Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Interslice wrote: »
    Ha! fair enough.

Do ye reckon I should use a different primer? Or more of the standard stuff?

I'd like to do it properly now as I like the look it gives it, but with the days being really short & dew falling early it kinda hinders me a fair bit (I only have outside working space)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Do ye reckon I should use a different primer? Or more of the standard stuff?

I'd like to do it properly now as I like the look it gives it, but with the days being really short & dew falling early it kinda hinders me a fair bit (I only have outside working space)

I looks well. Be worth doing right I reckon. Can you remove them and do it somewhere? I'd sand it, clean it and use a plastic primer. Then plenty of thin layers of the top coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Interslice wrote: »
    I looks well. Be worth doing right I reckon. Can you remove them and do it somewhere? I'd sand it, clean it and use a plastic primer. Then plenty of thin layers of the top coat.

Not with great ease, I'm sure they can be removed handy enough alright but my shed is not great for space at the mo, and I'd be strung up by the balls if I attempted it inside the house :pac:

I'll see what I can do, definitely pick up some plastic primer anyway, the matt black doesn't seem to be very hard wearing at all so I'll probably have to change that up.

Plasti dip comes to mind, would it be any good for this application?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Not with great ease, I'm sure they can be removed handy enough alright but my shed is not great for space at the mo, and I'd be strung up by the balls if I attempted it inside the house :pac:

I'll see what I can do, definitely pick up some plastic primer anyway, the matt black doesn't seem to be very hard wearing at all so I'll probably have to change that up.

Plasti dip comes to mind, would it be any good for this application?

Never used it, but it seems to do a good job on plastics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

That makes me feel bad about not bothering to fit my new fuel filter out of pure laziness. Have had it about 6 months now....in the spring maybe!

It's very different when the car is still running! I drove the Levin for about 8 months with the rear antiroll bar bushings knocking to high hell :pac::o

I've decided that I'm going to clean the engine bay as I go so it'll look nice once it's all back together.

The new lifter is in and the camshaft is in. I then cleaned down inside the valley. It's a good time to do it because it is impossible to get any access to when the intake runners are fitted. Everything going to plan hopefully it'll be driving again on Saturday night :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

now, i'm not saying anything about the hidden meaning behind the name, but our fiat is back at the dealers already :pac:. got this one as a courtesy car.

it's a really nice dark aquamarine colour, but it looks quite blue in this amazing photo. seems to be the very same as our own in terms of spec except for that it has different wheels and chrome around the windows. feels much much faster too (mabye because it's a rental :P) even though it has the same engine.

20141126_202351.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Loving the colour there. I really wanted one of those in 1.4 turbo Abarth for my girlfriend when I was looking last month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

feels much much faster too (mabye because it's a rental :P) even though it has the same engine.
    waaaaaam-bam-bam-bam-bam... ;)

just checked the fiat website, it's appropriately called "epic blue", this photo does it better justice http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb13/dc_sx/IMG_6528_PS.jpg

tbh i'd love one myself, i have an unusual attraction towards tiny cars :P what did you settle on for the girlfriend in the end?

just checked the fiat website, it's appropriately called "epic blue", this photo does it better justice http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb13/dc_sx/IMG_6528_PS.jpg

tbh i'd love one myself, i have an unusual attraction towards tiny cars :P what did you settle on for the girlfriend in the end?

My RCZ. I looked at everything with her; DS3 cabriolet, MX5, 500/Punto Abarth but she really liked the RCZ and it suits her well.

Bought a GT86 then recently, I pick it up in a few weeks time.

3q0k39.jpg

i hope you spec'd it well for when i buy it used in 5 years time :pac:

3q0k39.jpg

i hope you spec'd it well for when i buy it used in 5 years time :pac:

Its a manual TRD model, so spec is rather decent.

You can buy it in about 10 years time, if I get bored of it.

If.

Its a manual TRD model, so spec is rather decent.

You can buy it in about 10 years time, if I get bored of it.

If.

aaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh shut up, shut up, shut up... :o

generally i don't do getting jelly, but you must be pretty damn excited, are you waiting for a 151 plate or is there just a long delivery lead on them? that's a cool car and a refreshing change on here :) i'm excited to see it.

aaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh shut up, shut up, shut up... :o

generally i don't do getting jelly, but you must be pretty damn excited, are you waiting for a 151 plate or is there just a long delivery lead on them? that's a cool car and a refreshing change on here :) i'm excited to see it.

It isn't new, its a 13 plate with 10k miles up. I bought it in the UK, like the RCZ I couldn't actually find what I wanted here. We've bought a house this year and we get the keys the week after I pick up the car, I would have probably bought new otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Tfb you'll only get it if you beat me to it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

YbFocus wrote: »
    Tfb you'll only get it if you beat me to it :p

When you're done with it and TFB is done with it and it's between 15 and 20 years old and manky dirty and dented and rusty I'll like it. I might be able to afford it then :pac:

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    When you're done with it and TFB is done with it and it's between 15 and 20 years old and manky dirty and dented and rusty I'll like it. I might be able to afford it then :pac:

If i get one for 5 or 6k in years to come I'll be putting it on the track :)
    have you seen a 2jz gt86?

If i get one for 5 or 6k in years to come I'll be putting it on the track :)
    have you seen a 2jz gt86?

You wouldn't believe the depreciation on them. £40,000 new, and after 10k miles and a little under two years its down to mid-20s.

Brilliant :)
    All the better for the minions among us :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Brilliant :)
    All the better for the minions among us :)

I hate those bloody things :pac: I have my reasons

Also thanks everyone for all the lovely words, lookit ye there, the boardsies, a great bunch of lads :pac:

I hate those bloody things :pac: I have my reasons

Also thanks everyone for all the lovely words, lookit ye there, the boardsies, a great bunch of lads :pac:

Ah sure ain't you one of the pals I got on here.
    T'would nearly bring a tear to your eye :D

How can you possibly not like minions :)

Ah sure ain't you one of the pals I got on here.
    T'would nearly bring a tear to your eye :D

How can you possibly not like minions :)

Haha yeah i suppose so!

The reason i hate them is when i lived in cork i was in with 4 girls, all of them spoke like minions, lived and breathed like them, I used to like them, but there's only so much bapple and corange you can tolerate :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Went down the local shops there this evening to do a few bits, & noticed a community guard standing beside an X5 that had been parked in a disabled spot. I thought he was standing there waiting for the owner to return to the car, so he could give a bollocking. When I came out of the shop though, the X5 was up on the back of a truck, & about to be removed from the scene :D

Made me wonder though, what actually happens if you come out & your car has been towed away (as in how the hell do you find this out)? I'm sure the first thought would be the car has been stolen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Myrddin wrote: »
    Went down the local shops there this evening to do a few bits, & noticed a community guard standing beside an X5 that had been parked in a disabled spot. I thought he was standing there waiting for the owner to return to the car, so he could give a bollocking. When I came out of the shop though, the X5 was up on the back of a truck, & about to be removed from the scene :D

Made me wonder though, what actually happens if you come out & your car has been towed away (as in how the hell do you find this out)? I'm sure the first thought would be the car has been stolen

worse if you are in a wheelchair and some Guard has towed your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Naturally you call the Guardi. Then they have the satisfaction of telling you your car was removed because you parked like a d1ck but you can have it back once you pay the €80 fine and €250 towing charge. ;)

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Naturally you call the Guardi. Then they have the satisfaction of telling you your car was removed because you parked like a d1ck but you can have it back once you pay the €80 fine and €250 towing charge. ;)

Doesn't happen enough in this country :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

worse if you are in a wheelchair and some Guard has towed your car.

That would be a massive gaff alright, I can only surmise the car was there ages & had no disability credentials displayed? God knows how long the guard was there standing beside it, I was in the shop 20 mins anyway & he was there when I got there. Or maybe some local shop owner noticed it earlier & rang it in, no idea really.
    Doesn't happen enough in this country :)

Nope, brought a smile to my face I must admit.

Remember the friend I was looking for tyres for? ?
    Just found out he's bought me an sr20. . This is insane!

Remember the friend I was looking for tyres for? ?
    Just found out he's bought me an sr20. . This is insane!

You're gona need to up your present in that case :pac:

Nice one though :D

You're gona need to up your present in that case :pac:

Nice one though :D

I feel like Sheldon in that Christmas presents scene of the big bang :)