SQ5 in the same dark grey-blue colour. I can only assume they were both press cars and no one in Blandland was barmy and ballsy enough to order something like an SQ5.
    Saw an sq5 myself recently but yeah not an irish car, yellow reg, white of course. Tis the season in rathkeale!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

No poster of the year this year lads?

Big Nasty wrote: »
    No poster of the year this year lads?

Doesn't look like there's gona be an anything of the year this year! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Neighbours 91 Kadette wouldn't start this morning. Any ideas?

We'd sparks, battery and we seemed to have fuel in the carb.

Just turning over, no attempt to fire either with the choke on or off.

Its been a while since I tried to start something with a carb. Thinking of gammy jets?

Also is it just me or is 90 odd euro a bit much for 5w30, an oil filter, air filter and 4 ngk plugs? I think I've been had, but I dunno

More info needed on plugs! Standard or fancy dan?

Ngk BCPR6ES plugs Seems to be a saab standard plug!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

What oil?
    I got 12 bottles of 5 litres of gm spec 5w30 for €10 each in halfords last christmas.
    If you're using liquid gold castrol edge for instance it would cost nearly the 90 euro alone in oil. (I spent 88 quid for the oil in the 535d it needed 8.3 litres :pac:)

What oil?
    I got 12 bottles of 5 litres of gm spec 5w30 for €10 each in halfords last christmas.
    If you're using liquid gold castrol edge for instance it would cost nearly the 90 euro alone in oil. (I spent 88 quid for the oil in the 535d it needed 8.3 litres :pac:)

Nah it's eh....carlube! :pac: and coopers flaam filters