Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Getting out and giving them a few slaps doesn't effect your car insurance does it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

th_N7_061214_Bike.mp4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,431 ✭✭✭bladespin

Erm, bike rider but certainly not a biker.

Just to be clear. ;)
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

Crystal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,231 ✭✭✭Kramer

Why have you described the cyclist as a wanker? Was cycling prohibited on that stretch of road at that time or was he doing something untoward?
    In your video his rear light is visible 6 seconds before you pass him. Dashcam footage is always poor in low light so he would have been even more visible in reality.
    I didn't see any cycle lanes & he was cycling well out into the lane but the biggest problem I would have with your footage is the poor visibility caused by work-site floodlights pointing towards oncoming traffic.
    Is this the new RSA safety initiative - blinding drivers with floodlights?

Obviously, if I'm incorrect, please disregard my comments :D

I've no issue with the cyclist or cycling. It was the way he was swerving between lanes and this made his intentions unclear. There was no hand signal from him either but he got one from me ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Alias G

The cyclist swerving is not discernible in that vid.

I could see him from a distance back, but not discernible in the vid due to low light conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭bladebrew

The cyclist is heading for the m50 aswell which is a bit worrying! Where was he heading?

There is a lane for the city centre further on up the road. It's a bit of a mess so you really need to pay attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

bladebrew wrote: »
    The cyclist is heading for the m50 aswell which is a bit worrying! Where was he heading?

Could be heading off the slip to Monastery Road direction...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,301 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Hal1 wrote: »
    I could see him from a distance back, but not discernible in the vid due to low light conditions.

You can see his light from a good bit back on the vid, can't see him swerving though.

I don't see what the problem is though.

If there had been more traffic there could have been a problem. He wasn't exactly keeping left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,378 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Kramer wrote: »
    Why have you described the cyclist as a wanker? Was cycling prohibited on that stretch of road at that time or was he doing something untoward?
    In your video his rear light is visible 6 seconds before you pass him. Dashcam footage is always poor in low light so he would have been even more visible in reality.
    I didn't see any cycle lanes & he was cycling well out into the lane but the biggest problem I would have with your footage is the poor visibility caused by work-site floodlights pointing towards oncoming traffic.
    Is this the new RSA safety initiative - blinding drivers with floodlights?

Obviously, if I'm incorrect, please disregard my comments :D

I would describe anyone as a wanker cycling on the busiest dual carriageway in the country in the middle of a lane with black clothes on a black bike with just a reflector on the rear.

That constitutes a wanker. Does this person not have family they want to return to?

Absolute tool moron and you would be sure its someone elses fault for barely making him out in the dark.

That idiot needs to see that footage then go and purchase himself some appropriate safety gear if he chooses to cycle on this stretch of road.

Hal1 wrote: »
    If there had been more traffic there could have been a problem. He wasn't exactly keeping left.

Possibly because he didn't want motorists to pass him too closely. Unfortunately due to the current design of the road, he doesn't seem to many options other than to share a busy lane with motorised traffic. By taking the lane he forced you to go around him giving plenty of space rather than pass him more closely. It is widely acknowledged as good cycling practice to cycle in such a defensive manner. All you had to do was assess the situation, slow down if necessary, and overtake when safe. What is the big deal in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,378 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Alias G wrote: »
    Possibly because he didn't want motorists to pass him too closely. Unfortunately due to the current design of the road, he doesn't seem to many options other than to share a busy lane with motorised traffic. By taking the lane he forced you to go around him giving plenty of space rather than pass him more closely. It is widely acknowledged as good cycling practice to cycle in such a defensive manner. All you had to do was assess the situation, slow down if necessary, and overtake when safe. What is the big deal in that.

"That idiot needs to see that footage then go and purchase himself some appropriate safety gear if he chooses to cycle on this stretch of road."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

listermint wrote: »
    "That idiot needs to see that footage then go and purchase himself some appropriate safety gear if he chooses to cycle on this stretch of road."

That is a light the cyclist has, not a reflector, and while I think he should have hi-vis just to make sure he's seen the light can be seen well in advance that the camera driver could have moved out a little earlier to avoid him, it's known that not commanding a traffic lane can cause people to squeeze by increasing the chance of getting clipped, I have had this happen to me first hand.

So here's the thing, he probably be more visible, but can be seen early enough in this vid.

He probably could do with being a bit more left of centre, but certainly not in a position to be pinned to the curb.

That road (if as busy as I think), should have an alternative route for bikes, but this is Ireland after all.

The driver deliberately buzzing a person on a bike knowing that should they collide the cyclist will come off worse is every bit of a wanker as the person they are alluding the cyclist is.

I think maybe all car drivers should have to commute daily for one week by bike before getting their license, might give them a better understanding of pulling crap like this. Since I got back road cycling it's opened my eyes to the type of people on the roads who detest cyclists, as if the idiots showing themselves up to other motorists isn't enough in some of these videos.

To end, cyclists don't cover themselves in glory either, but every prick cyclist who thinks the rules of the road don't apply to them are hated by proper cyclists just as much as they are by motorists, it puts the rest of us in danger when the red mist drops.

listermint wrote: »

He has a light not a reflector. The poster even stated in one of his posts that he saw him from well back the road. The poster also admitted that the poor camera lighting makes the footage less clear than it actually was. It may be a busy dual carriage way but the speed limit reduces to 60 on that stretch. No excuses for not overtaking the cyclist safely. My definition of a wanker is someone who thinks their mode of transport gives them the right to run another mode off the road. No excuses for the cyclist not having reflective gear either but that's not a legal requirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭00sully

cycling through the park the other day. posted in cycling forum but it's appropriate for here I reckon. woman goes straight through and over the roundabout! was icy too I was going slow enough but still went into a skid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭gutteruu

Let natural selection do its thing. Cycling a black bike wearing black cloths on a black night on black roads. Humanity will survive without these wanke....guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

gutteruu wrote: »
    Let natural selection do its thing. Cycling a black bike wearing black cloths on a black night on black roads. Humanity will survive without these wanke....guys

With a light and was seen regardless of all the black because of the light..... but don't let that get in the way of your rant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

00sully wrote: »
    cycling through the park the other day. posted in cycling forum but it's appropriate for here I reckon. woman goes straight through and over the roundabout! was icy too I was going slow enough but still went into a skid

I think you'll find most of us equal opportunity abusers in relation to poor driving.

Did you forward the footage on to traffic watch/guards, looks like you can see the reg plates.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,301 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Alias G wrote: »
    He has a light not a reflector. The poster even stated in one of his posts that he saw him from well back the road. The poster also admitted that the poor camera lighting makes the footage less clear than it actually was. It may be a busy dual carriage way but the speed limit reduces to 60 on that stretch. No excuses for not overtaking the cyclist safely. My definition of a wanker is someone who thinks their mode of transport gives them the right to run another mode off the road. No excuses for the cyclist not having reflective gear either but that's not a legal requirement.

yeah i agree.

on the footage you can see the cyclist a full 5 seconds before the driver passes him, so in real life he was probable visable earlier than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭rameire

this guy just came out onto the N7 inbound.
    after he went straight into my path in lane two he continued on into lane 3 and eventually gave me the finger.

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

00sully wrote: »

<Snipped video>

Hate to think how fast you cycle when your NOT going slow enough!

Anyhows, I suspect that the main problem would be the lack of visual acuity given by the sun being low on the horizon
    1222ik2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

rameire wrote: »

after he went straight into my path in lane two he continued on into lane 3 and eventually gave me the figure.

What figure did you get?:p

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Anyhows, I suspect that the main problem would be the lack of visual acuity given by the sun being low on the horizon
    1222ik2.jpg

I remember a similar reason being given to a Garda on Thomas St. Lady ran a red and when the Garda pulled her in she said she couldn't make out the lights because of the low sun. To which the Garda correctly, facepalmed, then replied, if you can't see because of the sun, you shouldn't be driving.

His response at the time was quite witty but I can't remember it, pretend what I said was witty with the same general gist and you get the idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭00sully

I think you'll find most of us equal opportunity abusers in relation to poor driving.

Did you forward the footage on to traffic watch/guards, looks like you can see the reg plates.

you actually can't see the complete registration in the video (you can make most of it out but its blurry). I had the camera setting on 720p @30fps. I have since upped this to 1080p @60fps :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

rameire wrote: »

after he went straight into my path in lane two he continued on into lane 3 and eventually gave me the finger.

Are you aware that that area is currently 60kph?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Hate to think how fast you cycle when your NOT going slow enough!

Have to disagree, I suspect the main problem would be that the car driver was a dopey c#nt who doesn't give a toss about other road users.
    They either didn't look or didn't care.
    The cyclist was well on the roundabout and had to be well within view.
    If the driver couldn't see someone at that distance they should off the road.