Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

66ad wrote: »
    What is wrong with you? surely you can't be that deluded.

She deliberately jumped out in front of a moving car. That seems to me to be a crazy thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

Sugar, I'm not the deluded one!

You are crazy Maryanne. Condoning thuggery and violence towards someone who was clearly not obstructing anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Tinkersbell

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    ThisRegard wrote: »
    I agree, I haven't seen a moderator around here in ages.

Be careful what you wish for.
    How many threads have you been thrown off in the last week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,904 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Phoebas wrote: »
    She deliberately jumped out in front of a moving car. That seems to me to be a crazy thing to do.

Not as crazy as running in front of a moving car to push a restrained woman into a metal bollard :confused:

She wasn't on front of the car. She was restrained before a thuggish scummy garda threw her violently into a bollard.

Surely it should have been peacefully dealt with instead of resorting to violence and the lowest of the low.

. How the f**k can anybody condone that?

Bias and the blind belief in the Gardai or just plain ole trolling

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    coolemon wrote: »
    You are crazy Maryanne. Condoning thuggery and violence towards someone who was clearly not obstructing anything.

I'm praising the Gardai for keeping our Taoiseach safe. Sorry if that doesn't suit your adgenda. Anyway, time for a nightcap and an early night. Be good.

Beaner1 wrote: »
    She was a threat that needed to be neutralised. Bonus points for sending a message to other potential aggressors.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_of_Jean_Charles_de_Menezes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Be careful what you wish for.
    How many threads have you been thrown off in the last week?

None. Nor have I ever been carded or accused of being a troll in all my years here, apart from today, by you, with your outlandish claim.

Anything else you'd like to make up?

coolemon wrote: »
    She wasn't on front of the car. She was restrained before a thuggish scummy garda threw her violently into a bollard.

Surely it should have been peacefully dealt with instead of resorting to violence and the lowest of the low.

What wasn't shown in the video was reported in the Irish Times.
    IT wrote:
    A woman jumped in front of the vehicle as but was pushed aside by a garda.

Its possible that the Gardai could have handled it differently, but the responsibility was on the protester who did an incredibly stupid thing.

I'm praising the Gardai for keeping our Taoiseach safe. Sorry if that doesn't suit your adgenda. Anyway, time for a nightcap and an early night. Be good.

We can certainly see your agenda

So you advocate using violence and thuggery against a peaceful protester to keep your Taoiseach safe.

Sad. You really are sad.

Well, this is a man who was once attacked by a plant pot so maybe you have a point.
    Flash car, bullet proof glass etc, this young woman was a real threat ok.

What wasn't shown in the video was reported in the Irish Times.

Reminds me of the skanger who fights when part of a gang. He always returns to put the boot in when the victim is on the ground. Not so brave on his own though

Pro taxers in full trolling mode now.....

If you resort to this, back your claims up, or report us.

And the subtlety may be lost on you, but there's a difference between being someone who is pro water charges, and someone who understands why it has to be paid for, and someone who disagrees with the nonsense yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    MOD

Gimmie a few minutes, cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭emo72

im still in shock after watching that poor girl being bounced off a pole. horrific.

she wasn't even in front of the car when rambo decided to mash her.

edit....he really was lucky he didnt kill her. i shudder to think what would happen if he did. keep it peaceful people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    MOD

Gimmie a few minutes, cheers

Thanks KERSPLAT!

Movie time again ? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Did I hear correctly that people no longer have to give their PPS numbers?

TheZohan wrote: »

That's the rumour (that the DSP rather than IW will deal with the free water allowance). We won't know 'till next Wednesday.

TheZohan wrote: »

Looks that way ok.
    I see some DJ made a comment about people not having a problem giving their PPS numbers to claim the €100 bribe they're giving to get signed up.
    They won't be getting mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

Looks that way ok.
    I see some DJ made a comment about people not having a problem giving their PPS numbers to claim the €100 bribe they're giving to get signed up.
    They won't be getting mine.

They already have your PPS number , so why turn down 100 quid.
    The whole PPS thing is a red herring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,701 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

3 of them had her restrained and the situation was well and truly under control. They just flung her into the pole for bonus points. How the f**k can anybody condone that?

I've just seen that video and it's the clearest case of direct assault that can be claimed at any of the Irish Water protests.

It's laughable, all the Fine Gaelers and Fianna Failers on here crying crocodile tears about Joan Burton's balloon (a woman they wouldn't give a tinkers cuss about in any other situation), trying to convince themselves that a girl being thrown headfirst into a bollard is, somehow, "ok".

Quite disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,701 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

emo72 wrote: »
    im still in shock after watching that poor girl being bounced off a pole. horrific.

edit....he really was lucky he didnt kill her. i shudder to think what would happen if he did. keep it peaceful people.

That Garda is extremely lucky she didn't hit her head off that pole.

Taken from Dublin says no on Facebook

" We have been informed this evening that tomorrow morning GMC SIERRA will be arriving into North Dublin with the Gardai and the RIOT SQUAD to blitz this part of Dublin."

Don't know if true , if so , why do it in parts of Dublin where they know there is great resistance to IW ??

I would have thought there are a lot of softer targets in Dublin no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Abihsot

emo72 wrote: »

The Gardai are guardians of the peace, she ran in front of the Taoiseach, liable to do anything, do the equivalent in any other country, the same would happen. These protesters think they have free right to do whatever they want, no solid arguments, just the same type of low life's who have nothing better to do. They want the Government out but it's hard to please these busy bodies, who ever is in there, the same will happen. Using the AAA and Paul Murphy as their idols shows how brainless they really are. They always bring protests too far.

Stargate wrote: »
    Taken from Dublin says no on Facebook

" We have been informed this evening that tomorrow morning GMC SIERRA will be arriving into North Dublin with the Gardai and the RIOT SQUAD to blitz this part of Dublin."

Don't know if true , if so , why do it in parts of Dublin where they know there is great resistance to IW ??

I would have thought there are a lot of softer targets in Dublin no?

Informed by who, their in insider man that threw the brick at the car?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

Tony EH wrote: »
    I've just seen that video and it's the clearest case of direct assault that can be claimed at any of the Irish Water protests.

It's laughable, all the Fine Gaelers and Fianna Failers on here crying crocodile tears about Joan Burton's balloon (a woman they would give a tinkers cuss about in any other situation), trying to convince themselves that a girl being thrown headfirst into a bollard is, somehow, "ok".

Quite disgusting.

It was assault on an innocent person. The woman in the video was subjected to legal force because of her illegal actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

On the Gardai action at the Mansion House. It and the same reverse thuggery at Jobstown are the sides of two coins. Each should be prosecuted if there is a case to be answered. The Gardai are and have been answerable to the courts.

Again this issue is being used to distract from the main argument. The main point is that "peaceful" protest is fully allowed under the constitution. Attempts to interfere with other peoples activities other then by way of inconvenience is not "peaceful". 100,000 walking O'connell street is fine, 5 then lobbying rocks isn't.

The campaign will falter if this type of interaction continues, middle Ireland will back away.

The fact is , what we can hope for now is a sensible charging process, "Cant Pay Wont Pay" will not hack it. The Govs compromises will be announced and in my view will ameliorate the majority of people, after that it will just the "dissidents", but they will be ignored. ( and dragged into court ultimately),

The extract same things was said about the LPT, fizzled out

Abihsot wrote: »
    The Gardai are guardians of the peace, she ran in front of the Taoiseach, liable to do anything, do the equivalent in any other country, the same would happen. These protesters think they have free right to do whatever they want, no solid arguments, just the same type of low life's who have nothing better to do. They want the Government out but it's hard to please these busy bodies, who ever is in there, the same will happen. Using the AAA and Paul Murphy as their idols shows how brainless they really are. They always bring protests too far.

4 posts in ...welcome ;)