Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

John.Icy wrote: »
    ILCU (credit unions) released a November statement (doesn't say how many were asked but a survey is a survey and they are pretty accurate once at least 1000 people are spoken too):

44% HAVE PAID.
    28% haven't paid BUT WILL PAY.
    28% NOT registering.

So that's 72% : 28%.

Interesting that when asked what kind of difficulty people will have with the water bill, only 13% say they will refuse to pay it.
    It looks like, of the 28% not registering, only 13% will follow through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭freddiek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Tinkersbell

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    dav3 wrote: »
    Lies, damned lies, and statistics.

Over half of the population have not registered.

56% Have not registered
    44% Have

Do you see what I did there?

To be fair that's a survey of a sample of people who are in a credit union.
    It's pointless.

VinLieger wrote: »
    Id actually agree with this, too many third party stories are being thrown around by both sides, any accounts like this from either side really need to be proven as real going forward

It was a post from a boardsie earlier in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,354 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Phoebas wrote: »
    Interesting that when asked what kind of difficulty people will have with the water bill, only 13% say they will refuse to pay it.
    It looks like, of the 28% not registering, only 13% will follow through.

Interesting that Irish water have given us no breakdown of signup statistics.

I mean they have a new payment system its all in a fancy dashboard at the fingertips.

Is it because they dont actually match what the poster above just gave us.

That is more interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

listermint wrote: »

I mean they have a new payment system its all in a fancy dashboard at the fingertips.

I read in The Irish Times that the deadline for registering is to be pushed out again...

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    freddiek wrote: »

Thats fierce shocking, so it is. Imagine the bould Gardai treating innocent bystanders like that? Tut, tut.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Eirigi, arseholes.

Sure that's alright so....

You look for a conspiracy in everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,229 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    Files are often sent to the DPP after people are released without charge. Are you thinking he may be an agent agent provocateur ?

No, why do you ask?

I think it's odd that they would opt not to charge a criminal with a crime when indisputable evidence exists.

Why leave it up to the DPP? If somebody threw a brick at your car and was caught on dozens of cameras doing so, was witnessed by gardai doing it and was immediately apprehended, would you be okay with seeing him released without charge?

People blame courts for how criminals are treated too leniently, but obviously Gardai play a part in that too if they're happy to wash their hands of bringing charges themselves.

Sure that's alright so....

You know anything about them? If yes, you'll understand why it's funny that they claim Garda thuggery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

BoatMad wrote: »
    However it is also clear that amongst that group, there is a minority that wish to run their own agenda, to subvert the state and introduce their own , very radical view . To that end they are quite happy too encourage violence or at the very least to slide along on its coat-tails

The State was corrupted a long time ago.

And it was "quite happy" to tolerate corruption and child abuse,since the time of Dev.

Violence for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭freddiek

Eirigi, arseholes.

doesn't matter who is the on the receiving end. its a matter for concern when Gardai can still abuse their powers and get away with it.

are you the type of person who gets a hard-on seeing police beat up members of the public but wouldn't have the balls to join up himself?

You know anything about them? If yes, you'll understand why it's funny that they claim Garda thuggery.

I know about them ok.
    Does that mean the Gardai stoop to their level?

I see the graduate that joined the protest is actually a SF Councillor, Louise Dunne.

freddiek wrote: »
    doesn't matter who is the on the receiving end. its a matter for concern when Gardai can still abuse their powers and get away with it.

are you the type of person who gets a hard-on seeing police beat up members of the public but wouldn't have the balls to join up himself?

What powers were abused?

All these abuse of power claims, all the claims of Garda violence. All videoed from a number of angles, and yet nobody from the likes of civil rights lawyers to Amnesty have picked it up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Pocoyo

I agree with metered water charges
    ''Tallaght Water Charge Protest Update:

It has been now confired by a friend of a serving Garda member, stationed in Tallaght, that the person involved in the brick throwing incident, that was caught on video, was a serving Garda Detective based in another Dublin City Garda Station.

This confirmation was made to a friend of mine who is friends with a Uniformed Garda member that made the admission. He went on to say how he was disgusted by the actions of his colleagues in Tallaght yesterday in which he witnessed women and children being pepper sprayed by Gardai.

The Garda went on to further talk of his disgust at the fact that he had witnessed legitimate protesters being set up from the very start. The Garda member further stated that other members have quietly expressed their disgust at the same sight of women and childern being attacked and pepper sprayed.

The Garda member was shown the images of the person throwning the brick and stated that the blue garment under the persons red jacket is a Garda issue Stab Vest, he had no doubts about that fact.

The Irish Independent newspaper, owned by Tax Exile Denis O'Brien, who owns GMC Sierra Ltd, later used a Photoshop Composite image created from a selection of other digital images taking by their photgraphers in the area yesterday.

This fakey of images was believed to have been inspired by the fact that people were protesting outside the Independent Newspaper printing works in near City West that same day.

However the attempt to discredit the legitmate protest, using the altered images, falied because people online quickly spotted that the image was clearly doctored.

Also the fact that it showed no anti - water charge signs in the background of the image. The reason being is that the water charge protesters had left the area when Joan Burton was gone. The infamous brick throwning incident was captured an hour or so after Mrs Burton had left the Tallaght area and the protesters went home.

Local politicians viewing the images have said that it is a say day in the nations history that a national newspaper and the Gardai conspire to discredit legimate protest over water charges.''

COPIED AND PASTED!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

None of this is true. There is no element. Stop propagating nonsense. Your reading the independent today was it?

Talk to people who were there will you and stop with the faux worry

There is no subversive element. People will be out on the tenth December. Ordinary people
    I see the graduate that joined the protest is actually a SF Councillor, Louise Dunne.

So what ??????????????????

What is your point ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭twowheelsgood

Pocoyo wrote: »
    ''Tallaght Water Charge Protest Update:
    :
    :
    COPIED AND PASTED!!
    Thanks. We're seen that joke already. Most amusing. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

Thats fierce shocking, so it is. Imagine the bould Gardai treating innocent bystanders like that? Tut, tut.

The Gardai have a reputation for "that sort of thing".

Hopefully the latest enquiry into Gardai corruption will be published asap.

Somehow I doubt it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

Haha she might learn an important lesson.

What powers were abused?

All these abuse of power claims, all the claims of Garda violence. All videoed from a number of angles, and yet nobody from the likes of civil rights lawyers to Amnesty have picked it up.

What would you call this the lady could of died.

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=1500639346866275

• Closed Accounts Posts: 628 ✭✭✭Chance The Fapper

Ouch, that was fairly harsh.

Can people post location and times of smaller protests when they see them on here for those of us not on Facebook?

Pocoyo wrote: »
    What would you call this the lady could of died.

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=1500639346866275

What if she had a gun and was determined to kill our Taoiseach? She was a very silly girl.

Ouch, that was fairly harsh.

Can people post location and times of smaller protests when they see them on here for those of us not on Facebook?

Or, you know, just throwing a crazy idea out there, create an account?

What if she had a gun and was determined to kill our Taoiseach? She was a very silly girl.

Right.. wont be reading maryannes posts anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

Tony EH wrote: »

Christ...The level of simplistic childishness that some posters can let themselves descend to.

It was only a few short years ago that Joan Burton's party were themselves called "communists" by the same type Fine Gael/Fianna Fail squawkers we're seeing here.

Fücking laughable.

There's about 6 posters on here that continually post this bottom feeding level of contribution that I, and I'm sure many others, find (and have found for some time now) utterly lamentable.

I've come to the conclusion that the likes of dxhound, Barely there, guy: incognito, nox, maryanne and phoebeas actually don't WANT to be taken seriously and are simple spouting off to complete some sort of misguided political fetish, rather than actually discussing the issue of Irish Water.

Perfectly said Tony EH !

Bravo .

There's a video of enda leaving the mansion house today.
    As the car leaves a copper grabs a girl and fires her into a cast iron bollard.
    You can hear her body smacking against the metal.
    It's f*cking disgraceful behaviour by a thug of a cop and if it was my daughter I'd take his f*cking head off.

I can't link it atm for some reason but it's on a page called 'Pushet Too Far'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

Originally Posted by My name is URL View Post
    I'd be interested in hearing about that too. Can't imagine them being released without charge given there was so many Gardai present and photographic evidence.

That would be odd to say the least

It is a feature of the reality benign policing in this state, that Gardai, especially where personal injury has been avoided, choose not to proceed with a criminal prosecution

Equally the evidence necessary to effect a prosecution, may also not be to an acceptable standard, hence they will not proceed. The DPP receives many "files" that it may or may not decide to proceed to prosecution, that is the DPPs prerogative.

We can be judge jury and hangman on Boards, but criminal law is different. Doesn't mean he didn't do it.