Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭AboutaWeekAgo

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    Do people really think that it's that far fetched that it could be a Garda? A quick google will show you that it's been going on at protest for years. I'm not saying that it is or it isn't but it's an interesting thought non the less. Very strange that he wasn't charged, I've heard of people who have been charged for a lot less.

But of course we all know that there is no corruption in the force these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,354 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    Beaner1 wrote: »
    WTC7 was a controlled demolition.

Any question to ask is why they would photoshop and image and use a garda plant. Why not just do the photoshop. Another question is why they didn't photoshop out the "stab vest".

I think you confused my post with giving a fk. If anyone is really concerned I'm sure the guards can answer why they were released without charge. Despite the video and photo evidence.

I have no conspiracy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Annabella1

Don't worry to much, soon people wont be able to afford to throw water balloons around.

It may not have been water...

Mate starting work with these boys tomorrow

Fair Play to him, Moneys Money

Not sure what your mate had to do with this tread. Tell him best or luck well done on his new job.
    Oh wait you were looking for some reaction.

... Sorry eh no I don't care about your mates employment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

With the incompetence and corruption exposed throughout the Gardai over the past few years, I don't think anything can be ruled out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Annabella1 wrote: »

is that a CT ?

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    listermint wrote: »
    I suppose you could ask the guards why they were released without charge. If it interests you that much

Isn't it usual to release without charge and a file go to the DPP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭Thurston?

is that a CT ?

Water from your own bodily treatment plant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

It certainly wasn't anarchy.
    2 teenagers arrested for acting the hard man and a water balloon thrown at a hag and that's anarchy in your sheltered brain.

It's not my brain that's sheltered, I never said anything about anarchy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭masculinist

Well. The foundation of legitimate law and order is legitimate government. The gombeen corrupt quisling self serving traitors in government through their own behaviour are undermining law and order.
    If we follow their example, the correct response when someone throws an egg at Burton the Liebour party whinger must be obviously to spend a few hundred grand on a tribunal which will only come to the {not verdict but just a conclusion} conclusion stage after all witnesses have passed away, have an irrelevant conclusion and for which the terms of reference must exclude such things ''eggs''
    The line has been crossed by government. I really despair at their corruption. There was never any need for a couple of hundred thousand people to march in the rain with their kids. All this government needed to know was the information that the people did not want this water tax. End of story. They know it is not wanted but still rebel against the people. The rebels and the militant rabble are actually the government. Government authority comes from the people, not the other way around. Its not the law abiding taxpaying families who marched in the rain who fit the description of crossing the line. The militant rabble Liebour party government is finished.

I'd be interested in hearing about that too. Can't imagine them being released without charge given there was so many Gardai present and photographic evidence.

That would be odd to say the least

Files are often sent to the DPP after people are released without charge. Are you thinking he may be an agent agent provocateur ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

I would call it tearing up your mandate from the people coming back to bite you on the ass.

we are in a constitutional democracy, you " tear up" Joans mandate at the next general election , if that is the wish of the majority.

Note " wish of the majority" ., not the wish of a bunch of hooligans, or subversives who have infiltrated this movement for their own shady, anti-democratic ends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Tinkersbell

RTE reported that two people have been released without charge.
    Normally they'd continue with 'a file has been sent to the DPP', in this case they didn't.

Isn't it usual to release without charge and a file go to the DPP.

Never been in the system myself. I think you are charged and the file the goes to dpp. Not the other way around.

Phoebas wrote: »
    They're going with the it was a Garda angle.

That's so hilariously tin foil hatted I can't believe they put it on a public webpage.

BoatMad wrote: »

Note " wish of the majority" ., not the wish of a bunch of hooligans, or subversives who have infiltrated this movement for their own shady, anti-democratic ends

Are these the 'ultra-factions' the moan claims were shipped into Jobstown yesterday?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

RTE reported that two people have been released without charge.
    Normally they'd continue with 'a file has been sent to the DPP', in this case they didn't.

They will seek to get more evidence before charging. Then a file is sent to the DPP.

Sure they will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Do people really think that it's that far fetched that it could be a Garda?

Some of the people claiming it was a Garda are using this image to show he is wearing a Garda vest. https://i.imgur.com/tNs6ytS.jpg

In an ironic twist, it looks like that one is photoshopped - this being the original: https://i.imgur.com/7fAnVWK.jpg

Multiple pictures and a video of him chucking the brick isn't enough evidence? Surely that's more than enough to charge him.

So it never happened, but instead Denis O'Brien photoshopped a photo of a detective into a scene, and the detective is wearing the world's longest stab vest just in case the photographer in the photo studio tries to stab him?

Rrrriggggghhhhhhtttt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

Multiple pictures and a video of him chucking the brick isn't enough evidence? Surely that's more than enough to charge him.

Why rush it though? It makes little difference if they charge them now or next week. They know where the guy lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

Well. The foundation of legitimate law and order is legitimate government.
    Indeed, so are you saying that the majority wish of the electorate,as expressed constitutionally is somehow NOT legitimate. Or is it that You merely know better .

The gombeen corrupt quisling self serving traitors in government through their own behaviour are undermining law and order.

"gombeen corrupt quisling self serving traitors" no doubt as determined by you and a few brick throwers.

If we follow their example, the correct response when someone throws an egg at Burton the Liebour party whinger must be obviously to spend a few hundred grand on a tribunal which will only come to the {not verdict but just a conclusion} conclusion stage after all witnesses have passed away, have an irrelevant conclusion and for which the terms of reference must exclude such things ''eggs''

eh - I see you've lost it here
    The line has been crossed by government. I really despair at their corruption.

Again I see you are judge jury and executioner, perhaps you could send them "away"
    There was never any need for a couple of hundred thousand people to march in the rain with their kids.

Peaceful protest is a good thing, No-one is denying the problems of IW and the way it was tackled.

All this government needed to know was the information that the people did not want this water tax. End of story. They know it is not wanted but still rebel against the people.

Governing is unfortunately not about just giving the people "what they want", if anything we got into this mess because we voted in governments that just did " what we wanted'.

Governments have to balance a whole series of "needs and wants", against the states ability to raise taxes and pay for all those " needs and wants". Too much tax and an economy falters ( badly, perhaps you weren't around for the 80s), too little and services to the public are overly curtailed.

Ultimately they must strike a balance, that means they can get it wrong. However , however you dice up the apple, someone must pay for water, it has clearly been demonstrated that the tax payer has not been paying enough for water as the infrastructure is collapsing. So we can either increase general taxation or directly charge people for the water.

Personally I prefer meter water charge, at least I can see what Im paying for.

The rebels and the militant rabble are actually the government. Government authority comes from the people, not the other way around. Its not the law abiding taxpaying families who marched in the rain. The Liebour party is finished.

The labour party may be finished or it may not be, BUT thats clearly a decision that will be taken by the electorate at the next general election. Today, we have a democratically elected government. They are clearly not rabble.

Clearly neither are the vast majority of ordinary people who are expressing their right to assemble and express their opinion.

However it is also clear that amongst that group, there is a minority that wish to run their own agenda, to subvert the state and introduce their own , very radical view . To that end they are quite happy too encourage violence or at the very least to slide along on its coat-tails

ThisRegard wrote: »
    So it never happened, but instead Denis O'Brien photoshopped a photo of a detective into a scene, and the detective is wearing the world's longest stab vest just in case the photographer in the photo studio tries to stab him?

Rrrriggggghhhhhhtttt.

I don't recall anyone say it never happened, people were saying it was photoshopped yesterday(on both sides of the argument) and once a video surfaced everyone said they were wrong. Going by your posts you're reading a different thread than everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

ThisRegard wrote: »

Rrrriggggghhhhhhtttt.

Would not be the first time.

Liam Lawlor?

Phoebas wrote: »
    Some of the people claiming it was a Garda are using this image to show he is wearing a Garda vest. https://i.imgur.com/tNs6ytS.jpg

In an ironic twist, it looks like that one is photoshopped - this being the original: https://i.imgur.com/7fAnVWK.jpg

Just on this, and I don't really care because the little tosser shouldn't have thrown a brick, but....in the video the brick hits the car at the bottom of the back screen, it never reaches more than about 4' high on it's way.
    The Indo photo shows the brick at around 6' (the height of the big 'Garda' writing on the van)
    What made me think it was photoshopped was the clarity of the actual brick.
    Now you can laugh if you like, but seriously, take a look at the video and then take a look at the photo. Something has been altered.

As I said, the little tosser shouldn't have thrown it, but it's quite possible that the Sindo altered it for a more dramatic effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭John.Icy

ILCU (credit unions) released a November statement (doesn't say how many were asked but a survey is a survey and they are pretty accurate once at least 1000 people are spoken too):

44% HAVE PAID.
    28% haven't paid BUT WILL PAY.
    28% NOT registering.

So that's 72% : 28%.

http://www.creditunion.ie/communications/news/2014/title,8698,en.php

(Thought I'd leave this here as IW don't exactly give us any info regard signups and seeing as there's 3.3m attached to the credit unions it's a big enough body with all kinds of people and backgrounds).

Now I shall leave, as I'm guessing this is going to be met horribly by many many posters.

I don't recall anyone say it never happened, people were saying it was photoshopped yesterday(on both sides of the argument) and once a video surfaced everyone said they were wrong. Going by your posts you're reading a different thread than everyone else.

Ffs, clearly my post was not a factual portrayal of things as they are but an amalgamation of everything said about the incident so far.

Do people really neesd smilies for everything like this these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭twowheelsgood

dav3 wrote: »
    With the incompetence and corruption exposed throughout the Gardai over the past few years, I don't think anything can be ruled out.

So a friend of a friend of a garda confessed, seemingly on behalf of another garda, at a different station, who cheerfully told him that he had committed a criminal act, risking his career (and liberty) because of the bad behaviour of other gardai towards protestors.

And he decided to make a principled stand on behalf of protestors, even though he was really corrupt and incompetent, by er, undermining their efforts of the protest movement, by associating them with thugery.

Further he couldn’t be arsed removing his stab vest, which despite only a slither being visible can be irrefutably identified. Also (the best bit! :) ), the image was later photo shopped by Denis O Brien, despite there been absolutely no reason to fake a real picture (other than to hide the stab vest, which wasn’t done)

Now, I’m someone who believes that paying for water is a good idea so I’m obviously a half-wit who can’t think anything out for myself! But even I have my eye brows raised at that “explanation” :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

John.Icy wrote: »
    ILCU (credit unions) released a November statement (doesn't say how many were asked but a survey is a survey and they are pretty accurate once at least 1000 people are spoken too):

44% HAVE PAID.
    28% haven't paid BUT WILL PAY.
    28% NOT registering.

So that's 72% : 28%.

http://www.creditunion.ie/communications/news/2014/title,8698,en.php

(Thought I'd leave this here as IW don't exactly give us any info regard signups and seeing as there's 3.3m attached to the credit unions it's a big enough body with all kinds of people and backgrounds).

Now I shall leave, as I'm guessing this is going to be met horribly by many many posters.

Lies, damned lies, and statistics.

Over half of the population have not registered.

56% Have not registered
    44% Have

Do you see what I did there?

Edit: Fair play to the 44% who have already paid.