Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    Taxation should be fair. At the moment, w.r.t. water supply it is unfair because a certain percentage of the population have to pay for water supply, the rest do not. IW was created to ensure everybody pays for what they use. How is that such a problem for so many?

Why do so many want an unlimited, unmetered supply of water, for nothing?
    Because we already pay for it, perhaps? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

I would like Irish Water as a company to be restructured
    Unless they took out their sim card.

In which case they wouldn't have been able to ring the office in the first place..... (what with no sim)

Discarding a sim post phone call doesn't inhibit a trace and a trace can also determine the handset imei which can then identify previously used sims.....

... But I digress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

I would like Irish Water as a company to be restructured

As he said.

Some do.
    Some don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Tinkersbell

Beaner1 wrote: »
    The demonstrators do their own counter PR. The videos they put up "proving" their cause usually shows them to be horrible whining knackers that decent people would run a mile from.

They combine some of the worst traits of humanity, often in the one person. Entitled, ignorant, stupid, mouthy, opinionated, deceitful, manipulative and shameless. Their default strategy is to play the victim as that is where the argument is one as far as they are concerned. They are the victim of the banks. Victims of the government (despite all voting for team Bertie and being heavily paid off). Victims of the gardai despite them being incredibly restrained. THey will always do their best to present made up situations where kids, women and old people are being attacked.

Ah Mr. Facebook is back.
    Seen your facebook page last night mate, didn't see too many 'outings' as you said you were going to do in the post one of the lads here put up.
    How many likes have you now?

I have a cousin, decent guy and all, living in a scummy council house. He believes there are is some serious stuff being planned by a few hardcore "protestors". Assassination level stuff. Some of these shinners genuinely believe that a revolution is around the corner.

You're full of it.
    Nobody believes a word you post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Breffnigolfer

You haven't read my post. (or deliberately misunderstood it?)

Those currently on Public Water supplies are not paying enough and need to top up the current system. You do realise there are approx 250,000 houses paying for water at the moment? Why should some get it for free and others have to pay for it?

Saying it's already being paid for its not correct.

Where were the protesters supporting the families struggling to pay college fees for courses that were once free(paid for out of our taxes)?

Pay your fair share.

As he said.

Some do.
    Some don't.

And those that dont will most likely not pay for water to Irish water either - the neauvoux riche will most likely have a full plate of benefits to avoid the charges.

You haven't read my post. (or deliberately misunderstood it?)

Those currently on Public Water supplies are not paying enough and need to top up the current system. You do realise there are approx 250,000 houses paying for water at the moment? Why should some get it for free and others have to pay for it?

Saying it's already being paid for its not correct.

Where were the protesters supporting the families struggling to pay college fees for courses that were once free(paid for out of our taxes)?

Pay your fair share.

I do pay my fair share.
    Are you for real? Supporting irish water?
    In the old days people like you would be locked up in the looney bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,701 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

gandalf wrote: »
    I normally have an awful lot of respect for Noonan, he has been a very good Minister for Finance but along with the rest of cabinet he seems to have lost the plot where IW is concerned. It's no wonder the grassroots of FG are panicking so much at the moment, the people in charge of the party is completely and utterly disconnected from reality.

I'd wonder if he (or a lot of FG) are actually in agreement with Irish Water fully.

It seems to me that FG tried to chance their arm and way too many people are not having any of it, resulting in a lot of backpeddling and wringing of hands.

Still find it funny that Joan Burton is being wheeled out to do the propaganda for it though, when it's primarily a FG venture.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

Ah Mr. Facebook is back.
    Seen your facebook page last night mate, didn't see too many 'outings' as you said you were going to do in the post one of the lads here put up.
    How many likes have you now?

I'm too busy with work. Earned more last month than these protestors earn in 2 years.

I do pay my fair share.
    Are you for real? Supporting irish water?
    In the old days people like you would be locked up in the looney bin.

What do you mean "supporting Irish Water"?

Why should I be locked up? I'm asking for equality in the tax system, a system which currently allows too many spongers to get unlimited quantity of treated water for free. I'm asking these people be brought into line with those who are currently paying, without objection, for their domestic water supplies.

I'm too busy with work. Earned more last month than these protestors earn in 2 years.

What do you want? A medal?

BTW, sure you did......😂

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Tony EH wrote: »
    I'd wonder if he (or a lot of FG) are actually in agreement with Irish Water fully.

It seems to me that FG tried to chance their arm and way too many people are not having any of it, resulting in a lot of backpeddling and wringing of hands.

Still find it funny that Joan Burton is being wheeled out to do the propaganda for it though, when it's primarily a FG venture.

They are trying to hand the poison chalice to Labour. Sure look at Alan Kelly being sent out to the forefront talking to the media and doing PR exercises. We rarely seen that with Hogan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,353 ✭✭✭✭listermint

What do you mean "supporting Irish Water"?

Why should I be locked up? I'm asking for equality in the tax system, a system which currently allows too many spongers to get unlimited quantity of treated water for free. I'm asking these people be brought into line with those who are currently paying, without objection, for their domestic water supplies.

So you are for a HSE style behemoth to introduce your 'fairness' ?

What do you know about Water Security, and how do you propose we as a nation keep it, in relation to your short term 'fairness' ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I have a cousin, decent guy and all, living in a scummy council house. He believes there are is some serious stuff being planned by a few hardcore "protestors". Assassination level stuff. Some of these shinners genuinely believe that a revolution is around the corner.

Expect a knock on the door from a guard, Beaner1.

What do you want? A medal?

BTW, sure you did......😂

Just for you.

http://i.imgur.com/dURrOtX.jpg

20K last month. My opinion rightfully carries a lot more weight.

mikom wrote: »

What would a garda be doing in Belgium?

listermint wrote: »
    So you are for a HSE style behemoth to introduce your 'fairness' ?

What do you know about Water Security, and how do you propose we as a nation keep it, in relation to your short term 'fairness' ?

We already have an infrastructure "looking after" water supply, they've just changed their employment from Public Service to Semi-State.

As for water security?That's all enshrined in the relevant legislation. This is all just a red herring, to be honest. What do the protesters care about ownership of the utility if they're never going to pay for it? Why don't they just drill wells and be independent? Ah, yes, because the "taxes" will pay for an alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

Just for you.

Jez , another Photoshop pic :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Tony EH wrote: »

I have a feeling they slept walked their way through the set up and left too much of the details to the higher ups in the CS and the consultants. Only now when the details are being examined in minute detail are they realising that they have made a monumental cock up with the set up of this organisation.

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    mikom wrote: »

A knock on the door from men in white coats would be better :pac:

We already have an infrastructure "looking after" water supply, they've just changed their employment from Public Service to Semi-State.

As for water security?That's all enshrined in the relevant legislation. This is all just a red herring, to be honest. What do the protesters care about ownership of the utility if they're never going to pay for it? Why don't they just drill wells and be independent? Ah, yes, because the "taxes" will pay for an alternative.

We dont have an infrastructure seemingly, This is why Irish Water was created with employee transfers and massive contractor list. But that wont suit your ill informed argument. This means as i suspect you are for HSE style entity being created and facilitated. Or do you want to readdress the point.

And the term red herring is terribly over used by people who dont understand the subject matter, there is nothing in relevant legislation to protect our water security (nothing whatsoever) i cant be clearer. So you either dont understand the concept, dont understand the question or dont wish to understand either.

Go again.

Stargate wrote: »
    Jez , another Photoshop pic :P

Not possible with the monitor pixel aliasing. It's the real deal. MS Paint to keep me safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

Joan has a Table quiz planned at The Roselawn Inn at 8:15pm tonight, a fundraiser for Labour.

Is that out near Clonsilla ?

it is still going ahead ? Will there be a protest there ?

https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/10628403_1001065303253310_4323801777685386956_n.jpg?oh=41c7e2eb5358cb2cc117f337b7cf7379&oe=54D96CAC&__gda__=1424148678_313225d6108b32283b8aa89a375e1d37

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Just for you.

You come across as an extremely insecure person. Would you like to talk about it?

dav3 wrote: »
    You come across as an extremely insecure person. Would you like to talk about it?

No, I pay an expert 110 quid an hour for that.

listermint wrote: »
    We dont have an infrastructure seemingly, This is why Irish Water was created with employee transfers and massive contractor list. But that wont suit your ill informed argument. This means as i suspect you are for HSE style entity being created and facilitated. Or do you want to readdress the point.

And the term red herring is terribly over used by people who dont understand the subject matter, there is nothing in relevant legislation to protect our water security (nothing whatsoever) i cant be clearer. So you either dont understand the concept, dont understand the question or dont wish to understand either.

Go again.

That was one of the worst, pathetic put-downs yet. Try again? (and there's an apostrophe in "don't"!)

Right, so you have no valid argument then.

Thank you for your time. Oh and unsure if you read the rules here but pointing out spelling may be frowned upon.

Kind Regards

Listermint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Just for you.

What currency is that, the Zimbabwaen dollar?:pac:

It's euro for what it's worth. Thank you water protestors and general council scum. You drove me out of Ireland and onto much better things.