Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Motors beers meet ftw, you can be our designated driver ? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Motors beers meet ftw, you can be our designated driver ? :p

Come on in.

What could possibly go wrong ?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Come on in.

What could possibly go wrong ?????

Haha I saw that a few weeks ago, shows how much times have changed.

Saw one of these today in black parked outside the courthouse in Newcastle West which is not far from Rathkeale. Yellow reg and all. I'm sure ye can all picture the driver and passengers.

BMW_435i_05-L.jpg

Absolutely gorgeous car though. Makes a change from the RR Sports and Touaregs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Friday evening

Full tank of Petrol

Car parts in the post

This on the Stereo

**** yes :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

All the way home this evening :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Moll's gap. Boxer on boost as soundtrack.
    No snow there either though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

Gardai checking out the car today, parked outside the house. Wandered outside to ask them what the trouble was, because they were taking time with it.

"Is this your car?"

"Well, yeah?"

"We've had a report of an untaxed car parked on the road at this address."

They were well pleased at having their time wasted. It had less than five days out, and I'd only just put the new disk in it. I tell you something, that's some scorpy neighbour right there. What sort of person does that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Dartz wrote: »
    Gardai checking out the car today, parked outside the house. Wandered outside to ask them what the trouble was, because they were taking time with it.

"Is this your car?"

"Well, yeah?"

They were well pleased at having their time wasted. It had less than five days out, and I'd only just put the new disk in it. I tell you something, that's some scorpy neighbour right there. What sort of person does that?

If it's taxed until 11/14 they still can't do anything in December.
    30 days grace period ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

I know, but whoever reported it didn't.

It's taxed anyway. Was just waiting until I got paid in the job to get it done. 350 quid's not too painful, is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I remember muppetcheck saying a few days ago that certain golfs and vag stuff have an electronic heater so it will blow hot air in the cabin when the engine was cold. I tried it out tonight to see if my one has the feature turned the climatronic to 26 degree c and fan to 4 the engine was completely cold and it was 0.5 degree c outside. Within 30 seconds it was blowing probably warm air and hot air within about 90 seconds amazing :) do all newer cars have this feature I never noticed it on my previous cars but then I'm not one to have the heater on too often even in winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Bpmull wrote: »
    I remember muppetcheck saying a few days ago that certain golfs and vag stuff have an electronic heater so it will blow hot air in the cabin when the engine was cold. I tried it out tonight to see if my one has the feature turned the climatronic to 26 degree c and fan to 4 the engine was completely cold and it was 0.5 degree c outside. Within 30 seconds it was blowing probably warm air and hot air within about 90 seconds amazing :) do all newer cars have this feature I never noticed it on my previous cars but then I'm not one to have the heater on too often even in winter.

Not sure about newer cars but mine starts pumping in hot air about a minute after starting, when it's about half way out of the blue on the temperature gauge and that's on a 12/13 year old car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Dartz wrote: »

"Is this your car?"

"Well, yeah?"

I don't think I'd ever report someone for not having tax. If I knew they were driving around uninsured then I think I wouldn.
    You've got some pr1ck of a neighbour and the it would have been nice if the Guards called the miserable ****e back to let them mnow how much of their time they wasted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Chilly in kilkenny this morning -3 and I was driving on a load of roads that weren't gritted so icy enough. They were grand once you took it handy but still got people doing 80-100 kmh some just can't read the roads at all. I tested my traction control a few times on the bad patches blip the accelerator and the light going mad flashing and trying to transfer and restrict the power to stop the wheels spinning great fun :) it's cool though feeling it working away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Ordered the new tyres for the Panda but can't get them until next weekend.
    Dunlop StreetResponse 2 - B Wet, C economy, and 1 bar noise (68db) 69/each fitted. Not to bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Anyone know where you'd get a brake line/flare nut wrench other than online? None of the local motor factors had them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Ixjk8B.jpg
    Oops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I'd say his managers day wasn't very brightened up after hearing about this :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Saw one of these today in black parked outside the courthouse in Newcastle West which is not far from Rathkeale. Yellow reg and all. I'm sure ye can all picture the driver and passengers.

BMW_435i_05-L.jpg

Absolutely gorgeous car though. Makes a change from the RR Sports and Touaregs.

Arent they all on lease plans though? Saw the first of the caravans on the M7 heading for Rathkeale last week being pulled by a Porsche SUV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Was in galway today so priced tyres (205/55R16 so not exotica)

Tried Advance for the laugh. They didn't disappoint. €95 EACH for Barums and €115 each for Continentals.

How do people actually deal with them

Priced the same size in discount tyres blanchardstown yesterday. 105 for michelin and 80 for hankook.

My mate used to work for fast fit. They were at the back of an industrial estate in dublin so people had to drive past 2 indy tyre places to get charged 10-20% extra for tyres. He reckoned people both didn't know they were more expensive and wanted to deal with a large reputable company.

Got a price of €90 for Michelin energys earlier.

Mc Love wrote: »
    Arent they all on lease plans though? Saw the first of the caravans on the M7 heading for Rathkeale last week being pulled by a Porsche SUV

They are ya. The majority of them are home now. Couple of A7's spotted today too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Ixjk8B.jpg
    Oops

Headford road?

Some ice on the roads here last night.

Nope N85 in Clare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

And the radio in the jag works....success!

Good old Ford parts bin :)

Now get the compartment beside it open...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

New maxol garage on the Ashbourne swords back road is 134 a liter of petrol :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

davycc wrote: »

I usually fill up there.

My brother posted on facebook that its 112.7 a litre at a garage near him in the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I usually fill up there.

My brother posted on facebook that its 112.7 a litre at a garage near him in the UK.

Thats in pounds though, it'd work out the same if you converted it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,398 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

davycc wrote: »
    Ballina, co. Mayo today - 125.9 for daysul, 129.9 for petrol. :eek: