Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Local Thug Died

• 11-11-2014 8:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭

Basically a lad from my home town, in his mid 20's died this week due to various complications caused by long term hard drug use.

He had many convictions, armed robbery & assault to name but a few and spent time in prison.

He was an active thug and outright scummer up until the complications started several months ago. Not a weekend would go by where him or one of his cronies would assault someone outside one of the many bars they were barred from after closing. He is from a long line of thugs and many of his midnight buddies he's left behind I would imagine are still strung out on the same hard drugs that killed him at this moment.

What I cannot get my head around is the outpouring of grief from a lot of people from the town on social media, very respected business people too. Not 6/7 years ago did he use a hand gun to rob the local mace holding up a young girl from the town with a gun, the shop shortly after closed because of it.

I have had little or no dealings with him in 10 years. But maybe my thought process is tainted as my last dealing with him was a headbut which i received when I was 17.

Am I being harsh or does an unbelievably filthy past one of bullying, terrorising, beatings and assaults, drug use, robbery, vandalism and many many more be forgiven just like that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

It's Ireland. Never a bollox died, they're all saints in the graveyard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Indeed, just look at Haughey's funeral...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

Because this backwards Catholic country doesn't like to "speak ill of the dead". C*nt in life is still a c*nt in death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

What I cannot get my head around is the outpouring of grief from a lot of people from the town on social media

Well the dead guy is unlikely to see it so maybe it's more for the benefit of his grieving family, who are a grieving family regardless of what the dead guy got up to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,689 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

One less scummer in the world. I wish there was a bad batch of yokes to wipe out a few in my town too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

That sh1te drives me bonkers. When I die, I hope at least one person will have the balls to come out and say I was an auld b1tch....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

Couldn't have said it better T/B. Just look at the send off we gave that durty thief Charlie Haughley. Sure we never speak ill of the dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Seems to be an Irish thing. Everyone gets a hard on for the dead. A girl killed herself (strung out too) at the end of summer, she had one friend and was dead for days before anyone realised she was gone. Over 200 people showed up at the funeral and people who beat her up the year before were writing tributes to the "beautiful young woman"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I think this just shows the good nature of your local community, even with all the bad deeds he did they can still show respect at his passing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Just be happy he is dead op and the odd night just grab a bottle of Jemmy and go up and dance a jig on his grave.
    Will make you feel better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

I think this thread is going to be good craic , have seen this happen in my own town, absolute skank died in prison from an overdose. He's in for dealing and assault and the local rag prints the headline such and such was a gentle giant!!! He was not he was a Robbin prick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Well the dead guy is unlikely to see it so maybe it's more for the benefit of his grieving family, who are a grieving family regardless of what the dead guy got up to?

Why not just say nothing. His family are far from upstanding citizens themselves and are well known throughout the town. To call them scum would be an insult to scum.

What they have cost the tax payer in free legal aid and jail time I would hate to see let alone social welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

jamesbere wrote: »
    I think this just shows the good nature of your local community, even with all the bad deeds he did they can still show respect at his passing.

It does show the good nature of the local community you're right but I'd say f*ck him. The guy was a prick and a hindrance to the town.

He's no loss I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Just be happy he is dead op and the odd night just grab a bottle of Jemmy and go up and dance a jig on his grave.
    Will make you feel better.

I can safely say I'm not glad he's dead. I have no feelings either way I am that long gone from the town.

If he died tragically I suppose one might have some sort of feeling but he what he died from was self inflicted through years of hard drug abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

It does show the good nature of the local community you're right but I'd say f*ck him. The guy was a prick and a hindrance to the town.

He's no loss I'd imagine.

Give it a few days and no one will be talking about him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

OP, Maybe the lad had changed his ways since you last had any dealings with him?

A good few of the troublemakers in my home town were wild when they were in their teens/early twenties but then quietened down when they got a bit older and wised up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

OP, Maybe the lad had changed his ways since you last had any dealings with him?

A good few of the troublemakers in my home town were wild when they were in their teens/early twenties but then quietened down when they got a bit older and wised up.

He said in the OP that this fella was still at it up until his health problems started a few months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭retroactive

Christ, I nearly broke a rib laughing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

He said in the OP that this fella was still at it up until his health problems started a few months ago.

He also said he had nothing to do with him for the last ten years.

Was just offering a possible suggestion as to why the locals were expressing their sympathies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Why not just say nothing. His family are far from upstanding citizens themselves and are well known throughout the town. To call them scum would be an insult to scum.

What they have cost the tax payer in free legal aid and jail time I would hate to see let alone social welfare.

That still doesn't mean that they're not a grieving family. Ideally people would say nothing instead of feigning sadness and venting their spleens, but would you prefer to see a community openly celebrate the death of a person?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I wouldn't say I have any sympathy for anyone like that whose lifestyle or whatever led them to this. But on the other hand, I hate to speak ill of the dead, they were someones son or daughter, whatever, someone somewhere loved them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 trapattack

Don't do a Fran on it are you will never look at a pool queue or taking a shower the same again!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 424 ✭✭Chunners

**** him, the grave is not a "get out of jail free card", if he was a prick when he was alive he is just as much a prick when he is dead, just because he is a stiffy now doesn't make him all of a sudden a saint that we should all pity because "his life was cut short", if he wasn't such an asshole from the start then maybe it wouldn't have been. He made his choices let him die with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,867 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Did we not have this thread a while back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

Saw this before when some lad took himself and a load of people out in a drink and drugs fuelled car crash, you'd think Mandela had died the way some people were going on.

I felt it was a bit OTT but given how bad the family must have felt (grief mixed with shame) the dishonesty of the post-mortem lionisation of the guy on social media and elsewhere didn't really bother me.

Ultimately there's no point getting too bothered about other people's opinions, they'll mostly be wrong so it's a losing battle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

rip, cant stop cryin so sad, heavans got a new angle now sleep tight hun xx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

It's just the worst trait in our national character: cowardice. The guy was a scrote who brought misery to others. If people don't want to tell it like it was then they should just say nothing. The absence of the usual shyte should get the message across. It's interesting you say he came from a long line of thugs. They usually do.

uote="RayM;92998411"]rip, cant stop cryin so sad, heavans got a new angle now sleep tight hun xx[/quote]

What new angle is heaven working now ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

What new angle is heaven working now ;-)

An acute one.

Jade Goody was a twat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

Good night sweet prince

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

There's a lad up by me,gave me and my cousin a hammering when we were 14,accusing us of robbing his brothers hash,we didn't even know what hash was at the time.he came down after the fight was over with his brothers,they had hammers we were told as they looked for us.
    Yes roughly the same age as me and since then here's a little snippet of his crimes:

Stabbed a relative.raped two girls abroad.broke a naggin bottle off his girlfriend's face.melted a plastic bag over another inmates face and slit his throat ( the guy later died but him and his accomplice got off on a technicality ). Bit a lump out of a rivals nose.

At least four / five times I've gotten messages saying he was killed in an almost celebratory manner.our community will be delighted when he's gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Mollyd90

We had 2 local scumbags die from a nearby town this year supposedly on the way back from a 'job'. The girlfriend/wife of one of them is constantly putting up pictures and posts about how much she misses him and how great he was. He may have been to her but I find it a bit sickening knowing the pain and hurt he caused others. I'm sure she knew what he done in his spare time. They sometimes show up on my Facebook feed when one of my friends likes the post. Have to restrain myself from reminding the 30+ people who also liked it what pure knackers they were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

"Midnight Buddies" sounds a bit perverted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭bilbot79

'We'll all be equal, under the grass
    ...and God's got a heaven for country trash'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

"If you can't say anything nice, don't say anything" is probably a good attitude when someone has died, but god forbid people don't say anything when someone dies in this country. The exact fcuking people who'll be the loudest with "ah sure god love him, he was grand" in public will be practically rubbing their hands together in glee at the tasty tidbit of gossip behind closed doors too, especially if it's the off season for GAA and nobody's gotten pregnant recently.

I remember when there was a murder in the village I grew up in a couple of years back, all the bloody curtain twitching shítheads practically looked ten years younger they were having such a great time.

Mollyd90 wrote: »
    We had 2 local scumbags die from a nearby town this year supposedly on the way back from a 'job'. The girlfriend/wife of one of them is constantly putting up pictures and posts about how much she misses him and how great he was. He may have been to her but I find it a bit sickening knowing the pain and hurt he caused others. I'm sure she knew what he done in his spare time. They sometimes show up on my Facebook feed when one of my friends likes the post. Have to restrain myself from reminding the 30+ people who also liked it what pure knackers they were.

Are you near Carlow by any chance??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

Are you near Carlow by any chance??

Are you Michael Weston by any chance??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

you'd think Mandela had died the way some people were going on.

He has, though.

uote="RayM;92998411"]rip, cant stop cryin so sad, heavans got a new angle now sleep tight hun xx

What new angle is heaven working now ;-)[/QUOTE]

Well crucifiction is all "taboo" now so maybe "Death by your own devices" is the next big thing,Jesus died on the cross whereas this dick died because he was cross

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Basically a lad from my home town, in his mid 20's died this week due to various complications caused by long term hard drug use.

He had many convictions, armed robbery & assault to name but a few and spent time in prison.

He was an active thug and outright scummer up until the complications started several months ago. Not a weekend would go by where him or one of his cronies would assault someone outside one of the many bars they were barred from after closing. He is from a long line of thugs and many of his midnight buddies he's left behind I would imagine are still strung out on the same hard drugs that killed him at this moment.

What I cannot get my head around is the outpouring of grief from a lot of people from the town on social media, very respected business people too. Not 6/7 years ago did he use a hand gun to rob the local mace holding up a young girl from the town with a gun, the shop shortly after closed because of it.

I have had little or no dealings with him in 10 years. But maybe my thought process is tainted as my last dealing with him was a headbut which i received when I was 17.

Am I being harsh or does an unbelievably filthy past one of bullying, terrorising, beatings and assaults, drug use, robbery, vandalism and many many more be forgiven just like that?

Put it this way.......

If he came back as a zombie, would he be a nice zombie like yer man from warm bodies or a cunt zombie like one of the lads from the walking dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

One less scummer in the world. I wish there was a bad batch of yokes to wipe out a few in my town too.

The problem with that is that the batch would take out a lot of nice decent young people as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭ElizaT33

Defo wouldn't think twice if a violent scumbag died in the course of his scumbag-ness, however I would give 'some' respect if he/she'd changed their ways and had started to pay back society what they'd taken from it before their demise - fair enough? As for the families spoken of .... a lot of them would have disowned them long before they died (as scumbags), so that their grief etc. is a bit twin-swordy, to my mind!

"If you can't say anything nice, don't say anything" is probably a good attitude when someone has died

Why? I mean he was obviously a parasite on society and he didn't think nice so why should anyone afford him that just because he is dead? like I don't care that he is dead and, from what I have read think society is better now that he is, so why should I be nice when if it was me being carted off in a box he'd probably just laugh about it. We do not owe the dead anything, the only people we owe respect to is people who died and actually made a contribution to our society that we hold so dear whereas pricks like him added nothing, his death won't even be a footnote whereas Nelson Mandela's death will be something we talk about for the next 100 years because Nelson made a difference that wasn't totally self centered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

There was a bloke from around here died of an overdose a few years back. He was a real scumbag so a lot of people were glad to see the back of him, they wouldn't say it though.

I only met him twice, the 1st time was on a bus where he attacked a girl, the 2nd time was about 11 years ago. I woke up at 2 in the morning and could hear someone at the front door trying to get in. I went down and caught him trying to break into the house. Luckily I had brought the baseball bat with me (I always do if I hear anything dodgy at night) so I was able to convince him to move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Chunners wrote: »
    Why? I mean he was obviously a parasite on society and he didn't think nice so why should anyone afford him that just because he is dead? like I don't care that he is dead and, from what I have read think society is better now that he is, so why should I be nice when if it was me being carted off in a box he'd probably just laugh about it. We do not owe the dead anything, the only people we owe respect to is people who died and actually made a contribution to our society that we hold so dear whereas pricks like him added nothing, his dead won't even be a footnote whereas Nelson Mandela's death will be something we talk about for the next 100 years because Nelson made a difference that wasn't totally self centered

But what's the point of falling over yourself to be mean about somebody right at the point when his family are grieving? why not just keep your negative opinions to yourself at that point, seeing as he's dead and all, and isn't likely to hear them and go "jesus, I should sort myself out"?

I can think of a few scumbags around here whose death certainly wouldn't move me to tears to say the least, but I don't think my low opinion of them is so important that I'd have to go and tell it to people immediately should they die. I'll just keep my mouth shut and occupy my mind with something more interesting than pointless bitching

RonanP77 wrote: »
    There was a bloke from around here died of an overdose a few years back. He was a real scumbag so a lot of people were glad to see the back of him, they wouldn't say it though.

I only met him twice, the 1st time was on a bus where he attacked a girl, the 2nd time was about 11 years ago. I woke up at 2 in the morning and could hear someone at the front door trying to get in. I went down and caught him trying to break into the house. Luckily I had brought the baseball bat with me (I always do if I hear anything dodgy at night) so I was able to convince him to move on.

And you didn't go to his funeral and say "Here lies a great man, a noble man, a man of the people, loved by all, hated by none, in his grace we should find ourselves humbled"?

You selfish bastard...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Chunners wrote: »
    Why?
    Because funerals are for families.

I can understand why locals might want to give the dead man a piece of their mind, if he were alive, but civilized society adheres to a tradition that the sins of the father are not those of the son -- or vice versa, as the case may be.

People try to comfort families in their time of loss. Call that crazy, but that's what normal people do.