Local Thug Died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Chunners wrote: »
    mean are funerals not held in churches and are churches not the house of god
    You're just rambling at this stage.

I can't type this any more times, nor any clearer. Funerals are for the survivors.

For survivors, read: bereaved.

I couldn't give a rats if a eulogy is economical with the truth. Why do you care? If you know what was said, why did you concern yourself with attending in the first place, or reading the coverage in the first place?

Perhaps you should ask yourself why exactly this annoys you. Perhaps your reaction says more about yourself than anything else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 424 ✭✭Chunners

I don't think you would say to someone while they were alive that they deserve to die either.

You're right I would never say to someone that they deserved to die but I would have no problem saying to them that I don't give a ****e if they die. I couldn't care less if a scumbag dies, one less wart on the ass of society as far as I am concerned. To be honest I find it fascinating that any of you care considering the fact that if he wasn't dead chances are this weekend he would have most likely robbed someones daughter/sister/mother/grandmother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Without giving away to much, you know The Ten Commandments?

Well, he broke every single one of them.
    You shall have no other gods before Me.
    You shall not make idols.
    You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain.
    Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.
    Honor your father and your mother.
    You shall not murder.
    You shall not commit adultery.
    You shall not steal.
    You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
    You shall not covet.

Easy enough to break 90% of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

I think you have to stay true to yourself in such a situation. If it was me I wouldn't be jumping for joy at a tormentor's or rival's death, I'd probably just treat it with indifference.

Sympathy for the family of course, but I'd never fake grief, or shout in delight. I'd simply hold a respectful silence.

It annoys me when I'm asked to go to funerals of people I didn't get on with, by people who didn't get on with the deceased either no less. It's to pay respect apparently, whereas respect IMO would be to leave those who are genuinely grieving to have their day alone, free of any disingenuous muppets who want to save face with others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

myshirt wrote: »
    Backwards Man, you are correct.

This is a tradegy on all fronts and it is somewhat as simple as this - you either spend the money at the start, or you spend it at the end. You choose. And we chose golf courses, bonuses and an overpaid civil service.

Put the money into education and communities when vulnerable kids are young, or put it on deposit to have ready for the prison system in 18 years.

Very much doubt many posters here have first hand knowledge of socioeconomic disadvantage and what it churns out. The level of disadvantage faced by some, I'm surprised the success rate of getting out of it isn't lower than the 5% or so that it is. But that is human resilience.

Some balls to come on here and expect good outcomes for kids that didn't come within an asses roar of equality of opportunity in life, and grew up in an entirely different day to day world than most people know. Do a switcheroo with any of you high horse brigade and you wouldn't last a week lads. You really wouldn't. Ya haven't a rashers.

Celebrating any young lad's death is disgusting. And as were his crimes. None of this was a good outcome.

Here is a simple truism; people make the choice to become criminals regardless of their background.
    I see the majority of people in severely disadvantaged situations making an honest effort to lead decent responsible lives. The scum bags are in the minority but the wounds they open and the scars they leave on their communities are immense.
    The reason people lament the passing of these people is usually a mix of delusion and fear of having to be seen to be respectful of the dead person for fear of reprisals from their friends/families who lest we forget strike fear into the hearts of the respectable majority who live around them.
    While I agree that the way our society is currently structured handicaps these people they ultimately have to accept the personal responsibility for their choices and actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

I remember when a local thug was gunned down in a park near where I lived.
    For weeks afterwards the railings of the park were festooned with bouquets of flowers, cards, photographs even teddy bears (seriously WTF - the guy was an out and out scumbag).

I remember thinking at the time that I wouldn't get half as much stuff in tribute if it had been me who was shot instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

I remember when a local thug was gunned down in a park near where I lived.
    For weeks afterwards the railings of the park were festooned with bouquets of flowers, cards, photographs even teddy bears (seriously WTF - the guy was an out and out scumbag).

I remember thinking at the time that I wouldn't get half as much stuff in tribute if it had been me who was shot instead.

Scumbags tend to have big families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

and half these scumbags are out on bail.... the sustem hates to think prison may break their scumbag routine of robbing, fighting, receiving the dole, and drinking, whilst high on a mix of speed and rat poison pellets!

Basically a lad from my home town, in his mid 20's died this week due to various complications caused by long term hard drug use.

He had many convictions, armed robbery & assault to name but a few and spent time in prison.

He was an active thug and outright scummer up until the complications started several months ago. Not a weekend would go by where him or one of his cronies would assault someone outside one of the many bars they were barred from after closing. He is from a long line of thugs and many of his midnight buddies he's left behind I would imagine are still strung out on the same hard drugs that killed him at this moment.

What I cannot get my head around is the outpouring of grief from a lot of people from the town on social media, very respected business people too. Not 6/7 years ago did he use a hand gun to rob the local mace holding up a young girl from the town with a gun, the shop shortly after closed because of it.

I have had little or no dealings with him in 10 years. But maybe my thought process is tainted as my last dealing with him was a headbut which i received when I was 17.

Am I being harsh or does an unbelievably filthy past one of bullying, terrorising, beatings and assaults, drug use, robbery, vandalism and many many more be forgiven just like that?

ask yourself this considering. is the world a better place without him on it?? I know it is, according to the victims so yes... it's a long time coming and good riddance. if only it could happen more often. every act of violence or similar has a lasting effect for years and even life. id breath a sigh of relief if I were you so fook'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

The system is Ireland forgets the trail of destruction these scumbags leave in their wake, and also forgets the impact scumbags actions have on their victims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

I think this thread is going to be good craic , have seen this happen in my own town, absolute skank died in prison from an overdose. He's in for dealing and assault and the local rag prints the headline such and such was a gentle giant!!! He was not he was a Robbin prickquote]

Would that be Robin Thicke's even less subtle brother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Don't call me naive but it isn't healthy to hold on to hate, particularly after someobe has died - actually, it says something about you.

It says something about me, fair enough - is there any actual evidence that holding grudges until hell freezes over is unhealthy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I have to say it baffles me how when one of these gangland/druggie figures dies there is this sudden outpouring of grief and demands to respect the dead etc.

I'm certainly not saying anyone should go out of their way to show contempt nor rubbish the person's family for grieving but I do wish people wouldn't try to pretend these people are all goodness and light when they are anything but.

They wouldn't show you that kind of courtesy if you died.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Easy enough to break 90% of them!

Yeah I was thinking more of the murdering, stealing, and bearing false witness side than the blaspheming and false idols one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭MUFC91CS

GSF wrote: »
    The country sent a sympathy card when Hitler topped himself. How was this guy any worse?

This guy stayed up playing jungle music till 4 in the morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

A low level drug dealer in our town died of a drug overdose earlier this year, either deliberate or accidental, during a binge blowout precipitated by a massive row with the mother of his two small boys.
    he had scant contact with his kids, dipping in and out of their lives as and when he chose, and had moved on to another girl in the months before his death and would doubtless have fathered more kids with her had he lived.
    At the age of 27 he had never worked a day in his life and existed only to party party party.
    His parents are solid respectable and respectfull people still together after thirty years. he has 3 younger siblings. His mother will admit that she spoiled him as a child ignoring and dismissing the concerns of his teachers which started at an early age.
    He sold yokes and cannabis indiscriminately to anyone who had the money regardless of age. These users then reek havoc and misery around every town in Ireland robbing houses and breaking into cars in order to fund their lifestyles.
    The nauseating outpouring of grief on facebook in particular after his death was alarming. The amount of peers etc that saw him as a hero, and some kind of victim of society is frightening.
    I feel for his family at the loss of their son and brother, but i think his children were never going to benefit from his being their dad, and there's one less poiaon peddler in the town now and for that im gratefull that hes dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

conorh91 wrote: »
    People lie about scumbags at funerals to console the (often innocent) survivors.

How can this be made any clearer?

Funerals are not truth commissions for chrissake.

They exist for survivors.

If you care not for the survivors, stay away.

That way, everyone is happy except for old Muggins OP, simmering on his keyboard.

Muggins? I think if you bother to read my OP you will see that I have had no dealings with the chap in 10 years. Nor will I be attending his funeral. His life or death is no different to me than say a random person in China. It has zero effect.

I am however still friendly with a lot of people from my home town, they have had to endure him & his family for the past decade. How can actions such as his and indeed his family be forgotten.

As I said rather than like tribute posts (saying her was a great lad) why not just do nothing like I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Some balls to come on here and expect good outcomes for kids that didn't come within an asses roar of equality of opportunity in life, and grew up in an entirely different day to day world than most people know. Do a switcheroo with any of you high horse brigade and you wouldn't last a week lads. You really wouldn't. Ya haven't a rashers.

I have an excellent grasp on how bad things are for some kids. I seen it growing up from people I went to school with and from neighbouring housing developments.

When there was full employment in Ireland these lads, their parents, brothers, sisters, aunts uncles and cousins were unemployed. They are completely unemployable. It an unbelievable vicious circle and how to break isn't easy in theory or in practice.

For example the kids of these young people are 4/5/6/7 years old and are out all hours of the night 9/10/11pm every night of the week. They are living and breathing the environment that their parents were brought into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

That is very harsh MrsByrne.

Would you be surprised to hear that if I pulled you and your kids out of where you raised them, or any of your family, friends or people you know, and put you into socioeconomic disadvantage- that your children would very much turn out the exact same way as this chap. Because they would. Trust me, they would. Go experience it. Go speak to sociologists and people who know what they are talking about.

If you are making comments like that, you really don't understand the issue. It is an abhorrent attitude and shows no respect for human life. I dare not refer back to Irish attitudes on the Magdalene launderies and cheap-labour state contracts to wash to clothes of the better off.

All children cry the same when they are born, all children, it is what happens after that that shapes and moulds them.
    If you were born in a group of headhunters in the Amazon, you would grow up to be a headhunter.
    If you were born into Nazi Germany, you'd likely have grown up to be a Nazi. Yes people have to take responsibility for their actions and choices, 100%, but you are asking very impoverished and dysfunctional children to be a hero and beat the system; to overcome disadvantage by themselves while you ride high on the back of an overpaid civil service, pensioned up to your eyeballs for a job you are useless at (not you personally).

Whether you agree with the morality of my own posts, surely you will agree with the economics. 90%+ of criminals in jail as we speak are people who found themselves in the justice system, welfare system etc, at a very young age. They may have had limited schooling, social exclusion, multi-generational poverty, addictions, depression, a weak family, poor parenting, and they carry with them an absolute lack of self worth or respect for themselves.

You either put the money in at the start, or you put the money in at the end. That is just the economic fact. Either way, you pay.
    And to have a lad with a job and a sense of self worth makes better sense than abandoning that lad and meeting him when he's on heroin and has striped someone. And it is cheaper. It costs over €60k a year to house a prisioner.

I have worked with some fantastic children who were as every bit bright and hopeful for their future when kids, only to grow up to nothing but absolute misery and cronyism. No policing. Houses falling to sh!t. Drug gangs acting in the open. Councils keeping money ringfenced for certain communities and spending it on golf courses. Domestic violence in the open. Non-responsiveness from social workers or the state at any level. Sher they've cut the overtime, sorry kids. 60%+ youth unemployment. Suicide. A big f#ck you to anyone trying to better themselves.

This is not a state issue. It is as much an individual issue. And it is largely through lack of personal efficacy amongst overpaid public service employees; and their unvouched increments despite being useless and delivering no results. There are some people out there at the moment on pensions that should be ashamed of themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭gerarda

I wonder if we could implement something like this here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Would you be surprised to hear that if I pulled you and your kids out of where you raised them, or any of your family, friends or people you know, and put you into socioeconomic disadvantage- that your children would very much turn out the exact same way as this chap. Because they would. Trust me, they would. Go experience it. Go speak to sociologists and people who know what they are talking about.

If you are making comments like that, you really don't understand the issue. It is an abhorrent attitude and shows no respect for human life. I dare not refer back to Irish attitudes on the Magdalene launderies and cheap-labour state contracts to wash to clothes of the better off.

All children cry the same when they are born, all children, it is what happens after that that shapes and moulds them.
    If you were born in a group of headhunters in the Amazon, you would grow up to be a headhunter.
    If you were born into Nazi Germany, you'd likely have grown up to be a Nazi. Yes people have to take responsibility for their actions and choices, 100%, but you are asking very impoverished and dysfunctional children to be a hero and beat the system; to overcome disadvantage by themselves while you ride high on the back of an overpaid civil service, pensioned up to your eyeballs for a job you are useless at (not you personally).

Whether you agree with the morality of my own posts, surely you will agree with the economics. 90%+ of criminals in jail as we speak are people who found themselves in the justice system, welfare system etc, at a very young age. They may have had limited schooling, social exclusion, multi-generational poverty, addictions, depression, a weak family, poor parenting, and they carry with them an absolute lack of self worth or respect for themselves.

You either put the money in at the start, or you put the money in at the end. That is just the economic fact. Either way, you pay.
    And to have a lad with a job and a sense of self worth makes better sense than abandoning that lad and meeting him when he's on heroin and has striped someone. And it is cheaper. It costs over €60k a year to house a prisioner.

I have worked with some fantastic children who were as every bit bright and hopeful for their future when kids, only to grow up to nothing but absolute misery and cronyism. No policing. Houses falling to sh!t. Drug gangs acting in the open. Councils keeping money ringfenced for certain communities and spending it on golf courses. Domestic violence in the open. Non-responsiveness from social workers or the state at any level. Sher they've cut the overtime, sorry kids. 60%+ youth unemployment. Suicide. A big f#ck you to anyone trying to better themselves.

This is not a state issue. It is as much an individual issue. And it is largely through lack of personal efficacy amongst overpaid public service employees; and their unvouched increments despite being useless and delivering no results. There are some people out there at the moment on pensions that should be ashamed of themselves.

No matter the environment that someone is born into, for the most part people know right from wrong.

The above is just a list of excuses as to why someone should not better themselves if born into disadvantage.

The state provides one of the most generous welfare systems in the world.
    There should be little reason for someone to fall into a life of crime where they cause misery to others in society.

Basically a lad from my home town, in his mid 20's died this week due to various complications caused by long term hard drug use.

He had many convictions, armed robbery & assault to name but a few and spent time in prison.

He was an active thug and outright scummer up until the complications started several months ago. Not a weekend would go by where him or one of his cronies would assault someone outside one of the many bars they were barred from after closing. He is from a long line of thugs and many of his midnight buddies he's left behind I would imagine are still strung out on the same hard drugs that killed him at this moment.

What I cannot get my head around is the outpouring of grief from a lot of people from the town on social media, very respected business people too. Not 6/7 years ago did he use a hand gun to rob the local mace holding up a young girl from the town with a gun, the shop shortly after closed because of it.

I have had little or no dealings with him in 10 years. But maybe my thought process is tainted as my last dealing with him was a headbut which i received when I was 17.

Am I being harsh or does an unbelievably filthy past one of bullying, terrorising, beatings and assaults, drug use, robbery, vandalism and many many more be forgiven just like that?
    I've seen it myself in local areas where the absolute scum of the earth are immortalised (of sorts) by the rest of the scum that still remain. Not to mention the rest of the scums extended family, parents and the likes...

Spraying on walls, making youtube vids of send off. Complete scum should all just go do yourselves :)

I don't think it's a true reflection of feelings of the areas I have seen it in, just the amplification of the cúnts voices who continue to cause hardship to good people!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

Rather than it being anything to do with the deceased, the outpouring of grief is simple narcissism from the griever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Sounds a bit like when that IRA thug (Alan something) was killed and there was outpouring about what a great lad he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

90%+ of criminals in jail as we speak are people who found themselves in the justice system, welfare system etc, at a very young age. They may have had limited schooling, social exclusion, multi-generational poverty, addictions, depression, a weak family, poor parenting, and they carry with them an absolute lack of self worth or respect for themselves.

This is very different from saying 90% of the people born into multi-generational poverty are criminals, which is what you imply when you say my kids would be criminals if born into that environment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

Did you read my post at all? This boy had every advantage. A loving stable respectable family where both parents worked, good schools , a nice home, extended loving family . He decided that he just didn't want to grow up and be a responsible adult. He begat children he wasn't prepared to support financially, he peddled poison to children who in turn visited their subsequent anti social behaviour on the community at large. He died at his own hand. Its sad but he didn't really make much of a contribution , did he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

To address just one of your examples of how people can't escape what they're born into: A whole country of people brought up to be Nazi's did not become Nazi's as you suggest they might have but instead created the dazzlingly successful post-war West Germany.

People can escape circumstance given an opportunity to do so. Criminal elements in working class areas damage such areas at least as much as the other factors you hold responsible. People who terrorise their communities cannot be let off the hook, and by suggesting that they have no alternative you do the majority of people in such areas, who struggle to better themselves, a vast disservice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Plenty of kids from poor backgrounds don't end up as drug dealers and thieves. You are excluding all aspect of personal responsibility from their lives and trying to blame all their faults on corruption.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Peist2007 wrote: »
    Rather than it being anything to do with the deceased, the outpouring of grief is simple narcissism from the griever.

It's even worse when it comes from people who aren't actually grieving (because they didn't even know the deceased that well), but feel the need to tell the whole world how 'sad' they are, and how they can't stop crying, because it shows just how caring and empathetic they are. Seems to be a common phenomenon amongst the worst kind of idiots on Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

One less scummer in the world. I wish there was a bad batch of yokes to wipe out a few in my town too.

You from navan by any chance?