Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Bought the poxy fuel filter. 35e from the dealer which I suppose isn't too bad.
    If I cure one fecking problem this month and that's this limp home mode ****e I'll be 10% happier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Got the car . Waiting to go home now, i'll get some pics up soom.

Hurry up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

640px-Toyota_86_engine.jpg

Enjoy your boxer lad!
    It won't burble like a classic 90's boxer, although you might get a hint of it on overrun.

Oil filter looks like a much handier spot than older boxers. Be prepared for contradictory and frustrating disptick readings though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Just had a nice experience with a main dealer.

I need a new wiper arm spray ramp for the Citroen BX. I'm rebuilding the whole system as it was clogged with crude and rust and none of it worked right. Pump, pipes and bottle all needed to be replaced. I've everything on the way however one part had given me lots of problems to source and I wanted to use OEM parts. It was a window spray ramp for the front wiper arm (a small, narrow pipe that sprays the window washer fluid onto the window from the wiper arm itself).

To cut a long story short, despite me knowing it was available still a few dealers told me it was NLA or that they simply don't cater to older models.

I found the part on ebay from a parts specialist but in total it would have been £50 delivered from the UK which I figured is madness for a small plastic pipe.

I decided then to call a garage just over the border, JC Campbell Citroen in Rostrevor after remembering how helpful they were when I was changing my car last time. The receptionist answered and said parts were busy at the minute due to a large delivery but she took my number and query and said they'd call back. Used to not getting the call I expected not to hear from them. Got a call back however within 5 minutes to say they have ordered the part, it costs £12 and they'd post it to me for no extra cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Have you ever used parcel motel? they do away with most of the delivery costs from the uk. I used them a fair bit and it saves me on extra delivery costs all because it's Ireland.

Hal1 wrote: »
    Have you ever used parcel motel? they do away with most of the delivery costs from the uk. I used them a fair bit and it saves me on extra delivery costs all because it's Ireland.

The seller wanted £19 and I had to use their courier. Madness. JCCampbells are sending it for nothing and charging less for the part in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

ba_barabus wrote: »
    The seller wanted £19 and I had to use their courier. Madness. JCCampbells are sending it for nothing and charging less for the part in the first place.

I bloody hate when that kind thing happens, i was trying to get a gearknob for the 900, found of for a tenner, grand i think, postage was something like 45 quid :o

TBH I was more annoyed at the Irish dealers I had contacted that wanted nothing to do with it. It's a standard part and they just needed to click order. I try and spend my money as local as I can even if it's only a few euro. I hate when people make a compliment out of it though.

Lots of main dealers and garages are great in Ireland but some take the piss and give others a bad name. I've had trouble getting OEM oil and airfilters too, some just didn't want to know. These are simple service items which shouldn't be an issue to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Rarely ever look at ebay anymore. Full of way overpriced original equipment or crap aftermarket. Breakers or main dealer are usually a better bet. One engine mount for the van I got a few years ago was the only thing I even got of it that was decent. It was lad in the UK reconditioning them in his shed and selling them. 30 + 15 delivered versus 120 main dealer. A big yolk too, about 2 foot long with a bushin on either end... I can't understand how some of them justify there P&P charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I have found my local BMW dealer good for ordering parts, even for a car that's 2 generations old, they're just excessively priced :pac:

Refreshing my followed threads over and over staring at the post a pic of you car thread

cookie_monster_waiting.gif

Good condition '98 Primera P11 bonnet, wings, headlights, indicators. Just needs painted.

Poor condition Primera gt p11 bumper and side skirts. need filler and painted.

Whats a reasonable offer for all that off the one lad?

Interslice wrote: »
    Good condition '98 Primera P11 bonnet, wings, headlights, indicators. Just needs painted.

Poor condition Primera gt p11 bumper and side skirts. need filler and painted.

Whats a reasonable offer for all that off the one lad?

€120?

€120?

Was thinking 100 would be a bit cheeky?

Worth a shot. I pulled the 120 figure out of the air to be honest

Ha ye, I'll try 100. I probably won't go over 120. Just going by the breakers I normally go too.
    bonnet 40
    wings 30
    lights 30

gt bumper 30
    skirts 20

-25% for a jap scrap bundle discount.

Ha ye, I'll try 100. I probably won't go over 120. Just going by the breakers I normally go too.
    bonnet 40
    wings 30
    lights 30

gt bumper 30
    skirts 20

-25% for a jap scrap bundle discount.

100 seems fair. You could be doing the seller a favor taking all that stuff in one go if he's not a breaker.

Probably ye, it's on adverts and he's in the middle of nowhere down your way. Whole car is probably worth 150 if you took it on a trailer.

Fella in Kilfinane? Ya thats properly out in the sticks.

That's the one. I'm up and down to cork all the time so not to far from mitchelstown of the M8.

A bit of work getting them off he said...

FFS, are you breaking it or not!!!! About 15 minutes work. Take longer to get them into my car.

A bit of work getting them off he said...

FFS, are you breaking it or not!!!! About 15 minutes work. Take longer to get them into my car.

He probably just wants rid of the whole thing.

Sounds that way. I told him I'd take them off myself. He hasn't got back to me. I'll wait a few days. I could even just get the gt bumper and skirts for the moment. Not sure it will all fit in the car anyway :p.

Refreshing my followed threads over and over staring at the post a pic of you car thread

subaru-brz-5162.jpg

Rain proved too much :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Ah stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

So last Friday I made this video. I had 192,119 miles. Go on, pause it and have a wee look

Here's tonight's mileage
    15813906997_247da3982f_h.jpg

Will I try again in a weeks time?

1,000 miles a week? No thanks :eek:

Jaysus. Where do you be driving at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It's fairly cold up your way too