Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gameweek 17 Matchday Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Up 2k to 9k. 45 points. Five left to play - Terry, Dummett, Hazard, Sanchez and Costa.

I'm a little bit annoyed over captaining Yaya over Austin but in the end it's only 8 points.

Have managed to find a spot in the house where I can pick up 3G!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭basillarkin

TacT wrote: »
    you would still expect a mauling given recent luck and form! Can't believe I've only dropped 1k in the OR.

Talking of luck it was UTDs that ran out, how they came away from the Emirates with 3 points and beat the Saints il never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Lemlin wrote: »
    Up 2k to 9k. 45 points. Five left to play - Terry, Dummett, Hazard, Sanchez and Costa.

I'm a little bit annoyed over captaining Yaya over Austin but in the end it's only 8 points.

Unfortunately I never considered captaining Austin for a second so I am quite happy with the 17 points, I assume quite a few dumped him last week and are cursing their luck now, nobody here seems to be admitting that though, we're a clever bunch.:p Costa needs to perform for me now though, nice to have Monday night to look forward to. I've one player from each of the four playing tomorrow and three for Chelsea. Taylor will come in with 5 if I have a no show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

Talking of luck it was UTDs that ran out, how they came away from the Emirates with 3 points and beat the Saints il never know.

silly me expecting it to last but such is the dream of an avid utd fan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭AdpRo

Have had a good week so far and a great 5 weeks, up from 507k after gw 12 to 39k tonight. Going to fall a bit over the next 2 days as have only 2 left, Sanchez and Haz. Last time I didn't have Costa in my team he scored a hat trick.........I'm going to be watching from behind the couch on Monday night! I know its worked out well for people who haven't had him the last while but don't know how ye got through every week worrying about what he might do, my nerves are shot already and I've only been without him about 48 hrs at this stage!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭Smartguy

Smartguy wrote: »
    Only regret is I did not captain silva

Looks like I spoke too soon given that I captained Austin
    Great week for me 67(-4) , now in the top 20k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

I don't know why I'm complaining. I'm ranked 29.2K overall and it's my second season in, good luck to you all with the fixtures tomorrow and that crucial tie on Monday night! Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Did anyone have the balls to captain Austin.? Fair play if you did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Up to 1.7k from 2.9k after today's 55. Slowly inching towards that elusive top 1000. Thank you 'extra gravy' for talking me out of captaining Hazard over Austin.

Some excellent scores and ranks on here, fair play lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

The damage is in and it's only a 2k drop to 3.5k

32 (-4) with Dave, Sanchez and Sterling to play and Boyd to come in. A timely kick up the arse and things could have been a hell of a lot worse.

I'll just dust myself down and move on. Think I've learned a few things too. Will be grand :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

40 with 5 to go. Happy enough considering I'd eriksen captain. Getting the captain right is so important in this game.
    Yeah. And for once I got it right :D.
    After a few bad weeks, 77 sees me move from 109k to 28k! With a few big players still to play hope to see the ton.
    Similar to you here.

69 pts with Hazard, Sanchez & Costa to go.
    From 96258 to 31999 !!! Delighted.

Silva in and captaining Austin were my flashes of brilliance this week. Holding on Baines and ditching Downing when he missed a game were my downfalls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Silva and Zab in for Oscar and Duff.

I'm not certain that will repay itself this week, but it should over the next 4 weeks, which is all that matters.

Both Oscar and chambers (who would have played if I didn't bring in zab) have yet to play, but it looks like I was wrong about this and it did come off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭sword1

59 no hits, Costa, sanchez, hazard and azi to play, 5 green arrows take me from 650000 to 130000, getting interested now after bad start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

I've been scrolling through this thread and have to say the standard this year in FSA is ridiculously high. The amount of posters in top 10k is insane and there's close to 10 posters in (or just outside) top 1k :eek:.

In fairness one of you guys could win it. How nice and rewarding would that be for the forum :cool:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    Did anyone have the balls to captain Austin.? Fair play if you did.

Yes, I captained Austin. VCed Downing
    http://fantasy.premierleague.com/entry/2056508/event-history/17/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

After a pretty woeful day and 30 points from 6 I was fairly surprised to see I only dropped to 900 overall. I thought the top 1k was gonna be long gone for a while.

Standard players left for me in Terry, Haz, Costa, Sanchez and Dummet so hopefully the week recovers a bit. A big Costa haul will probably drop me rank wise though given he's fairly highly captained.

Now need to consider whether I need to rip up my short term plans and get Austin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,060 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

59 points with 5 still to play brings me up to #1.8k overall and #13 on boards league.

Was mulling over rvp in all week but followed my gut and left Costa, had to take a 4pt hit to fix up my defence.

Any thoughts on yaya to silva?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

iroced wrote: »
    Yeah. And for once I got it right :D.

Similar to you here.

69 pts with Hazard, Sanchez & Costa to go.
    From 96258 to 31999 !!! Delighted.

Silva in and captaining Austin were my flashes of brilliance this week. Holding on Baines and ditching Downing when he missed a game were my downfalls.

Your back in the game now. I told you it would turn 2 good calls in silva and austin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭Dearg81

59 points with 5 still to play brings me up to #1.8k overall and #13 on boards league.

Was mulling over rvp in all week but followed my gut and left Costa, had to take a 4pt hit to fix up my defence.

Any thoughts on yaya to silva?

I have Silva but I think that move is a bit sideways unless you need the extra funds. I'd keep Toure as I think he'll play all the games over Xmas, I'm thinking of bringing him in next week as they have 2 nice home fixtures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Lemlin wrote: »

Apart from the internet woes, I could have made an almost identical post.

Up 5k to 8.9k. Five left to play - Chambers, Dummett, Hazard, Sanchez and Costa. Also annoyed that I captained Yaya over Austin.

I'm now 88 points clear at the top of my money league, getting a further 20-30 points ahead of my nearest rivals yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

For some reason the guy ahead of me brought in lovren, I think I'll be overtaking him today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,392 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

SAFC: Pantilimon, Vergini, Reveillere, O’Shea (c), Brown, Cattermole, Larsson, Gomez, Johnson, Wickham, Fletcher.
    #SAFC subs: Bridcutt, Rodwell, Altidore, Alvarez, Coates, Buckley, Mannone

#NUFC v Sunderland (4-3-3): Alnwick; Janmaat, Coloccini (c), S.Taylor, Dummett; Sissoko, Colback, Tiote; Gouffran, Perez, Ameobi.
    #NUFC subs v Sunderland: Woodman, Haidara, Williamson, Cabella, Armstrong, Riviere, Cisse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,264 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Have Panti and Dummett in this game so a 0-0 but be unreal but can't see it happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,110 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

eh i dunno wrote: »
    Clichy, Siggy, Bony all not playing and only 1 fit sub on my bench. Yaya as captain so maybe 20 points this week :mad:

and somehow ended up on 53 with costa Sanchez and dave to play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Have Dummett coming in for Clichy so a 6 pointer would be very welcome. Hard to see it happening with Altidore on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭shano_88

An absolute disaster of 20 (-4) with Costa(c), Sterling, Sanchez, Hazard, Dummet and Dave to play. Dropped from 3,5k to 10.5k. Still a chance I can pull back a bit.

Brining in Bony for Dzeko has proven to have been another disaster. Can't get that 3rd striker right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Dummett first sub over Boyd :mad::mad:

No chance of a Newcastle clean sheet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Gits_bone

Nib wrote: »
    Have Dummett coming in for Clichy so a 6 pointer would be very welcome. Hard to see it happening with Altidore on the bench.

hasn't a chance of happening unfortunately with Alnwick in goal :(

shano_88 wrote: »
    Can't get that 3rd striker right.

You are not alone in that regard. I brought Dzeko in last week on my wc and swapped him for Bony on Friday. Frustrating isn't the word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

52 points and that's with captaining Yaya over Toure! Still have Pantimilon, Terry, Hazard, Sanchez and Costa to go too. Up from 1.6k to 1.1k.

I haven't been doing well with captaincies though! I've picked the wrong player when Aguero went mad at Sunderland, when Hazard went mad last week and then Austin this week. I worked out that if I had have got those 3 captaincies right over who I picked, I would be 200th in the world! :(

Hoping to be in the top 1k by the end of the week.