Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I used to get stick for driving my Bluebird a couple of years ago. Everyone I knew had a new Merc, Audi, BMW or some such, and the majority don't now, but they still owe for them. I own my car out right now, as a result of not being stupid a few years ago and buying something I couldn't afford. I'd hate to not own anything out right.

Obviously though, the cases of genuine businesses and people going bang is quite saddening.

I'm definitely with you on the not owing huge money cars thing. I'm the same with my car it's not much but It's mine and I owe nothing on it. Although I'm sure I'll end up getting a loan on a car at some stage but one that I can well afford. My parents were always very good with money management especially my mother so they have me well trained. But I have a lot of relations that are absolutely up to there eyes in debt and still buying new cars and loans everywhere. All deliberate so I've no sympathy for them.

That Pcp is the worst idea that came into the car industry in a long time. It means that people are buying new cars that just can't afford them. The dealers are making tidy money out of it because the people taking it out won't be able to afford to pay the balloon payment at the end it's 8-10k on most cars madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

If I need to get a loan to get a car then i don't get a car simples.
    I buy what I can afford, that goes for everything, not just the cars.

YbFocus wrote: »
    If I need to get a loan to get a car then i don't get a car simples.
    I buy what I can afford, that goes for everything, not just the cars.

House?
    Great logic btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Bpmull wrote: »
    Lidl car stuff not much but if your looking for wipers, first aid kit, bottle jack, coolant tester.

http://www.lidl.ie/en/Offers.htm?id=336

Cheers, wouldn't have spotted that

Gonna pick up the bottle jack & mats for aul Padjey :)

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Cheers, wouldn't have spotted that

Gonna pick up the bottle jack & mats for aul Padjey :)

Bit of a stupid question but are they as good as a normal jack for cars it's just you'd rarely see them used with cars. Although I've seen them used for plenty of other purposes. 12 euro seems like a great deal either way.

Augeo wrote: »
    House?
    Great logic btw.

In fairness I have made an exception to the rule for the house myself.
    But not without supplying as much as I can myself and doing it at a time when it's as cheap as possible to do so.
    In the end I'm building a 2,000 sq ft house on a small mortgage.

I plan on the mortgage being my only loan :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Cheers for the heads up BP. Might get that winch. I wouldn't use a bottle jack to jack up a car. Too unstable. Only use mine to lift up the wishbone for doing a shock or something like that.

Interslice wrote: »
    Cheers for the heads up BP. Might get that winch. I wouldn't use a bottle jack to jack up a car. Too unstable. Only use mine to lift up the wishbone for doing a shock or something like that.

I was kind of thinking that it would be more specific car jobs they'd be used for. Bit of a small base to have a car jacked up on.

Can ye Dublin folk answer me this?

I'm up on Saturday to have a look at this new fly-over at Newlands Cross due to my love of new infrastructure... :p jk.

I'm up for the Ireland match but leaving the car at my sisters in Kilnamanagh. So how does this work with the new road? Do I still end up at the lights at Newlands Cross to turn right on to the Belgard road? Do I end up on the new road at all? Do I hit a slip road somewhere that brings me to the Belgard road? Is Newlands cross still there? Is this real life?

I honestly haven't a clue of this new lay out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Bit of a stupid question but are they as good as a normal jack for cars it's just you'd rarely see them used with cars. Although I've seen them used for plenty of other purposes. 12 euro seems like a great deal either way.

Probably not as stable but, I prefer them over scissor & small trolley jacks myself, cos they go straight up and don't disturb the opposing axle stand too much if one side is already lifted.

I find em nicer to use for lifting heavy stuff by the axle like the paj. Besides, it didn't come with a jack & I don't like taking my one from the shed out and about.

For e12 I won't be putting too much faith in the valves though, axle stands will be accompanying every lift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

YbFocus wrote: »
    In fairness I have made an exception to the rule for the house myself.
    But not without supplying as much as I can myself and doing it at a time when it's as cheap as possible to do so.
    In the end I'm building a 2,000 sq ft house on a small mortgage.

I plan on the mortgage being my only loan :)

My girlfriend and I get the keys to our first house next month. We own it outright. Outside of a project I'd like to take on down the line, its the only place we'll ever own.

I've always said it, I'll own my car and house outright. I've put up with driving a ****ty Bluebird and renting for long enough.

I was kind of thinking that it would be more specific car jobs they'd be used for. Bit of a small base to have a car jacked up on.

The jack needs to move with the car really. The car naturally wants to move a way from you as you lift it higher. Tried to get extra lift out of my lidl trolley jack the other day by putting a few 2x4's under it but it didn't work. The side of the jack nearest me just cocked up in the air. Need to get a 3 tonne trolley jack at some stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Can ye Dublin folk answer me this?

I'm up on Saturday to have a look at this new fly-over at Newlands Cross due to my love of new infrastructure... :p jk.

I'm up for the Ireland match but leaving the car at my sisters in Kilnamanagh. So how does this work with the new road? Do I still end up at the lights at Newlands Cross to turn right on to the Belgard road? Do I end up on the new road at all? Do I hit a slip road somewhere that brings me to the Belgard road? Is Newlands cross still there? Is this real life?

I honestly haven't a clue of this new lay out

Youl hit a slip road that brings you up the belgard road, you won't be on the new shiny bit at all

I got stuck in the traffic from the switch over tonight, I had less than a quarter of a tank, so with some quick thinking i got back onto the m50 and went through tallaght, all the while my needle going lower and lower, the light finally came on just outside newbridge on the m7, for a car that utterly drinks petrol 99% of the time, I'm well impressed!

My girlfriend and I get the keys to our first house next month. We own it outright. Outside of a project I'd like to take on down the line, its the only place we'll ever own.

I've always said it, I'll own my car and house outright. I've put up with driving a ****ty Bluebird and renting for long enough.

Fair play to you Simon, sounds like you've done real well.
    Really can't wait until mid next year, all going well we should have ours built then!
    Then I have to decide just how big I want the garage :)

Should the tolls on the M8 not be reduced because your using less of it. Annoying paying a toll and ten minutes later being diverted onto the old road to be stuck behind a truck. Rant over :).

My girlfriend and I get the keys to our first house next month. We own it outright. Outside of a couple of a project I'd like to take on down the line, its the only place we'll ever own.

Fair play with it. You made the sacrifices when you were younger to be able to buy the house outright now. There's a lot to be said for working hard when your younger and gathering money to make your life easier now. My parents were the same when they got married worked really hard when they were younger and gathered enough to buy their first house outright.

I'm very tempted to try and avoid changing my car too much when I'm younger and first start working there just a hole that you can end up putting so much money into them it's unreal. Be nice to just drive my golf into the ground see what it will really do mileage wise :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I took out a small loan for my car, when I was going to buy originally I would have all that I needed but the right car came up so a lot it was, I took 2k over 5 years at the lowest interest rate of 4.5% from the CU, I expect to have it paid off but the end of next year, I think loans are fine if you don't over borrow.

4.5% sounds very low for cu I though they're loans were about 9%.

I have the loan amount in savings there, I opted to take a loan instead of savings so I'd always have a backup and to get a credit rating going, that's why the interest was so low.

Youl hit a slip road that brings you up the belgard road, you won't be on the new shiny bit at all

I got stuck in the traffic from the switch over tonight, I had less than a quarter of a tank, so with some quick thinking i got back onto the m50 and went through tallaght, all the while my needle going lower and lower, the light finally came on just outside newbridge on the m7, for a car that utterly drinks petrol 99% of the time, I'm well impressed!

I expected a slip road alright. No more traffic lights! Huzzah! Cheers for that.

Nice one! Nothing worse than watching that needle drop so quickly on the home stretch. The S60 is the exact same. Had one or two "phew" moments late at night when the only 24 hr station is 20 miles from me and the fuel light is glowing into my face. Will be taking my brothers car instead of my own for this trip actually. Still haven't fully solved the chugging issue so don't wanna risk driving too far. It'll be sorted before Xmas hopefully :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

but they havent changed it yet have they ? i was over that way a while ago and had to go around it the old way through traffic lights !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I have the loan amount in savings there, I opted to take a loan instead of savings so I'd always have a backup and to get a credit rating going, that's why the interest was so low.

They're charging you interest to essentially withdraw some of your money and you have a pay them back or it'll affect your credit rating?
    Bargain :)

Never really got the whole credit union thing. My missus is a fan of them though

but they havent changed it yet have they ? i was over that way a while ago and had to go around it the old way through traffic lights !

Its changing tonight, they have it all down to one lane outbound and inbound, road surfacers all over the gaff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Its changing tonight, they have it all down to one lane outbound and inbound, road surfacers all over the gaff

still not going to solve the issue i dont think.

those road works on the M9 (down to one lane) are still gonna hold everything up.... it'll just happen faster :/

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They're charging you interest to essentially withdraw some of your money and you have a pay them back or it'll affect your credit rating?
    Bargain :)

Never really got the whole credit union thing. My missus is a fan of them though

I could've withdrawn my savings but I like having it as backup for anything, all in paying in interest for the whole thing is something like €100 negligible really for instant money.

those road works on the M9 (down to one lane) are still gonna hold everything up.... it'll just happen faster :/

Sure i suppose we'l wait and see!

They are doing a lot of road works on the m8 at the minute I think it's to do with drainage. It was a pain Monday morning junction 10-13 closed I normally get on at 10 when going through clonmel. Although when going home I'd normally stay on the motorway until exit 4 and go back roads to kilkenny from there as it avoids any traffic in clonmel.

It normally takes me just under 2 hours from Limerick city to Kilnamanagh. We'll be running on a tight enough schedule so would I be better off budgeting an extra few mins for the trip or will I be ok do ye think?

It'd be rude not to set out earlier

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Is it gonna be like that in the morning :eek:

I've to traverse Newlands at least four times tomorrow:eek::eek: