Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sinead O' Connor's words on the Late Late

• 21-11-2014 10:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭

Did people see?

She challenged the channel RTE on it's objectivity as a state broadcaster and interviewed Ryan as she turned the tables.

She said that she thought that politicians were distancing themselves from the 1916 rising because they were afraid of a peaceful political movement that seems to be stemming from the water charges protest.

She said that the republic failed largely because it came from a violent rising and that which stems from violence will ultimately become corrupt as the organic political bodies and ideals necessary for a great country don't evolve. I would say there is something in that. Look at Norway ..and then us. Look at the Baltic states that which comes form violent revolution does not evolve into a fair humanistic country.

She urged the need for peaceful protest and chastised the violence against the woman been thrown about that was caught on camera.

Did people see what she said. I thought she was amazing.

I am not usually a fan of hers but she said some very insightful things and kept it very sane and VERY moderate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Somewhat ironically, I did not see this criticism of RTE due to my self-imposed boycott of RTE. :)

Sinead O'Connor I generally have time for, she was miles ahead of the game on the Roman Catholic Church's protection of paedophiles at a time when most did not want to listen (including myself, at that time, I must admit).

Her point about 1916 strikes me as illogical, however. Are France and the United States failed countries?

People on the left in Ireland and the UK tend to venerate the Scandinavian countries, but the reality is many would find the political correctness in Sweden, for example, stifling, and also (if Stieg Larsson http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stieg_Larsson is to be believed) hypocritical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

She spoke a lot of sense! A New dawn needed for a new Republic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Did people see?

She challenged the channel RTE on it's objectivity as a state broadcaster

..on a platform provided by said RTE.

I respect Sinead by the way. Not knocking her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Sobko

anncoates wrote: »
    ..on a platform provided by said RTE.

I respect Sinead by the way. Not knocking her.

They probably were not expecting it LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

She's a crank, there won't be a revolution, there won't be a Second Republic (well, never say never) there will be reform as necessary of course but that's normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

She's full of shìt. Seriously. Clambering on the nearest bandwagon.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Lambasts violent protest by highlighting one incident and completely ignores the violent protests towards Gardai, politicians and water meter installers which was far far greater? Hypocrisy at its finest and she's showing her own bias there tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Thank goodness for the 1916 rising. Home Rule, a lack of economic development in Ireland, and the rise of the British welfare state would probably have mainlined Ireland into a position of dependency on transfers from the British economy.

It wouldn't have expunged the Irish psyche of its desire for independence though. In 'Ireland the Dependency' there would still have been a continuous rebellion/insurgency and perhaps a civil war between those served by the status quo and those seeking independence.

We'd likely have become a right ****-hole, like the north in the 70's/80's, an island of Republican strongholds in a mollified dependency; Bogsides, Ardoynes and Divis Flats in all the major populations centres with bandit country in the rural hinterlands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Sully wrote: »
    Lambasts violent protest by highlighting one incident and completely ignores the violent protests towards Gardai, politicians and water meter installers which was far far greater? Hypocrisy at its finest and she's showing her own bias there tbh.

Violent protests towards politicians? When did that happen?

She's full of shìt. Seriously. Clambering on the newest bandwagon.

She's always ploughed her own furrow, all the way back to her first album.

She's a bit mad but a good artist. I often don't agree with her but she has convictions and has always stood by them. The last thing you could accuse her of is adopting a stance for promotional reasons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Don Kedick

She's a major pothead but she makes some sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

As an aspiring musician, I found her remarks re not being allowed to take a sh!te on a tour bus more than a little alarming :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

I really just wanted to get the debate going about what she said.

I know there is no revolution going to happen. But there are movements about smaller things. Like for example what is happening with the carers allowance right now.

But THERE is a movement connected together over the water charges and I worry about how things are progressing. The govt has not handled this well. People's frustration is being exasperated by the PR disaster that is this Govt.

She's always ploughed her own furrow, all the way back to her first album.

Played the spindles off lion and cobra. But I think she's full of ****. And I'm sure she knows how to play an angle. Loves to be loved.

But what about WHAT she said. Forget about her for a moment.

The water protesters..I mean the woman who held a peaceful silent protest totally owned it by keeping it dignified.

We need more peaceful dignified action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Don't we all?

She's procured a lot of haters on the way though. Like anncoates said, I don't agree with an awful lot she says but I think she's brave as hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,448 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I am not usually a fan of hers but she said some very insightful things and kept it very sane and VERY moderate.

Sane and moderate are not usually never words I'd associate with Sinead O' Connor tbh.

The last thing you could accuse her of is adopting a stance for promotional reasons.

Oh? This is exactly all she ever does, and this is just one example from just one of her appearances on the Late Late Show where not only did she adopt a stance for promotional reasons, but she tried to berate Kenny Everett for not doing so. Kenny handled it brilliantly -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

When she's being interviewed, I sometimes have to watch from behind the sofa, but she's still a brilliant singer. She seems very well at the moment, which is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Fair moxy to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

They're nice words but a new republic? All she means is she doesn't like the parties in power right now.

A peaceful revolution would amount to putting new parties in power which you can do at election time anyway. But that's not as much fun as sticking it to the man.

Sane and moderate are not usually never words I'd associate with Sinead O' Connor tbh.

Oh? This is exactly all she ever does, and this is just one example from just one of her appearances on the Late Late Show where not only did she adopt a stance for promotional reasons, but she tried to berate Kenny Everett for not doing so. Kenny handled it brilliantly -

He sank ..she swam. She wasn't at all kind about it and it would never be my approach but her and I have different personality types completely. I think you can have these talks with a sweeter approach with people.

It was a little awkward though.

They're nice words but a new republic? All she means is she doesn't like the parties in power right now.

A peaceful revolution would amount to putting new parties in power which you can do at election time anyway. But that's not as much fun as sticking it to the man.

Fair point.

Saw it at the time and thought she handled it badly.

You reckon she sat in the room beforehand with her people and planned to launch into a gauche, overly combative but well meaning tirade to raise her marketing profile in specific target markets?

Don't we all?

She's procured a lot of haters on the way though. Like anncoates said, I don't agree with an awful lot she says but I think she's brave as hell.

No denying her fortitude. I get that. But she's full of it. But some of my best friends are full of it.

I don't hate her. But don't tell me she's not an attention seeking nut job.

Her smoking pot does not bother me.

jimgoose wrote: »
    Fair moxy to her.

Agreed I liked that she did reiterate that peaceful protest means not throwing water balloons etc. I would have added it means being non aggressive. Anger snowballs. Dignified protests keep the peace. I thought considering the pictures and clips we have seen it was a great message right now despite what you think of the person saying it.

By the way I am not usually a fan of hers AT ALL. I just thought she spoke well tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Agreed I liked that she did reiterate that peaceful protest means not throwing water balloons etc. I would have added it means being non aggressive. Anger snowballs. Dignified protests keep the peace. I thought considering the pictures and clips we have seen it was a great message right now despite what you think of the person saying it.

By the way I am not usually a fan of hers AT ALL. I just thought she spoke well tonight.

She sure did. I think she's a little nuts, but doesn't do any great harm. And also, I would generally be a fan of Teddy Roosevelt's Big Stick. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

No denying her fortitude. I get that. But she's full of it. But some of my best friends are full of it.

I don't hate her. But don't tell me she's not an attention seeking nut job.

Her smoking pot does not bother me.

I believe she's sincere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

We need to do more than just change the parties, we have to change the structure and rules of the Dail.

jimgoose wrote: »
    She sure did. I think she's a little nuts, but doesn't do any great harm. And also, I would generally be a fan of Teddy Roosevelt's Big Stick. ;)

She is nuts.

But she picked up on something.

Just because a huge revolution is not coming does not mean something else is not happening either.

Something is happening regarding the water charges in this country and how the guards handle future protests and the nature of the protesters.

We need to keep thuggery out of protests and definitely out of the policing of them.

The govt needs to stop antagonizing the people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

You reckon she sat in the room beforehand with her people and planned to launch into a gauche, overly combative but well meaning tirade to raise her marketing profile in specific target markets?

I don't think she has people/handlers pulling her strings. She is very much a free spirit shooting from the hip imo. As for markets I'm not sure which ones she's serving exactly.

Whilst she manages to be articulate I never get the sense that there is any real conviction behind her messages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Must be planning to run for a seat in the next Dail. She'd fit in well in there.

Seen it at the time and thought she handled it badly.

I don't think she thought Kenny would react the way he did. I've just always seen her as the eternally downtrodden playing the victim of someone or something oppressing her. When it wasn't the Church, it was the media, and when she told the media she wanted to be left alone and they obliged, she disappeared off the radar for a while, then came back again last year some time 'looking for a man' on the Late Late (give me strength!), and now she's back and this time she's nailed herself to the water charges crucifix.

This time it's personal Government oppressing her.

Aidric wrote: »
    I don't think she has people/handlers pulling her strings. She is very much a free spirit shooting from the hip imo. As for markets I'm not sure which ones she's serving exactly.

Whilst she manages to be articulate I never get the sense that there is any real conviction behind her messages.

Sinead O' Connor and Russell Brand would make beautiful babies, the media could give their relationship a portmanteau'd name and all - 'Bono'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I might download her greatest hits after that....maybe.

Sinead O' Connor and Russell Brand would make beautiful babies, the media could give their relationship a portmanteau'd name and all - 'Bono'.

Jesus!

Fcuk but she was beautiful.

I don't think she thought Kenny would react the way he did. I've just always seen her as the eternally downtrodden playing the victim of someone or something oppressing her. When it wasn't the Church, it was the media, and when she told the media she wanted to be left alone and they obliged, she disappeared off the radar for a while, then came back again last year some time 'looking for a man' on the Late Late (give me strength!), and now she's back and this time she's nailed herself to the water charges crucifix.

This time it's personal Government oppressing her.

I don't think she premeditates to that extent. The claims that she's somehow contrived seem somewhat mean-spirited to me. I think she just feels strongly about something and blurts it out.

The Kenny Everett thing for example, it was a bit gauche to attack the guy but probably a lot of people, including me, were thinking how the fcuk can you reconcile Clause 28 with being a gay man who supports the Tories?

Like I say, nobody would say she's not mad on occasion or that you sometimes think WTF when she goes on one but to say there's some kind of calculating promotion thing going on there is quite a particularly Irish strain of mean-spiritedness.

I don't think she premeditates to that extent. The claims that she's somehow contrived seem somewhat mean-spirited to me. I think she just feels strongly about something and blurts it out.

The Kenny Everett thing for example, it was a bit gauche to attack the guy but probably a lot of people, including me, were thinking how the fcuk can you reconcile Clause 28 with being a gay man who supports the Tories?

Like I say, nobody would say she's not mad on occasion or that you sometimes think WTF when she goes on one but to say there's some kind of calculating promotion thing going on there is quite a particularly Irish strain of mean-spiritedness.

Slightly OT but Kenny did explain his position - everyone is having their freedoms curtailed (just as relevant 20 years later), and if the other guys had asked him, he would have turned up at their party! :D

Back to Sinead though - genuinely I don't mean it to sound mean-spirited, I just think every time she surfaces, she's on some sort of self-promotional trip. I get that she's always been a social activist and all, but she just seems like person who was never well, and I mean this in the kindest possible terms but the woman should really concentrate more on her mental well being and less on courting publicity.

She was an incredible singer 20 years ago, and she should have stuck to what she was good at rather than forever trying to play the 'poor little me' effort every time a publicity stunt inevitably went tits up. I can just see it happening again this time now she's decided to weigh in on the water charges protests, and all I can think is I feel like someone needs to take her aside and tell her that her mental health is more important than her social activism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Gay's hair looked amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Gay's hair looked amazing.

What a pro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

Very obvious attempt by RTE/establishment to link the 'anti 'irish water'/austerity' people to someone they know represents 'off the wall/crazy', whether right or wrong, for many people in this country.

'Oh you're one of those with something against 'irish water'? Are you crazy? Crazy like crazy Sinead? I suppose you want crazy Sinead to be Taoiseach and run the country. Where will be then?...', cue hysterical irish/sunday independent headlines etc, etc...

More of the same propaganda bull**** that more and more people are seeing through and is losing its effectiveness at a rapid rate, if it isn't completely ineffective already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

stretchdoe wrote: »
    Very obvious attempt by RTE/establishment to link the 'anti 'irish water'/austerity' people to someone they know represents 'off the wall/crazy', whether right or wrong, for many people in this country.

'Oh you're one of those with something against 'irish water'? Are you crazy? Crazy like crazy Sinead? I suppose you want crazy Sinead to be Taoiseach and run the country. Where will be then?...', cue hysterical irish/sunday independent headlines etc, etc...

More of the same propaganda bull**** that more and more people are seeing through and is losing its effectiveness at a rapid rate, if it isn't completely ineffective already.
    And I thought Sinead was bonkers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Phoebas wrote: »

I think you just inadvertently proved his point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

Phoebas wrote: »

She isn't, in my opinion.

Hyper intelligent and troubled, i'd say.

As for my point, i think it's entirely lucid and sane; that's why i made it.

But you're entitled to disagree and/or hurl brickbats if you wish, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭wackokid

Bonkers.............and should never be given the stage by RTE our National Television station. Then again, not too many can stomach Tubridy so she won't start the revolution this week anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭mountsky

Sineid is a great woman for exercising 'freedom of speech' under the Irish Constitution,I think fair play to her, but she's as mad as a bag of frogs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Son0vagun wrote: »
    She spoke a lot of sense! A New dawn needed for a new Republic!

wow look at you! A lot of sense indeed. What age are you?
    She's as hypocritical as this country is and has benefitted fro its mediocrity.
    Funnily she and her millonaire ilk will actually prospr for a while but ultimatley will be found out, and be derided.
    If you knew real oppression, and poverty you'd realise how laughable all of this is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

I was impressed too.
    And really, all of the above. I just agree with all the comments on this thread, except the self promotion thing, and the hypocrisy thing.
    She's a bit bonkers, unstable, troubled, attention seeking, talented, and more.
    But she spoke well, she did admonish all sides to act peacefully, and had a point with the new Republic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Thank goodness for the 1916 rising. Home Rule, a lack of economic development in Ireland, and the rise of the British welfare state would probably have mainlined Ireland into a position of dependency on transfers from the British economy.

It wouldn't have expunged the Irish psyche of its desire for independence though. In 'Ireland the Dependency' there would still have been a continuous rebellion/insurgency and perhaps a civil war between those served by the status quo and those seeking independence.

We'd likely have become a right ****-hole, like the north in the 70's/80's, an island of Republican strongholds in a mollified dependency; Bogsides, Ardoynes and Divis Flats in all the major populations centres with bandit country in the rural hinterlands.

Exaggerate much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

o1s1n wrote: »
    I think you just inadvertently proved his point.

Let me try to follow the logic of the point:
    Sinead is a bit bonkers, so it automatically follows that not only does anything that Sinead say is bonkers, but RTE, in giving her a platform, must only be doing so in order to discredit anyone who agrees with her.

Its an interesting theory; a bit bonkers. Perhaps even more bonkers than Sinead.