Is feminism a dirty word?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Wibbs wrote:
    There are also some pretty daft extreme "feminist" eejits in the media, particularly the onine media, however equating them with your average feminist is like equating the Westboro Baptist morons with your average Christian.

Not really. There are more than two billion Christians in the world. Only forty of them are members of the WBC.
    Wibbs wrote: »
    So minority of extremists get tiny minority of the vote? Hardly the end is nigh. Fire up the flares when they get 30% of the vote. Which will be never.

I never said nor implied that the end was nigh. I said that they were insane, showed some of policies and pointed out an error in their article. That's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

I never said nor implied that the end was nigh. I said that they were insane, showed some of policies and pointed out an error in their article. That's all.
    You said more than that; you said "Swedish feminists are insane".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Earl Turner

It shouldn't be a dirty word but it is. It's got nothing to do with equal rights anymore, it's simply about hating men, refusing them their rights and making sure they are treated with as little respect as possible.

Agree completely. Women have equality in the western world, have it better in many ways. Today's feminism is a cultural marxist movement obsessed with 'privilege' and power structures. Anything straight, white, Christian and male is the enemy to them.

It also explains why they'd rather spend their time re-editing Wikpedia than campaigning for women's rights where they're actually needed.

As an example, the woman in Sudan who was facing death for converting to Christianity. There was no feminist outrage. Why? Because they couldn't blame evil westerners for it and it makes Muslims and Sudanese people look bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,730 ✭✭✭SeanW

You said more than that; you said "Swedish feminists are insane".
    You have to remember that this entity is just one manifestation of feminism in Sweden etc. And the others are nearly as bad if not broadly similar.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

It shouldn't be a dirty word but it is. It's got nothing to do with equal rights anymore, it's simply about hating men, refusing them their rights and making sure they are treated with as little respect as possible.

Generalisations like this are beyond tiresome. I simply don't know any women who feel like that about men. None. Yet, I read this forum sometimes and see a lot of that hatred and disrespect thrown the other way.

I've never seen a thread by a female poster making such stupidly mean generalisations about men. If there have been, I'm sure they would have been shot down fairly quickly by other female posters.

Audrey, do you see many female posters on here hating men?

SeanW wrote: »
    You have to remember that this entity is just one manifestation of feminism in Sweden etc. And the others are nearly as bad if not broadly similar.
    Standard tactic: find the loopy extremists and claim that all the rest are like them.

Precisely.

Two members of Fathers 4 Justice (one of the founding members of that organisation being a woman), were recently brought to court for allegedly harassing, stalking and threatening a female MP. Does this mean the whole movement is full of crazy crackpots? Of course not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Earl Turner

Swedish feminists are insane.

Here are some translated snippets from Sweden's Feminist Party's(Femenist Initiative) party program:

●All weapons (including pistols) banned globally
    ●Defense force needs to be shut down
    ●All schools and kindergartens need to have a meat-free monday
    ●The possibility of complete removal of jail sentences needs to be investigated (this includes rapists)
    ●A person doesn't have to disclose their HIV to anyone (including people they sleep with)
    ●All homework and grading before high school have to be removed
    ●Unrestricted immigrationFeminist self-defense has to be taught in every primary school
    ●Men should be re-educated to change their consuming habits
    ●The law on freedom of choice should be abolished so that politicians get to decide more on people's everyday lives
    ●All new construction of highways to be stopped
    ●Genetically modified food should be completely banned
    ●All persons residing in Sweden, regardless of citizenship, have the right to vote
    ●Deportation shall be eliminated, even for very serious crimes
    ●Sweden should have a female pro league in ice hockey (f*ck knows what the craic is here?)
    ●It will be prohibited to build town shopping centers

You can find the full party program here (in Swedish):

http://feministisktinitiativ.se/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/For_en_feministisk_politik_2013.pdf

They got 3.1%(not 4% like the article claimed) of the vote in the recent general election.

Yes they are insane, as are left wing Swedes in general. Thankfully the right-wing Social Democrats made strong gains in the election, no doubt a backlash against the disastrous immigration policy pursued by successive Swedish governments.

Any one who doubts that political correctness is a real and dangerous thing need only look at the situation in Sweden

http://www.cbn.com/cbnnews/world/2014/April/Soviet-Sweden-Model-Nation-Sliding-to-Third-World/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭smoking_kills

Precisely.

Two members of Fathers 4 Justice (one of the founding members of that organisation being a woman), were recently brought to court for allegedly harassing, stalking and threatening a female MP. Does this mean the whole movement is full of crazy crackpots? Of course not.

I agree, however the loonies tend to be the loudest. So they will be the ones who get heard, and hence folk will think they represent the movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Generalisations like this are beyond tiresome. I simply don't know any women who feel like that about men. None. Yet, I read this forum sometimes and see a lot of that hatred and disrespect thrown the other way.

Just you've never seen it, doesn't mean it doesn't happen.

Fuck it, go look anywhere on Tumblr for more examples. I am already bored.

Just you've never seen it, doesn't mean it doesn't happen.

Fuck it, go look anywhere on Tumblr for more examples. I am already bored.

I don't know any of those women, nor are they representative of any posts I've seen here on Boards.

Are you implying there aren't similar stories of boys being the preferred gender?

http://www.eastwestcenter.org/news-center/east-west-wire/battling-a-preference-for-boys

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2309911/How-majority-couples-want-BOY-child-hard-work-girls.html

I don't know any of those women, nor are they representative of any posts I've seen here on Boards.

Are you implying there aren't similar stories of boys being the preferred gender?

http://www.eastwestcenter.org/news-center/east-west-wire/battling-a-preference-for-boys

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2309911/How-majority-couples-want-BOY-child-hard-work-girls.html

The point being that just because you do not see it, does not mean it does not exist.

Oh, I wasn't saying it didn't exist, but my post had more to do with someone making a sweeping and negative generalisation about all feminists hating and disrespecting men and wanting to cut off all their rights and my point was that I had no experience of any woman I know feeling that way or any female boardsies posting anything resembling those sentiments, that I'm aware of.

Just getting a wee bit tired of the feminist bashing that pervades this forum on an almost continuous basis. It's become like a sport for some at this stage.

I don't see feminist bashing on an almost continuous basis.

:pac: :pac: .

I don't see feminist bashing on an almost continuous basis.

:pac: :pac: .
    Okay, I'll work to your intended script:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Cosmicfox

Seems to be.

I don't have anything against people choosing to call themselves feminists, but I find the whole thing a divided church that can get really confusing so I wouldn't consider myself one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Oh, I wasn't saying it didn't exist, but my post had more to do with someone making a sweeping and negative generalisation about all feminists hating and disrespecting men and wanting to cut off all their rights and my point was that I had no experience of any woman I know feeling that way or any female boardsies posting anything resembling those sentiments, that I'm aware of.

I've never seen anyone say "all". However, "most" would be reasonable, or "most of the active ones" as in active in terms of lobbying.
    Just getting a wee bit tired of the feminist bashing that pervades this forum on an almost continuous basis. It's become like a sport for some at this stage.

Do people not have the right to oppose a political ideology which is constantly in the news at the moment? :confused:

I agree, however the loonies tend to be the loudest. So they will be the ones who get heard, and hence folk will think they represent the movement.

It's not about who gets heard, it's about who gets into positions of power and/or influences those in positions of power.
    Harriet Harmen is brought up again and again in these threads, as is Germaine Greer, and those who defend feminism literally ignore those posts consistently. Both of these are very influential people and are held up as icons by the feminist movement, and both of them espouse the views which feminists claim are only held by "extremists". This cannot simply be dismissed and must be addressed, yet it never is.

I've never seen anyone say "all". However, "most" would be reasonable, or "most of the active ones" as in active in terms of lobbying.

No, 'most' wouldn't be reasonable at all. What lobbying, in particular, do you find is perpetuating the man hating agenda? Whatever it is, I don't find much of it has worked on female Boards posters.

Do people not have the right to oppose a political ideology which is constantly in the news at the moment? :confused:

Is it constantly in the news? Who makes these laws that disadvantage men? Are females all to blame?

You have the right to oppose whatever you like - it's the constant misrepresantation of feminism on here and the negative hyperbole that surrounds women's issues that sticks in the craw a little.

Would you not concede there's much more woman bashing here on Boards than man bashing? Would you say many female posters here belittle men's issues in the same way women's issues are constantly hailed as a stick to beat men with?

I never see "Most" or "Most of the active ones," and I also never see "All." There's an assumption that traits do not apply to 100%, and to take offence when it's not explicitly said shows a lack of critical thought.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

You have the right to oppose whatever you like - it's the constant misrepresantation of feminism on here and the negative hyperbole that surrounds women's issues that sticks in the craw a little.
    Again DC, it's just some people buying wholesale into the US based gender war online bullshít. Ivory tower "feminists" on one side, Angry "MRA(PUA)" on the other. The rest of us left asking WTF?

I've seen both in evidence, though the Ivory tower "we're living in a rape culture and it's men's fault!!!" eejits are a tiny minority on Boards and usually bugger off when they don't get their way or echo chamber. The hardline MRA/PUA types are by far the majority and have replaced the "get back in the kitchen" guff with more insidious stuff gleaned elsewhere and get much more of an echo chamber going because there's simply more of them. NOt many, but enough to get some traction. Both should be laughed at not engaged.

It's a bloody virus at the moment. Both sides parroting what they read on whatever bowels of Reddit they subscribe to. It's also a very recent thing. I guarantee precious few would even know what a "social justice warrior" was a year ago. Imported ire for the easily led.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Again DC, it's just some people buying wholesale into the US based gender war online bullshít. Ivory tower "feminists" on one side, Angry "MRA(PUA)" on the other. The rest of us left asking WTF?

I've seen both in evidence, though the Ivory tower "we're living in a rape culture and it's men's fault!!!" eejits are a tiny minority on Boards and usually bugger off when they don't get their way or echo chamber. The hardline MRA/PUA types are by far the majority and have replaced the "get back in the kitchen" guff with more insidious stuff gleaned elsewhere and get much more of an echo chamber going because there's simply more of them. NOt many, but enough to get some traction. Both should be laughed at not engaged.

It's a bloody virus at the moment. Both sides parroting what they read on whatever bowels of Reddit they subscribe to. It's also a very recent thing. I guarantee precious few would even know what a "social justice warrior" was a year ago. Imported ire for the easily led.

Yeah, I don't even know why I bother any more, tbh. I see certain threads cropping up here all too frequently and I know exactly what the agenda is behind them and that engaging in a discussion is pointless, because it's not a meaningful debate they're after, it's a stone throwing exercise, pure and simple.

I still get sucked in now and then, though. What's that adage about the definition of insanity...? :o

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yeah, I don't even know why I bother any more, tbh. I see certain threads cropping up here all too frequently and I know exactly what the agenda is behind them and that engaging in a discussion is pointless, because it's not a meaningful debate they're after, it's a stone throwing exercise, pure and simple.
    Worse for me is that it's a received belief based on a tiny number of web/keyboard/victim warriors living in another culture and they're a subculture of that and regurgitated near verbatim.
    What's that adage about the definition of insanity...? :o
    You're a nutter? :p :pac: Meh, welcome to the club...

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

No, 'most' wouldn't be reasonable at all. What lobbying, in particular, do you find is perpetuating the man hating agenda? Whatever it is, I don't find much of it has worked on female Boards posters.

Why the obsession over Boards? :confused:
    I'm not confining my observations to Boards but society in general. Boards is lacking in extreme feminists, the media and political system are not. No offense to Boards or any of its staff, but personally I feel the latter are somewhat more consequential than Boards' demographics in determining government policy and social norms. ;)
    Is it constantly in the news?

It has been lately, yes.
    Who makes these laws that disadvantage men? Are females all to blame?

Why do you use the word "females"? Feminism is a political agenda, one does not have to be a woman to support it or implement its policies any more than one has to be a man to support the MRM, anti circumcision, etc, or one has to be Palestinian to support a two state solution..... etc.

How, in your opinion, is feminism misrepresented, and what kind of hyperbole are you referring to? The most recent thread attacks a feminist writer who suggested that sexist discrimination in the justice system should be encouraged, for instance. Is this misrepresentation or hyberbolic?
    Would you not concede there's much more woman bashing here on Boards than man bashing?

Define woman bashing? Attacking feminism =/= attacking women.
    Would you say many female posters here belittle men's issues in the same way women's issues are constantly hailed as a stick to beat men with?

Again, can you give me one or two examples of how womens' issues are "hailed as a stick to beat men with"? (In all honesty I'm not actually even sure what you mean by this so can't really respond either way without clarification)

Wibbs out of curiosity, which MRA types and arguments are you referring to here?

It's a general tonal thing HP and I'm not suggesting you do it, but just how it generally comes across and is getting more common. EG all feminism is the same is a meme. As is the use of even simple words like "female" and "male" when 5 years ago we'd be more likely to write "women" and "men"(it's slightly dehumanising in a way). Terms like Social justice wrrior, White Knights, that sorta thing. And that's just on the MRA side. The US 3rd wave feminism imports(which seem to have been around for longer) tend to buzzword patriarchy, rape culture, trigger warnings, paygap. Both often throw the words misogyny and misandry around like confetti at a wedding. Both tend overwhelmingly to point more at US culture and statistics rather than local. So you'll read 1 in 4, 75% of divorces are brought by women, 50% divorce rate all that kinda thing. Stats that are either BS, like the 1 in 4 one, or BS mixed with not applicable locally like the divorce stats. Kinda like watching CSI and believing that's how the Guards operate. :D

Don't get me wrong HP, there are inequities in local gender politics, like access to abortion, or access to ones kids, the growing disparity in education and access to health and they should be looked at and debated, I'd just prefer if it was more a local dialogue. Sure the wider world may show up trends that will come down the line, but they also may not. Even in the US there are different subcultures with very different dovirce rates for example. The 50% figure is most often to be found among college educated couples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭masculinist

animaal wrote: »
    Feminism is about the advancement of women's interests, not neccessarily equality.

Wikipedia isn't always dependable - but in this case it starts with
    "Feminism is a collection of movements and ideologies aimed at defining, establishing, and defending equal political, economic, cultural, and social rights for women".

I find the interactions between Feminism and Wikipedia to be interesting and sometimes in an absurd way.

http://dailycaller.com/2014/02/02/wikipedia-is-very-masculine-so-feminists-pledge-to-fix-it

Feminists hold parties for editing wikipedia, but what specifically concerns me , science resources in backward luddite ways. I wish I could find some of the links to wikipedia pages which have had the science inside them edited into absurdity. That may come later.

A paper by Richard Dawkins speaks in an interesting way about this pseudoscience which is so bigoted it actually denies physics and the scientific method itself . They come out with the quote below and then they wonder why women are underrepresented in Engineering and science?

http://www.physics.nyu.edu/sokal/dawkins.html
    Irigaray argues that E=mc2 is a "sexed equation". Why? Because "it privileges the speed of light over other speeds that are vitally necessary to us" (my emphasis of what I am rapidly coming to learn is an 'in' word). Just as typical of this school of thought is Irigaray's thesis on fluid mechanics. Fluids, you see, have been unfairly neglected. "Masculine physics" privileges rigid, solid things. Her American expositor Katherine Hayles made the mistake of re-expressing Irigaray's thoughts in (comparatively) clear language. For once, we get a reasonably unobstructed look at the emperor and, yes, he has no clothes:

The privileging of solid over fluid mechanics, and indeed the inability of science to deal with turbulent flow at all, she attributes to the association of fluidity with femininity. Whereas men have sex organs that protrude and become rigid, women have openings that leak menstrual blood and vaginal fluids... From this perspective it is no wonder that science has not been able to arrive at a successful model for turbulence. The problem of turbulent flow cannot be solved because the conceptions of fluids (and of women) have been formulated so as necessarily to leave unarticulated remainders.
    You do not have to be a physicist to smell out the daffy absurdity of this kind of argument (the tone of it has become all too familiar), but it helps to have Sokal and Bricmont on hand to tell us the real reason why turbulent flow is a hard problem: the Navier-Stokes equations are difficult to solve.

NO its not a joke. Every single woman I know in the real world is cringing right now after reading this however the internet has its warriors who actually support this type of thinking. I studied fluid mechanics at one point and it made me cringe too.

To finish this post after showing clearly why even women are turning away from Feminism, this article below titled ''Why Feminism Is NOT 'The Fight for Equal Rights'' offers an interesting perspective on the whole thing:

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/chris-good/feminism-equal-rights_b_6111752.html

We are clearly in this together. Egalitarianism is the only sustainable belief system for the world.

It's a general tonal thing HP and I'm not suggesting you do it,

I never thought you were, until you just said that ;) #YesMinister
    but just how it generally comes across and is getting more common. EG all feminism is the same is a meme. As is the use of even simple words like "female" and "male" when 5 years ago we'd be more likely to write "women" and "men"(it's slightly dehumanising in a way). Terms like Social justice wrrior, White Knights, that sorta thing. And that's just on the MRA side. The US 3rd wave feminism imports(which seem to have been around for longer) tend to buzzword patriarchy, rape culture, trigger warnings, paygap. Both often throw the words misogyny and misandry around like confetti at a wedding. Both tend overwhelmingly to point more at US culture and statistics rather than local. So you'll read 1 in 4, 75% of divorces are brought by women, 50% divorce rate all that kinda thing. Stats that are either BS, like the 1 in 4 one, or BS mixed with not applicable locally like the divorce stats. Kinda like watching CSI and believing that's how the Guards operate. :D

Don't get me wrong HP, there are inequities in local gender politics, like access to abortion, or access to ones kids, the growing disparity in education and access to health and they should be looked at and debated, I'd just prefer if it was more a local dialogue. Sure the wider world may show up trends that will come down the line, but they also may not. Even in the US there are different subcultures with very different dovirce rates for example. The 50% figure is most often to be found among college educated couples.

The only part of this I'd disagree with is your (apparent?) dismissal of the "SJW" label - in my view, and this is purely my view, these are not feminists at all but a particularly insidious brand of authoritarians who seem to genuinely want to substitute one massively unfair social hierarchy for an equally unfair social hierarchy, as well as dictate what speech is acceptable and dictate even what opinions one is "allowed" to hold. I have a very serious problem with these types and in my view anyone who really cares about progress, equality, and freedom should as well.

Of course, many feminists despise this particular group as much as anyone, and get particularly pissed off at how they attempt to co-opt the feminist label for their in many cases highly anti feminist agenda. I also suspect that like the Westboro Baptist Church, a large number of those who spout that BS don't actually believe it at all but are trolls deliberately stirring up trouble for the sake of stirring up trouble. The SJW manifesto often appears to be deliberately crafted to cause as much havoc as possible in terms of creating conflict and drama both online and off, hence I suspect a lot of it is in fact driven by pranksters such as Anonymous and 4channers. We already know that things like #BanFathersDay were hoaxes perpetrated for that exact reason - tip of the iceberg if you ask me.

I never thought you were, until you just said that ;) #YesMinister
    Hahaha yea me saying that is kinda like saying "please don't be offended but...". :D But no I genuinely wasn't thinking of yourself HP.
    The only part of this I'd disagree with is your (apparent?) dismissal of the "SJW" label - in my view, and this is purely my view, these are not feminists at all but a particularly insidious brand of authoritarians who seem to genuinely want to substitute one massively unfair social hierarchy for an equally unfair social hierarchy, as well as dictate what speech is acceptable and dictate even what opinions one is "allowed" to hold. I have a very serious problem with these types and in my view anyone who really cares about progress, equality, and freedom should as well.
    Well I mentioned the SJW word as another example of the imported gender war meme, rather than saying the type doesn't exist.

I would broadly agree that they do and they're just as insidious as your online and offline misandrists/misogynists, though like the latter tend to be much more vocal online. And there are a number of them who are paid up professional keyboard warriors and victims. Great clickbait. The Daily Mail model(and ranged against some of these gombeens the Mail is a bastion of measured opinion).

I would also agree that they have more than the sniff of authoritarian to them. They're often more insidious too as they appear on first glance to be so reasonable and in love with "diversity"(a big buzzword for the type). Of course it's a "diversity" where they decide what is included and what is included. Some US universities take these gobshítes and their ideas to extremes that would appear too much to take in a Moliere farce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

this is still going on then