Sinead O' Connor's words on the Late Late

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Must be planning to run for a seat in the next Dail. She'd fit in well in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

anncoates wrote: »
    Seen it at the time and thought she handled it badly.

You reckon she sat in the room beforehand with her people and planned to launch into a gauche, overly combative but well meaning tirade to raise her marketing profile in specific target markets?

I don't think she thought Kenny would react the way he did. I've just always seen her as the eternally downtrodden playing the victim of someone or something oppressing her. When it wasn't the Church, it was the media, and when she told the media she wanted to be left alone and they obliged, she disappeared off the radar for a while, then came back again last year some time 'looking for a man' on the Late Late (give me strength!), and now she's back and this time she's nailed herself to the water charges crucifix.

This time it's personal Government oppressing her.

Aidric wrote: »
    I don't think she has people/handlers pulling her strings. She is very much a free spirit shooting from the hip imo. As for markets I'm not sure which ones she's serving exactly.

Whilst she manages to be articulate I never get the sense that there is any real conviction behind her messages.

Sinead O' Connor and Russell Brand would make beautiful babies, the media could give their relationship a portmanteau'd name and all - 'Bono'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I might download her greatest hits after that....maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

Sinead O' Connor and Russell Brand would make beautiful babies, the media could give their relationship a portmanteau'd name and all - 'Bono'.

Jesus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Fcuk but she was beautiful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I don't think she thought Kenny would react the way he did. I've just always seen her as the eternally downtrodden playing the victim of someone or something oppressing her. When it wasn't the Church, it was the media, and when she told the media she wanted to be left alone and they obliged, she disappeared off the radar for a while, then came back again last year some time 'looking for a man' on the Late Late (give me strength!), and now she's back and this time she's nailed herself to the water charges crucifix.

This time it's personal Government oppressing her.

I don't think she premeditates to that extent. The claims that she's somehow contrived seem somewhat mean-spirited to me. I think she just feels strongly about something and blurts it out.

The Kenny Everett thing for example, it was a bit gauche to attack the guy but probably a lot of people, including me, were thinking how the fcuk can you reconcile Clause 28 with being a gay man who supports the Tories?

Like I say, nobody would say she's not mad on occasion or that you sometimes think WTF when she goes on one but to say there's some kind of calculating promotion thing going on there is quite a particularly Irish strain of mean-spiritedness.

anncoates wrote: »
    I don't think she premeditates to that extent. The claims that she's somehow contrived seem somewhat mean-spirited to me. I think she just feels strongly about something and blurts it out.

The Kenny Everett thing for example, it was a bit gauche to attack the guy but probably a lot of people, including me, were thinking how the fcuk can you reconcile Clause 28 with being a gay man who supports the Tories?

Like I say, nobody would say she's not mad on occasion or that you sometimes think WTF when she goes on one but to say there's some kind of calculating promotion thing going on there is quite a particularly Irish strain of mean-spiritedness.

Slightly OT but Kenny did explain his position - everyone is having their freedoms curtailed (just as relevant 20 years later), and if the other guys had asked him, he would have turned up at their party! :D

Back to Sinead though - genuinely I don't mean it to sound mean-spirited, I just think every time she surfaces, she's on some sort of self-promotional trip. I get that she's always been a social activist and all, but she just seems like person who was never well, and I mean this in the kindest possible terms but the woman should really concentrate more on her mental well being and less on courting publicity.

She was an incredible singer 20 years ago, and she should have stuck to what she was good at rather than forever trying to play the 'poor little me' effort every time a publicity stunt inevitably went tits up. I can just see it happening again this time now she's decided to weigh in on the water charges protests, and all I can think is I feel like someone needs to take her aside and tell her that her mental health is more important than her social activism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Gay's hair looked amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Gay's hair looked amazing.

What a pro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

Very obvious attempt by RTE/establishment to link the 'anti 'irish water'/austerity' people to someone they know represents 'off the wall/crazy', whether right or wrong, for many people in this country.

'Oh you're one of those with something against 'irish water'? Are you crazy? Crazy like crazy Sinead? I suppose you want crazy Sinead to be Taoiseach and run the country. Where will be then?...', cue hysterical irish/sunday independent headlines etc, etc...

More of the same propaganda bull**** that more and more people are seeing through and is losing its effectiveness at a rapid rate, if it isn't completely ineffective already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

stretchdoe wrote: »
    Very obvious attempt by RTE/establishment to link the 'anti 'irish water'/austerity' people to someone they know represents 'off the wall/crazy', whether right or wrong, for many people in this country.

'Oh you're one of those with something against 'irish water'? Are you crazy? Crazy like crazy Sinead? I suppose you want crazy Sinead to be Taoiseach and run the country. Where will be then?...', cue hysterical irish/sunday independent headlines etc, etc...

More of the same propaganda bull**** that more and more people are seeing through and is losing its effectiveness at a rapid rate, if it isn't completely ineffective already.
    And I thought Sinead was bonkers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Phoebas wrote: »

I think you just inadvertently proved his point.

She isn't, in my opinion.

Hyper intelligent and troubled, i'd say.

As for my point, i think it's entirely lucid and sane; that's why i made it.

But you're entitled to disagree and/or hurl brickbats if you wish, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭wackokid

Bonkers.............and should never be given the stage by RTE our National Television station. Then again, not too many can stomach Tubridy so she won't start the revolution this week anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭mountsky

Sineid is a great woman for exercising 'freedom of speech' under the Irish Constitution,I think fair play to her, but she's as mad as a bag of frogs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Son0vagun wrote: »
    She spoke a lot of sense! A New dawn needed for a new Republic!

wow look at you! A lot of sense indeed. What age are you?
    She's as hypocritical as this country is and has benefitted fro its mediocrity.
    Funnily she and her millonaire ilk will actually prospr for a while but ultimatley will be found out, and be derided.
    If you knew real oppression, and poverty you'd realise how laughable all of this is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

I was impressed too.
    And really, all of the above. I just agree with all the comments on this thread, except the self promotion thing, and the hypocrisy thing.
    She's a bit bonkers, unstable, troubled, attention seeking, talented, and more.
    But she spoke well, she did admonish all sides to act peacefully, and had a point with the new Republic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Thank goodness for the 1916 rising. Home Rule, a lack of economic development in Ireland, and the rise of the British welfare state would probably have mainlined Ireland into a position of dependency on transfers from the British economy.

It wouldn't have expunged the Irish psyche of its desire for independence though. In 'Ireland the Dependency' there would still have been a continuous rebellion/insurgency and perhaps a civil war between those served by the status quo and those seeking independence.

We'd likely have become a right ****-hole, like the north in the 70's/80's, an island of Republican strongholds in a mollified dependency; Bogsides, Ardoynes and Divis Flats in all the major populations centres with bandit country in the rural hinterlands.

Exaggerate much?

o1s1n wrote: »
    I think you just inadvertently proved his point.

Let me try to follow the logic of the point:
    Sinead is a bit bonkers, so it automatically follows that not only does anything that Sinead say is bonkers, but RTE, in giving her a platform, must only be doing so in order to discredit anyone who agrees with her.

Its an interesting theory; a bit bonkers. Perhaps even more bonkers than Sinead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Sinead is a bit bonkers, so it automatically follows that not only does anything that Sinead say is bonkers, but RTE, in giving her a platform, must only be doing so in order to discredit anyone who agrees with her.

Its an interesting theory; a bit bonkers. Perhaps even more bonkers than Sinead.
    It's not that far fetched really. Divide and conquer. We have seen hints of that of late in the media.
    I don't think they knew she was going to deliver that little speech though.

She isn't, in my opinion.

Hyper intelligent and troubled, i'd say.

As for my point, i think it's entirely lucid and sane; that's why i made it.

But you're entitled to disagree and/or hurl brickbats if you wish, of course.

I mean it in the best possible way.
    People said she was mad when she was tearing up pictures of the Pope. But she was right on the money.

But here is no RTE/establishment plan to get her on as part of some plan to discredit the anti-water people. That idea is a bit mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Tinkersbell

Son0vagun wrote: »
    She spoke a lot of sense! A New dawn needed for a new Republic!

Isn't that what FG promised in 2011?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,553 ✭✭✭mosstin

I mean it in the best possible way.
    People said she was mad when she was tearing up pictures of the Pope. But she was right on the money.

But here is no RTE/establishment plan to get her on as part of some plan to discredit the anti-water people. That idea is a bit mad.

That would presuppose a level of intelligence in RTE that just isn't there.

It's not that far fetched really. Divide and conquer. We have seen hints of that of late in the media.
    I don't think they knew she was going to deliver that little speech though.

Would you say there was a meeting - some kind of secret meeting maybe between some RTE bosses and some government officials?
    In the meeting, did they come up with a plan where someone suggested that they should get Sinead on the TV hoping that she'd talk about Irish Water and that she'd come across as a little bit bonkers and that might sway public opinion back towards the government?
    And did the RTE side agree that this all sounded like a grand plan and went off to make the arrangements?

That sounds far fetched to me. Bonkers even.

Have you ever seen the host of the 'late late show' literally hand over the reigns/put someone else in 'charge'. Ever? Why would it occur to them or him/Tubridy to do that? It has literally never happened and had no explicable point to it.

Now take into account that this is someone who is considered 'crazy' in this country; you've called her bonkers etc a few times in this thread yourself.

When she was put in 'charge' and started along the lines of what anyone would know sinead o'connor would deviate towards, disgruntlement with the 'system' etc, didn't Tubridy actually pre-empt her possible interest in/guide the discussion towards 'irish water?; if you think he didn't watch it again.

I agree the premise is crazy but it happened.

Desperation/pressure causes crazy things to happen.

I agree the premise is crazy but it happened.

The thing is - when you agree that the premise is crazy but you're adamant that it happened, with no objective evidence, then people might be forgiven for thinking that its not just the premise that's crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Sidetracking here, but what the fcuk is it with our obsession with chat shows in this country? Late Late, that clown from Cork on a Saturday night, all them afternoon shows that are discussing nothing but morbid topics . Each one of these shows having the same guests or similar, no wonder half the Grannies in Ireland are depressed.

The thing is - when you agree that the premise is crazy but you're adamant that it happened, with no objective evidence, then people might be forgiven for thinking that its not just the premise that's crazy.

Of course there's no objective evidence and of course i'm not suggesting it's definite that my interpretation is objectively true.

I merely gave my opinion on what i watched and responded to you because you suggested my opinion was outlandish.

I disagree that it is outlandish and would stand by interpretation, without insisting that it's fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

She's right, and her ancestry and lineage has a lot to do with how she perceives and sees the current situation. As an O'Connor, she is part one of the oldest family lines and lineage on this Island, and that lineage surpasses 1916, 1921, all of that mess which has led to the dysfunctional nation we have to endure today. Her family, ancestry and lineage have been on this island for more than 3000 years. She obviously knows this and obviously feels involved with the current clusterf**k situation where our island's people are being frog-marched into signing up to pay for their own resources to be gifted, grabbed, and ultimately abused by corporations and the international money markets, who do not give a damn about our country, people, history, lineage, culture and island.

Bullet The Blue Shirts