Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assassins Creed - Unity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dayum

Looks like Nintendo have bought Assassins Creed and put Mario Kart in there.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Dayum wrote: »
    It's not mystifying. It's the ground they're running their company into....they're not giving 100% and f*cking the customer over. Calex is on Xbox...no idea what you're on....but PC has been given the two fingers...

This.

Ubisoft is now getting rightly deserved flak for shoddy business practices and releasing poorly optimized games. Watchdogs while not awful, was not the game they advertised and that's not even taken into account how craptastic the PC port was.

Unity is not only running badly on lots of PC's but also on the latest consoles. Add to the current ****storm utter bull**** PR rubbish such as 30 fps being better than 60 fps along with micro-transactions in AAA titles and you have a company that seems to being going out of its way to piss off it's customers and go out of business.

Venom wrote: »
    This.

Ubisoft is now getting rightly deserved flak for shoddy business practices and releasing poorly optimized games. Watchdogs while not awful, was not the game they advertised and that's not even taken into account how craptastic the PC port was.

Unity is not only running badly on lots of PC's but also on the latest consoles. Add to the current ****storm utter bull**** PR rubbish such as 30 fps being better than 60 fps along with micro-transactions in AAA titles and you have a company that seems to being going out of its way to piss off it's customers and go out of business.

I agree with you. I think they've backed themselves into a corner now...

The Division has absolutely no way whatsoever of bringing to the table even quarter of what was promised and I believe that might be the straw to break the camels back and they know it. Ubisoft as a company are in serious trouble. If this dreadful business model they've been operating under continues I honestly can't see them being around in a few years. We'll know a little more next week when we see what mess they've probably given the green light on with Far Cry 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Agree with most of the but so far Far Cry 4 seems to be very solid all round. Just the story is a bit weak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Gizmo55

I agree with you. I think they've backed themselves into a corner now...

The Division has absolutely no way whatsoever of bringing to the table even quarter of what was promised and I believe that might be the straw to break the camels back and they know it. Ubisoft as a company are in serious trouble. If this dreadful business model they've been operating under continues I honestly can't see them being around in a few years. We'll know a little more next week when we see what mess they've probably given the green light on with Far Cry 4.

Far Cry 4 is by a different team and uses a different engine so fingers crossed.

Gizmo55 wrote: »
    Far Cry 4 is by a different team and uses a different engine so fingers crossed.

I hope FC4 is a good game because I enjoyed 3. About two years ago I played through the original and I was one of the few to like the second one too so you're right, fingers crossed.

I think it's glaringly obvious now that they can't expect to annualize Assassins Creed. They need to switch it up to a biannual series or even better - every three years. These games need more time in development. The shareholders will have to accept that because in the long run it's their pockets that are going to be hit when the customer stops buying their unfinished products.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Far Cry appears to be solid looking at Metacritic.

I just hope that's not the next series to be destroyed by them with Far Cry 5 being a shambles.

Don't know if anyone has seen this but it's from an ex-Ubisoft employee.....

pZblPQk.png

Looks like something out of Silent Hill....

dd9f8dc68f0f1106e424e4c7c75b5f64.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Killinator

I haven't come across much in the line of glitches so far on ps4 but what is irritating me is all the guards and most npc's speaking with thick cockney, scouse or various other English accents.

Thus wouldnt be so annoying but for the fact that so many people working on the game speak French, are French Canadian or whatever....how could they not do the accents at least, gimme Ezio's accent any time, at least they made an effort to make the people sound Italian while speaking English, it just exudes laziness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Gizmo55 wrote: »

Far Cry 4 seems to be getting good user reviews so far with the only complaints being the villain is kinda meh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Party rocker!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

That is fecking hilarious

• Agree with most of the but so far Far Cry 4 seems to be very solid all round. Just the story is a bit weak.

Isn't it more of the same though? Most of the lads I know that have a copy early say it's near identical to 3. There somehow managing to turn every single franchise into a cash cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Isn't it more of the same though? Most of the lads I know that have a copy early say it's near identical to 3. There somehow managing to turn every single franchise into a cash cow.

Yeah it is the same, it's all they had to do with Unity was remake 2 but set it in France and they made a bollix of it. I'd rather a copy and paste job on Unity than what they did to it. Change is not good if it's rushed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭TheGoldenAges

pZblPQk.png

Have you got a link to the reddit thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,329 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Can this thread just be merged with Gaming Humour please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Grahamer666

M!Ck^ wrote: »

My thoughts exactly. I know most games these days are very similar in what you have to do but this looks to me just like FC3 with fancier visuals. Will be passing myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

I didn't know Mick Jagger was motioncaptured for the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

pZblPQk.png
    This doesn't really make sense, the Assassins Creed teams alternate between entries in the series so no team would only have a year between each release. Unity itself began development after Brotherhood back in 2010 so that's even more irrelevant in this case.

The 90% piracy comment probably relates back to the comments made in 2012 by Guillemot.

Judging by the details of the game he worked on and his use of GBP and UK-based examples, I'd wager he worked on Watch_Dogs as part of the team at Reflections. Props for mentioning the poor QA folks though, they really do get treated like crap in so many companies. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

I have to go against the grain here, I'm loving Unity so far. Looks great, the frame-rate drops are rare for me and I've only had a couple of graphical glitches.

It looks fantastic, and I love how you can seamlessly go from interiors to exteriors. And it's huge, I've spent a couple of days playing already and have barely gone outside the 3 central districts. The side-missions seem light-years ahead of Black Flag, much more variety and story in them. And the 'home' upgrades here are more meaningful, opening up new missions & back-story items rather than just making the garden shed look a bit less tatty! The customisation options are a bit nuts, there are so many.

The downsides, it can be a bit sluggish in places (and not necessarily the places you expect. Outside Notre Dame is a very complex scene with loads of NPCs and is never a problem, but there's another ordinary street where it always slows down a bit). There's just one place - climbing the stained glass windows in Saint Chappelle - where it became really choppy.

As for the glitches, I did fall through one building (oops!) but was able to fast-travel back to another location. And the floor of one hallway in the 'home' was flashing like a '80s disco dancefloor :)

The combat is more interesting for me. The stealth was really tough at first, but you have to do a few main missions and upgrade your character a little before tackling the side-missions or you'll really struggle.

One thing that got me though was the flood of add-ins/add-ons/tie-ins. Do this for Uplay points! Play the tablet companion app to open these Nomad chests. Sync to Initiates (don't even know what these are). Try a co-op mission (with who?). Check your contacts list here! Start a Club! Start a Brotherhood! Jesus, gimme a minute's peace to just go kill something. There are four different kinds of 'currency' for upgrading - why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭OmegaRed

My copy of Unity arrives tonight and I am looking forward to getting stuck in. I've been reading all the post and articles about the bugs but I am hoping that as soon as they release patch 3, it'll be a lot better than what people have experienced so far.

I also completed Rogue on Sunday night and it's a great lead into Unity.

My question, there have been 2 patches so far, does anyone know where I can find detailed patch notes for the PS4 version. I've googled but haven't had much success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

OmegaRed wrote: »
    My copy of Unity arrives tonight and I am looking forward to getting stuck in. I've been reading all the post and articles about the bugs but I am hoping that as soon as they release patch 3, it'll be a lot better than what people have experienced so far.

I also completed Rogue on Sunday night and it's a great lead into Unity.

My question, there have been 2 patches so far, does anyone know where I can find detailed patch notes for the PS4 version. I've googled but haven't had much success.

Didn't google hard enough 2nd hit for me :cool: :P

http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/950329-PS4-ONLY-Notes-For-Patch-2-11-14-14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭OmegaRed

I did actually find that but i figured, cos it was so small they couldn't possibly be everything. But if that's it, that's it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

OmegaRed wrote: »
    I did actually find that but i figured, cos it was so small they couldn't possibly be everything. But if that's it, that's it!

Patch 3 is the one that they hope to address the bigger issues such as performance, but like I said I've seen little of those problems on One, certainly not to the extent the internet is up in arms over.

Edit: sorry the outlined patch 3 here http://assassinscreed.ubi.com/en-US/community/liveupdates/live_updates_details.aspx?c=tcm:152-184758-16&ct=tcm:148-76770-32

The menu / hud fix is a big one for me, that I have seen and been annoyed by you get tool tips popping up over mission details etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Going to return my copy. Ubisoft needed to know that this isn't acceptable. Will probably pick up sometime in the new year when all the kinks are out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭tripperman

i find game very good, havent seen any flaws or problems,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭Juan8

Thinking about getting this but have never played Assassin's creed before does that matter storyline wise etc anyone know? Or should I maybe get Black flag first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Juan8 wrote: »
    Thinking about getting this but have never played Assassin's creed before does that matter storyline wise etc anyone know? Or should I maybe get Black flag first?
    The overall story doesn't seem to matter much past AC2.